Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars for content but another disappointing Kindle text
The previous reviewer provides an accurate description of the pleasures of reading Edmund White. While reading the Edith Wharton piece I was reminded of a decision I made, many years ago: to read Henry James instead, there being only so much time available in a lifetime for reading. It was delightful to be exposed to what I have chosen to miss - but never to have to...
Published on February 2, 2012 by mjackmm

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow Pacing Toward Monsters
The "Sacred a Monsters" are artists of our day. Mr White takes on a group of artists and their work in essays that are at once appreciations of their work and insights into who these artists were as men and how their sexuality effected their lives and, most importantly, their work. Edmund White's take on Nabokov, Maplethorpe, Capote, Isherwood and several others...
Published 6 months ago by David Mckinnon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars for content but another disappointing Kindle text, February 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sacred Monsters (Kindle Edition)
The previous reviewer provides an accurate description of the pleasures of reading Edmund White. While reading the Edith Wharton piece I was reminded of a decision I made, many years ago: to read Henry James instead, there being only so much time available in a lifetime for reading. It was delightful to be exposed to what I have chosen to miss - but never to have to regret making the choice. That said, I cannot express greater disappointment with the Kindle text which was obviously transcribed by typing monkeys with no sense of quotation marks, differentiating type style, etc., etc. (there are many, many very generous quotes from cited texts). This is the kind of thing that would never be accepted in a printed text. E-books are handy but very frustrating and marketed with complete irresponsibility to the literary values of print.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Edmund White: Writer, Critic, Commentator, January 7, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sacred Monsters (Hardcover)
Edmund White continues to be on of the more important American writers of the day. He is a superb novelist, an elegant observer, and a well-researched biographer. In SACRED MONSTERS White takes on another role, that of re-examining the works of writers and artists from the past and from the present, unveiling aspects of their famous lives that have been elusive to the public, in part because of his discovery of personal letters of the subjects about whom he writes, and in part because he has the vantage of looking at works in the light of current and developing histories of the departed. All of this he is able to do because of his intense intelligence always seasoned with his keen wit and in depth reveries that his subjects open.

In his Preface, White opens the door to his houseful of guests he is planning to discuss with the following: 'In French the expression "monster sacré" is a familiar on and refers to a venerable or popular celebrity so well known that he or she is above criticism, a legend who despite eccentricities or faults cannot be measured by ordinary standards. A fixture on the cultural horizon.....It might seem paradoxical to write critical essays about personalities who are above or beyond criticism, but I fall into the category of those cultural critics who appreciate more than they evaluate their subjects, who admire more than they judge, who seek to untangle influences received and given and maybe even trace out the shape of a career.' And given that précis White proceeds to explore the lives of both men and women, gay and straight, whose influence on the world of literature especially (with the exception of one delightful passage about Rodin's impact on the young White!) has been compelling.

His style is infectious: he manages to write extensively about William and Henry James on the basis of letters to each other and to others that give us insight into the directions their careers moved; he examines the sense of heritage embarrassment that shaped author John Rechy's life as a Mexican lad denying his Mexican heritage; he gives us more insight into the life of Tennessee Williams' incredible gifts to the stage by exploring his closeted fear of this sexuality and the way he developed that stance. White writes about the following other people: Edith Wharton, John Cheever, Glenway Wescott, David Hockney, Marcel Proust, Ford Maddox Ford, Truman Capote, EM Forster, Christopher Isherwood, Martin Amis, Howard Sturgis, Robert Mapplethorpe, Paul Bowles, Allen Ginsberg and William Burroughs, Marguerite Duras, James Merrill, Reynolds Price, and Vladimir Nabokov. Each essay is easily wroth adding this book to the library. In addition to discovering fascinating facts about the lives of these great people, we are treated to the style of writing that is slowly disappearing from the literary scene - factual, informed, yet entertaining journalistic writing. Highly recommended. Grady Harp, January 12
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 22 essays revolve among slightly academic, personal, and gossipy tones by a master writer, February 20, 2012
This review is from: Sacred Monsters (Hardcover)
I enjoyed reading "Sacred Monsters," a collection of twenty-two essays on various authors and visual artists written by Edmund White and published in various journals since 1980. This compilation of reviews and criticism seems like an extension of White's memoirs, telling stories about his subjects who are "above criticism" as well as about himself. In most cases, the summaries of the authors' novels and stories are perfect distillations of facts and effects, the exact amount of information required to understand or recall a plot or an image and, more importantly, to point out its meaning.

Edmund White is known for writing in a number of genres using his personal life and memories as a springboard. Early on he became famous for the autobiographical novels "A Boy's Own Story" (1982) and "The Beautiful Room is Empty" (1988) and later for the true to life novels "The Farewell Symphony" (1997) and "The Married Man" (2001). More recently White has written a couple of gossipy memoirs, "My Lives" (2005) and "City Boy" (2009), and very recently, another novel, "Jack Holmes and His Friend" (2012).

Like his memoirs and autobiographical novels, these essays are full of scandalous stories, sexual rumors, and stunning personal details, all told with White's proud ability to reveal the most interesting facts about himself and others.

Over the years, White has written numerous articles on the classic authors of the major canon, five of which are included in "Sacred Monsters." While reviewing Hermione Lee's full-scale biography of Edith Wharton, White presents a lively discussion of Wharton's works and draws attention to many surprising gay connections in her life. In a review of the publication of some of the letters of Henry James, White discusses James' views on travel and art, and incorporates notes about the health tips that the James family shared, including personal information about James' bowel problems.

While usually thought of as a gay author and critic, White delivers pure criticism and commentary on a number of straight authors. Writing about Ford Madox Ford, White provides fascinating biographical stories and details of long novels that few have read. His comparisons of Ford to Henry James are interesting but his comparisons with Proust do not seem especially helpful since, as White points out, Ford co-wrote three novels with the very non-Proustian author Joseph Conrad. White offers stimulating comments on Marguerite Duras's switches between writing novels and screenplays, and recalls the conveniently forgotten fact that she was a censor for the Nazis during their Occupation. He offers astute insights on Nabokov's uses of obsession both in his short story, "Spring in Fialta," and in his novels, the masterpiece "Lolita," and his final work, the autobiographical novel "Look At the Harlequins!"

Because of his stature in the gay community, White has met most of the major gay contemporary authors, but he offers enlightening analyses of both his acquaintances and friends, and of the authors he has not met. He notes that John Cheever's "finest achievement" is the novel "Falconer," which includes a homosexual character. He makes much of Tennessee Williams' oppression and resulting self-hatred, yet points out the great art that Williams created, despite living in an era of severe homophobia, by returning to the characters he knew. White depicts an enchanting life of Howard Sturgis in "Portrait of a Sissy," selecting the perfect sparkling details. While discussing Paul Bowles' novel "The Sheltering Sky," his commentary does not contain any literary references but shares a brave recollection of a trip he took to Morocco with a lover dying of AIDS. He describes Glenway Wescott with rich biographical details and personal recollections (including gossip about his penis size and beautiful bottom). When White recalls a meeting with Truman Capote, he presents it in the style of Capote's reporting that summarizes Capote's capricious career. This very dishy essay delivers details about Capote's odd behavior during his decline and culminates in the arrival of Robert Mapplethorpe to photograph White and Capote together. White also gives firsthand commentary on the friendly poet James Merrill (who "saved" White several times via grants from the Merrill Foundation) and the hustler/memorist John Rechy.

In this collection White's criticism of visual artists is also very illuminating. White reviews Allen Ginsberg's photography, rather than his poetry, with great understanding, making him less literary and more artistic. Subsequently, in follow-up essays White reviews David Hockney and Robert Mapplethorpe in a more literary light, finding meanings that other visual critics might miss. White is also especially helpful in pointing out Mapplethorpe's role in the gay rights movement.

I do have a few warnings about the essays. Sometimes White's descriptions contain an overabundance of insider literary references for casual readers; the essays often rely heavily on references to other writers and works. These essays can strain to make a point for readers who don't know Tolstoy or Trollope well. Also this collection is heavily biased toward male authors; White must have reviewed at least a couple more lesbian or female authors that could have been included. White returns to his two favorite authors Henry James and Proust too many times, quoting and comparing, even if the payoff is minor. If you haven't read all of James or if Proust isn't your favorite novelist, it can feel off-putting.

But these are minor quibbles. The essays are generally filled with fascinating gossipy details and remarkable asides. They reflect White's masterful ability to effectively pull ideas out of novels, stories, and art, while simultaneously showcasing a personalized purview of his own life and passions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow Pacing Toward Monsters, January 26, 2014
This review is from: Sacred Monsters (Kindle Edition)
The "Sacred a Monsters" are artists of our day. Mr White takes on a group of artists and their work in essays that are at once appreciations of their work and insights into who these artists were as men and how their sexuality effected their lives and, most importantly, their work. Edmund White's take on Nabokov, Maplethorpe, Capote, Isherwood and several others enlightens us as to what he knew about them and his opinion of their work. Most of the essays in this book have appeared elsewhere, primarily in the New York Review of a Books.

I admire Mr. White for his accomplishments, but found his musings in this book slow and plodding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended, April 29, 2012
By 
Clifton Snider (Long Beach, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sacred Monsters (Hardcover)
I give this book 4 stars merely because it isn't as substantial as some of Edmund White's other non-fiction/critical collections, such as "The Burning Library". Indeed, as White says in his preface, three of these reviews/essays (those on Mapplethorpe, Capote, and Nabokov) were published in earlier collections. Always readable and intelligent, even erudite, White is perhaps most interesting in his scattered autobiographical passages. If you're at all interested in the artists White covers here, I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor Publisher, February 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sacred Monsters (Hardcover)
Twenty some small essays on, mainly, writers. The author gropes incessantly after le mot juste, always French, often rehashed. I suppose he believes this emits an intellectual air. I detect the whiff of, as he would say, the poseur. I'd just say poser.

Annoying. Nevertheless worth reading--but not in this edition from this publisher (Magnus Books). The first copy I received was missing the last dozen pages or so. Its replacement was intact, but marred by poor formatting (block quotes not properly indented, missing spaces). Typesetting is juvenile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, March 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sacred Monsters (Hardcover)
I have a huge library of books...this adds another view of life to it. I highly recommend this book for anyone interested in different ways of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Delightful Read, January 29, 2014
This review is from: Sacred Monsters (Hardcover)
This book of cultural criticism mingled with biography is the perfect mixture of fun and thought provoking. I found it engaging and easy to get through. It's witty and charming and quite the opposite of dry. I received this book as a gift and it took me a few years to actually open (I have rather a long reading list) and when I got to it, I could have slapped myself for waiting so long, the essay on Isherwood is particularly wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite Edmund White book, December 11, 2013
By 
ronald Yrabedra (Tallahassee, Florida USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sacred Monsters (Hardcover)
of all Edmund White's books, this is my favorite.....vignettes of historical figures presenting not only the quirks and motivations of each, but how the society swirled around them, forming them, and receiving their influence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Into the World of Art, June 29, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sacred Monsters (Hardcover)
Having bought this book as a recommendation from Amazon I wasn't sure what I was actually getting (Yes I suffer from IBD Impulse Buying Disorder). After reading through the book, however, I discovered a charm Mr White has in presenting his subjects. Rather than ever criticizing he merely shows the characters themselves.

If you'd like to find a different perspective on famous characters in the art and literature world this is a great place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sacred Monsters
Sacred Monsters by Edmund White (Hardcover - January 10, 2012)
Used & New from: $12.36
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.