Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Beginning of a Great Series
This tape is the first four episodes of the Sailor Moon english dub. The series, in any language, in wonderfully produced and enjoyable for most anybody. With five seasons and 200 episodes, long story archs are divided by season. However, this series has quite a bit of filler episodes (episodes not advancing the main story). In this tape, there is only 1 episode dealing...
Published on December 28, 2004 by ttmoore3

versus
17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great anime, bad dub.
Sailor Moon is a classic example of how to make a bad dub of a great anime. There were actually three companies that worked on the dub of Sailor Moon. The first company was Dic, who produced the dub of the first two seasons. They made the most cuts to the show and are the main reason the dub is so loathed by most Sailor Moon fans. The second company was Geneon...
Published on September 15, 2005 by Brooks Austin


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Beginning of a Great Series, December 28, 2004
By 
This tape is the first four episodes of the Sailor Moon english dub. The series, in any language, in wonderfully produced and enjoyable for most anybody. With five seasons and 200 episodes, long story archs are divided by season. However, this series has quite a bit of filler episodes (episodes not advancing the main story). In this tape, there is only 1 episode dealing with the main story.

For this 1st series, the story has to do with the wicked Queen Beryl who is trying to gather energy for the Negaverse. She commands her strongest warriors to create monsters to steal this energy.

Episode 1: A Moon Star is Born - 1st appearance of Serena (Sailor Moon), Darien (Tuxedo Mask), Luna, Queen Beryl, Jedite, Molly, Melvin, Andrew. Obviously, this is an important episode. Young 14 year old Serena is tapped by the talking cat, Luna, to become Sailor Moon and battle the forces of the Negaverse. Serena is a reluctant hero and spends much of her battles whining and crying. She is aided by the mysterious Tuxedo Mask and so how, she always manages to gather enough courage to face her fears and defeat the villain at hand.

Episode 2: Talk Radio - Jedite uses a radio love show to steal the energy from young girls. Serena stumbles upon the plot while attempting to get her love letter onto the show. Fun filler episode which introduces the Luna Pen, an object that allows Serena to change her appearance.

Episode 3: Slim City - Serena and her friend, Molly, attempt to work out and lose weight. However, Jedite is stealing the energy of those who work out. As her friends begin showing signs of drained energy, Serena catches on to Jedite's plot and faces another of his monsters. Good filler episode with a good message for young girls about weight and appearance.

Episode 4: So You Want to be a Superstar - Serena, Molly, and their friends are desperate to win a contest to be chosen as a new celebrity superstar. But, of course, Jedite is behind the contest and steals the energy of the girls until Sailor Moon leaps into action and defeats another monster to save her friends. Another fun filler episode.

This is a great series if you just sit back and enjoy it for what it is. These episodes are a good introduction to the show and this gives a preview of what a great series this will grow to become.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sailor Moon: The Legend Begins, November 26, 2000
By 
Judy (Rexburg, ID USA) - See all my reviews
Gee, what can I say I bought this movie in hopes that it contained one of the few episodes that had never been seen in America, but I guess I was wrong. On the bottom it says Contains Previously Unreleased Episodes and I had heard from a web page that the Unrealeased Episode was one we've never seen before. But dispite my mis-understanding I was glad i bought it. Having the whole series in videos is great to collect and you can watch them anytime that you like. The sound and quality is much better than you's get by recording it off the T.V. and the cover boxes has great pictures on it. They still have the Sailor Says on the end of each episode and they have to start the show with the opening song animation and end it with end animation and song so it's kind of a hassel to get the the next episode. But I would buy for the sheer fact -more Sailor Moon bought in America the more we get-, and it's great to watch Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sailor Moon: The Legend Begins, April 18, 2001
This is the first 4 episodes of the 1st season of Sailor Moon. The story line is cleaver, and explains where Sailor Moon got her powers. The episodes are as follows:
1. "A Moon Star is Born" in wich Serena meets a talking cat named Luna who gives her a broach with the power to transform her into Sailor Moon. Queen Beryl plans to take over the earth by sending deamons to steal energy. Sailor Moon defeats the deamon with the help of the mysterious Tuxedo Mask.
2. "Talk Radio" in wich a love radio program is sending out pins that steal energy. Luna gives Serena a discuise pen that turns her into whatever she wants. She is able to defeat the demon.
3. "Slim City" in wich Serena tries to diet down, but the gym is run by a demon and she has to stop it.
4. "So You Want to Be A Superstar" in wich Serena tries to becom an actress and has to defeat a demon.
If you don't like the dub's, don't buy it. But otherwise, you'll love it. Buy it today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great anime, bad dub., September 15, 2005
This review is from: Sailor Moon: Heroine Is Chosen (DVD)
Sailor Moon is a classic example of how to make a bad dub of a great anime. There were actually three companies that worked on the dub of Sailor Moon. The first company was Dic, who produced the dub of the first two seasons. They made the most cuts to the show and are the main reason the dub is so loathed by most Sailor Moon fans. The second company was Geneon (formely known as Pioneer), who dubbed the Sailor Moon movies. Geneon was a little more accurate to the Japanese version but still continued to make most of the same types of cuts Dic made. The best of the three companies was Cloverway, who dubbed the S and Supers seasons. Although they were far from being perfect, they stayed the most faithful to the Japanese version, even going so far as to keeping the Japanese music, although they still made a lot of cuts to the dub. So, for this review I will focus on comparing the Japanese version of Sailor Moon to the Dic dub (since that's what is presented on this DVD). I won't list all of the cuts Dic made since there's just too many to list here, but I will list the major cuts to give you a general idea of what the Japanese version is like. Hopefully, it'll encourage you to seek out the Japanese version of Sailor Moon instead and see what this series is truly like.

The first major change is in the music. The Japanese version used a very beautiful orchestrated musical score which perfectly conveyed the emotions felt in each scene. The dub replaces all of this with cheesy disco style music, and while Dic attempted to recreate the original emotions of the series with their new musical score, it failed to recapture the same exact feeling the way the Japanese music had. All the Japanese songs were catchy J-pop songs sung by real proffessional Japanese pop singers while all the dub songs were cheesy songs about believing in the power of love which were all played on a synthesizer and sung by third-rate nobodies that Dic pulled off the streets. Dic also changed may of the Japanese names to American names, believing that American children are too stupid to remember the Japanese names. Once again, there's too many changes for me to list here, but I will list the name changes Dic gave to the major characters. Usagi Tsukino is changed to Serena; Ami Mizuno is changed to Amy Anderson (although there is some debate about whether Anderson is really her last name in the dub or not); Rei Hino is changed to Raye Hino; Makoto Kino is changed to Lita; Minako Aino is changed to Mina; Mamoru Chiba is changed to Darien; Chibi-usa is changed to Rini; Sailor Soldiers is changed to Sailor Scouts; and Dark Kingdom is changed to the Negaverse.

In the Japanese version, whenever the Soldiers transformed, they always shouted "Make up!" at the end of their transformation sequence, but the "Make up!" part is oddly omitted out in the dub for some unknown reason. Dic also changed many of the Soldiers' attack names even though they were all spoken in English to begin with. Censorship cuts Dic made included anything that they considered to be too violent for children's American television. Dic was so strict about the censorship of violence that they wouldn't even let the characters slap each other in the comical scenes, fearing that the stupid children of America would start copying the Scouts. Other cuts included strong language, brief nudity, and cutting out homosexuality by changing Zoicite's gender from being male to female.

Several episodes were also skipped and combined because Dic felt those episodes had too many scenes that needed to be cut. The episodes that were skipped were Japanese episodes two, five, six, 20, 42, and 67. And the two episodes which were combined were Japanese episodes 45 and 46 (dubbed episode 40). These episodes were combined because in the Japanese version, the Soldiers died while fighting the Dark Kingdom and Dic didn't want to expose children to death, so they combined the episodes by cutting out all the death scenes and re-writing the plot to have it explained that the Scouts were "captured" by the Negaverse instead. Needless to say, the ending to the first season was greatly screwed up in the dub. Several changes to character personalites were also made. Because Japanese episode 42 was skipped (an important background episode about Sailor Venus), part of the serious side of Minako's personality is missing from the dub and Dic also cut out Minako's habit of getting famous quotes wrong. It's no wonder so many American Sailor Moon fans think Mina is a rip-off of Serena.

Raye is also a lot snobbier than Rei is in the Japanese version. While yes, Rei and Usagi did argue a lot in the Japanese version, Rei used a thing called tact which made many of their arguments actually quite comical. Raye, on the other hand, was downright rude to Serena and many of the scenes in the Japanese version that showed that despite all of the arguments they had, Rei was still the closest of Usagi's friends, were completely screwed up, destroying part of Rei's character that made her so much fun. Rei's grandfather was also originally a very perverted man who often flirted with both guys and girls of any age and gained a bad reputation of being a perv. Dic decided to cut this out turning Raye's grandfather into just an ordinary old man and cutting out any of his funniest moments in the show completely.

Dic also inserted many CGI scene transistion graphics throughout the episodes and a Sailor Moon Says segment at the end of the show, in which Sailor Moon would appear and say some sort of cheesy moral value message that usually wouldn't have anything to do with the actual show itself, while various clips of the series were being played. These additions were completely pointless and only made the show exteremly cartoony. I doubt most kids could even care less about the Sailor Moon Says segments. I know I sure didn't. One thing that is interesting about Sailor Moon Says though, is that sometimes you could see clips that were cut out of the episodes in the Sailor Moon Says segment, like a clip of Umino/Melvin being hit in the face by a stream roller in the "So, You Wanna Be A Star?" episode.

Dic even went so far as to attempt to change parts of the plot, too. One example is that in the Japanese version all of the groups of villians worked seperately from each other, but Dic didn't like this for some reason and decided to change it so that all the villians came from the Negaverse. Even in the dub, this doesn't make any sense at all. Why should we believe that Ail/Alan and En/Ann worked for Beryl when they lived all alone their whole lives? How could the Black/Negamoon be from the Negaverse when they were originally human beings themselves? It makes no sense for them to try and link all of the villians together. Do they think kids won't like the new villians if they don't still work for Beryl or what? This is just a small example of many of the cuts Dic made to the dub. There are even more changes that they made to the show that destroyed the original series. The only reason why I'm giving the Sailor Moon dub two stars instead of one is because of the incredible impact the series has had in North America.

Even though the dub was really crappy, it was many fans first experience with the show, myself included. So, we as Sailor Moon fans do owe some credit to the dub for introducing us to the series. Sailor Moon was also a series that introduced many Americans to anime in general, and when compared to other bad dubs (like Cardcaptors or Mew Mew Power), Sailor Moon isn't that bad, but when compared to the Japanese version, it's downright terrible. If you've only seen the dub version, I urge you to seek out the Japanese version, which is widely available on DVD in the U.S. (it's even on sale at this very website). Yes, it's in Japanese, which means yes, you'll have to read subtitles to watch it, but it's not really hard to do at all. The subtitles are positioned at a good enough place on the screen were you can still see all the action that's going on while you read the subtitles. I actually think it's more fun to watch anime subbed than it is dubbed. Even if you hated the series because you've only seen the dub, you should still give the Japanese version a chance, anyway. There's so many differences between the two versions that they're almost like completely seperate shows. And if you've never seen Sailor Moon before for whatever the reason, do yourself a favor, ignore the crappy dub, and watch the Japanese version. Every anime fan owes it to themselves to see the original version of Sailor Moon at least once, if anything just to support the downfall of bad dubs. The Japanese version surely won't disappoint you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite anime series, February 10, 2003
This review is from: Sailor Moon: Heroine Is Chosen (DVD)
Now I know just about everyone to ever watch an anime has seen Sailor Moon. In fact, it started the vast majority of Gen Y on their first true anime series. But how many are actually true fans of this show? I for one, am. And I'm far from alone. After giving it some serious thought and thinking about the absolute tons of anime I've seen over the years, I can honestly say Sailor Moon is my favorite anime. And it wasn't the first one I saw.
The characters are just simply so easy to adore and admire. There's a personality for everyone to relate to, and each character has their own nuances. The show is an excellent comedy, yet manages to maintain plenty of action. What really makes it unique is the romantic story though and that no matter how silly things get, the story never fails to really hit home.
From Usagi's daily life to the trials between the scouts, from the newest threat to the romance between various characters... it always stays completely believable no matter how many sci-fi elements are mixed in. It's never dull, and it's always very touching.
I truly believe Sailor Moon is a absolute gem of an anime series that no one should miss. The character designs are so detailed it's amazing. From the transformations to the outfits and even the attacks, it's really so very unique that it's never been truly duplicated and certainly never surpassed. Sailor Moon sets many standards in anime and should be held in high regard.
The music is forever etched into my skull, and rightfully so. It moves so effortlessly from romantic to all out action beats. You won't forget this shows music, and the stories and animation wouldn't be half as heart felt without it. It really completes the experience.
The character and story development is nearly unmatched, you literally get a birds eye view of nearly the entire lives of the characters. By the end of the series I had literally grown up with them. As the team grows in power, new members arrive, new threats appear the wow factor only gets stronger and stronger. Unlike so many long term animes that get the first season right then go downhill, Sailor Moon only gets better and better with each passing episode and the story only becomes stronger.
It's really ashame how many people pass this off as some second rate anime to be shunned. It's a true work of art and many, many people have fought to help bring it to the US shores. Who can forget the S.O.S. campaigns... Pop-tarts, anyone? And for the most part, we won. With all three movies and most of the series, it wasn't a bad break.
I'm also not really trying to convert anyone who dislikes or only barely acknowledges how good this series is. As usual, it's purely their loss. If you've heard about the show, or maybe have only seen a few episodes... give it a shot. You may just find an anime worthy of the highest praise sitting right under your nose the whole time.
If ever there was an anime for the whole family, this is it. And please don't buy in to that ridiculous nonsense about it being a girls only anime... believe me, I've seen that type and this isn't it. If you honestly can't enjoy the romance, stick around for the action, the story, and the cutest anime characters ever drawn.
- Rirath.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the beginning..., November 28, 2000
By 
"goose777" (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
This is a must have for anyone who has ever liked Sailor Moon. This is the beginning of the collection from Episode 1 of Series 1. It shows how it all began. It shows the meeting of the scouts, it shows.... Well, see for yourself. I wasn't a fan until I began watching the series a few months ago and I will buy the whole 82 episode series as soon as they all be come availabie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best version of Sailor Moon, January 21, 2001
By A Customer
This version I enjoy because the story is a cross between action adventure and fairytale genres. Serena/Usagi can very well be the savior of the world. Her charm as hero and crybaby can win anyone adoration. I enjoy this version more because of the level of Dic to make it appropriate for all ages. Especially young girls and people with a more innocent view of the world!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sailor Moon Says: Spend your money on something else., April 23, 2002
This review is from: Sailor Moon: Heroine Is Chosen (DVD)
I have been a Sailormoon fan since 1994, and have been impatiently waiting for a DVD release of this series ever since DVD players went mainstream. I was thrilled to find that Pioneer did a truly amazing job with the DVD release of the Sailormoon S and SuperS seasons. High quality, excellent covers, a product that kids AND adults wouldn't be embarrassed to buy. I couldn't wait to see if they would FINALLY release the first two seasons as well.
Then ADV Films came along and bought the rights to the dubbed first season.
This is a company that is known for releasing such shows as "Delinquent in Drag" and "Kekko Kamen" ("the most outrageous superheroine ever! Clad in a red mask, red boots and nothing else" - direct from the ADV website). I find myself putting their release of the Sailor Moon dub into the same category: "Who Would Watch This, Let Alone Pay For It?"
Cheesy, low-quality cover artwork that would make anyone over age 12 reluctant to even be caught LOOKING at the DVD in the store, let alone buying it. No Japanese language track, nor seperate Japanese-only release (as Cardcaptor Sakura has done because of the hacking of the dubbed version). No uncut verson. Skipped episodes. I don't need Queen Beryl's crystal ball to tell me the future of this show.
This DVD is appropriate for young children who were fans of the TV dub, and perhaps die-hard dub fans who just want a clean copy of the episodes. However, if you are a sub fan or simply curious about the show, I would suggest you skip this one over. Sailormoon may be the show that brought the magical girl genre back to life in Japan, but there's a reason that so many fans are adamently against this release: it reduces a beautiful, enjoyable series into a grating, childish hack job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sailor Moon - The Legend Begins (Vol. 1), March 16, 2003
By 
"hbkfan729" (Minneapolis, MN USA) - See all my reviews
This video is, of course, the first in the original Sailor Moon series. It begins with the background story of the moon kingdom. You learn how it was destroyed by Queen Beryl and how all of it's people were sent to the future on earth by Queen Serenity, with no memory of their past on the moon. Queen Serenity also sends guardians Luna and Artemis, talking cats, to the future. In case the evil Queen Beryl and her Negaforce ever broke free, the cats were to awaken the Sailor Scouts and protect the moon princess.
1."A Moon Star Is Born"
This is the very first episode of Sailor Moon. It opens with the above story. Then, you learn that Queen Beryl, leader of the Negaverse, has broken free and is planning to attack Earth. She sends her soldier Jedite and his evil servants to gather energy for the Negaforce. On a lighter note, you meet Serena, a 14-year-old junior high student that is destined to become Sailor Moon. She is a clutz, is always late, and could use some work on her study habits, but Luna is convinced that Serena is the chosen one. Jedite's first target is a jewlery store, which is owned by the mother of Serena's best friend Molly. In order to fight the Negaverse, Luna gives Serena a special locket which has the power to transform her into the champion of justice, Sailor Moon! When she goes to save Molly, Sailor Moon ends up in trouble, but is saved by the mysterious Tuxedo Mask, who says he is her ally. With the help of her tiara, Sailor Moon defeats Jedite's monster and saves her friend.
2."Talk Radio"
In this episode, Jedite uses a late night radio show about love to gather energy. They send energy-sucking flower pins to eager listeners, including Serena's teacher Ms. Haruna and Serena's best friend Molly. To foil Jedite's plot, Luna gives Serena the Luna Pen, which has a special disguise power. She uses the pen to sneak into the radio station and warn the listeners of the evil flower pins. Sailor Moon is forced to fight another of Jedite's monsters, and again is aided by Tuxedo Mask.
On a sidenote, in this episode you meet Serena's crush Andrew, who works at the Arcade. And although he appeared in the previous episode, it is not until now that you are properly introduced to Darien, an older boy who torments Serena.
3."Slim City"
This time, Serena gains a half a pound and goes diet crazy. Meanwhile, Jedite takes over a gym to gather energy for the Negaverse. Serena and her friends visit the gym in an attempt to lose weight. When Serena goes home, her friends are lured into the "relaxation chamber" which secretly steals their energy. When Serena's diet takes it's tole, her friend Andrew tries to talk some sense into her, but some unkind words from Darien undo all the good he did. In an uproar, Serena returns to the gym where Luna discovers the truth. Sailor Moon must conquer three of Jedite's monsters all by herself!
4."So You Want To Be In Pictures"
In the 4th and final episode on this tape, Jedite uses child superstar Saffron to steal energy through a star search/talent show. Serena and Molly attempt to enter, but after a huge fight Molly teams up with the class nerd Melvin instead. Serena tries to talk Luna into helping her, but she refuses. Darien again makes Serena's bad mood worse, and when she tries to find Molly she discovers that Jedite is behind the star search. Sailor Moon goes up against another evil servant of Jedite's, and Tuxedo Mask shows up just in time to give her the help she needs.
On the whole, this is not one of the best Sailor Moon videos because the other Sailor Scouts haven't joined up yet. I also don't like Serena's voice (I much prefer the one she gets later on in this season and keeps throughout the Sailor Moon R season). But, the video is good, and as it is the very first, it is important for fans to see to understand the origins of Sailor Moon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See how it all began!, August 25, 2002
By 
This video is great for any newbie to the Sailor Moon series! It's not that intresting, but the show gets better in the later seasons like S and Stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sailor Moon: Heroine Is Chosen
Sailor Moon: Heroine Is Chosen by Jun'ichi Satô (DVD - 2002)
Used & New from: $54.90
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.