Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great and Efficient
The product is great because you can strap it to your bags and have a very clear view of the weight limits you must observe. Strongly recommend it.
Published on August 31, 2011 by Andaluz

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK scale
Went with the brand name Samsonite (for $10 ?) Inaccurate at low readings - not a real issue - higher up it shows approx. a pound over I suppose to ensure you don't have bad surprises at the ticket counter. But, the metallic triangle that holds the strap actually opened-up like a paperclip (while pulling really slowly) under the weight of my 55lb loaded suitcase. So...
Published on July 4, 2011 by Miltiadis


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK scale, July 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Samsonite Manual Luggage Scale (Apparel)
Went with the brand name Samsonite (for $10 ?) Inaccurate at low readings - not a real issue - higher up it shows approx. a pound over I suppose to ensure you don't have bad surprises at the ticket counter. But, the metallic triangle that holds the strap actually opened-up like a paperclip (while pulling really slowly) under the weight of my 55lb loaded suitcase. So what would happen if one tries to weigh an 80lb suitcase which is this scale's max.? I will now have to find something to replace that triangle.
So for $10 it's OK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Can I give it zero stars?, March 31, 2012
By 
Ike (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Samsonite Manual Luggage Scale (Apparel)
This is an absolutely atrocious product. I used it for exactly two measurements, one each for suitcases weighing 30 lbs and 45 lbs. After the second measurement, the triangular pin that holds the belt and buckle just flattened out, and now, a day before my trip, I have no luggage scale to use.

I have a hard time believing this is a Samsonite product. What a complete wasted purchase.

Totally useless, do yourself a favor and avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great and Efficient, August 31, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Samsonite Manual Luggage Scale
The product is great because you can strap it to your bags and have a very clear view of the weight limits you must observe. Strongly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Flimsy - Broke on 2nd use, October 31, 2012
By 
M. Smith (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Samsonite Manual Luggage Scale (Apparel)
Bought this for a recent trip and got exactly 2 measurements out of it before it broke. Weighed a 50 lb bag and a 25 lb carry-on. Went to weigh the bags again before the flight home and the metal part that connects the scale to the strap broke. This thing is rated up to 85 lbs, but it couldn't handle half that. It didn't even last one full trip! Hard to believe Samsonite puts out such a shoddy product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It works, January 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Samsonite Manual Luggage Scale
As the title says it works. Saying that it will only give a true reading if you lift carefully. Lifting too fast will cause the needle to show the maximum force you used not the weight of the bag.
I calibrated it against an industrial scale and it was pretty accurate at 10 to 50 lbs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Accuracy.. very good product, September 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Samsonite Manual Luggage Scale
Excellent accuracy. Matched to the tee with the scales in airport. Locks the weight. Huge value for money. Love this, highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars tricky to get accurate measurements, August 13, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Samsonite Manual Luggage Scale
good price, but the 'max hold' needle is almost useless as it tends to "measure" a larger weight than real, as the force (acceleration) of lifting the load gets folded by the spring into the weight of the suitcase, and remains permently recorded by the red needle.
If you have a girlfriend/wife who can spot the instantaneos weight (black needle) for you, then all is OK, but if you are alone expect to always have suitcases which are underfilled (travelling light is not a bad thing anyway).
Good for occasional use, will probbaly last another 3-4 trips before the lightweight casing gives up.
The third star is only because of the price: small compared to the outrageous charges that airlines levy these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Handy Scale, December 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Samsonite Manual Luggage Scale (Apparel)
This product was purchased to replace my bathroom scale.

What I like:
* Accurate
* Easy to use
* Compact

The scale works well, is accurate, and is easy to use. The best part is that it easily fits in your suitcase so you can weigh your bags for the return trip.

What I don't like:

Conclusion:
After one trip, I am very satisfied and would recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good when it works...clip broke under weight, November 12, 2011
This review is from: Samsonite Manual Luggage Scale (Apparel)
Poor design. The strap holding the luggage is clip-on plastic. When we weighed a heavy bag (50 lbs), one of the throngs on the plastic clip broke rendering the scale practically useless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Did the trick!, October 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Samsonite Manual Luggage Scale
Awesome delivery time and product. I would recommend this product to family members. This product was recommended in a magazine and it came as really useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Samsonite Manual Luggage Scale
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.