Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Side of Sam Cooke: the crooner
Early is his career Sam Cooke performed at the Copa and he 'bombed'. It took a lot of experience and a few years later before he returned. A few weeks before he performed a similar show in upstate New York and again that was not a success. With arranger Rene Hall he started working on new arrangements and other songs and we should be really glad he did.

At The...
Published on November 30, 2005 by M. Buisman

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not an SACD
This is about the disk format itself, not a review of the sound or performance. It is positioned as a Hybrid-SACD While this may have utilized the DSD process at some point this is not an SACD. The cover and disk both have DSD but that does not be that the "output" is in SACD and unless all 3 of my SACD players have issues...it's the disk.

Amazon should...
Published on June 2, 2011 by N2HIFI


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Side of Sam Cooke: the crooner, November 30, 2005
This review is from: Sam Cooke at the Copa (Audio CD)
Early is his career Sam Cooke performed at the Copa and he 'bombed'. It took a lot of experience and a few years later before he returned. A few weeks before he performed a similar show in upstate New York and again that was not a success. With arranger Rene Hall he started working on new arrangements and other songs and we should be really glad he did.

At The Copa is fantastic and shows Sam as the ultimate cross-over artist. There are some musical hits, some of his own hits and a very good Bob Dylan cover. The end of the show he starts doing more of his gospel style singing and that's where it really gets interesting. The 70%white/30%black audience does the answer to his calls.

But...

for me this album has always been a little too neat. I think the real Sam can better be heard on the Live at the Harlem Square club album where he performs in the black ghetto of Miami and turns it into a real gospel/soul show.

For Sam as gospel star get 'The Complete Recordings of Sam Cooke and the Soul Stirrers', for Sam as songwriter get 'Portrait of a Legend' and if you want to hear Sam as the smooth crossover artists definitely get this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Amazing, September 9, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Sam Cooke at the Copa (Audio CD)
At first listen, this album, stylistically, sounded dated. By the third listen, I was hooked. This is one of the few albums that I can listen to over and over again without ever getting tired of it. Sam Cooke's genius really shines hear. His shear joy for the music, his fellow musicians, the audience, and for life is abundantly clear from beginning to end. He masterfully controls every note and interprets every word as he interacts with both the band and the audience. His gospel roots seem to be a perfect match for the big swing band behind him.
Absolutely Amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the love of music..., August 5, 2005
This review is from: Sam Cooke at the Copa (Audio CD)
Nothing can compare to the control and power generated from this performance. The only disapponting thing about this album is that it was one of his final recordings. The record is smooth and radiant from track one, anyone who loves music must own this cd and if you are sam cooke fan-- it is taboo that you do not have it. My favorite utterance is when he mentions in each fast paced song, "let me sing it for me this time". When he says this he rips into a soulful version to end a jazz/swing number... Absolutely delightful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soul Train vs. the Ed Sullivan Show, September 1, 2009
By 
Andre M. "brnn64" (Mt. Pleasant, SC United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sam Cooke at the Copa (Audio CD)
The release of "SC Live at the Harlem Square Club" has sadly dminished the reputation of this album. On "Harlem Square" (recorded a year earler but considered too raw for release by RCA until 1985), Sam was performing juke joint gut-bucket R&B for a ghetto audience and was in RARE form. This consists of a smoothed out supper club performance for a (presumably) upper-crust white audience at NYC's Copa, which was released at the time.

Sam fans today almost to a one prefer "Harlem Square" to this. But on it's own, this is not a bad album. This sounds like the kind of thing Sam would have done on the "Ed Sullivan show" at the time. Pretty polished stuff with his own band mixed with the house orchestra. But it's actually quite good. "Bill Bailey" and "The Best things in Life are free," etc. may come off a bit stiff, but improves with repeated listening. He really starts to cook as the CD goes on. The sing-alongs to "If I Had A Hammer," and "This Little Light of Mine," and "Blowing in the Wind," (all songs then associated with the civil rights movement, BTW) are quite charming. The guitar parts in "When I Fall in Love" are simply beautiful, as is the song itself. So when Sam trots out the old chestnut "Tennessee Waltz," it's okay because you have already been entertained and uplifted.

Yeah, comparing the two Live albums is like pitting "Soul Train" vs. "The Ed Sullivan Show," but give this album a chance without comparing it to "Harlem Square" and you'll be alright.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, September 23, 2004
By 
J. Brady (PAWLEYS ISLAND, SC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sam Cooke at the Copa (Audio CD)
Sam Cooke shows his best here. Relaxed, confident, with incredible voice. He and his band bring a groove to songs you thought never had one, and performs just enough of his popular favourites to please casual fans. FIVE STARS. Confirms his status as the greatest RnB singer of my generation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GET YOUR FRONT ROW SEAT AT THE COPA, October 24, 2007
This review is from: Sam Cooke at the Copa (Audio CD)
This is by far the greatest live "cabaret" set and believe me I have them all including Jackie Wilson,Darin,Deano and Sammy D to name but some.It even surpasses anything by ol blue eyes himself.
Cooke ignites, after Sammy Davis Jr's introduction into a stomping vegas style version of "best things in life are free" and the show takes off. he has a way of injecting beautiful life into what could be seen as old and hackneyed material. Sam sings Frankie and Johnny,Bill Bailey and If I had a Hammer and makes his the definitive versions.You really feel you are in a front row seat in this legendary club back in 1964.What a shame Sam would not live to see out the year.He was gunned down months later at a Hollywood motel. He lives on in performances such as this and "Live at the Harlem Square Club" which is every bit as good as this but rawer and more "gutbucket,down home" in style. ESSENTIAL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not an SACD, June 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sam Cooke at the Copa (Audio CD)
This is about the disk format itself, not a review of the sound or performance. It is positioned as a Hybrid-SACD While this may have utilized the DSD process at some point this is not an SACD. The cover and disk both have DSD but that does not be that the "output" is in SACD and unless all 3 of my SACD players have issues...it's the disk.

Amazon should correct either the ad or the "sending wrong disk" problem because I have found that this has popped up a few times on boards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Get it on vinyl!!!, October 15, 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sam Cooke at the Copa (Audio CD)
The problem with this CD re-issue is the same as when this album came out on CD the first time: IT STILL HAS A MONO SOUND TO IT!!! If you want to hear this album in it's pristine sound quality, find yourself an original RCA STEREO vinyl print. Then you'll be able to hear this great man's brilliant performance at the absolute peak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sam Cooke at the Copa, March 5, 2011
This review is from: Sam Cooke at the Copa (Audio CD)
This is a great album if you know what to expect. Don't expect the raw passion and soul of the likes of Live in Harlem, this is far more polished and smooth. I think that is slightly to the musics detriment, but that may because I love the feel of 'Harlem' so much. Sam's voice is just as great here, but as other reviewers have noted, this is for a different crowd and the album has a much more jazzy feel to it. It is worth listening to for another side of Sam and how he could perform. However he performs it is still a five star performance as always!

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2 sides of Sam but 1 FABULOUS guy, January 25, 2007
This review is from: Sam Cooke at the Copa (Audio CD)
Listen to "Copa" and "Harlem Square" back-to-back and you'll hear a difference but no phoniness. Sam Cooke was the best. With his talent, charm and good looks, who knows what he would have contributed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sam Cooke at the Copa
Sam Cooke at the Copa by Sam Cooke (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.