Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Sadako Goes Viral ! ! !
What a great follow-up! I love the Ringu series, so when I found out that this was availbale here on Amazon for US players, I jumped on the order! The movie is great as I expected. First hour starts out slow and creepy, then the last half hour goes an all-out fast paced Sadako rampage. A quick sypnosis, an online painter seeks revenge for being humiliated by reviving...
Published 19 months ago by Aria Araya

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Terrible, But A Bit Hairy
Historically, everything in the "Ring" media franchise has been pretty rock-solid. The main films are classics, and Koji Suzuki's original novel is on par with many things Stephen King has written. The various manga adaptations have also been entertaining, and from hearsay, the TV drama was solid. Heck, even the Dreamcast game, "Ring: Terror's Realm" is so bad that it's...
Published 17 months ago by Elias B.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Terrible, But A Bit Hairy, March 8, 2013
This review is from: Sadako [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Historically, everything in the "Ring" media franchise has been pretty rock-solid. The main films are classics, and Koji Suzuki's original novel is on par with many things Stephen King has written. The various manga adaptations have also been entertaining, and from hearsay, the TV drama was solid. Heck, even the Dreamcast game, "Ring: Terror's Realm" is so bad that it's actually brilliant as a comedic experience.

So when somebody finally decided to update the infamous antagonist Sadako to be relevant to a modern audience (read: not in a videotape), I was reasonably excited. But while "Sadako 3D" does manage to succeed in being a relatively frightening horror flick with an interesting backstory, its confusing placement in the continuity and the lukewarm plot make it the weakest link of the series.

"Sadako" follows a young school-teacher who is haunted by a traumatic childhood experience in which she was almost killed by a psychotic man wielding a knife. To save herself and her classmates, she let out a deafening scream which shattered glass and killed the attacker. She was then shunned by her peers, with the exception of one boy who ended up becoming her fiance. Fast forward to the present, where rumor has it that a mysterious video is circulating on the internet that acts as a virus of sorts, and forces people into suicide. When one of her students is afflicted, the teacher finds herself embroiled in the story of how the video virus came to be, and tries to stop it before it consumes the world by infecting the entire internet.

Kudos should be given to the concept of the film, directed by series newbie Tsutomu Hanabusa (who also wrote the script, along with veteran horror writer Yoshinobu Fujioka). While it was adapted from the newest Suzuki novel, "S", the fact remains that Sadako being a Trojan is a terrifying prospect. Throughout the film, we see her hand springing forth from a smartphone, and her hair raining down from a giant display on the side of a building in Tokyo. Even though the originals are terrifying, we need to face the facts: nobody's scared of VHS tapes anymore. By making this based upon a current technology, and referencing contemporary issues, the writers have successfully made this effective to a modern audience.

But is it actually scary? Honestly, the horror in this is a mixed bag, mainly comprised of cheap scare tactics. Some of the instances of Sadako appearing are genuinely frightening, and will make you jump out of your seat. But as the movie wears on, she loses her personal touch and becomes more of a force, simply appearing on the biggest screens possible. This is a perfect example of the phrase "size doesn't matter, it's all in how you use it." While seeing the ravenheaded and creepy cutie come out of aforementioned giant display is awe-inspiring, it's never really scary. Hanabusa ultimately fails at crafting a suspenseful atmosphere, and the thrills come from jump scares as oppose to actual suspense. Again, though, some of the instances of her appearing are pretty creepy (one scene of a hand springing forth from a smart phone sent chills down my spine), so people who are easily scared regardless might wanna look away for the first 30 minutes or so.

Unfortunately, the horror and plot both fall apart miserably in the latter quarter of the movie, as it devolves into a C-grade supernatural serial killer drama. While I won't spoil things, I will say that the reason for Sadako being resurrected is laughable, and the "horror" of a psychotic individual killing women and throwing them in a well to bring her back to life isn't terrifying, because we've seen it done before and done better. The fact of that there's a human antagonist makes the film significantly less mysterious. Not only that, the character himself is poorly acted and comes across as a prissy loser as opposed to a believable villain. Another thing fans might notice is that the latter half of the film severs continuity with the original films, making its billing of "The Ring 3" in other countries completely inaccurate. This should be treated as a side-story, or dare I say it, a reboot (ugh.)

But what really unravels the suspense is the supernatural threat itself. When we first get to see what we think is Sadako outside of the screen, she's unremarkable and contrived. Her legs are two or three times the size of her torso, and she runs around on all four limbs like a deranged insect, and can clone herself. Not only that, but she now has a giant mouth, roars, and drinks people's blood from their throats. Yes, Sadako, the prototypical "creepy Japanese girl" has ironically become a cliche Hollywood beast, devoid of any aura of mystery or terror. Even though you eventually find out that those are just monsters the real Sadako (who has a brilliant speaking role this time around) created, the fact remains that the filmmakers had to rely on CGI monsters to be scary, as opposed to actually BEING scary.

Oh, I might as well add that the "video itself" is utterly disappointing, nowhere nearly as creepy as the original footage we've seen in previous entries.

What makes the movie tolerable enough is the camerawork, which is surprisingly good, a shock considering how unfortunate the rest of the film is. There are distinct usages of colors to evoke moods during particular scenes, such as the blues and greens when the protagonist is running from the unremarkable "Sadako" clones. Pretty much everything in the movie is interesting to look at, and while the script does nothing to give off any atmosphere, the visuals are appealing enough to keep viewers engaged. Extra points go to the terse score and effective usage of sound effects.

If you're able to turn your brain off and just be engaged for the visual and auditory spectacle, you may have a good time. Just try to ignore the cheap, bad-CGI moments that blatantly try to "come out of the screen" at you.

Also good is the acting, the most strong performance of which comes from Satomi Ishihara in the lead role. As a victim of past trauma, braving her fears in order to save the man she loves, she's incredibly convincing and an absolute joy to watch. Her performance is incredibly nuanced, and saves the film from being entirely bad. Koji Seto is also a delight as her sweet-natured boyfriend, charming and adorable as he helps her through her various struggles. He's quite the believable character, and I think many men (and women, even) will be able to relate to him. Another great performance comes from Ryosei Tayama as a bumbling, but good-natured, detective who has a poor grasp on anything related to technology, providing some necessary comic relief.

Lastly, when you finally get to the "true form" of Sadako, played by the pretty Ai Hashimoto, you're treated to one of the most harrowing performances of a screen villain in recent memory. For the first time in the series, you see Sadako speak, and get a hint of her true motivations. It's truly a powerful moment, and makes you wonder why the idiotic serial killer subplot was even there in the first place. She's only on screen for a few moments, but Hashimoto is excellent, and I hope we see more of her in future entries.

It's good that most of the actors are strong, because one in particular is so unremarkable that he would drag the entire film down if he had even a few moments more of screen-time. This would be Yusuke Yamamoto, who plays the film's primary antagonist. His performance is incredibly poor, coming across like a cheap villain from a bad telenovela. From what I've read, Yamamoto is quite the charmer as a "good boy" type of character, and my advice to him would be to stick to that.

When we watch "Sadako 3D", what are we left with? Sadly, not enough. There are thrills to be had, and this is still better than most of the flicks that pass for "horror" these days. Strong performances, nice cinematography and a good score make a compelling argument for checking out this film. But that doesn't excuse a plot which becomes contrived halfway through, nor the awful performance of a key character who shouldn't exist, or the deceptive desecration of a legendary screen presence. Extra points should also be taken off for the lack of clarity in regards to where this exactly fits into the canon, if it even does at all, or if it's yet another reboot.

To modern audiences, this film will probably be passable and entertaining enough. But for people who know what the "Ring" series is truly capable of, and know that it can deliver excellent atmosphere and impeccable storytelling with a truly threatening menace, it will be a harsh disappointment. Ultimately, "Sadako 3D" is an acceptable thriller, but a tepid addition to such a great series.

Grade: C+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sadako 3-Dud, June 29, 2013
By 
orvuus (Birmingham, AL USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sadako [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Ack! This is horrible. Familiar premise to Ring (Ringu) fans -- a cursed video claims lives mysteriously. Unfortunately from the beginning this film has three strikes against it: 1.) everyone by now is at least passingly familiar with the cursed video concept; 2.) this movie does not make a convincing progression on this concept (a mad loner wants to strike back by harnessing the power of Sadako simply because his website got "burned" i.e. criticized?); 3.) the 3D gimmick and the CGI thrown in look like they were done on someone's home computer -- badly done and inserted randomly in the movie. The actresses and actors are good enough, but due to the bad script, direction, and effects this movie is completely scare-free for me. Out of desperation or lack of ideas the roughly last one third becomes something like a Universal monster movie (but making less sense); and then, worst of all, ... well, I'm not going to give out a spoiler but let's just say this movie does not end like the other Ringu movies. In fact, this movie has nothing to do with the other Ring movies -- not in terms of director, actors, or even storyline. Give it a miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars There's a Video That Will Make You Suicidal, All Right..., April 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sadako [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
... Unfortunately for viewers, it's not fictional. This movie takes the extra step of not only being about a video that makes people want to kill themselves: it lets you know exactly how that would feel. Time warps are apparently now possible because this bluray turned 93 minutes into six excruciating hours.

The acting isn't to blame and the photographic 3D is good. Everything else, from the convoluted, canon-decimating plot to the ridiculous pace and headscratching dialog will make you rue the day you got sucked in to this hot pile of wasted opportunity with extra cheese.

Bonus points for the crap CGI glass that makes you feel like you're in an unreleased 80's music video. But the points have a negative value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Sad Entry to the series, March 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sadako [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I felt through out this film that they were trying too hard to make an America friendly film. It just felt so dull and plodding setting up the story. The kills as such were really pathetic for the most and 3-D did not help. The majority of the effects were CGI if not all and not done terribly well.

Most of the kills are simply a poor looking CGI arm coming out of a computer screen and deaths that appear to be suicides... YAWN.

Near the end when everything comes together, it picks up a bit and i like the creepy well monsters but it still leaves you unfulfilled in the end and not even worth an average rating. This does not add at all to the Ring/Sadako story in any way and very likely will not be viewed a second time by me as it is nothing more than a cash-in on the name with no substance to add to the Sadako mythology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The fifth "Ring" film brings Sadako to 3D. The film has its creepy moments but it's a pretty tame horror film on Blu-ray 3D., July 4, 2013
This review is from: Sadako [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
In Japan, similar to America, they have horror films that continue to be released every few years.

For Japan, one of those horror films that continue to be released are the "Ring" films, based on the novels by Koji Suzuki. Films that have inspired American and Korean remakes and an visual image that remains a scary figure for people in Japan, to this day.

The antagonist for the films is an entity known as Sadako Yamamura and for each film, it appears the history of the long dark black haired woman (or in the novel's case, a hermaphrodite) wearing white, seems to be muddled. A person with a "Ring Virus", a person that was born with psychic powers and in the past, she is able to kill people with a cursed tape which in the past had traveled a person's body and killing them.

Of course, things have changed a bit with Sadako's storyline and the same can be said about the fifth film titled "Sadako 3D", a film based on Koji Suzuki's novel "S" and is directed by Tsutomu Hanabusa. It's also a chance for the film to bring Sadako to a modern era via attacking people through PC/cell phone technology and also using 3D technology to give audiences more of a frightening experience at the cinema.

VIDEO:

"Sadako 3D" is presented in 1:85:1 aspect ratio and one disc comes with both the 3D and 2D version of the film. First, let's discuss the 2D version of the film. Shot digitally, picture quality is very good for "Sadako 3D". Skin tones are natural, black levels are nice and deep. I saw no artifacts or banding or any negative issues during my viewing of the film. Good amount of detail during closeups and outdoor scenes are vibrant and colorful, while darker scenes are ominous and creepy.

As for the 3D presentation, there are many scenes where you see people falling towards you. Glass shattering from a computer screen or window and the glass shards are coming towards you. Even scenes where Sadako pops out of the screen and looks as she is going to strangle you. The 3D is by no means the greatest, but it is effective when trying to get scare people or get them to jump out of their seats.

It's important that one owns a 3D-enabled Blu-ray player and television to play this film on 3D. Otherwise, if you don't have these devices, you can still watch the 2D version on Blu-ray.

AUDIO & SUBTITLES:

"Sadako 3D" is presented in Japanese DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 and Stereo. I was impressed by the fact that there are scenes that tend to the utilize the surround and rear surround channels quite well. From glass shattering to high pitch screams. The ambiance is also quite spooky at times and the sounds of Sadako or the monsters are creepy and makes the viewing experience quite creepy. There are scenes with some LFE, especially during a low rumble during an earthquake but this is a film that utilizes ambiance and shock value to scare the audience, especially when Sadako jumps out of a screen.

SPECIAL FEATURES

"Sadako 3D" comes with no special features.

EXTRAS:

"Sadako 3D" comes with a lenticular slipcover.

JUDGMENT CALL:

When it comes to "Sadako 3D", I often think about the "Friday the 13th", "Halloween", "Paranormal Activity" films. Many people feel the original are better and with each film churned out each year or every other year,, they seem to get worse and worse.

Yes, it's subjective to the viewer but when it comes to the "Ring" series, what made the original much more captivating is its deep storyline and its creepiness but also, the original "Ring" film had a pretty solid cast with popular actors Nanako Matsushima and Hiroyuki Sanada featured in the film.

While its counterpart "Rasen" (filmed at the same time and released on the same day back in January 1998) did miserably in the box office, a sequel was made the following year titled "Ring 2″ and a prequel titled "Ring 0: Birthday" which actually features Sadako Yamamura as the film's protagonist).

As the prequel was satisfying, it tinkered with the Sadako history of having two Sadako's. With "Sadako 3D", takes the story into a whole new direction with a mad scientist known as Seiji Kashiwada experimenting on women in order to revive Sadako and so, she can find the ideal host and take over her.

While the concept makes me want to roll my eyes and shake my head of what has happened to the whole "Ring" film series and where it's headed, I also realize how popular the character of Sadako really is. In Japan, there was a Sadako parade of long haired individuals wearing white to promote the film, a large Sadako with her hands reaching forward being driven throughout Tokyo. And to this day, a good number of pranks are shown on television (and make it on YouTube). For the most part, people can't get enough of Sadako because they love the scare factor.

So, while the films are not as deep as the original first film, they still provide that additional scare factor that Japanese want to see in horror films and what best than to take advantage of the situation by bringing Sadako to the modern age without VHS tapes but on computer screens and cell phones. Making Sadako now being able to reach her victims through online video and now scaring people in 3D.

While "Sadako 3D" is a "Ring" film, aside from Sadako, there really is no major connection to past films aside that people are dying and there is an investigation of what is causing the deaths.

As a commercial 3D film, the film is effective when it uses 3D to scare people out of their seats. While 3D effects show glass shards flowing towards you, it's Sadako jumping out of the screen that scares people. Adding the creepy ambiance, "Sadako 3D" does have its creepy moments. As a horror film, this is not one to scare you or sicken you. There is little blood, there is violence via strangulation or people shooting themselves, getting hit by a car or falling off a building but other than that, this is not a film that even those who freak out during horror films will find themselves covering their eyes.

While the 3D film on Blu-ray is effective when it comes to 3D and lossless audio, it's lacking of any special features unfortunately.

Overall, "Sadako 3D" is definitely nowhere near the same fright factor or storyline of the original "Ring" film and truthfully none of the four films after the first film has lived up to the original and probably, never will.

But what makes "Sadako 3D" different than the other films is that Sadako now can scare you via 3D. But is that enough to recommend? For those wanting a horror film on Blu-ray 3D, maybe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Sadako 3D" not bad at all. Decent blu-ray transfer., April 24, 2013
By 
Asian Mack "Art" (Pittsburgh, PA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sadako [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The "Ringu" franchise is a fascinating phenomenon. This latest chapter in the series is not a bad film. It has its creepy and shock moments. But it is a little over-the-top. The films may never have the impact of Hideo Nakata's original "Ringu" film. But nontheless, "Sadako 3D" is fun to watch on a Saturday night with it raining outside, the lights out and surround sound. The maniacal madman at the helm is a little bit much at times but the scares make for decent viewing. For me, this blu-ray was a day one purchase due to my love for Asian Horror Films with some of my favorites being "Ringu", "Dark Water", "A Tale of Two Sisters", "The Eye", "Shutter", "Phone", "Alone", "The Eye 2", "One Missed Call", "Re-cycle", "Carved The Slit-Mouthed Woman", "The Red Shoes", "Dumplings", "The Cat" aka "Two Eyes That See Death" and others. If you are a fan, give "Sadako 3D" a chance, you just might like it and the price is right. UPDATE: 2-D blu-ray quality is pretty decent with a nice blu-ray transfer and thunderous Japanese DTS-HD Master Audio; haven't watched the 3D version yet. Some of the CGI special effects are a bit hokey but the several Sadako attack moments and scares still suffice. Be prepared because the film goes into a completely different direction and changes into a monster movie going into the climax of the film; which is certainly not expected in the "Ringu" franchise even though Sadako was pretty monsterous in "Ringu 0: Birthday" but in a different, more ominous and disturbing way. It is going to be interesting to see where this franchise goes because this film is actually NOT the conclusion because "Sadako 2 3D" is releasing in theaters in Japan in August. Overall, a nice blu-ray to own if you enjoy J-Horror and the 3D gimmicks are there. Just don't go in expecting Hideo Nakata's "Ringu" and "Dark Water" or Takashi Shimizu's "Ju-on 2" and you'll be fine. But I enjoyed this film more than Takashi Shimizu's "Shock Labyrinth 3D" for sure. But "Sadako 3D" is no where near in the league of Shimizu's bizarre and unnerving "Tormented 3D" aka "Rabbit Horror 3D" which actually caught me by surprise. But this blu-ray is still recommended for the fun scares and it is something to put on a large screen HDTV in 1080p with surround sound for Halloween time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The Screen Writers Never Watched Ringu, November 7, 2013
This review is from: Sadako [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Ringu was an interesting concept for a horror movie, a young girl with powerful ESP is ostracized tossed in a well and kills people through a VHS (for the young and clueless, how you used to watch movies with none of the cool features that DVDs have). The American version even pulled it off very well, but Sadako is just an insult to the Ringu movies. When you read the description and it sounds like a good movie that will follow the original movies, but it didn't; in fact the description sounds like how this movie should be. the movie is about an artist that goes crazier than artists usually do and tries to "revive" Sadako, who has gone from killing people 7 days after they watch the tape to crawling around with weird frog legs. The movie also has: a techno savvy cop and his partner an old school cop whose computer knowledge is: turn on computer, open word, write report, save, close word, turn off computer; an obsession with Luna Moths and insects in general; and nothing to do with the original movies at all. If you have never seen The Ring or Ringu, then buy it fi you want. However if you have see The Ring or Ringu, then don't watch this and feel the disappointment that I had to feel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars False Hope; this movie should be changed to "sci-fi", June 13, 2013
This review is from: Sadako [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This review has *slight* spoilers.
This is not a true Ring "conclusion". I'm a big Koji Suzuki fan; I've read all his books.
When I first heard that there was going to be a Ring sequel, I was happy. I was excited that finally Sadako wasn't going to attack people with a VCR tape (I mean, that's so 1990's.). When I saw the trailer, I was excited. I read the reviews (mostly negative), but didn't pay attention to them. I said, "Well, it's a Ring movie, that's good!" Boy, was I wrong.

The beginning was like any Japanese movie. Cheesy effects. Nothing new. I wasn't really let down by that, until perhaps the middle of the movie. When a person gets wrapped around hair, is flailed in the air, and is pulled into a digital truck. Um. Yeah. That's when I started to lose hope.

Near the end of the movie, giant spider-like creatures start attacking the main character. Okay. They're supposed to be Sadako things. Supposedly.

In the end, a girl's eyes turns red. It looks like someone used "Paint" to fill them in.

Honestly, this movie has great potential. It really does. The story really is attention grabbing. But the back story is changed. Sadako apparently turned into a frog spider zombie! Oh, and there's about 50 of them. Okay. A better title would be "The Spider Who Killed" or "Sadako the Spider, Because a film made 14 years after has to completely change the whole plot".

This movie incorporates about NONE of the traditions the original Ring movies offered. Like said before, Sadako's clones now have super long legs and crawl like a spider and pose like a frog. The phone no longer rings when you watch it. "7 days" is completely out of the question. Sadako no longer has that eerie walk. It's a hot mess. 2 seconds of the original Ring movie (Ringu) is already ten times scarier than the whole movie.

If you're a Koji Suzuki fan, I'm guessing you still want to watch the movie. Maybe you should, so you can complete the series. But the above is just a warning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Scary Japanese Horror, Good 3D, June 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sadako [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Somewhat tired rehash of The Ring series, with the updated "die if you watch it" video now being streamed online.
Good acting, directing, and production values. Solid 3D depth with some good pop-outs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Well ... (Pun intended), May 31, 2013
This review is from: Sadako [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I've always said that horror films tend to be easiest to make because - on the face of it - they require the smallest investment in characters. The thrill is always in the chase - Character A is being harassed by Creature A; and the audience gets its chills by experiencing that pursuit vicariously. Never is the viewer in any true jeopardy; he or she just gets an adrenaline rush from witnessing someone else's freakish flight.

But what isn't all that easy is creating a suitable monster. You know the type? The one who sulks in the shadows waiting to pounce when you're least expecting it? By regularly taping into our cultural fears of technology, that's something that THE RING series has done fairly well. We could argue all day about whether or not we like the films; still, it's hard to mistake the impact they've had on audiences worldwide.

(NOTE: The following review will contain minor spoilers necessary solely for the discussion of plot and characters. If you're the kind of reader who prefers a review entirely spoiler-free, then I'd encourage you to skip down to the last two paragraphs for my final assessment. If, however, you're accepting of a few modest hints at `things to come,' then read on ...)

You know the drill: if you've seen the video, then Sadako - the Japanese girl with the never-ending bangs - shows up to spell your doom. In the horror department, that's as routine as vampires biting your neck or zombies dining on your brains. What screenwriters Yoshinobu Fujioka and Tsutomu Hanabusa have done in this installment have amped it up even more, allowing the causal video to go viral. Kids everywhere are searching for it - after all, how could they avoid the latest viral craze? - but it's up to their schoolteacher, Akane Ayukawa (played by silent but sufficiently plucky Satomi Ishihara), to save the day.

The only problem for Akane is that Sadako is hungry for a new upgrade that takes the shape of the teacher's body! If the two ever come together, then the creepiest killer that side of Tokyo could walk the streets again, spelling the end of life as we know it. So wouldn't you know it? This installment finds Sadako definitely hot for teacher.

There really isn't any more to say about SADAKO 3D except that it's another suitable entry into the growing RING property. It serves up enough scares to keep one interested for its 97 minutes, but I'll admit I thought it dragged a bit in the opening. It utilizes the first 15 minutes to essentially `set-up' the premise regarding the video and the consequences of viewing it, but don't we all know what's in store for those viewers by now? Of course, that's a minor quibble compared to the rest of the film, and methinks fans who turned in for previous episodes or even the Americanized remake (less its awful sequel) know just what to expect.

Akane's background leaves a bit to be desired, but, in a feature that postulates evil can exist in cyberspace, I suppose that should be taken for granted. I won't spoil it, but I will say it involves an even greater suspension of disbelief on the part of the audience. As is the formula, these two forces - one good, one evil - are on a crash course to meet. And meet they do in an abandoned warehouse that's decorated in contemporary art deco style. Sadako holds her own, of course, but you'd think a vicious spirit with the ability to surf the Internet could figure out how to squeeze through a hole in the wall a bit more quickly. Akane makes for suitable prey, always appearing delicate, frail, and fragile ... until Sadako gets her dander up.

Talk about a bad hair day? This is her worst.

SADAKO 3D is produced by Kadokawa Pictures, Kansai Telecasting, Shizuoka Telecasting, Tohokushinsha Film Corporation, and Tokai Television Broadcast Company. DVD distribution (stateside) is being handled through Well Go USA. For those needing it spelled out perfectly, this is a Japanese spoken language film with English subtitles (no English dubbing track available). As for the technical specifications, the film looks and sounds superb, and it boasts some suitably eerie cinematography and visual trickery. As is often the case with these foreign releases, there are no special features - would it have hurt too much to give Sadako a proper theatrical retrospective?

RECOMMENDED. Whatever your impressions are on the impressive RING franchise, it's easy to admit that Sadako is one of the creepiest creatures ever committed to film. Theorists, philosophers, and film fans can argue for ages about what she means (symbolically), and there's nothing wrong if - in the end - they all agree on one central premise: she stands for terror. She's a gnarly critter who's hell bent on revenge in SADAKO 3D of a sort. And even though the packaging boasts this is "the terrifying conclusion" I can't help but wonder if there aren't a few scares yet left in her life from her side of the great beyond.

In the interests of fairness, I'm pleased to disclose that the fine folks at Well Go USA provided me with an advance DVD copy of SADAKO by request for the expressed purposes of completing this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sadako [Blu-ray]
Sadako [Blu-ray] by Tsutomu Hanabusa (Blu-ray - 2013)
$29.98 $12.84
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.