Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for salad-lovers - lots of variety, great recipes, full-color pictures
This review is for the Kindle version, here: Salads for Every Season

Wonderful book for salad-lovers! Salads are organized (in the detailed table of contents) by season (2 sections: Spring and Summer, Winter and Fall), and each season has both salad recipes and recipes for home-made salad-dressings. Recipes all include very clear directions, info on how many...
Published on November 17, 2011 by Lauren

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Too Much
I am attempting to eat healthier and wanted something to assist me. The salads were not what I was looking for so I'll keep researching other places. Nice try though.
Published 23 months ago by K. Hayes


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for salad-lovers - lots of variety, great recipes, full-color pictures, November 17, 2011
By 
Lauren (United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Salads for Every Season: 25 Salads from Earthbound Farm: A Workman Short (Kindle Edition)
This review is for the Kindle version, here: Salads for Every Season

Wonderful book for salad-lovers! Salads are organized (in the detailed table of contents) by season (2 sections: Spring and Summer, Winter and Fall), and each season has both salad recipes and recipes for home-made salad-dressings. Recipes all include very clear directions, info on how many it serves, and color photos (a feature I LOVE! Can't see color photos on my Kindle-Keyboard, but they are beautiful in the Cloud reader, or Kindle-for-PC, iPod, and probably Fire).

There is also a really helpful section on identifying different greens/salad ingredients ("Field Guide to Salad Greens), with nice clear pictures of each type. The author has also added many little inset sections with helpful info that relates to the recipe is it near - examples: Salad Green Yields, About Ferro, How to Segment Citrus Fruits, About Jicama, Sesame Seed Oils, and many more - lots of helpful info in these.

There is a chapter about "Twelve Important Reasons to Choose Organic"

Recipes include many salads centered around "greens" but there are also many recipes for salads made with other ingredients as the main attraction - fruits, tomatoes, persimmon, bulgur, apples, and roast beef being examples.

I am definitely going to be using several of these recipes to expand my salad repertoire!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Freebie! Looks great on the Kindle Touch, November 17, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Salads for Every Season: 25 Salads from Earthbound Farm: A Workman Short (Kindle Edition)
Freebie Kindle book with pictures. Looks great on the new Kindle Touch. In addition to the salad recipes, there are pics of different lettuce types, how many cups each variety of lettuce yields, how to roast bell peppers, roast hazelnuts, make croutons, grow sprouts etc.. The author has included information on different salad ingredients which I found educational. For example, I have never eaten nor used persimmons in a salad before, so it was nice that she included the two main types, what to look for, when they are available and their taste/texture characteristics and if to cook them or eat them raw.

The book has a nice chatty feel to it. The author is actually one of the first people to market packaged salads and spring mixes for retail. She is an environmentalist and there is some "green speak" in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Recipe Book - Beautiful on Kindle Fire, November 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Salads for Every Season: 25 Salads from Earthbound Farm: A Workman Short (Kindle Edition)
I wasn't expecting much from this Kindle book, esp. with only 25 recipes, beyond a disconnected compilation of salad recipes(which is what you often see in a short Kindle cookbook).

Instead, this book sets the bar higher for _all_ eBook cookbooks. It's very professionally done, with a colorful picture for every recipe and well-written intros, directions, ingredients and boxes with helpful information on unique salad ingredients or technique. The layout makes reading on a screen easy on the eyes.

Salads for Every Season is at its best on a Kindle Fire: Vibrant, colorful and very much like a nice cookbook in print (but more concise).

The content is divided into seasonal salads for Spring & Summer, Fall & Winter. The recipes follow through using seasonal ingredients--like fresh raspberries, bell peppers, basil for summer or pomegranate, apple, walnut for winter. The salads have fresh flavor combinations, for example:

Butter lettuce, raspberries and hazelnuts (summer)
Escarole with walnuts, dates, and bacon (winter)

Even better than the salads themselves, this cookbook has luscious-sounding homemade dressings and vinaigrettes. I can't wait to try the orange walnut vinaigrette or the tofu dill dressing.

Earthbound Farms founder, Myra Goodman, wrote the eBook recipes which are in fact compiled from two of her cookbooks, listed at the back of the eBook.

I absolutely recommend this ebook (even for a B&W kindle), and get it while it's still offered for free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice variety!, January 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Salads for Every Season: 25 Salads from Earthbound Farm: A Workman Short (Kindle Edition)
I was delighted to get this short ebook for free, though it's totally worth the current $1.99 price (reduced from $2.99). I love salads, so maybe I'm a tad prejudiced?! In terms of size, shorter often is better than longer when it comes to choosing a recipe. Author Myra Goodman of EarthBound Farm reminds us salads "redefine fast food," and gives us a dozen reasons for going organic.

Useful guides and instructions include: "A Field Guide to Salad Greens" with descriptions and pictures; a chart of how much to buy and how much to allow per person for side salad or main-course salad; how to grow sprouts, roast sunflower seeds, toast nuts and seeds in oven, microwave, stovetop; how to blanch fruits and veggies; how to seed and peel a tomato...

You easily could scroll through the varieties of flavors, colors, textures, and tangs in Salad for Every Season to find something that fits the ingredients on hand, or you could vary any basic recipe to your own taste. A reader recommendation? I'd especially like to try some of the vinaigrette variations. Besides Salads and Salad Dressing divided into Spring and Summer / Fall and Winter sections, beautiful full-color photographs are worthy of a book you'll love to have on your bookshelf and hold in your hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eat your greens!, November 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Salads for Every Season: 25 Salads from Earthbound Farm: A Workman Short (Kindle Edition)
Awesome (and free)!!. Recipes for great dressings and salads from Myra Goodman, co-founder of Earthbound Farm and the "queen of green". The salad combos in this free e book come from Myra's two cookbooks-Food to Live By and the Earthbound Cook, both of which I would highly recommend checking out as well. Many of these salads are satisfying enough to be the entire meal. A great way to eat more healthfully and more ecologically.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reading it made my mouth water!, July 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Salads for Every Season: 25 Salads from Earthbound Farm: A Workman Short (Kindle Edition)
If you're stuck in a salad rut, this book will definitely kick-start you out of it!

After the introduction, there is a list of reasons to choose organic. Next there is a list of different types of greens, each with a color photograph and a description - very nice! The author also provides a list of yields by weight for different types of lettuce.

Nearly all the recipes have professional color photos. I like how the cookbook is organized by seasons as we shop the farmers markets a lot. There is a lot of good information tucked in throughout the book, from descriptions of ingredients many cooks may be less familiar items (persimmons, kohlrabi, Thai vs. Vietnamese fish sauce) to growing your own salad sprouts.

Every recipe in here looks marvelous. Some are similar to salads I already make, but many are very new to me. I have seen Grilled Romaine Salad on a restaurant menu, but never a recipe for it.

The book is formatted beautifully and very well-written. The Table of Contents lists salads in regular type and dressings in italics. There are many hyperlinks throughout the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book!, June 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Salads for Every Season: 25 Salads from Earthbound Farm: A Workman Short (Kindle Edition)
We love this book. The salads and dressings are fresh and so delicious. No more bottled dressings for us. So worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars too much talk....not enough pictures, May 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Salads for Every Season: 25 Salads from Earthbound Farm: A Workman Short (Kindle Edition)
Boring and not enough pics. I did not enjoy. Too wordy. I'm sure it could have been put together better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All 25 salads sound very good!, April 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Salads for Every Season: 25 Salads from Earthbound Farm: A Workman Short (Kindle Edition)
I haven't made all the salads in this book but the ones I have made are delicious. This is probably the only book I've ever bought that almost every recipe sounds very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, March 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Salads for Every Season: 25 Salads from Earthbound Farm: A Workman Short (Kindle Edition)
All the recipes are easy and taste so good! The best part is that it is not just an ad for their products. And they don't require exotic ingredients--all can be purchased at the local supermarket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.