Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Funny Man Who is Missed by Many
Love him or hate him, Sam Kinison was a comic genius, and was extremley talented at what he did. Sure, he might've offended many and raised some eyebrows, but that's what he wanted to accomplish. Sam was one of a kind all right, and this DVD does him justice.
I have the tape, but I was glad that it came out on DVD. First off, the picture looks really good. It was...
Published on July 28, 2002 by Michael Crane

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'Comedy's Wild Thing' in his classic 1987 TV special
SAM KINISON: BREAKING THE RULES openswith an intro from Sam's mom; there's also a 1975 film clip of the former Pentecostal preacher in full swing.

His XXX rated stand-up routine begins with a reference to Iran-Contra. The subjects Sam covers include adultery and revenge, also truth vs. lies. During some positively blasphemous Jesus jokes, Kinison displays his...
Published on January 19, 2012 by Annie Van Auken


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Funny Man Who is Missed by Many, July 28, 2002
By 
Michael Crane (Orland Park, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sam Kinison - Breaking the Rules (DVD)
Love him or hate him, Sam Kinison was a comic genius, and was extremley talented at what he did. Sure, he might've offended many and raised some eyebrows, but that's what he wanted to accomplish. Sam was one of a kind all right, and this DVD does him justice.
I have the tape, but I was glad that it came out on DVD. First off, the picture looks really good. It was a pretty old performance, too. And there's some cool extras. Like never before seen material, which is really hillarious. This is a must-have if you love Kinison.
This is a great performance. Through yelling and engergetic story-telling he talks about marriage, drugs, being arrested (thanks to his ex-wife), pleasing women (in a way I cannot describe on this site,) and much, much more. He's always able to make me laugh, even if I feel guity afterwards.
Sam was a true genius. It's too bad he's not around. So many talented people have died to quick and left us all too soon. Kinison was a one-of-a-kind, and no one will ever be able to duplicate him. That IS a fact.
We miss you, Sam! R.I.P.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic!!, May 12, 2001
This review is from: Sam Kinison - Breaking the Rules (DVD)
Kinison in top form. DVD looks great with some bonus footage of a later show when he was obviously strung out on drugs big time. Sad to see him like that. The only thing that disappointed me was the fact this is written up on the back of the DVD as a 'Never before released concert' but is actually the same exact show as the HBO tape in the yellow cover that was released in the 80's. A must have in the collection to show your friends who have never heard of Kinison. R.I.P. Sammy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Both Funny and Sad, July 12, 2004
This review is from: Sam Kinison - Breaking the Rules (DVD)
No comedian ever made me laugh as much as Sam Kinison did the first time I saw him perform on a Rodney Dangerfield special. The infamous Ethiopian UHaul rant is probably the funniest bit I have ever seen. His appearances on Rodney's other shows were generally pretty terrific as well as well as his turn in "Back to School".
He was so successful with Rodney's shows that that HBO gave him his own night, which is the main feature of this DVD. It's classic Kinison and no topic is taboo. It's pretty crass and if you are easily offended, it's not for you. His highlights include a very funny rant about being dead (and I'll go no farther, but trust me, it's a blast).
The main program, which was filmed in 1987, runs about 50 minutes is fun. However, also included are bonus clips of Sam doing standup what appears to be several years later (I couldn't find anything that stated the year it was done). Here you can see what the life of excess drugs and booze had done to Sam. He looks worn out, strung out and burned out. He's not funny. In fact, his rants are more filled with hate than humor, in particular one related to Jerry Lewis and his "Kids" with muscular dystrophy. And there aren't a whole lot of laughs from the crowd. It's a sad commentary on the man's life that I question why it was put on the disc.
But, if you liked Sam, you'll enjoy reliving a few minutes of the glory days of his humor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Comedian Ever!!!, December 9, 2002
By 
L. Farina "Kodiak_chaos" (Columbus, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sam Kinison - Breaking the Rules (DVD)
This is a MUST buy for all Sam Kinison fans. We miss you Sam, but thankfully your spirit will live on in the dvds provided for our entertainment. Every time I listen to Sam Kinison I can gurantee you I will be having respitory problems after the show is over, due to all the laughing you get out of this guy! This particular dvd is one of my favorites. So if you're a newbie to Sam's work or a fellow fan and you don't have this, BUY IT! IT'S 110% WORTH IT!GOD BLESS YOU SAM, WE WILL NEVER FORGET YOU!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Out Of Control - Classic Kinnison, April 24, 2001
By 
Bruce J. Wallwin (Peoria, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sam Kinison - Breaking the Rules (DVD)
I remember the first time I saw Sam, it was during his HBO special the same special that this DVD is taken from. I was at first shocked because of his straight ahead in your face relentless rambling. But I never stopped laughing, I was rolling on the floor during the enitre show. This is the first time I have seen that HBO show since it first aired back in the early 80's. It is just as funny today as it was then. The DVD has extra footage of a Las Vegas show Sam did several years later. The later show was not as crisp as his HBO apperance, but classic Sam non the less. He never really cared what other people or the establishment thought of him, he joked about everything nothing was off limits. For this I commend him, he had a gift and he used it. I was said when I heard of his death. There has not been another Sam and there never will be. RIP Sam....
If you are a Sam Kinnison fan you need to get this DVD. If you like in your face unbridled humor you have to get this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breaking The Rules - Sam Kinison 1987, February 12, 2004
This was my first ever video experience of Sam Kinison way back in 1987. Four friends and I were marking off the days looking forward to it's original airing on HBO.
We were not disappointed, nor was I disappointed upon just receiving a copy of the video today.
This was early in his popularity, just after "Back To School" and he is particularly raucous and loud in this video. He was still at his peak as a "Wild Man",
still doing drugs (oh...THEY SEE THROUGH ME! OH! OH! OH!)and obviously pretty fresh from his breakup (I WAS MARRIED FOR 2 YEARS! HELL WOULD BE LIKE CLUB MED! OH! OH!)
But there is utter brilliance behind the screaming. His treatment of religion is one("Think Jesus is coming back?" Jesus - "Yeah I'm coming back. As soon as I CAN PLAY THE PIANO AGAIN I'LL BE RIGHT BACK!").
Another is his skit about sending food to the homeless in the African Sahara ("Stop sending these people food. Send them U-Hauls! Nah! Send me. Everybody on board! We'll make one trip. See this stuff! (he is scooping up imaginary SAND) "Nothing grows in this S---! Nothing's gonna grow in this S---! Get your kids, get everyone aboard! I'll take you where the FOOD IS!!!! You live in a F------ Desert!")
This video could not possibly disappoint a Sam fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funnier dead than many are alive, November 5, 2001
By 
Sean Whitmore (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sam Kinison - Breaking the Rules (DVD)
The world was robbed of comedic genius when Sam Kinison was killed. Thank God for these current DVD releases that will preserve his memory and comedy forever. Sam may not have released many concerts or albums in his time, but the ones that are out there are unforgettable. Some of the subjects discussed in this show include (...) of the dead, Hell as Club Med, the real reason Jesus won't come back, and licking the alphabet on a woman. And that's the tame stuff. This is Sam at his prime, before he became the gigantic coke-fiend he was later known for (not that he wasn't funny THEN, too). Buy this DVD and learn why, even after he's been dead and rotting for years, people just can't shut up about him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When I'm feeling blue, all I have to do is put on Sam, February 24, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sam Kinison - Breaking the Rules (DVD)
I remember the first time I saw this HBO special back in 1987. I taped it then. My brother who's wife just left him put it on and watched it over and over for three days straight. The tape got watched so much it became a hazard for any VCR. I was so happy to find nearly 20 years later my favorite site Amazon had the CD to buy. Watching it again after all these years just brought my spirits up and made me miss some good times, especially the ones when Sam was around doing specials here and there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absoutely a classic!, June 1, 2006
By 
Eric "Eric" (El Sobrante, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sam Kinison - Breaking the Rules (DVD)
Sam, you were the man. Breaking the Rules was recorded back in 1987 (during the height of his career), Sam of course talked about Jesus (Jesus never had a wife, no wife let's you take off for three days, and you come back and say 'I was dead.'), being arrested (thanks to his ex-wife who put a loaded .38 in his luggage while he was stoned on his way to California), drugs (OH THEY SEE THROUGH ME, THEY SEE THROUGH ME), pleasing women (which I cannot describe on this site), and all that.

So if you are looking for a blast from the past, this is the DVD for you. Also there are some bonus material on this disc which shows Sam strung out and it not all that funny, it is fill more of hate than funny and there are very few laughs, but either than that, this is the disc for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh my God, March 15, 2005
By 
This review is from: Sam Kinison - Breaking the Rules (DVD)
This is without question the best comedy video I have ever seen. Sam is nuts, way over the top and no matter how many times I have watched it, it is funny every time. In fact, it is funnier each time you see it because you anticipate the punch line and still can not believe it. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sam Kinison - Breaking the Rules
Sam Kinison - Breaking the Rules by Walter C. Miller (DVD - 2001)
Used & New from: $11.06
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.