Customer Reviews


674 Reviews
5 star:
 (308)
4 star:
 (201)
3 star:
 (104)
2 star:
 (29)
1 star:
 (32)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


129 of 142 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Entertaining
When the title of a movie is Safe House, one can assume that this CIA safe house in South Africa is any but safe for its intended guest, Tobin Frost (Denzel Washington) a rogue CIA agent. Daniel Espinosa keeps the movie moving at a good clip with smart cinematography. Denzel Washington is believable and classy. Ryan Reynolds provides a good supporting role as a CIA...
Published on February 27, 2012 by John Robie

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good but . . .
this mirrored the Bourne movies too closely . . . agent stuck in the middle of action, woman leader trying to find him, rogue internal agent giving away the secrets. And of course the CIA is the corrupt agency . . . tired of the same old
Published on June 19, 2012 by Massachusetts reader


‹ Previous | 1 268 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

129 of 142 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Entertaining, February 27, 2012
By 
This review is from: Safe House (DVD)
When the title of a movie is Safe House, one can assume that this CIA safe house in South Africa is any but safe for its intended guest, Tobin Frost (Denzel Washington) a rogue CIA agent. Daniel Espinosa keeps the movie moving at a good clip with smart cinematography. Denzel Washington is believable and classy. Ryan Reynolds provides a good supporting role as a CIA safe house keeper. Overall, one of the best thriller action movies in the past year.

If you are interested in other great CIA movies, please check out Body of Lies(Leonardo Dicaprio), The Recruit(Al Pacino with Colin Farrell), and Spy Game(Robert Redford with Brad Pitt).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


168 of 191 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Redneck Review, May 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Safe House (Amazon Instant Video)
These are how my reviews will go from here on.

Acting: A+

Action: A+

Plot: A+

Ending: B

Sex Scenes: None

Language: Moderate

Violence: A+ and alot of it

Worth a rental or Purchase: A+

Hope you enjoy the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


85 of 99 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars YOU'VE DONE A FINE JOB. WE'LL TAKE IT FROM HERE, February 19, 2012
This review is from: Safe House (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy + UltraViolet) (Blu-ray)
The action/drama/mystery film opens with a quick character build up of the multifaceted CIA agent Matt Weston (Ryan Reynolds). He operates a safe house with nobody in it. He wants a European field assignment, but lacks department seniority.

The movie switches to Tobin Frost (Denzel Washington) obtaining an embarrassing electronic file from the MI6 in South Africa. "Frost", because he is cold. Denzel uses his expected savvy to escape. He is a rogue super agent who free lances, buying and selling information. In order to escape the bad guys, Tobin surrenders to the CIA. Now the questions are: Was this his original plan? What is on the file?

Tobin is taken to our aforesaid safe house for intense interrogation.

I loved the opening of the interrogation scene. The interrogator says, "I'm here to advise you of your rights. You're being held under national security order 600 which means you have none."

Frost is too important of a person and the top secret safe house comes under attack. The young low level highly trained Matt Weston is now on the run with a man who is a master manipulator of people. To our list of unanswered questions we now add, "Who is the mole?"

Ryan and Washington give us excellent performances. It had elements of the Bourne series that made this story interesting, but it doesn't quite measure up to that film. Cliche ending. I would say if you are a fan of the trilogy, check this one out.

Multiple chase scenes, torture, killings, shoot outs, minor "roof top" jumping, car wreaks without explosions.

1 f-Bomb, no sex, no nudity. Rated R for violence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Safe Bet, May 24, 2012
By 
AELee (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Safe House (Amazon Instant Video)
The acting was well done. Denzel is as good as always. Ryan Reynolds did a fabulous job. The two characters actually worked well together. The action was better than most films. For once in a film someone fired a shot in public and the police showed up also. The plot was not as tight as it could have been; but it worked. Not much of a thriller. This really was an all around good film and worth the price. I will recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good but . . ., June 19, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Safe House (Amazon Instant Video)
this mirrored the Bourne movies too closely . . . agent stuck in the middle of action, woman leader trying to find him, rogue internal agent giving away the secrets. And of course the CIA is the corrupt agency . . . tired of the same old
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it's good, March 11, 2012
This review is from: Safe House (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy + UltraViolet) (Blu-ray)
I thought it was good even if most professional reviewers hated it. Very exciting movie. I left the theatre saying it was better than the Bourne movies. The script is pretty tight and the acting is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Safe Movie, May 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Safe House (Amazon Instant Video)
It was a good movie but not great. Much was made of Frost as the ultra spook in the beginning of the movie and that was where this movie goes awry. It devolved quickly into an action film rather than a thriller. I expected the plot to utilize his psychological skills; pitting him against the CIA; but instead it became one long chase seen with no real surprises. Safe movie, guaranteed payday with Washington as lead, but disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Safe House, June 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Safe House (DVD)
Safe House is an intense spy-themed action thriller about a young CIA agent, Matt Weston, (Ryan Reynolds) stuck at a dead-end job as a "housekeeper" of a CIA safe house. After an attack on his facility, he must protect a potentially deadly, and rather devious, traitor, Tobin Frost, Denzel Washington) who's being pursued by terrorists hoping to recover a secret document. Frost comes to Capetown, South Africa to receive a highly-sensitive piece of information from an MI6 contact, he finds himself surrounded by enemy assassins, with little other choice but to surrender himself to the American Consulate, lest he be shot down in the street. Matt and Frost go on the lam, trying to stay ahead of their pursuers, while also entering into a deadly cat-and-mouse game of their own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another great Movie ruined by the "jumpy camera technique", June 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Safe House (Amazon Instant Video)
This movie features an excellent cast coupled with an interesting story. I'll watch anything that Denzel does; however, there are very few things more annoying to me than the "jumpy camera technique" that was popularized by the Blair Witch Project. Seriously, The only thing that I can think of that might be more irritating would be a baby screaming it's lungs out in the theater while this movie was playing. But wait, there's more...the producers of this thing have also added crummy audio-you can't understand what's going on when the characters are speaking quietly...Blair Witch didn't even have that! Save the jumpy camera for fight scenes, auto accidents and plane crashes, not the whole darned movie. To the creators of great movies please, please, I beg you, make movies that we can both see and hear! To the consumer I would say, Safe House is worth renting; however, you should allow plenty of time, because you are going to have to watch it 2 or 3 times to be able to catch everything that's going on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Underwhelming!, June 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Safe House (Amazon Instant Video)
My husband and I had high hopes for this movie and it was disappointing. Very monotonous and we wished we could have fast forwarded through many parts. Still love Ryan Reynolds and Denzel Washington will always be a favorite actor, but this was not a hit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 268 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Safe House (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy + UltraViolet)
$14.98 $8.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.