Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite a trip
My husband loves the animated finale of "The Three Caballeros" so much he says nothing else here matters, and rates this, ahem, unique Disney collection 5 stars. I, on the other hand, rate it 3. Sure, the surreal stuff is creative, but the live-action material is so lame! And besides, I want a story! The 4 stars above are our compromise. (Our teenage daughter, by the way,...
Published on February 7, 2008 by Julie Neal

versus
27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still EDITED, Not all extras from original DVD release are here.
If you already have the two individual older DVD releases, there is no reason to purchase this new single disc release.

If you don't have the original individual releases, you may still want to get those as the original theatrical trailers included there were NOT put on this new release.

The Three Caballeros (Disney Gold Classic Collection)...
Published on April 22, 2008 by Paul J. Mular


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite a trip, February 7, 2008
By 
Julie Neal (Celebration, Fla.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Saludos Amigos / Three Caballeros (DVD)
My husband loves the animated finale of "The Three Caballeros" so much he says nothing else here matters, and rates this, ahem, unique Disney collection 5 stars. I, on the other hand, rate it 3. Sure, the surreal stuff is creative, but the live-action material is so lame! And besides, I want a story! The 4 stars above are our compromise. (Our teenage daughter, by the way, sides more with her father.)

So here's my review, a mix of all of our opinions.

SALUDOS AMIGOS

"Saludos Amigos" is a 42-minute South American travelogue. Produced in 1942 with limited wartime resources, it uses live-action scenes to link together four cartoons.

The live-action segments show Walt Disney and a team of Disney artists as they travel to the continent and then gather information and sketch cartoon ideas. Poorly composed, badly faded and politically out of date, the footage has the look of an old home movie, as well as an obviously overdubbed soundtrack. My husband, however, geezer-in-training that he is, likes these scenes for their historical value, as they are filled with propeller-driven airliners, 1930s automobiles and lots of women in big, flowing dresses.

As for the cartoons, my whole family agrees that they are some of Disney's best.

"Lake Titicaca" stars Donald Duck as a tourist, getting into trouble as he attempts to sail a boat, take photos, communicate with the locals and ride a llama across a suspension bridge.

"Pedro" tells the story of a cute "little boy plane" who dreams of carrying the mail between Chile and Argentina. A compelling story full of fun and drama, it holds up amazingly well, and looks like it could have been drawn yesterday.

The hilarious "El Gaucho Goofy," is in the same vein as the 1950s Goofy "How-To" cartoons. As the narrator blindly describes how Goofy "deftly tosses" a lasso around a horse, "quickly converts" his saddle into a bed and "gracefully" dines on barbecue, the dippy dog botches every step. (If you buy this DVD, watch for these scene transitions. The lasso segment literally gets pushed off screen by the saddle scene, which itself ends by rolling up like a window shade. When the barbecue segment wipes off at an angle, Goofy nearly falls out of it!)

Finally, much like a tropical version of "Fantasia," the terrific "Aquarela do Brasil" ("Watercolor of Brazil") starts off as a painting of a vibrant rainforest that comes to life to music, in this case a great version of the samba standard "Tico Tico No Fubá." Soon Donald appears, meets Brazilian playboy parrot José Carioca (a Disney version of a Brazilian folk character), and the duo shake their bonbons off into the nightlife of Rio. Much of Jose's dialogue is in Portuguese.

THE THREE CABALLEROS

The most bizarre movie the Walt Disney company has ever produced, 1945's "The Three Caballeros" is a collection of animated shorts, all tied together by a bare-bones plot of Donald Duck learning about Latin America. The cartoons progress from typically sweet Disney family fare to a truly psychedelic, adult-oriented swingin'-single travelogue that turns Donald into a libidinous wolf.

It begins as Donald Duck, sitting alone in a room, receives a big box filled with birthday presents "from his friends in Latin America." First up are a few cartoons about some unusual animals of South America -- "The Cold Blooded Penguin," "A Visit With More Rare Birds" (rainforest birds) and "The Story of The Flying Gauchito" (a flying donkey). These three shorts take up the first 22 minutes of the film.

Next out of the box are two pop-up books about Brazil and Mexico. Each of these comes to life as its own peyote-paced animated featurette.

First, the cigar-chomping José Carioca pops out of the Brazil book and takes Donald on a 19-minute trip to the town of Baia (today's Salvador). As a catchy rhythm builds, Carioca creates his own harmony by dividing into four identical versions of himself, male, then female.

Eventually the birds meet the Cookie Lady (a live-action singer who attracts men with her baked goods) and soon the whole thing turns into what perhaps can best be described as a samba-fueled cookie version of the Marilyn Monroe production number, "Diamonds Are A Girl's Best Friend."

Donald gets jealous and pursues the Cookie Lady through the village -- which is, all along, a live-action stage set meant to be a huge pop-up-book page. For the finale, the Cookie Lady turns blue, two of her live-action suitors turn into fighting gamecocks and soon everyone and everything -- including the buildings, the moon, the waves in the sea -- dances into the night.

The book about Mexico brings forth Panchito, a six-gun-shooting cowboy rooster. He tosses sombreros to his new feathered friends, proclaims the trio "three gay caballeros" and takes Donald and José on a 30-minute flying-serape tour of his country.

On Acapulco Beach, Donald goes ga-ga for dozens of live-action bathing beauties ("Come to Papa! Come here, my little enchilada!") and keeps losing his swimming suit. At night the duck can't stay away from the clubs, where he dances with still more real-life señoritas.

The movie's bizarre animation includes illogical color changes and an overdose of morphing gags. Donald himself assumes over a hundred shapes and color patterns, and once becomes a woman. Some scenes, however, are beautiful Mary Blair gems that would later inspire the films "Cinderella" and "Alice in Wonderland," as well as the classic Disney attraction It's a Small World.

Sound great? My husband sure thinks so, and though I love the Mary Blair art, all the surreal animation and dated live-action blending don't exactly float my boat, and, well, I like my movies with a story! Still, some people have always found "The Three Caballeros" irresistibly entertaining, and it is certainly a must for any animation fan, as it shows the Disney animation team at its free-for-all zenith.

The two movies were produced as part of the U.S. government's Good Neighbor Policy, an effort to promote pro-American feelings (and combat Nazi sympathies) in Latin America during World War II.

BONUS FEATURES

Extras on the DVD include two good Donald Duck cartoons. In 1937's "Don Donald" (also on The Chronological Donald Vol. 1), a flirtatious Daisy Duck (here named "Donna") gets trapped in the rumble seat of Donald's car as it bounces through the Mexican desert. In 1944's "Contrary Condor" (also on The Chronological Donald Vol. 2), Donald finds himself hatching out of a condor egg and dealing with an overprotective mother.

Also included is 1942's "South Of The Border With Disney," a 30-minute behind-the-scenes documentary. It shows Disney artists, including Mary Blair, in South America getting inspiration for the animated sequences in these films. It was also on the year-2000 DVD release of Saludos Amigos.

Overall, my family agrees that there is certainly a lot here for the money, but we're split on how much of it will stand up to repeat viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still EDITED, Not all extras from original DVD release are here., April 22, 2008
This review is from: Saludos Amigos / Three Caballeros (DVD)
If you already have the two individual older DVD releases, there is no reason to purchase this new single disc release.

If you don't have the original individual releases, you may still want to get those as the original theatrical trailers included there were NOT put on this new release.

The Three Caballeros (Disney Gold Classic Collection)
Saludos Amigos (Disney Gold Classic Collection)

And YES, THE SAME CENSORSHIP HAPPENS HERE. THEY ARE EDITED.

A Side by side comparison does show some slight improvement in picture sharpness, and the audio has been re-mixed for surround sound, but it is not a full restoration. Obviously this is a great price, and hard to pass up if you do not already own these.

The feature films themselves fall a little short of being classics, they are best viewed as historical travelogues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creative & Innovative Disney Animation at its best!, April 21, 2008
This review is from: Saludos Amigos / Three Caballeros (DVD)
Wow, wow, and triple wow. It is not often that I get excited over animation anymore, but these 40+ year old films took my breath away. This DVD set contains "Saludos Amigos" (1943) and its follow-up, "The Three Caballeros" (1945). A team of Disney animators visited Latin America and collected a wealth of film, photos, sketches, paintings, mementoes, and ideas that reflected the culture they soaked up. In "Saludos Amigos," there is plenty of 16mm footage documenting the trip, interspersed with 4 animated segments: "Lake Titicaca" starring Donald Duck. "Pedro," an ADORABLE baby airplane, "El Gaucho Goofy" starring Goofy (and to answer the "burning" question, there is no cigarette visible here), and my VERY favorite, "Aquarela do Brasil" (Watercolor of Brazil"). This finale could easily have been used in "Fantasia." It is a marvel of animation, color, and music. It is absolutely breathtaking. It is inspiring to see what this team was able to create together. Released two years later, "The Three Caballeros" stars Donald Duck, José Carioca (from Brazil), and Panchito Pistoles (from Mexico). Imagine Walt Disney, Salvador Dali, and Busby Berkeley mixed together, and this film would be the result. The mixing of live-action and animation is pure brilliance. The segment "Las Posadas" is particularly beautiful, and I would have to guess the visuals owe much to Mary Blair. The color in both films is glowing and lush, looking as if it were just filmed yesterday. Extras include 2 Donald Duck shorts, "Don Donald" (1937) & "Contrary Condor" (1944). "Don Donald" shows Donald in his early days, before the styling of Disney animation became just a tad too slick. Both cartoons are very enjoyable. Other extras include a short Walt Disney CBC Interview where Walt discusses the birth of the 2 Latin American films presented here, and "South of the Border," which includes much of the 16mm film shot by the Disney team while in South America. Although the quality is not as glowing as what made its way into the feature, it is still extremely interesting to watch. The usual Disney sneak previews can be found on this disc as well.

HIGHLY recommended; beautiful animation, and a wonderful peak into the Latin American culture of the 40's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a review -- a question, June 17, 2008
This review is from: Saludos Amigos / Three Caballeros (DVD)
There were stories going around a few years back that the Disney Company had digitally removed Jose Carioca's cigar from his mouth and made other cuts and alteraltions equally offensive. I think THE THREE CABALLEROS is a great classic of the genre. . . a kind of Latin American FANTASIA that takes animation to the outermost limits of possibility -- but I want the movie in its original form, not in some altered, edited, Politically Correct modern dumbed-down version. There's nothing on the box or in the studio marketing that tells me which version I would be getting in this release. Can someone help me out? Should I Buy or Boycott? Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Disney on DVD, April 29, 2008
This review is from: Saludos Amigos / Three Caballeros (DVD)
For Disney historians and enthusiasts classic Disney films such as Sauludos Amigos and The Three Caballeros are a piece of Disney Feature Animation history. Both films were nominated for Academy Awards. However, to most of the younger generation The Three Caballeros is the center piece of the renovated Mexico pavilion attraction at Walt Disney World's Epcot. Now with the release The Classic Caballeros Collection: Saludos Amigos / The Three Caballeros that is about to change. For the first time both animated features are available together in the two DVD set. The Cinco de Mayo adventure begins as the Disney Studio team embarks on a journey to South America and Mexico with Donald, Goofy and Walt Disney himself in this animated and live-action collection.

The first piece in this adventure is Sauludos Amigos. In this Disney film Walt and his team of artists, musicians, writers and animators say "Adios!" to the U.S. to explore the heart and soul of Latin America. From the Bolivian Andes to the Argentine pampas, watch these four whimsical animated escapades while they travel to fun and exciting places. This enchanting international adventure earned three Academy Award nominations in 1943 including Best Musical Score, Best Sound and Best Original Song. Sauludos Amigos in divided into individual shorts highlighting different characteristics of South and Central America cultural. The first short features Donald Duck as a tourist at Lake Titicaca. Of course it wouldn't be a Donald Duck film without the customary troubles that follow this zany duck. The second short introduces us to a small plane name Pedro who must brave a thunder storm to deliver the mail in Santiago, Chile. After Pedro delivers the mail we venture to Argentina as the lovable Goofy portrays an American cowboy. Finally we set our sights on Brazil as Donald and his new friend Jose the parrot discover the culture and sounds of the region.

Interspersed with the animation shorts we go behind the scenes with Walt Disney and the animators as they crate this superb piece of celluloid (Disney also provides a South of The Border documentary in their backstage Section of the DVD)

We meet up with Donald's and his friends Joe Carioca and Panchito in The Three Caballeros. With lighthearted dance and lively music, this dazzling blend of live action and classic Disney animation is a celebration the whole family will enjoy! The film received two Academy Award nominations for Best Musical Score and Best Sound Recording.
disney three caballeros donald pinata

The film opens with Donald receiving a huge birthday package from his Latin American friends. Things get interesting as Donald is introduced to the South American culture... During one of the final pieces of the film we are introduced to the films name sakes as Donald, Jose, and Panchito (a gun toting rooster) dance and sing in with the people of Mexico.

All in all this the Classic Caballeros collection sets out to do exactly what it is supposed to: entertain and introduce another generation to the history brilliant Disney Feature Animation.

-- MagicalMountain.net
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disney Culture & Celebrations, September 1, 2008
This review is from: Saludos Amigos / Three Caballeros (DVD)
This is a monument to the Disney resume as Donald Duck leads the show of South Of The Border entertainment, with gusto! Along with two powerful friends with equal gusto, this madcap adventure thru historical ventures is quite an animated masterpiece. DO NOT LOOK FOR A FAIRYTALE STORY, REPEAT, DO NOT LOOK FOR A STORY! This wild entertaining culture romp has all the elements of a jalapeno pinata gone berserk, and I for one, LOVE IT!!!! Viva Mexico, and wherever that flying sarape takes me, cause I wanna leave ASAP. Thanks to the Disney Studios for not abandoning updated formats and collections of their most treasured moments. My laptop loves ya!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Video, December 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Saludos Amigos / Three Caballeros (DVD)
I have been looking for the three caballeros movie, especially one with both Spanish and English language option. My kids love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes Fun; Often Dated, December 19, 2014
By 
Andrew Collins (Litchfield County, Connecticut) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Saludos Amigos / Three Caballeros (DVD)
The two films on this DVD, Saludos Amigos and The Three Caballeros, consist of both animated shorts and live action segments that show off South American and Latin American culture.

The first film, Saludos Amigos, does not have much of a story but is introduced with Disney animators travelling to South America to do research for the movie. Along the way, Donald Duck meets the Brazilian parrot José Carioca.

The second film, The Three Caballeros, expands on the first film with its South American adventures and also travels to Latin America. In this film, it is Donald Duck's birthday and he receives gifts from his friends in other countries. He and José meet the Mexican rooster Panchito Pistoles.

I thought both films were a rather mixed bag. One of the strengths of most Disney films is their timeless appeal which, unfortunately, is not the case with these two movies. The live action segments are quite a dated aspect of the movies as we get to see these countries as they were back in the 1940s. While adult Disney enthusiasts might like the historical value of this, I find it difficult to see children being able to sit through it. Also, the films are at times rather nonsensical. Especially by the ending, The Three Caballeros has completely collapsed into a surreal mess.

In conclusion, this is a rather interesting piece in Disney animation history, although it is more notable for its historical value rather than entertainment value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another great job, June 9, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Saludos Amigos / Three Caballeros (DVD)
They've done a great job of restoring picture and sound. re-awaking it spirit of the movie with out having to change the original form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating!, June 30, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Saludos Amigos / Three Caballeros (DVD)
My son fell in love with Donald Duck while visiting Disney World in May. He especially liked Mexico Donald and the Three Caballeros ride. When we got back, we found these movies on Youtube (in 8-10 min. clips). I thought they were weird but he watched them so many times, we broke down and got the DVD. The scenes range from old school cartoons to trippy musical numbers - overall it's very entertaining and even educational. Makes me want to visit South America!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Saludos Amigos / Three Caballeros
Saludos Amigos / Three Caballeros by Bill Roberts (DVD - 2008)
Used & New from: $29.33
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.