Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The only thing it needed was more bad singing.. Really!
A BAD lounge act is mistaken for the top safe cracking team in Rhode Island, and tries to fake their way through.

Jewish mobsters, country jam samplers, sweet moustaches, low quality knock-off jeans, and one wierd prosthetic pepper a great comedy. The movie introduces, but then quickly abandons the cliche'd plot device of the...
Published on January 2, 2003 by klownboy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Just ok
I really did expect a lot more from this cast the interaction between the 2 leading men is very good but the story didn't really holdmy interest for very long.
Published 20 months ago by Russell S


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The only thing it needed was more bad singing.. Really!, January 2, 2003
By 
klownboy "klownboy" (Minnesota - Where if its not mandated, its prohibited.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Safe Men [VHS] (VHS Tape)
A BAD lounge act is mistaken for the top safe cracking team in Rhode Island, and tries to fake their way through.

Jewish mobsters, country jam samplers, sweet moustaches, low quality knock-off jeans, and one wierd prosthetic pepper a great comedy. The movie introduces, but then quickly abandons the cliche'd plot device of the "need-some-money-before-next-Tuesday-clock". Instead it drives itself with the relationships, bent and wierd, but perceivable as real, between the characters. (Unlike the writing that drags around most of the lame-o comedies you see today.)

Sam Rockwell is quietly assembling an impressive body of work. Take a look at this one and you can say stuff like "I was way into Sam Rockwell's early stuff a long time ago." and Steve Zahn remains hilarious even though he's the straight-man in this one. Paul Giamatti turns in another great effort, one of the many that have turned him from a borderline character actor into award winning leading man material. They play off of each other and the rest of the cast perfectly.

The story has pretty wide appeal and I haven't run across anyone who hasn't enjoyed it, from my quasi-yuppy sister to my sports nut drinking buddies. Great for a date night, or just when you feel like watching something surprisingly warm, funny, wierd, and good. For comparison, its in that low-budget gem territory occupied by "Bottle Rocket" or "Napolean Dynamite".

It's a crime that this thing didn't do better, expecially when you see repetitive "funny wig-and-voice" crap coming from the SNL vets making millions. Take a chance. You will laugh more than you did at Goldmember, smile almost constantly, and feel great when it all wraps up. Definitely needs a DVD release, and maybe a couple of showings on Comedy Central to prime the pump.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally! A DVD release for Safe Men, May 21, 2006
This review is from: Safe Men - Collector's Edition (DVD)
This DVD has been a long time coming. Safe Men is a dialogue driven comedy that relies on subtle and dry humor to deliver its many punch lines. The story is that 2 rival Jewish gangs in Providence Rhode Island (One headed by Michael Lerner, the other by Harvey Fierstein) attempt to employ the use of 2 legendary safe crackers (Mark Ruffalo and Josh Pais). However, things go wrong when the safe crackers are mixed up by a comical henchman known as VealChop (played to perfection by Paul Giamatti) with 2 struggling lounge singers (Sam Rockwell and Steve Zahn). Hilarity then ensues as the lounge singers now have to prove themselves by cracking 3 safes.

The movie shares many similarities to Bottle Rocket - it is a starting ground that features a cast of newcomers who have since gone on to become extremely succesful, the dialogue features incredible one liners and wit that will linger with you long after the closing credits, and the soundtrack is unique and particular.

Much of Safe Men's testimony to greatness comes from the fact that it was a sort of starting ground for numerous folks - the cast today would read like an ensemble cast - Mark Ruffalo, Paul Giamatti, Steve Zahn, Sam Rockwell, Michael Lerner, Harvey Fierstein, Peter Dinklage, and Josh Pais. Not to mention the director - John Hamburg - who has gone on to write and direct many Ben Stiller projects.

As for the DVD, the transfer is surprisingly good. The colors and images are well presented and the overall look is very clean. It's not a showpiece, but I've seen much worse. The commentary is decent but it is more nostalgic than enlightening. Much of it is the cast and crew laughing at themselves and saying "Oh, remember that! We were laughing so hard!" However, die hard fans will get something out of it. Deleted scenes are a bonus, as is the short film, but I am just glad to have a nice looking widescreen copy in my collection. As far as sound goes, the surrounds aren't used that well, but what is here is crisp and the soundtrack will be felt pretty well in your subwoofer.

As a movie it isn't perfect (some parts go on a bit too long and the lighting is sometimes very poor), but it will in particular have fans of Wes Anderson and Christopher Guest laughing quite heartily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best movies you've never seen, November 27, 2004
This review is from: Safe Men [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I was extremely surprised and very dissapointed to discover that this movie wasn't available on DVD. I saw in on HBO while staying at a hotel and immediatly fell in love with it. The movie carries that same satirical, crime comedy that many other great movies by Quentin Tarantino and Guy Ritchie also have. As soon as I got back to my computer, I looked this movie up hoping to add it to my DVD collection, but I suppose it is one of those great cult films that will be forever underappreciated and lost in the flood of bad, unoriginal movies that clog the entertainment industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Id give it five stars, if only it were on DVD, March 5, 2004
By 
Steven L. Moren (Last shanty on the left) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Safe Men [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I know, I know... It's been said before. But I just wanted to reiterate that this is a movie that NEEDS a full on DVD. Hopefully, someone at Universal will read these reviews and figure out that they could make a buck by distrubitng this in DVD format. The movie itself is a great comedy, with well developed charecters (sometimes over the top, but clearly this is intentional), and the dialogue is just hilarious. This movie is a great example of what a good script combined with excellent casting can do for charecter interaction. It's always nice when you can see that the writer, director, and actors are all on the same sheet of music. Watch this movie if you want to laugh. If you don't like laughing, then I suggest you seek therapy. Oh, and watch this movie when you're cured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars comedy where Sam Rockwell shines, February 3, 2003
This review is from: Safe Men [VHS] (VHS Tape)
If you liked Sam Rockwell in "Confessions of a Dangerous Mind", check this comedy out. It takes the same sort of skewed perspective to appreciate and illustrates the actor's sharp timing and subtlety. The other reviews do a good enough job of explaining the story - but there is no way to explain the off-kilter vibe of this weird little comedy. The Jewish Mob. Shelly Hack. Harvey Fierstein as a fence. Paul Giamatti (Man on the Moon, Private Parts) as Porkchop, a low-level mob thug with "daddy issues". Killer script from one of the writers of "Meet the Parents", John Hamburg - who also directs.
Hopefully the high profile "Confessions" will lead to this film's DVD release. For now, we fans will comprise a secret club. . . "nice 'stache, bro."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Safe Men cracks with wit and oddball humor, May 26, 2004
By 
Michael Bolts (superior, wiusa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Safe Men [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Sam Rockwell and Steve Zahn in the same movie is pure brilliance. Zahn usually plays all wacky, offbeat and dumb characters and Rockwell sometimes plays different, but the chemistry between them is great and it makes this movie kickin'. Rockwell and Zahn are wanna be singers who are mistaken by the Jewish Mob or whatever you might call it (the mob include Michael Lerner and Paul Giamatti, they bring rich and snippy atmosphere to their characters, especially Giamatti as Porckchop). Meanwhile their are other two safe men on the loose played hilariously by Mark Ruffalo and Josh Pias. Ruffalo scores big time as Frank (when he tried to react what John Cusack did with the speaker was hilarious). Other funny moments include when Zahn and Rockwell try to break a safe and the woman of the house catches them. They have this long conversation and its , its the giggles. The 2nd would be when Ruffalo and Pias are talking about which Charles Angels they want and like. "Kate Jackson, yeah I used to have a sexual attraction to her when I was a kid" funny and then when their done "let's go get a slow gin fizz". A good time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Brilliance!, August 8, 2006
This review is from: Safe Men - Collector's Edition (DVD)
FINALLY!!! I can't believe it took this long for this film to get released on DVD. Obviously due to Paul Giamatti's new found fame and appreciation. This movie is start to finish fantastic. The writing and direction are smart, funny, and slightly left of center. Both Steve Zahn and Sam Rockwell are hysterical as the inept, yet introspective lounge-singers-turned-safecrackers. But, honestly, it is the supporting cast that really puts this film over the top. Paul Giamatti as Jewish Mobster Big Fat Bernie Gayle's right hand man "Veal Chop" shows off his incredible comic chops throughout the film. His ability to be vulnerable, while still achingly funny is testament to his amazing talent. Big Fat is very well played by Michael Lerner, and Harvey Firestein as Good Stuff Leo is also a scream. Finally...kudos to Mark Ruffalo as the mustache'd REAL safecracker...he is another riot! Enjoy...I can't recommend a film more highly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Stache!, February 1, 2007
This review is from: Safe Men - Collector's Edition (DVD)
This is a great underrated comedy cult classic gem from Director John Hamburg (who also wrote and directed Along Came Polly, and wrote "Meet The Parents", "Zoolander" & "Meet The Fockers") This film has amazing acting and comedy and the writing is superb. A great flick that never gets old. Should Be Required Viewing For All. The extras are also great including hilarious commentary with John Hamburg and actors Sam Rockwell and Steve Zahn. One interesting part in the commentary was when they said that Marilyn Manson came up to Mark Ruffalo at a party and said "Sweet Stache!". I guess he's also a big fan of the movie. Also includes some cool deleted scenes and director John Hamburg's student film "Tick".

Highly Recommended 5 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I agree with Phil..., February 3, 2001
By 
BeachBagGal "sdfischer" (Tampa, FL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Safe Men [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Definitely one of the funniest, quirkiest comedies to come along in a while. I must admit, I'm a Safe Men groupie! Having seen the film at least 10 times, I recite the lines along with the characters, and still laugh out loud at Veal Chop's wardrobe, the bar mitzvah scene, and the inane singing talents of our "heroes". --A must see if you're a fan of offbeat humor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cult classic, February 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Safe Men - Collector's Edition (DVD)
This is an awesome movie from mid-90's with stars of today before they were big. Not sure how well it did in the theaters, but it's got so many one-liners, you have to watch it multiple times to catch them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Safe Men - Collector's Edition
Safe Men - Collector's Edition by John Hamburg (DVD - 2006)
$9.99 $6.13
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.