Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I know you're in a hurry to get to work, but don't worry your street corner will still be there!"
Girl gets hit by a car, girl loses memory of everything before the accident,girl finds out that she was a VERY mean person, girl has a change of heart now that she has a chance to start over, gril wants to be nice and correct the mistakes that her mean self did before she lost her memory.

After watching one episode of this show I was laughing and wanting more...
Published on June 15, 2008 by Millie

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missing episodes?
I love this show very much but does anyone know why the last 3 episodes of season one are not on the dvd? Very strange. Had to watch them on YouTube. Also, the special features are not as they are listed on the packaging.
Published on April 26, 2010 by E. Reid


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I know you're in a hurry to get to work, but don't worry your street corner will still be there!", June 15, 2008
This review is from: Samantha Who?: Season 1 (DVD)
Girl gets hit by a car, girl loses memory of everything before the accident,girl finds out that she was a VERY mean person, girl has a change of heart now that she has a chance to start over, gril wants to be nice and correct the mistakes that her mean self did before she lost her memory.

After watching one episode of this show I was laughing and wanting more. Christina Applegate is amazing in this. Her acting is just so dead on making you laugh at how she exaggerates everything. Jennifer Esposito (who plays Andrea, Samantha's best, and only, friend before her memory loss) is also very funny in this because she basically plays a friend that is always drunk/hung over and very mean.
Samantha's parents in this are just hysterical because they are the typical mom and dad that are still treating their adult daughter like a child and ignoring her opinions and driving her crazy.
Even though a lot of people are saying that the story is not very original, I think that they get a lot of mileage out of it.
If you aren't sure that you will like this show after (at most) 2 episodes watch it on abc.com first and then decide whether you want more.
I am absolutely getting this because it kept me laughing through the whole episode. Even though the episodes are less than 1/2 hour long, I think that it is a good way to keep people begging for more. I nearly lost my mind one week when ABC announced that it would instead air "Dancing With the Stars" for the entire night!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars samantha who, October 24, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Samantha Who?: Season 1 (DVD)
i felt it was cute.for a 72 year old conservative male who prefers tv shows from 60 to 80s,i enjoyed the episodes i have watched
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Christina Applegate shines, June 19, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Samantha Who?: Season 1 (DVD)
It's been a long time since a sitcom has been worth sitting down for every week for me. The canned laugh tracks, the forced jokes become a bit much. Samantha Who is refreshing in it's candor and wit. The jokes don't feel like they're trying too hard, the chemistry between everyone in the cast is undeniable, though some of my favorite scenes are the ones between Frank and Samantha. Every cast member pulls their weight and they feed off of each other. Christina Applegate, Jennifer Esposito, Jean Smart are hilarious, not to mention Suki ( I don't know the actor's name, she will forever be Suki from the Gilmore Girls to me) and her adorableness.
Samantha lost her memory after a car accident and for most of the first season we're treated to a loveable, mildly ditzy, but ultimately charming girl struggling to piece together the puzzle of herself. The answers she finds are shocking and dismaying to say the least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A delightfully pleasant series, May 18, 2008
This review is from: Samantha Who?: Season 1 (DVD)
I really came to enjoy SAMANTHA WHO during its strike-shortened first season. The premise was not necessarily all that brilliant -- a complete jerk of a human being loses her memory in a car accident and gets a fresh shot at her life -- but it provided a great platform for Christina Applegate to play a character who is in the process of self-recreation.

This is not going to go down as one of the great series ever nor even as one of the finest comedies. It was not even the best new comedy of the 2007-2008 season (that title belongs to ALIENS IN AMERICA, but since I apparently was only one of about four dozen people to watch that one, no one knows that). No question most of the appeal lay in Applegate's wonderfully appealing performance in the lead role. Even though everything we learned about the old, bad Samantha was reprehensible, it was delightful to see her gamely take a new shot at life. And she is aided by some great supporting players. I especially loved Melissa McCarthy, best known to most TV viewers as Sookie St. James from THE GILMORE GIRLS, who plays Sam's childhood best friend Dena, whom she jettisoned as they aged and Sam moved into the cool crowd while Sam joined the uncool crowd. Jennifer Esposito is great as the one person who was friends with the bad, old Sam and continues to be friends with the new, nicer Sam. Barry Watson is excellent as Sam's ex-boyfriend Todd (who is still living in her condo), who starts the series off sheepish about telling her that they broke up shortly before her accident to finding himself newly attracted to the nicer version of his old girlfriend. Kevin Dunn and Jean Smart are great as Sam's parents. The one character I wish they could do more with is Tim Russ as Frank the doorman. He is excellent as far as his character goes, but so far they just haven't been able to do much with it. Hopefully that will change. He was one of my favorite characters on STAR TREK VOYAGER as the Vulcan Tuvok. Hopefully he'll have more to do in Season Two.

All in all, this is a fun, well written, and excellent (if unambitious) series. It is a great vehicle for Christina Applegate. Most of all, it is just a very, very pleasant show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My new favorite series!, July 8, 2009
This review is from: Samantha Who?: Season 1 (DVD)
Samantha wakes up on a hospital bed, having suffered a car accident that left her in a coma for eight days. Now she's got amnesia. She's got no recollection of her parents, her best friend and her (ex) boyfriend. So as she tries to regain her life, what little she knows of it, she realizes that she wasn't a very nice person before the accident. She was calculative, backstabbing, self-centered and faithless. And whenever she has flashbacks, it is always about something unpleasant she'd said or done to a loved one. So she sees her lost memory as a clean slate. She is now the "Good Samantha," except that at times this good Samantha finds herself doing some not-so-good things.

I love this TV show. It is so well written and genuinely funny. Christina Applegate is awesome; I have been a fan of hers since Married... with Children. Cecelia Ahern -- author of P.S., I Love You and Love, Rosie (a.k.a., Where Rainbows End) -- created this show and I couldn't enjoy it more. I also love the cast. Samantha's feeble and eccentric parents (Jean Smart and Tim Russ) and her BFF Andrea (Jennifer Esposito) are hilarious. I also like Dena (Melissa McCarthy), Samantha's chubby former high school buddy. I kind of have a love/hate relationship with Todd (Barry Watson), Samantha's ex-boyfriend. She is silly when she's around him, but he also gets on my nerves. I couldn't help but wonder why she doesn't order him to move out of her apartment. Anyway, I like the DVD (in spite of its limited features) and I so look forward to picking up season two. This show isn't as popular as it should be, and I'd be surprised if ABC does a season three. It's too bad, because this is one of the funniest shows on the air, in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cute show., October 19, 2009
By 
ADRIENNE MILLER (Murfreesboro, TN.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Samantha Who?: Season 1 (DVD)
Samantha Who? was a show I wrote off right away but I got hooked on the second season and sadly this show was cancelled last May. So I went back and watched the first season and wow what an intelligent, witty comedy. Christina Applegate is so adorable as Samantha, how can you not love this woman?! Jean Smart plays her mother and boy she steals every scene as well. Samantha Who? totally won me over, who would have guessed? Buy Season 1 and 2 today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHO is funny!, November 17, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Samantha Who?: Season 1 (DVD)
I have always loved Christina Applegate so when I heard about this show I was excited, while missing most of the 1st season, I didn't want to start
midway through so...I purchased this dvd and watched it 3 times and laughed each time and have passed it on to others for their enjoyment.
She is so cute, ditsy, beautiful and fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A smart, funny sitcom, September 19, 2008
By 
Cubist (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Samantha Who?: Season 1 (DVD)
In the 1990s, Christina Applegate proved that she was more than capable of playing something other than sexy ditz Kelly Bundy on Married with Children - The Complete First Season. She starred in the short-lived sitcom Jesse, playing a smart, sexy single mom. That show had a strong first season but too much internal tinkering by the network resulted in a lame follow-up and subsequent cancellation. After dabbling in movies for a few years, Applegate has returned to the small screen with Samantha Who?

Samantha Who? allows Christina Applegate to showcase her considerable comedic chips. With Jesse, she demonstrated a knack for verbal comedy and with a film like the underappreciated The Sweetest Thing (Unrated Edition), a knack for physical comedy. This show allows her to combine both of these aspects of comedy in a wonderful way. Applegate is not afraid to look silly and act goofy but there is always an intelligence to what she's doing. There's something very sympathetic about her that makes us root for Sam to reinvent herself.

The episodes are shot very much like a film - a romantic comedy broken up into half hour chunks. The dialogue is quite cleverly written and delivered in the same fashion as vintage screwball comedies - fast and furious. Samantha Who? is so well done it makes you wonder how the hell it got on the air on a major network like ABC? There is such a lack of imagination on network television that a show like this is a refreshing breath of air. The success of a smart and funny show like Ugly Betty - The Complete First Season (also on ABC) paved the way for this show and proved that sitcoms don't always have to pander to the lowest common denominator.

The first disc features an audio commentary for the Pilot episode by actress Christina Applegate and executive producers Donald Todd and Peter Traugott. The two producers briefly talk about the origins of the show. They spend most of the commentary telling filming anecdotes and mentioning footage that was cut out. Applegate doesn't really contribute much but does crack a few jokes and state the painfully obvious at times.

The second disc starts off with "Samantha Whoops?" a brief collection of bloopers and blown lines as the cast break character and laugh at something they or someone else did.

Finally, there are seven deleted scenes with optional introductions by Donald Todd. He puts these cut scenes within context of the show. They are mostly extraneous subplots that were cut for reasons for time. This fairly amusing footage but you can see why it was cut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missing episodes?, April 26, 2010
By 
E. Reid "Care Bear Girl" (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Samantha Who?: Season 1 (DVD)
I love this show very much but does anyone know why the last 3 episodes of season one are not on the dvd? Very strange. Had to watch them on YouTube. Also, the special features are not as they are listed on the packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Really Cute Show, February 22, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Samantha Who?: Season 1 (DVD)
This show is fun to watch but it's not going to blow you away.

***Spoilers***

Apparently no one really liked Samantha (except for her stuck up friend Andrea) prior to her being hit by a car which caused her to have amnesia. She had a good job and boyfriend but when she began discovering herself again she found out that she really didn't like her job (and was eventually fired) and that she was cheating on her boyfriend. When her and her boyfriend broke up all she did was want him back but he had moved on with another girl...while living in Samantha's apartment?!?!

Her chubby childhood friend came back into her life and I like that they added her character into the show...I hate when everyone in a show has to be perfect looking. So the first season is just Samantha trying to remember her life and discover who she is now...that and the pursuit of her ex boyfriend. Of course being a Star Trek fan I have to say that I loved the doorman!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Samantha Who?: Season 1
Samantha Who?: Season 1 by Christina Applegate (DVD - 2008)
$23.99 $21.12
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.