Qty:1
  • List Price: $6.99
  • Save: $0.08 (1%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 18 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: This book has already been loved by someone else. It MIGHT have some wear and tear on the edges, have some markings in it, or be an ex-library book. Over-all it is still a good book at a great price! (if it is supposed to contain a CD or access code, that may be missing)
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Sail Away Paperback – May 3, 2000


See all 9 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
$6.91
$2.91 $0.01
Audio, Cassette
"Please retry"
Best%20Books%20of%202014


Frequently Bought Together

Sail Away + Flying + Harbor
Price for all three: $20.81

Buy the selected items together
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Holiday Deals in Books
Holiday Deals in Books
Find deals for every reader in the Holiday Deals in Books store, featuring savings of up to 50% on cookbooks, children's books, literature & fiction, and more.

Product Details

  • Age Range: 4 - 8 years
  • Grade Level: Preschool - 3
  • Paperback: 40 pages
  • Publisher: Greenwillow Books; Reprint edition (May 3, 2000)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 9780688175177
  • ISBN-13: 978-0688175177
  • ASIN: 0688175171
  • Product Dimensions: 9.9 x 8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 5.6 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (5 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #684,464 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

In the tradition of Truck and Freight Train, Crews spirits young readers away in an interesting vehicle, this time for a day of sailing. The power in the air and water are palpable as a family rows the dinghy out to board their sailboat and embark on an exciting trip. But when "clear skies turn cloudy and gray" and the seas become angry, the crew faces some scary moments. Crews's short phrases and multi-sized typefaces work in tandem to convey a true feeling of motion. In one particularly striking spread, for example, the word "Whoosh!" appears in giant letters as the sails are raised; the letters gradually bleach from a nautical blue "W" to a brilliant white "H." Sunny blues and greens and lots of crisp white make up an appropriate seafaring palette. Even landlubbers won't be able to resist this invigorating outing. Ages 2-up.
Copyright 1995 Reed Business Information, Inc. --This text refers to the Hardcover edition.

From School Library Journal

PreSchool-Grade 3?With inventive interplay between typeface and art, Crews conveys the excitement of a somewhat harrowing sailing experience. It starts out as a perfect day when the small sloop leaves its mooring, putt putts out under the bridge, passes the lighthouse, and sets sail. A violent storm provides a dramatic crescendo to the adventure before the boat returns home safely as the sun is setting. The brief text with selected onomatopoeia works harmoniously with the bold yet fluid watercolor art to create the sensation of sailing. The clever design utilizes typeface to further extend the impression of motion: slanted words mirror the angle of the wind, letters change size during climactic plot shifts, and, at times, the print is incorporated into the illustrations?when the sails catch the wind with a forceful WHOOSH, the overblown letters billow onto the white sail. With his unerring sense of color and design, Crews has again successfully captured the essence of a moving experience within the confines of a book.?Caroline Ward, Nassau Library System, Uniondale, NY
Copyright 1995 Reed Business Information, Inc. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful By M. Allen Greenbaum HALL OF FAMEVINE VOICE on June 19, 2005
Format: Hardcover
Donald Crew's "Sail Away" was a favorite of our toddler. It's awash with the colors and textures of the sea, and uses minimal but effective text.

As a family of four set out on "a perfect day for sailing," they "row the dinghy out to our sailboat" among soft blues and greens and foggy mists lying over the still bay. Crew's New England seascape includes a wooden bridge (drawn from below), a lighthouse on a hill, and a WHOOSH! of wind as they ride the waves. The varied font sizes and colors (there also a gigantic "SAIL AWAY."), make this simple story of a day on the water an exciting and engaging one. Later, the "clear skies turn cloudy and gray." Soon, the waves are high and peaked, the clouds much greyer, and Cruise adds yet more drama with a big-fonted "Angry seas," and the shouted command "Shorten sails!"

As the boat heads home, the storm abates, night begins to fall, and the lighthouse illuminates the bay. In a particularly beautiful picture, the sailboat floats under the silhouetted bridge, decorated with tiny white lights over its suspension wires. The family makes it safely and calmly back, and in a green, quiet sea, we view the now empty, now tranquil boat, "moored!"

I'm not sure how many kids will know the meaning of "moored," but this is a nearly perfect book for toddlers and younger: A simple but exciting story, with colorful illustrations, and a soft and comforting conclusion. Very well done!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Puppet Lover on June 5, 2001
Format: Hardcover
My 3 year old son loves this book. He often goes sailing with his Uncle in Sydney Harbour. This book helps him recall those special times with his Uncle. He adds to the story with his own memories. We have checked this book out from the library twice, and I now think that it is something that we need to buy.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Clifton D. Wade on June 7, 2014
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
mail books as baby shower present
Did not see and have not heard from mother who received the book or books
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By M. Glaze on June 27, 2013
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
beautiful book, excellent condition, just what I wanted. It is an excellent addition to my early childhood music teacher's library.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful By jack potter on January 25, 2000
Format: Hardcover
The illustrations tell an emotional story of sailing, but the text is a little thin to hold the interest of a young child. The style of story-telling utilizing visual effect to create all the drama misses the opportunity to build an engrossing tale around the art. It took about 10 minutes with my 6 yr od son to "finish" this book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?