Sad Cypress: Hercule Poirot Investigates and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Sad Cypress: A Hercule Poirot Mystery (Mystery Masters) Audio CD – Audiobook, CD, Unabridged


See all 94 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Audio CD, Audiobook, CD, Unabridged
$21.00
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"
$0.99

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Bones Never Lie
Featured New Release in Police Procedurals

Product Details

  • Series: Mystery Masters
  • Audio CD
  • Publisher: AudioGO; Unabridged edition (September 6, 2005)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1572704764
  • ISBN-13: 978-1572704763
  • Product Dimensions: 6.3 x 5.7 x 1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 4.8 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (60 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,402,488 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Library Journal

This recording of Sad Cypress features Christie's super detective, Hercule Poirot (e.g., Murder on the Orient Exress, Audio Reviews, LJ 4/1/94), and a reading by David Suchet, who is well known for playing Poirot on BBC television. The story concerns Elinor Carlisle, accused of murdering another young woman while in a jealous rage. The evidence against Elinor is overwhelming, and she seems destined for prison until a friend and admirer engages Poirot. What follows is the usual Christie puzzle, which listeners are invited to help solve. Suchet reads superbly and provides each character, especially Poirot, with a distinct personality. While this is not Christie's best book, it is nonetheless entertaining. Recommended for mystery collections.
Nancy R. Ives, SUNY at Geneseo
Copyright 1995 Reed Business Information, Inc. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Review

"Poirot solves another exciting case" Daily Mail --This text refers to the Unknown Binding edition.

More About the Author

Agatha Christie was born in 1890 and created the detective Hercule Poirot in her debut novel, The Mysterious Affair at Styles (1920). She achieved wide popularity with The Murder of Roger Ackroyd (1926) and produced a total of eighty novels and short-story collections over six decades.

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
38
4 star
15
3 star
6
2 star
1
1 star
0
See all 60 customer reviews
A fun read for fans of Christie and British murder mysteries!
C. M Mills
The combination of perhaps Agatha Christie's best work and David Suchet's unparalleled voice for, and understanding of, character is a treasure to treasure and enjoy.
Karen Proctor
And even though there are so few real suspects, the solution manages to come as a bit of a surprise.
RachelWalker

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful By Gary F. Taylor HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on April 23, 2002
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Agatha Christie is reknowned for creating apparently simple murder mysteries that unexpectedly twist for completely unexpected conclusions--and no where is this better seen than in SAD CYPRESS, a cleanly written tale about a romantic triangle that leads to murder with only one possible suspect.
The novel opens with Elinor Carlisle actually in the dock, accused of double murder in an effort to hold the affections of her distant cousin and fiance Roderick Welman. When called into the case by a local doctor, Hercule Poirot discovers that Elinor behaves exactly as if she is guilty of the crime. Nonetheless, he agrees to investigate... and as Poirot works to uncover the truth, he finds that virtually everything about the crime indicates that Elinor did indeed commit the crimes--a circumstance which, almost perversely, makes him begin to question the guilt others have taken for granted.
This is one of Christie's least known but most effective novels, a work that deserves to be ranked with the likes of MURDER ON THE ORIENT EXPRESS, THE ABC MURDERS, and A MURDER IS ANNOUNCED. The characters are among her most vivid, the story has an unpretentious atmosphere, and the solution is both absolutely reasonable and absolutely unexpected. Christie writes with considerable clarity, and the simplicity of her approach makes the story all the more effective. An impressive work, sure to please both old fans and newcomers alike; recommended.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful By Antoinette Klein on May 1, 2001
Format: Mass Market Paperback
"Sad Cypress" deals with the eternal triangle which always ends with sadness for someone. In this case, Elinor Carlisle is the odd girl out as her fiance and distant cousin Roderick Welman falls madly in love with his and Elinor's childhood friend, Mary Gerrard, after Mary returns from years abroad. The three of them had been great friends at Hunterbury, the lavish estate of Mary's aunt Mrs. Laura Welman. Mrs. Welman had hoped Elinor and Roderick would marry one day and live at Hunterbury. Mrs. Welman dies suddenly without leaving a will. As her next of kin, Elinor inherits all. Although Mrs. Welman had spoken frequently of providing for Roderick and Mary, the lack of a will leaves them without recourse. In the midst of all this upheaval, Elinor prepares lunch for Mary one day, and Mary dies of morphine poisoning. With suspicion falling heavily on Elinor, the body of Mrs. Welman is exhumed and found to also contain morphine poisoning. All fingers point to Elinor for having killed Mary out of jealousy and her aunt in order to get the full estate. Only one person, Dr. Peter Lord, believes in Elinor's innocence and he calls in the inimitable Hercule Poirot to investigate.
An excellent courtroom sequence and outstanding characters make this one of Christie's best, in my opinion.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful By Gail Cooke HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on August 5, 2002
Format: Audio Cassette
"Sad Cypress" is often referred to as one of the most outstanding of Christie's classic titles. To my mind, that's a bit like trying to say which flawless diamond shines the brightest. Nonetheless, this absorbing story is set in an English country house.
As for Hercule Poirot - who else but David Suchet? He is acclaimed by many as the quintessential Poirot. Those who have seen his PBS performances will readily agree. His voice treatment of this tale brings to vivid reality all the nuances and eccentricities of the characters involved.
"Sad Cypress" presents Elinor Carlisle as a woman blessed with beauty and brains reinforced by wealth - she also finds herself on trial for murder. She stands accused of killing her rival, Mary Gerrard, by poison. Poirot is the only one who believes in her innocence. He needs to prove she is not guilty or Elinor will be hung.
As with other Christie mysteries clues are liberally sprinkled throughout the tale. What fun to try to find them!
- Gail Cooke
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful By Scooper on December 27, 2000
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Something Christie did with this book makes it different from any of her others. It has been said (and rightly said) that she cared little about imagery and in-depth description of people and places, unless it was pertinent to the murders. The characters in Sad Cypress, however, are amazingly 3-D. In the right mood, one could actually cry over the injustice of Mary's death. Elinor's jealousy is another aspect that Christie captured perfectly. I was almost jealous FOR her! Besides stimulating the emotions, however, this book also works on the brain. That's probably what most Christie readers look for in her novels, so don't worry: 'it's' there. There's also something else, there, though, that isn't usually abundant in Christie's other stories. This time,prepare to feel AND think.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on August 17, 1998
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Of all Christie's mysteries, this one is probably my absolute favorite. This is one of the mysteries in which Christie really deals with the psychology of her characters, particularly Elinor Carlisle (who finds herself charged with murder) and the development is well done. The mystery is well-constructed, and weaves an interesting picture of life in the small-town English countryside. The solution is quite well-done and I find the end very touching.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on October 7, 1998
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Fantastic...Christie develops the psychology of her characters brilliantly. The love of Elinor Carlisle for Roddy Welman is very touching and the solution is, as usual, terrific. Perhaps it's not actually the killer/murderer who is the surprise, but the way in which the murder is commited. Not one of the author's most popular books, but certainly an asset to the collection.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Most Recent Customer Reviews