Industrial-Sized Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Adele egg_2015 Fire TV Stick Beauty Deals Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer minions minions minions  Amazon Echo Starting at $84.99 Kindle Black Friday Deals BestoftheYear Outdoor Deals on HTL
Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Zoverstocks
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Sacred Music 1 Import, Limited Edition

1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, Limited Edition, October 10, 2000
"Please retry"
$44.99 $4.94

Indie for the Holidays: Listen now
Get ready for the holidays with 'Indie for the Holidays' our exclusive seasonal playlist featuring original tracks and covers from some of our favorite artists. Listen while you shop with our pop-out player. Listen now

Editorial Reviews

To mark its 20th birthday, Hyperion has had the bright idea of repackaging (and, in some cases, remastering) 20 of its most successful discs and offering them at midprice for a limited period. This Vivaldi CD originally was issued as the first in an ongoing series of choral music. Vivaldi's choral works? Yes, he by no means restricted himself to brilliantly virtuoso instrumental writing, and, when required, could turn his attention to more devout matters--to equally thrilling effect. Track 1, the opening of the Magnificat, knocks your socks off with its unique mix of crazy harmonies and ethereal melodic lines. King has assembled a group of singers and players who appreciate the real worth of this much-misunderstood figure. As well as the Magnificat itself (which is full of delightful surprises, not least of which is the divine soprano duet, "Esurientes," which is sung by Susan Gritton and Lisa Milne), there is the fervent and joyous Dixit Dominus and a profoundly moving Credo. The documentation lives up to the standards of the performances, including an excellent note by Vivaldi expert Michael Talbot. The music here belongs with the best of Vivaldi's output, and is more than capable of standing alongside his more popular concertos. --Harriet Smith

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Magnificat, RV610a: Magnificat
  2. Magnificat, RV610a: Et exultavit
  3. Magnificat, RV610a: Et misericordia
  4. Magnificat, RV610a: Fecit potentiam
  5. Magnificat, RV610a: Deposuit potentes
  6. Magnificat, RV610a: Esurientes
  7. Magnificat, RV610a: Suscepit
  8. Magnificat, RV610a: Sicut locutus est
  9. Magnificat, RV610a: Gloria
  10. Lauda, Jerusalem, RV609
  11. Kyrie Eleison, RV587: Kyrie eleison
  12. Kyrie Eleison, RV587: Christe eleison
  13. Kyrie Eleison, RV587: Kyrie eleison
  14. Credo In Unum Deum, RV591: Credo
  15. Credo In Unum Deum, RV591: Et incarnatus est
  16. Credo In Unum Deum, RV591: Crucifixus
  17. Credo In Unum Deum, RV591: Et resurrexit
  18. Dixit Dominus, RV594: Dixit Dominus
  19. Dixit Dominus, RV594: Donec ponam
  20. Dixit Dominus, RV594: Virgam virtutis tuae
  21. Dixit Dominus, RV594: Tecum principium
  22. Dixit Dominus, RV594: Juravit Dominus
  23. Dixit Dominus, RV594: Dominus a dextris tuis
  24. Dixit Dominus, RV594: Judicabit in nationibus
  25. Dixit Dominus, RV594: De torrente
  26. Dixit Dominus, RV594: Gloria
  27. Dixit Dominus, RV594: Sicut erat in principio

Product Details

  • Audio CD (October 10, 2000)
  • limited_edition edition
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import, Limited Edition
  • Label: Hyperion UK
  • ASIN: B00004WMWI
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,104,570 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on August 22, 2001
What a wonderful CD. I mainly bought it for the Vivaldi Magnificat which I was performing but having listened to the entire collection it left me feeling so refreshed and with a sence of completeness that you can only get from listening to such wonderful music as this! A true orgasmic experience!!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in