Customer Reviews


149 Reviews
5 star:
 (128)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating technology - wonderful writing
When I first saw the photicular technology that made this book possible I was really quite impressed. The DIY technology is compelling enough that one could spend an hour or so just flipping back and forth through the pages, saying "how the heck did he do that." And for kids? Forget about it! The fascination is potentially endless. So I was sold just on the tech...
Published on October 19, 2012 by wickerman

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
Photos very poor quality. They were so blurry that I kept trying to move the book to a different angle to get a clearer image. I gave this 2 stars because of the good info on each animal. If not for that, I would have given it 1 star.
Published 13 months ago by English Teacher


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating technology - wonderful writing, October 19, 2012
By 
wickerman "joyful noise" (Arlington, VA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Safari: A Photicular Book (Hardcover)
When I first saw the photicular technology that made this book possible I was really quite impressed. The DIY technology is compelling enough that one could spend an hour or so just flipping back and forth through the pages, saying "how the heck did he do that." And for kids? Forget about it! The fascination is potentially endless. So I was sold just on the tech alone.
But when I got past the tech to the actual 'book' I found a nicely written history of the 'Safari,' from "Out of Africa" and elephant guns, to the introduction of the modern conservation ethic and the desire to see wildlife without bringing home a pelt to remember the journey. to make it better, each illustration comes with a 'baseball card' full of information about each animal.
It's a wonderful journey, a fascinating technological accomplishment and if it's sitting around on your coffee table, you can't help but flip through it. If you're looking for a cool gift, this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Photojournalism enters the 21st century in this fascinating photo book, October 24, 2012
This review is from: Safari: A Photicular Book (Hardcover)
About 15 years ago at the Annual Toy Fair in New York I first saw some hanging mobiles using a technology called scanimation where the revolving image would appear to move. They were new clever but basically black and white images on a translucent piece of plastic. There is a book called "Gallop" that was published including a few of these.

At this year's Book Expo (in May) I spotted this new book - "Safari" - that appeared to use the same technology. A closer look at the mock-up (it only had the cover image at that time) showed me that technology has really advanced and a new photo technology, called Photicular Technology, allows full color motion when the pages are moved. I was told the book would be "something special" and it is! Inventor and photo artist Dan Kainan has produced eight images - each of a different wild animal (Lion, Gorilla, Rhinoceros, Zebra, Elephant, Gazelle, and Giraffe- and the 4x6 images are accompanied by a page of text from National Geographic photographer Carol Kaufman.

It's a beautiful and educational book you can share with your kids (but be aware that it is not sturdily bound so it will need tender treatment. Put this book on a table when you have company and watch everyone's face when they pick it up and open to the first image page!

I hope you found this review both informative and helpful.

Steve Ramm
"Anything Phonographic"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kids love it!, October 29, 2012
By 
Amy Mutscher (Arlington, VA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Safari: A Photicular Book (Hardcover)
My sons were captured by the moving images on the cover and within the book and I was transported by the safari stories so well-written by Ms. Kaufmann. Both informative and entertaining - something for the whole family to enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow, November 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Safari: A Photicular Book (Hardcover)
this book is amazing. i saw the video of it but still could not believe the way the pictures move.. hopefully there will be others like this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A magical book!, December 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Safari: A Photicular Book (Hardcover)
An amazing, ingenious creation! Each page of this book comes alive with motion - like a paper video player - with an engaging animated clip of an animal in motion. What a wonderful way to learn about nature, or just to have a fun experience up close and personal with the great beasts of Africa. Already bought 2 copies as gifts for my daughter's friends, and watched many delighted reactions as grown-ups admire the copy I have on my desk at work. It's really "next-generation book," a little treasure for anyone who loves optical wonders and smart art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, October 23, 2012
This review is from: Safari: A Photicular Book (Hardcover)
This book will appeal to all ages. Ms Kaufmanns writings about safari will touch the most experienced Africa traveler and the wonderful photo effects will inspire others to visit the most beautiful continent. My husband and I were lucky enough to meet her briefly at Leleshwa Camp and can testify to the her sense of awe brought on by time on safari!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My NEW Go-To Present, November 23, 2012
By 
Picky Lady (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Safari: A Photicular Book (Hardcover)
This is an AWESOME book for children of ALL ages! Plus, most parents are grateful when a present is both entertaining AND educational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool, December 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Safari: A Photicular Book (Hardcover)
I bought this as part of my grandson's Christmas gifts and the adults ended up looking through it! I also bought "Swing" and that was equally fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kids Will Ask For This Book Every Night, August 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Safari: A Photicular Book (Hardcover)
I cannot believe this book is not more expensive. A lot went into this. Literally, like a movie on every page. Cannot wait to give as a gift and blow my kids' minds with "videos" within the paper. Lots of interesting information about the animals. Keep in mind that you do not want to smash this book or put a lot of weight on top of it, or it will damage the photoiculars. Can only imagine how many times these pages will be flipped to see the "videos" of the animals moving!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very cool 'moving' picture book for big kids, December 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Safari: A Photicular Book (Hardcover)
We bought this as a gift for a little one who loves animals and action books after seeing one at ToysRUs. Each moving picture has a page of text about the animal shown. Best for older children, as pages are thick (due to image insert) but fairly fragile in construction, similar to pop-up books. Text is very small and fairly technical, reading level seems like at least 4th grade. But totally fascinating for small children, could make a cool book to read together!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Safari: A Photicular Book
Safari: A Photicular Book by Dan Kainen (Hardcover - October 16, 2012)
$25.95 $18.68
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.