Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Sad Sappy Sucker
Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Eli Paperboy Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 11 reviews(3 star). Show all reviews
on May 7, 2001
Read the 11 reviews before mine and you see people have mixed feelings about Sad Sappy Sucker by Modest Mouse. There are a few good songs on this release, but all in all, the songs are short, undeveloped blasts of randomness. I'm not saying you shouldn't add Sad Sappy Sucker to your collection, but new Modest Mouse listeners beware...you'd be better off going with This Is A Long Drive or any of the others. Long time fans should be happy to have the additional songs, although most have been available on 7"s and on the web for a while.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2013
A couple points. I'm a big Modest Mouse fan. I like their blend of catchy guitar rhythms, snappy lyrics, and alternative appeal. Sad Sappy Sucker is definitely not a starter album and doesn't contain any of these elements. If you're interested in getting a taste of Modest Mouse, this isn't a good choice for the first, second, third, fourth, fifth or even sixth album. No joke! This is a place you go when you've heard all of what Modest Mouse has to offer and want to hear their very RAW-UNDEVELOPED roots. This is where you look when you're looking for the next Modest Mouse album and it doesn't exist (because you own the rest) so you have to give something else a listen. This is a more raw form of even the raw albums of Metallica's Garage albums or the first Red Hot Chili Peppers CD releases. This album is unrefined, no catchy rhythms, not melodic, no hooks, no great instrumentals, but rather a rambling of undeveloped ideas and songs and I think a random phone call. Honestly, some of it is just non-sense and it's not something you're going to jam out to like most of the other albums. If you're not a huge fan, this one can be skipped, if you're a huge fan, it still can be skipped. I'm giving it 3 star because I do like hearing raw undeveloped songs of great artists and seeing or rather hearing the evolution of their talent and sound.

On the other hand, if you're looking for RAW Modest Mouse, but something a bit more refined than ramblings and with more of a garage funk appeal, try The Fruit That Ate Itself. It contains many of the sounds that would progress into their current musical style, but without the refinement. The Fruit That Ate Itself positions itself between Sad Sappy Sucker and This is a Long Drive for Someone for Nothing to Think About which in my opinion is Modest's Mouse first masterpiece and as good as many of their later albums.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2006
Right of the bat, let me say that if you are not well aquainted with Modest Mouse's catalouge, you probably will not enjoy this album. It's a collection of some of the band's earliest work, much of it recorded well before their proper debut full-length in '96. This isn't a very accessible collection of songs...the sound quality is a little rough, and the musicianship and song-writing are choppy at times. The median age of the band was around 21 at this time, and it shows in the songs. However, fans of the band's later work will likely find this an interesting glimpse into the band's origins. You might not like all of the songs (the "dial a song" bits and demos clumped at the rear of the album are interesting at first, but do not reward repeated listens) but a handful of tracks (such as "Wagon Ride Return" and "Dukes Up") are punchy, energetic numbers that suggest the potentiol this band would later go on to fufill.

Those two songs are great, hands down (which boosts my over-all rating for this album to 3 stars). There are a handful of other decent songs that Modest Mouse fans will enjoy as well. I wouldn't consider this an essential purchase, however...there just aren't enough good songs to justify paying full price. If you can get it for cheap as a used disc (like I did), go for it. It won't cost much. Overall, this a decent relase; not great, but an interesting glimpse into the band's early days for fans. If you're not already familliar with Modest Mouse, though, you probably won't find much to interest you. But, if you one day find yourself to be a Modest Mouse fan, you might want to give this disc a spin.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2005
Sad Sappy Sucker is a so so Modest Mouse Album. The album is on and off providing examples of both spectacular songs and not-so-spectacular songs. The clear cut best track would be Worms Vs. Birds with other highlights comming from Path of Least Resistance, From Point a to Point B, Dukes Up, Race Car Grin You Ain't No Landmark, and Secret Angent X-9. If you already like Modest Mouse and enjoy some of their older stuff like 'Lonesome Crowded West' or 'This is a Long Drive for Someone With Nothing to Think About' Then I'd recomend exploring this abum. If your a fan of 'Good News for People Who Love Bad News' and you're looking to explore or if this is your first Modest Mouse album, then the best choice would be Lonesome Crowded West.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2005
If you're part of the "MTV2, Good News For People Who Love Bad News, Float On/Ocean Breathes Salty" Modest Mouse fanbase, you don't need this album. This is for veteran fans of the band only; the ones who have all their albums and knew who they were circa 1998, etc.

Sad Sappy Sucker was MM's first album recorded in 1994, but after being delayed, the album was shelved and 1996's "This Is A Long Drive..." was chosen as the debut instead.

None of the songs here are really worth mentioning besides "Worms vs. Birds", which is a cute and catchy pop-rock tune. Everything else is really "decent" and there are even a few duds. Most of the other songs don't hint at the bigger & better things the band would be getting into on their next couple of albums.

The REAL value of SSS is that it's a very interesting look at the bands origins. The ultra lo-fi feel of the album gives it that "teenage friends getting together for band practice" feel, and it also includes several songs from Isaac Brock's "Dial-A-Song" project and a phone message to give it alot of personality. Hearing 18 year old Isaac singing is hilarious too. He sounds just like his band's name...a modest mouse! Ha!

As a look into MM's past, Sad Sappy Sucker is intriguing and charming. As an album, it's barely mediocre.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2013
This CD is a a bunch of their early stuff before they were more polished. I really didn't like it when I first listened to it but a couple songs do grow on you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2015
I can see why they didn't actually make this their debut album. Bought it mostly for collection purposes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2004
There are some songs which really do reflect what is being called "true Modest Mouse". However... the end of the album seems to just be filled with 30 second badly recorded songs without much substance. It's like they wrote a paper the night before it was due... starts off strong, ends weak.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2001
This is not the modest mouse that people know and love.it was all recorded when issac was very young and you can tell that.hes just getting his songwriting chops down and hasent really learned all the neat little tricks that he knows nowadays. I think that K did put this out just to cash in on a great band. Another huge complaint is that all the songs are terribly short.as soon as you start really digging a song it ends.The last 8 songs or so are each about 30 seconds and the rest are only at 1:30 to 2 minutes long.None of the songs are developed.This is by far the worst Modest Mouse release(but yet better than all the other crap that comes out these days).So DO NOT START out with this album.You will not get a good taste of what the mice are about.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2006
Don't buy this expecting this to be a representation of Modest Mouse. Most these songs are little quirky tracks that are hit and miss i really couldnt call this an alblum there are a few good songs on here but mostly just short stuff. Your better off getting Lonesome Crowded West or Moon and Antarctica i prefer lonesome though
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.