Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A whole lotta Sammy!!!!
While i've seen most of the shows on this package there were a couple of really nice surprises.I had never seen the Las Vegas show,so that was a huge bonus,plus the extra material in New Jersey at Rascals were awesome as well.The Tribute section was basically his best routines from his best shows put all together with some added commentary from his brother Bill and Rodney...
Published on October 10, 2009 by Steven T. Dugger

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wild Child Redundancy
I love Kinison, but only glimpses of his brilliance are afforded in this 2-CD set. This is mostly latter career big stage rock and roll and cursing crudeness, not the dazzling originality and brilliance he exhibited early on in clubs. There is far too much of same material, different day here as well, with many versions of the same (and certainly not his funniest)...
Published on December 28, 2010 by Joseph P. Lanning


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A whole lotta Sammy!!!!, October 10, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sam Kinison: Wild Child (DVD)
While i've seen most of the shows on this package there were a couple of really nice surprises.I had never seen the Las Vegas show,so that was a huge bonus,plus the extra material in New Jersey at Rascals were awesome as well.The Tribute section was basically his best routines from his best shows put all together with some added commentary from his brother Bill and Rodney Dangerfield at the beginning.Still great stuff.If your not familiar with his work this would be a perfect introduction as it is almost a complete compilation of his work.And at the prices i'm finding for online it's a downright steal.Over 6 hrs. of Sam!!! Hard to believe but true.Most fans of Sam would probably already have most of this material,but diehards will want it for the Rascals alone.Hard to believe he's been gone for so long....Sam,you are missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a LOT of Sam, December 31, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sam Kinison: Wild Child (DVD)
STOP SHOPPING. THIS IS THE ONE!

DISC ONE:

"Breaking the Rules" (1987/49 mins.) at Bally's Hotel in Las Vegas

"Family Entertainment Hour" (1991/49 mins.) at the Wiltern Theatre

DISC TWO:

"Outlaws of Comedy" (1990/47 mins.) in San Francisco

"Live in Vegas" (1991/72 mins) 1st half, comedy. 2nd half, rock music.

"Brother Sam: A Tribute" (1993) features interviews with Kinison's brother Bill and close friend Rodney Dangerfield, plus some classic routines.

EXTRAS:
BONUS stand-up performance (75 mins.)
BONUS stand-up performance at Bally's Hotel (71 mins.)
BONUS stand-up performance (42 mins.)

A photo slideshow, mostly featuring images you've seen throughout the set.

WHAT'S MISSING: Although I'm a big fan, I'm not a completist, so to be honest, I'm not sure. Most notably, I think his HBO special "Banned" is missing, and I'm not sure whether this set has all the extras from the other dvds or not. I'll leave that to the other hardcore fans to fill in.

I do know that at $7.87 plus shipping, it's far and away the best Kinison value currently on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wild Child Redundancy, December 28, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sam Kinison: Wild Child (DVD)
I love Kinison, but only glimpses of his brilliance are afforded in this 2-CD set. This is mostly latter career big stage rock and roll and cursing crudeness, not the dazzling originality and brilliance he exhibited early on in clubs. There is far too much of same material, different day here as well, with many versions of the same (and certainly not his funniest) routines over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SAM KINISON-WILD CHILD, October 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sam Kinison: Wild Child (DVD)
All the Kinison you will ever need. Multiple, uncensored performances.Kinisons comedy lives forever on this dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sam Kinison - too much wild child, June 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sam Kinison: Wild Child (DVD)
There are two discs to this set - the first one was great, the second not so much; it was a disappointment. Filmed in the years immediately before his death, his delivery was sporadic, nothing made sense, and he tended to focus on obscenities
rather than content. Number 1 disc is older and more of what we expected of Sam Kinison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, But Not For Everyone, October 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sam Kinison: Wild Child (DVD)
I bought this because I remembered Kinison from years ago. I actually forgotten how foul he could get. If you're offended easily, you may not like Sam's style. An Ex-Preacher, turned comedian. It's too bad he didn't live longer. If your open-minded, then I think you'll want to check this out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Nearly Complete 2-DVD Set of Sam Kinison at a Great Price!, June 23, 2013
By 
Joe (Ohio, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sam Kinison: Wild Child (DVD)
For Sam Kinison fans--as well as fans of aggressive-angry-insulting comedians from Don Rickles to the Comedy Central Roasters to Howard Stern--this nearly complete 2-DVD set is definitely worth the inexpensive price. Covering Sam's too-brief career from the mid-1980s to the early 1990s, it contains Sam's first HBO special 1987's "Breaking The Rules" and 1991's "Family Entertainment Hour", both of which are great shows. It also contains 1990's "Outlaws of Comedy" and 1991's "Live In Las Vegas", the latter of which is mostly redundant in terms of comedy material. My only real complaint is that Sam's breakthrough performance from the 1985 HBO "9th Annual Young Comedian's Special", hosted by Rodney Dangerfield, appears on the 2nd DVD "Brother Sam: A Tribute to Sam Kinison" in a poor quality, edited video clip. Truth be told, I prefer Sam's earlier work from the 1980s when he was still a hungry comedian on the rise, more than his later work in 1990-92 when he was already famous and adopted his "Rock-N-Roll" comedian persona.

The most glaring omission from this 2-DVD set is "Banned", which was recorded in 1990 as Sam's second HBO special, but was not aired on HBO. "Banned" is difficult to find on DVD and contains all three of Sam's music videos--cover versions of the Trogg's "Wild Thing" with Jessica Hahn and various 1980s heavy metal stars; the Rolling Stones' "Under My Thumb" with Ozzy Osbourne and David Faustino #aka Bud Bundy#; and Mountain's "Mississippi Queen". I suppose a completely comprehensive DVD set of Sam's comedy career would also require video from his appearances on the Tonight Show with Johnny Carson and Late Nite with David Letterman, his two appearances on Saturday Night Live, his cameo role as the history professor in Rodney Dangerfield's film "Back To School", and his role as Al Bundy's guardian angel in the two-part "Married...With Children" Christmas episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sam Kinison a memorable deceased stand up comic., March 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sam Kinison: Wild Child (DVD)
Sam Kinison: Wild Child
If you are familiar with him, then this will likely be a favorite of yours, as it has come to be for me. If you are new to him, you should know that this guy was known for nasty, put it in your face humor about sex: having sex, giving sex, sex in marriage, sex, sex, sex. This would probably be rated X for language. He does not beat around the bush! If you are easily offended, this would not be for you. But, if you like this type of humor, you will always be laughing. I saw him in person, in Atlanta, at the Fox Theatre, before he was killed in a vehicle wreck, while on his way to a gig. Sam's timing is impecable and his words are carefully chosen to deliver a great laugh. This man rolled with traveling preachers in his humble beginning which gave him a great start getting and keeping the attention of his audiences. At the end of his life, he also rolled with heavy metal bands. And, in this performance, Sam shows that he can also play guitar with them. He is also known for making fun of marriage and the women who gave him heartache. He tells about life as we know it...at any age...at any decade of time, his remarks are relavent. Since he is gone, this is the best way to remember him. Rock on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Funny, May 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sam Kinison: Wild Child (DVD)
A great Comedian who's life ended by his life style. A person born before 1970 will probably love this as the jokes are dated. Some of the video on DVD 2 is grainy and DVD 1 alone would give it 5 stars. If you like Sam buy this DVD used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great buy, a great comedian, March 27, 2014
By 
R. O'Brien (Anchorage, Alaska) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sam Kinison: Wild Child (DVD)
Some 6 hours of Sam, including an uncensored Las Vegas show, plus some backstage footage. The cable specials are all here. If you never saw Sam, this is a 'must buy'. Not recommended for Puritans, or children, or ex-wives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sam Kinison: Wild Child
Sam Kinison: Wild Child by Various (DVD - 2009)
$9.98 $4.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.