Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sailor Moon Super: Heart Collection I
Since Cartoon Network stopped airing Sailor Moon on May 3rd, this is the only current way to watch Sailor Moon S until they decide to bring it back! Also, if these DVD's sell well, Sailor Stars, the last current season of Sailor Moon, could come to America. But only if these sell well, because the Japanese company that owns the rights are selling it at a cost too high...
Published on April 17, 2001 by shishkabibble

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It should have 5 stars but for the...........
I love sailormoon, and the story's great, I personaly felt that it would diserve a 5 stars but, and this is a big but, I live in England, and the Enlish backing sound and the voice's are redubbed for England (well i'm assuming this as Sailormoon S was so different).
I think that the American voice and backing sound track are appaling. Serena's voice makes her sound...
Published on April 29, 2001 by C. Price


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sailor Moon Super: Heart Collection I, April 17, 2001
Since Cartoon Network stopped airing Sailor Moon on May 3rd, this is the only current way to watch Sailor Moon S until they decide to bring it back! Also, if these DVD's sell well, Sailor Stars, the last current season of Sailor Moon, could come to America. But only if these sell well, because the Japanese company that owns the rights are selling it at a cost too high for it not to sell in America.
This DVD contains the 1st 7 episodes of Sailor Moon S. They each keep their original name and are uncut! It also contains extra bonus features. They are: a double sided reversible cover, English and Japanese language tracks, subtitles in english taken directly from the Japanese script, the opening credits without text, and a biography on Sailor Moon/Usagi/Serena. (In Japan, Serenas name is Usagi.) The episodes are as follows:
1. "Premonition of World's End? Mysterious New Warriors!" ("Star Struck, Bad Luck" in the American Series) in wich Rei has a vision of the world becomeing silenced. We are introduced to Professor (Doctor) Tomoe and his assistant, Kaorinite and learn that they are after 3 special heart crystals that will destroy Earth. They send a Diamohn (a demon) to steal Rei's (Ray's) pure heart crystal. When the scouts can't defeat it and all hope seems lost, two mysterious girls dressed as sailor soldiers appear and defeat the diamohn. But are they friend or foe?
2. "The Rod of Love is Born! Usagi's New Transformation" ("Crystal Clear Again" in America) in wich Momoru (Darien) takes Usagi to an abandoned house where stray kittens live. They meet a young girl whos trying to find homes for the kittens. When the little girls puzzle turns into a diamohn, the senshi (scouts/soldiers) come to the rescue. But they can't defeat it. The new outer senshi, Sailor Uranus and Neptune, appears , they appear to be searching for pure heart crystals like Professor Tomoe. Sailor Moon gets a new power from her love for Momoru. She is now able to defeat the diamohn.
3. "A Beautiful Boy? The Secret of Haruka Tenoh" ("Driving Dangerousley" in America) in wich Usagi and Minako (Mina) meet a boy at the arcade. They stalk him all day when they become suspicious that he might have a girlfriend. But when a diamohn comes after his mechanic friend, the senshi is forced into action. Uranus and Neptune come, but the heart crystal is not the one they were looking for and are able to give it back. Usagi and Minako learn that the boy is a girl named Haruka (Amara).
4. "Usagis Idol! The Graceful Genious Micharu" ("Bad Harmony" in America) in wich Usagi feels that Momoru will fall out of love with her if she dosen't mature to his colledge level soon. She meets Haruka's friend, Micharu (Michell) who can play the violin. She gives Usagi tickets to a violin concert so she takes Momoru. The violin turns into a daimohn and is after the players pure heart. They defeat it and Uranus and Neptune are able to give it back!
5. "Protect the Pure Heart! A Three Way Battle" ("Sweapt Off Her Feat" in America) in wich Usagi's friend dreams of her first kiss. When her vacum cleaner turns into a diamohn and the heart crystal gets carried away by a garbage truck, a race happens between the senshi, the outer senshi, and the diamohn. When the diamohn is defeated, Tuxedo Mask and Sailor Moon have to battle Sailor Uranus and Neptune for the crystil.
6. "Leave it to the Moon for Love Aid" (Blinded By Love's Light" in America) Usagi tries to help her friends, Naru (Molly) and Umino (Melvin), keep their love together by entering them in a dateing game. When they win, their prize turns into a diamohn after Umino's heart. After the diamohn is defeated, will Uranus and Neptune be able to give Umino his heart back?
7. Cold Hearted Uranus? Mikato in Trouble" ("Lita Borrows Trouble" in America) in wich Mikato (Lita) becomes fascinated with Haruka (in the subtitles, Haruka is lesbian, but not in the dubb). When Mikato goes for a car ride with Haruka and Michiru, a diamohn comes to steal her heart crystal. The Senshi comes to her aid, but what if Uranus and Neptune have found one of the hearts they need? What will be the fate of Mikato?
Buy this DVD today! It's great! And it will help bring Sailor Stars to America! The dub is ok for children 3 and up, but the subtitles are for 13 and up because of language and sexuality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


90 of 106 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A strong warning to parents, December 1, 2000
By A Customer
I'm one of the lucky few who has seen the Japanese anime of Sailor
Moon S prior to release, and I have to say I love it ^_^. However,
I'm over 18 and I don't have children. I make this point because the
Japanese version of SM contains themes which Cartoon Network (etc.)
were careful to avoid in the dubbed translation. Again we see the
Sailor Senshi share battles & friendship, learn morals, besides
prep hard for High School entrance exams. HOWEVER, SM-S also brings
in the addition of Uranus and Neptune who in the U.S. series are
cousins, but in the Japanese series are lovers. Lesbian themes play
out time and again during the first half of the S series, and also
attractions are hinted at between the two new scouts and some of the
first five. Very young kids probably won't get what's going on, since
no one ever uses the terms "homosexual" or
"lesbian," however any child over 9 (younger if they're
bright or world wise) probably will get it. On the flip side, if
you're one of the parents who's wanted a teaching tool to help explain
about homosexuality, or looking for role models along those lines,
this really is the video for you (well, until SM-Sailor Stars comes
out, anyway -_^).

Of course, if these themes don't bother
you, it is one of the best series of the Sailor Moon story. The
animations is much improved from the first series and SM-R, the
Japanese plot is hangs together much more solid than the English,
scripts are wonderful, and you will be totally drawn into the new
fantasy & enchanted by the final four senshi for our solar system
^_^.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sailor Moon doesn't get better then this., February 2, 2001
Sailor Moon is amongst the best in shoujo animation. When you think of shoujo anime, you automatically think Sailor Moon. I mean, really, Sailor Moon is what introduced me to anime along with over half of America. Sailor Moon has many powerful and emotional scenes, certainly over the heads of younger children. However, it's still a wonderful anime made for young and old alike. Sailor Moon S is my favorite season and will forever remain my favorite. You have to see it in it's original Japanese format or you won't get the best of it. The dubbed version is just awful, and I mean awful! The American voices don't cut it. They just don't bring out the characters like the original Japanese cast. Its most redeeming characters are Michiru and Haruka, and yes, they are lesbians. The love they display on screen is just amazing. I guess it really goes to show you can fall in love with anyone from any sex. Love has no boundaries. The creator of Sailor Moon even verified that they were a lesbian couple. Watch the uncut version with an open mind and you might find the real beauty in Bishoujo Senshi Sailor Moon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't just sit there, buy it already! :D, May 18, 2001
By 
Mr. P. Reuben (Leeds, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Pretty Soldier Sailor Moon is many things. It's a story about an ordinary girl who finds out that she used to a be a princess, and that the sarcastic guy she always used to bump into is her prince. It's a story about some teenage girls who are friends but argue a hell of a lot. It's a story about some superheroes who transform with cheesy (but very catchy) disco music playing in the background. Okay, so it's more of some of those things than of others, but it's still a great show overall :]
This is Sailor Moon S, the third series. Many consider this to be the best series out of the 5. I've only seen the episodes on the first 2 DVDs, so I can't say, but what I've seen so far looks pretty good. And this DVD is incredible value for money - you get the uncut subtitled version (my preference but not necessarily everyone's) plus the uncut dub (which has nothing actually cut but is still heavily rewritten in many episodes - not to say that the dub isn't still good in its own right, especially since it uses the original music) of the first 7 episodes. That's 4 VHS tapes on 1 DVD! You also get a pretty cool extra (a karaoke creditless version of the opening) plus a less cool but still interesting extra (a biography and art gallery of Usagi). The video and sound quality aren't exactly brilliant, but that's to be expected for a fairly old show (the zooming problem many fans have complained about is fixed as of half way through disc 2, and even before that it's not too noticeable).
The cover art for this series is amazing - probably the best DVD cover art I've seen (the second one's even better, but the first one's still really nice), and if you don't like the one on the front you can turn the insert round to reveal a different cover (with Mercury and Jupiter)! There's lots of cover-reversing fun to be had ^^
So basically, unless you're completely opposed to anything involving touching romance, indecisive teenage girls or cheesy disco music, buy this! It's definitely worth your money. Although a better starting point for someone new to Sailor Moon would probably be the R movie (which is also available on a bilingual DVD, the format I recommend), if you want to get right into the series itself this disc would be fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You must buy this, December 31, 2000
By A Customer
I have seen half of SMS in japanese already and it is ok for anyone 10 and up. Their is nothing in the episodes worse than what u see on fox. And it's all tastefully done to reflect a point. Their is no pointless voilence or nudity.
Buy this dvd and show your support for Sailor Moon Super the way it was ment to be seen.
Now, let's hope for Sera Myu (the Sailor Moon live action musicals) and Sailor Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No need for warnings!, March 14, 2001
By 
Michela (Hiding inside of the Cracker Jack box) - See all my reviews
There may be confusion or hate on the part of some of this subtitled Sailor Moon series, but please form your own opinion. Yes, Michiru and Haruka (Sailors Uranus and Neptune) are lovers, but please keep an open mind about it, it only strengthens the series, and the development of the characters of the series. One thing I wonder is that why nobody is causing much controversy of the Usagi/Mamoru (Sailor Moon and Tuxedo Mask) relationship... They're made in the same way, two people in love who share a common mission. About the series, this is the only entire Sailor Moon subtitled series I have seen, (Fansubs are a true gift from the sky) but I'm sure this will remain my favorite, it's extremely emotional, exciting, and humorous, and the characters have much depth to them. Please keep an open mind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best Series Ever, December 27, 2003
If your like me, you first saw Sailor Moon when you were about 10 years old and fell in love with it, and now that you're older, no matter how childish it may seem at some parts, you still absolutely love the series. If you are a diehard sailor moon fan and have seen every episode of the series on cartoon network you HAVE to get the DVD and the uncut versions because it's way too edited on CN. And you also need to watch it in japanese with subtitles because in some parts it's different from what the english characters say even when they're uncut. but it's definetely a necessary thing if you're a die-hard. These episodes aren't the best of the series, but it's the beginning so you have to see them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sailormoon S - The beginning of the debate..., June 26, 2001
By 
"miakarayne" (Tucson, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
I see that many people have a thing against homosexuality. I don't mind that because this is a free world, and everyone has a right to their morals and opinions. But when you say that others should never see homosexuality (and also point out that it should be banned in animation entirely) that is where I draw the line (Who says that cartoons are only for kids?) For me, I don't mind homosexuality being present (heck, Will and Grace is one of my favorite TV shows), so in Sailormoon it's just another character trait (for Haruka and Michiru, that is). Not like it is what Sailormoon is all about...
Cloverway has done well in dubbing Sailormoon for the commercial audience it was "geared for" on American TV, and Pioneer has released that dubbed version as well. Pioneer has also released the original version (the DVD this review is on) and they have rated it pg-13 (because in our "American Standard", that is what any light "adult" content - i.e. hinted homosexuality - should be rated). Consider this, many little kids wouldn't care to read subtitles anyways, right? So it's not like they're going to jump at buying the DVD subtitled version...
Now as for Sailormoon S, I rate it as once of my favorite seasons, along with the Classic season and Stars (which is for a more mature audience). This is not because they have these "homosexual" tendancies, but because they have the best storylines of the entire Sailormoon series.
Well, heck... I'm over 18, so I don't need to explain why I like a cartoon... No one really has to because if you like a cartoon then watch it, and if you don't then let others decide what they can and cannot see... Cartoons are a form of entertainment for adults too you know... I commend the people who create cartoons like this because they add a bit of "reality" to the animation (and it is subtle at most). Who said that homosexuality can't be in animation when it's on our TV screens (LOCAL networks) every day? Heck... if you want to keep your kid from seeing adult content then I guess you're going to have to keep them from watching the news...
Also, it's not like they're airing this version on tv... It's a DVD release just like anyother DVD release in the world. If your kid is going out and buying it maybe you should tell then what they "can" and "cannot" see. Go out an buy them the dubbed version if you want. But, what do you think they are seeing/hearing from such people as Brittany Spears or Enimen (or however he spells his name)... I think people need to get their "censorship" priorities straight...
Overall, if you like Sailormoon, the S series is one of the best investments you can make. MiakaRayne gives it thumbs up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great start to a great season, February 16, 2002
By 
Cassidy Knight (St. Joseph, MI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is, by far, the best season of the Sailor Moon run. You have the classic comedy, packed action, and loveable charectors. This season is all about the mysterious new Sailor Soldiers who need to retrive the three tailsmans at any cost. The evil villans want the pure heart crystals which contain the tailsmans, too. It's up to Usagi, Ami, Rei, Mako, and Minako to save the universe, once angain, but in a far more serious way.
I suggest that you watch the Japanese language version, the english version does the show no good. One of the changes: the mysterious soldiers, Sailor Neptune and Uranus, are lesbians. Now they don't go into lovemaking scenes or anything between the two of them, but America decided to turn them into cousins, which gives it a really eerie feel to it.
The first disc starts out the season with Sailor Moon getting a new transformation, which always reminds me of a champion skater. The outer soldiers are "introduced" to the inner soldiers in two seperate episodes. Each one lets you get to know the charectors to know that they're not nessesarily evil, but just doing their job. The first disc has a tatal of 7 un-cut episodes in japanese, and the cartoon network-airing english episodes. Out of all of the anime tv shows out there, Sailor Moon is still one of the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sailor Moon S Enters Our Lives With A Vengeance!, January 31, 2001
By 
Humdip Singh (Toronto, Ontario) - See all my reviews
This is it. The most awaited anime series ever. Sailor Moon S. This is the best series out of all five seasons of Sailor Moon Ever. It has action, friendships, hardships and of course the most toughest battle ever in Sailor Moon history because this time the enemey is another Sailor Scout. The Sailor of Death and Rebirth Sailor Saturn A.K.A Mistress Nine. This series has it all. There are many neat surpirses and relvelations.
Amoung the many surpises there are four new Sailor Scouts to join in the battle to save Earth from an alien invaders known as the Tau Ceti and to destroy Sailor Saturn before the darkside of her awakens. The Sailors are...Sailor Pluto who was briefly seen the the series before S, Sailor Uranus, a tomboy who likes to fight battles only with her partner, Sailor Neptune is the partner refered to the previous scout with her elegance and grace she fights of evil. Last but not least Sailor Mini Moon A.K.A in japanese is Sailor Chibi Moon who has been sent back into the past to train as a Sailor Scout.
Watch as the Sailor's struggle to understand each other and learn to become a full fledge team. Watch this series. It has got to be the best ever. I have all 200 episodes but this in the most exciting series other then the last one, which is Sailor Stars. Hope you liked this Review People!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sailor Moon S TV Series - Heart Collection 1 (Geneon Signature Series)
Used & New from: $32.92
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.