Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jam Packed with Information
This is an incrediably comprehensive text on psychiatry. Each paragraph introduces new material in understandable terminology. I am using it for a graduate nursing class and find it to be heavy going. I recommend reading it with the companion study guide to help distill the most important information from all the material presented.
Published on January 17, 2004

versus
1 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Inaccurate
ME (CFS) and neurasthenia are only mentioned en passant as the only two diseases mentioned as being associated with mixed depression/anxiety. This subtly reinforces erroneous notions that ME is more assocaited with psychopathology than other common somatic diseases. They also do a bad job in the section on ME in the unabridged textbook with many falsehoods included.
Published on December 1, 2009 by Justin Reilly, esq.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jam Packed with Information, January 17, 2004
By A Customer
This is an incrediably comprehensive text on psychiatry. Each paragraph introduces new material in understandable terminology. I am using it for a graduate nursing class and find it to be heavy going. I recommend reading it with the companion study guide to help distill the most important information from all the material presented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Valuable tool for the student or clinician, October 15, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kaplan and Sadock's Concise Textbook of Clinical Psychiatry, 3rd Edition (Paperback)
This textbook covers every area of the mental health field, closely following the DSM-IV-TR structure. Information is presented clearly without sacrificing precision. The sections on substance abuse and psychopharmacology are especially useful; another welcome feature was the section on palliative care. All in all, this is a great addition to the library of any medical practioner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable for Students and Mental Health Professionals, December 24, 2007
By 
Lewis A. Brooks (Hodmezovasarhely, HUNGARY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is among the two or three most definitive works available in this field. It is organized in a reader/researcher-friendly format that enables mental health professionals to quickly access all the relevant information relating to a specific diagnostic category, and its simple and direct format is especially helpful to students. The authors enjoy a reputation deservedly second to none. After computers, I would say this is the next most indispensable item for practitioners and teachers and students in the field of mental health.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Needed for work, March 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kaplan and Sadock's Concise Textbook of Clinical Psychiatry, 3rd Edition (Paperback)
Every clinician needs a copy of the updated Kaplan/Sadock.
It's about time I bit the bullet and got myself a new one.
It's a must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great update, October 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kaplan and Sadock's Concise Textbook of Clinical Psychiatry, 3rd Edition (Paperback)
While I generally rely on the yearly edition of another publication, decided to use this one this year. It seems fine overall, but miss many of the sub-analysis of diagnosis....e.g. rate of possible over-diagnosis of several categories: autism, hddhd, hddh, oppositional defiant disorder etc. Good for reference but not the calibre of some.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gregg L. Friedman MD, Psychiatrist, Hallandale Beach, FL, August 29, 2012
This review is from: Kaplan and Sadock's Concise Textbook of Clinical Psychiatry, 3rd Edition (Paperback)
Kaplan and Saddock's Concise Textbook of Clinical Psychiatry is an excellent Psychiatry textbook. It is well organized and easy to read. It is a great textbook. By Gregg L. Friedman MD, Psychiatrist, Hallandale Beach, FL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great psychiatry text book, October 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kaplan and Sadock's Concise Textbook of Clinical Psychiatry, 3rd Edition (Paperback)
I am a psychiatry resident. This book is great for providing me with information without getting overloaded with too much information. The book is great for reviewing material for the Prite without having to pay the high asking price for the full reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kaplan and Sadock's..., May 6, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kaplan and Sadock's Concise Textbook of Clinical Psychiatry, 3rd Edition (Paperback)
Really good so far.
When is next edition coming out?
WOuld be nice to have current updates, particularly meds, posted online.
Thanks,
Clay
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great condition, May 27, 2009
This review is from: Kaplan and Sadock's Concise Textbook of Clinical Psychiatry, 3rd Edition (Paperback)
The book came in the condition that was stated. Right edition and fast shipping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Inaccurate, December 1, 2009
This review is from: Kaplan and Sadock's Concise Textbook of Clinical Psychiatry, 3rd Edition (Paperback)
ME (CFS) and neurasthenia are only mentioned en passant as the only two diseases mentioned as being associated with mixed depression/anxiety. This subtly reinforces erroneous notions that ME is more assocaited with psychopathology than other common somatic diseases. They also do a bad job in the section on ME in the unabridged textbook with many falsehoods included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Kaplan and Sadock's Concise Textbook of Clinical Psychiatry, 3rd Edition
Kaplan and Sadock's Concise Textbook of Clinical Psychiatry, 3rd Edition by Virginia A. Sadock (Paperback - April 21, 2008)
$84.99 $71.28
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.