Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Blake Shelton Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Luxury Beauty Father's Day Gifts Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Outdoor Recreation Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars10,727
Capacity: 500 GB|Change
Price:$154.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 19, 2014
I bought this to replace the HDD that comes with Lenovo Y40. I felt the machine was not as fast as I expected and decided to get this SSD. There were no reviews, but I thought I couldn't go wrong with this latest Samsung model.

I was worried that the process to copy all data from original disk to new would be complicated, but luckily it was a breeze!! This SSD comes with a CD containing the migration software and Magician (for performance improvements). If you don't have an optical drive on your laptop, like me, you'll need to find another PC to copy the installation software to a USB drive or upload somewhere to the internet. I didn't find the migration software on Samsung website. EDIT: Gohanrocs12 comment provided where to find the migration software on Samsung website: [...]

I also bought an external case from Amazon (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00H98AXOE/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o04_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1). It was used initially with the SSD to migrate the data and now I use it with the HDD that was originally in my laptop.

The migration software was really easy to use. I just picked the 2 existing partitions from original 1TB HDD and it set the two partitions on the 250GB SSD. I was able to readjust the size of the partitions and then it started the copying process. It took a few minutes to copy around 60GB of data. I believe under 10min,

After it was finished I just removed old drive, installed the new one and everything was working. Didn't have any problems booting Windows 8 or anything else.

I then ran the Magician software and asked to optimize disk for Performance and enabled the RAPID feature. I was running the Magician performance tests and they significantly improved after enabling RAPID.

Now everything loads blazing fast and I'm very happy with my laptop and this SSD.

UPDATE 19-mar-2015: There were some questions about ability of the migration software to copy the factory recovery partition to the SSD. Gohanrocs12 clarified it. Here is his comment:
"...Limitations of the software:
6. OEM recoverypartitions, generated at the factory by computer manufacturers, cannot be replicated"
As another customer noted in the comments, it may be a good idea to keep the original HDD around just in case you need to recover from disaster.
2222 comments|541 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2015
Thanks to a few Youtube reviews, I selected the 850 EVO (250) for my Macbook Pro (2013). For those who are on the fence, I would recommend running a read/write speed test using an app like blackmagic via the apple app store. My original rating was roughly 25MBs write and 50MBs read, with the standard 500GB HDD. I used a simple SATA adapter cloning kit for under $20 to connect the 2.5 SSD to my MAC via USB. Once you connect the drive, the system disk utility launches and you can rename and partition the SSD- easy. I used the Carbon Copy Cloner trial version cloning software after i partitioned the drive and transferred all data via cloning utility. The transfer took less than 15 minutes and verified successful transfer via disk utility. Once done, I powered off and removed the back case of the Macbook- removed the four screws that retained the HHD and slipped the SATA connector off. I connected the new SSD via the SATA connector and replaced all retaining screws (after removing the hex screws from the HHD, I placed them on the new SSD). Upon powering back up, there was a slight delay but once done- perfect. My speeds boosted to about 330MBs write and over 500MBs read (**disclaimer** this number will vary based on what you have running while conducting the test). No problems as of this post, apps launch much faster and you will be amazed at how quick the OS launches after you power up or log-in. Great purchase for great price, speedy delivery and with the use of simple cables- you will be happy Im sure. Leave me a msg if you have a question.
review image
3737 comments|664 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2015
I installed this in my wife's MacBook Pro (mid 2012; non-retina; MacBookPro 9,2) and the installation process could not be more of a breeze. Once the new drive was in, I did a fresh install of OS X 10.10 from USB stick. Then restored user accounts, apps, etc, from the HD just removed from the Mac, attached with this cable: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00HJZJI84/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 (rather than using time machine backup). Since I was already opening the computer, I also upgraded the memory to 8 GB using this 'kit:' http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005LDLVAO/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1. Once the OS was installed and all data transferred, the difference in boot time, application launch time, and overall performance was nothing short of dramatic. MS Word now opens instantaneously. Night and day. I'm sure extra memory is not hurting, either, with things like running multiple apps at the same time and application switching. After the upgrade, it feels like a brand new computer. I was originally waiting to upgrade the 500 GB hard drive that come with the Mac once prices of SSD drop enough to make a 1TB a bit more economical, but I'm really glad I did not wait. The expected longevity/endurance of Samsung's "3D" technology along with the price point of just just over $200 (with tax) were the 2 key deciding factors (expected performacne gains being a given). Could not be happier. Will be interesting to see if there is any noticeable improvement in battery life and how the drive performs after a year or so (given TRIM is not permitted by Apple on third-party SSDs). BTW - the drive itself looks really good. I realize the case is superfluous and rather irrelevant in an internal SSD (it will never be seen again after re-inserting the back cover), but once installed amid the tidy MacBook innards, the drive looks perfectly at home, actually matching the other components in terms of aesthetics. NOTE: once your drive is installed and configured in your Mac, restart holding option command r p to make your computer stop looking for the old boot drive and start up right away (google 'option command r p' for details). From pressing the start button to fully loaded desktop, this PowerBook now takes just under 20 seconds.
review image
1111 comments|334 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2015
Wow... This thing is fast. I have been looking to upgrade my older OCZ Agility III SSD for awhile now, and finally broke down when they came out with the 850 EVO. For the price, the 850 Pro just wasn't offering enough to get me to make the jump, but the price-to-performance ratio on this one was just right for me to seal the deal.
After first installing it, the Samsung Data Migration software just plain didn't work. It would get a timeout error every time, and never copy the old drive. So I used another cloning software, and it booted right up without any issues.
As far as speed, this thing is about twice as fast as my old drive, without RAPID enabled. I was getting speeds close to what is advertized for this drive. However, with RAPID enabled, there is no contest. With those small transfers, we're talking 30+ times faster than my old drive. If you're coming from a hard drive, this thing is going to blow your socks off.
This drive satisfied both my requirements of newer speed and transfer rates, and additional capacity. So far, I couldn't be happier.
If I had any complaints, it would be that the migration software was a complete failure, and the drive comes with nothing. It wouldn't kill them to include a SATA cable and a 3.5" conversion tray, if not a SATA-to-USB transfer cable. It's not like this thing is dirt cheap.
review image
55 comments|83 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2015
This drive failed in less than 2 months, past my amazon return date. Getting warranty service from samsung is ridiculously difficult. The existing documentation encourages the customer to use the web to open a support ticket and does not list a phone number. However, the web forms don't even list the model so you can't complete the process over the web. I wasted a lot of time trying to use their web support service.

**Update 6/17/15** As a new-to-Samsung customer, after much digging to get RMA service via the web, I finally found a number to call: 800.726.7864. You need to talk to a rep to get an RMA form emailed to you. Bottom line, do not try to use the online web forms to get an RMA, as they do not list all models of SSDs in their dropdowns.

***Update July 1: finally received my replacement drive today. Warranty terms clearly state that if purchased within 90 days and with proof of purchase (which I did), Samsung will replace defective unit with a new drive. I just received a REFURB drive. Emailed a request to warranty support contact (outsourced to Total Tech Solutions) to ask for a new replacement. Will update you when I get a response.

I'm used to much better service from vendors like Dell, Cisco, and HP servers. During the replacement process, the Total Tech rep explained that the extended turnaround time for warranty replacement is due to their waiting for management approval (from Seagate?).
1515 comments|160 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2015
.
- A fresh OS install is MUCH BETTER for a sleek compact Registry, efficiency, lack of junk, overall computer performance, etc, so if you have the patience & time to re-install all your programs & settings then take this route. Do a deep format first.

- If Cloning, remember that the Samsung Migration Software will clone ONLY THE FIRST TWO Drive Partitions.

- If Cloning, first clean all the junk out of your old HDD - a) uninstall all programs you don't need or use, b) use a 3rd party junk Cleaner, c) Registry Cleaner, d) Shredder to recover disk space AND remove traces of all deleted files, and e) run Disk Defragmenter a couple times. PC Tools - Registry Mechanic includes all of the above in one nice package.

- If your source HD has around 250 Gb to clone, the Samsung Migration Software could take between 2 to 3 hours to complete with a simple (e)SATA to USB adapter/cable. It's faster if you have one with additional AC/DC power. If you're buying a new one a (e)SATA to (e)SATA interface/adapter/cable is the best.

- After swapping in your new SSD, after powering up, first enter BIOS and ensure that AHCI is enabled.

- After booting up, start the DOS Window and type "fsutil behavior set DisableDeleteNotify 0" to enable TRIM.

- After Windows starts, check to see if Disk Defragmenter is Scheduled to run by default - Turn this Off - i.e. the "scheduled to run" part, HOWEVER Disk Defragmenter Services SHOULD REMAIN ENABLED & AUTOMATIC in Windows.

- Install the Samsung Magician Software and then: A) start Performance Optimization - remember to re-visit this every couple weeks, B) select the desired OS Optimization settings, C) set an Over Provisioning level (10% is recommended but any reasonable level will suffice), and D) enable RAPID Mode.

- You'll see PreFetch/SuperFetch in the Magician Software but sometimes it will not override Windows settings so you might like to run RegEdit and set both EnablePrefetcher = 0, and EnableSuperfetch = 0. They're in this Key - HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Memory Management\PrefetchParameters.

- In Device Manager, start the SSD window, click on the Policies tab, and make sure "Turn off Windows write-cache buffer flushing..." is NOT selected.

Let me know if you need any help or have any questions! GOOD LUCK!!!
.
review image review image
77 comments|51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2014
To condense the following review, there is no absolute performance leader between the Samsung 850 EVO 120GB and 850 EVO 250GB relative to the Samsung 840 EVO 120GB and 840 EVO 250GB. The determining factors in the selection process and in particular to SSD RAID arrays, being the desired drive configuration and task assigned.

The Samsung 850 EVO 250GB SSD, regardless of the 6G (SATA III) configuration being tested, provides excellent performance; single, RAID 0, RAID 1, RAID 10. Variations in data transfer rate between four drives, much like that produced by the Samsung 840 EVO 120GB and 850 EVO 120GB being minimal. A set of four 850 EVO 120GB having the greatest measured performance span within a single group, the small file size (4K file) scores ranging from (151.2 - 153.6MB/s write, 171.1 - 176.3MB/s read) the large file size (8192K) spanning a ranging of (436.9 - 442.1MB/s write, 504.1 - 510.1MB/s read).

Peak read performance (1024K file) for a single 850 EVO 250GB drive being 537MB/s. The 840 EVO 120GB and 840 EVO 250GB, given identical platform and conditions scoring lower at 516MB/s and 513MB/s (1024K file) respectfully, with a peak recorded value of 521MB/s (128K and 256K file) and 522MB/s (512K and 8192K file). The 850 EVO 120GB drive producing a peak read score similar to the 840 EVO's, with a value of 515MB/s (2048K and 4096K file).

Everyday performance (4K file) of a single 850 EVO 250GB drive coming in at a very nice (170MB/s write, 189MB/s read). The score passing the 840 EVO 120GB and 840 EVO 250GB, which produced in order, (154MB/s write, 168MB/s read) and (126MB/s write, 141MB/s read). The 850 EVO 120GB drive being third best in the group with a score of 153MB/s write, 176MB/s read.

When configured as a 240GB (x2, 850 EVO 120GB) RAID 0 array, the Samsung 850 EVO 120GB produced better small (4K) file scores of 122MB/s write, 136MB/s read compared to the 850 EVO 250GB configured as a 500GB (x2, 850 EVO 250GB) RAID 0 array, resulting in scores of 111MB/s write, 126MB/s read.

Notable in the results and unlike traditional hard drive RAID 1 arrays, the Samsung solid state drives, when configured as a RAID 1 for files greater than 4K in size, experiencing little performance degradation during the write cycle.

Another interesting result, when configured as a 120GB (x2, 850 EVO 120GB) RAID 1 array, the Samsung 850 EVO 120GB again produced better small (4K) file write score with a value of 112MB/s compared to the 850 EVO 250GB configured as a 250GB (x2, 850 EVO 250GB) RAID 1 array, producing a score of 85.9MB/s and slightly more than 30% slower than the 850 EVO 120GB.

The peak read performance (8192K file) when configured as a RAID 10, 500GB (x4, 850 EVO 250GB) drive being in excess of 1.60GB/s. The score being slightly more than that produced by a 240GB (x4, 840 EVO 120GB) RAID 10 array transferring the same file, measuring 1.52GB/s with a peak read score of 1.64GB/s (4096K file), besting the highest read score produced by the 850 EVO 250GB. The 840 EVO 120GB, 240GB array also generating superior write results at 95.4MB/s (4K file) compared to the 850 EVO 250GB, 500GB array which produced a maximum write value of 79.8MB/s (4K file) and 16% differential.

The 850 EVO 120GB configured as a 240GB (x4, 850 EVO 240GB) RAID 10 array producing better small (4K) file performance with a score of 98.1MB/s write, 132MB/s read, compared to the 850 EVO 250GB at 79.8MB/s write, 122MB/s read. The 850 EVO 120GB resulting in the lowest RAID 10 peak read value in the group with a score (2048K, 4096K, 8192K files) of 1.49GB/s.

*When configured with an Areca 12G SAS RAID controller rather than an IBM 6G SAS RAID controller, the data transfer rate for small file (4K) sizes improved by nearly 250%, a 240GB (x4, 850 EVO 120GB) RAID 10 array reaching 460.0MB/s write, 483.9MB/s read and shared in the addendum below (29 Dec 2014).

The 850 EVO 120GB and 850 EVO 250GB configurations tested, using Win7 Ultimate 64 and Atto Disk Benchmark 2.47, scored as follows:

Single, 120GB drive (x1, 850 EVO 120GB):

(4K file) 153MB/s write - 176MB/s read
(128K file) 472MB/s write - 511MB/s read
(1024K file) 450MB/s write - 513MB/s read
(8192K file) 442MB/s write - 510MB/s read

Single, 250GB drive (x1, 850 EVO 250GB):

(4K file) 170MB/s write - 189MB/s read
(128K file) 506MB/s write - 541MB/s read
(1024K file) 476MB/s write - 537MB/s read
(8192K file) 474MB/s write - 534MB/s read

------------------------------------------

RAID 0, 240GB drive (x2, 850 EVO 120GB):

(4K file) 122MB/s write - 137MB/s read
(128K file) 933MB/s write - 1040MB/s read
(1024K file) 907MB/s write - 1028MB/s read
(8192K file) 884MB/s write - 1027MB/s read

RAID 0, 500GB drive (x2, 850 EVO 250GB):

(4K file) 111MB/s write - 126MB/s read
(128K file) 933MB/s write - 1040MB/s read
(1024K file) 907MB/s write - 1028MB/s read
(8192K file) 884MB/s write - 1027MB/s read

------------------------------------------

RAID 1, 120GB drive (x2, 850 EVO 120GB):

(4K file) 112MB/s write - 131MB/s read
(128K file) 460MB/s write - 513MB/s read
(1024K file) 435MB/s write - 866MB/s read
(8192K file) 431MB/s write - 989MB/s read

RAID 1, 250GB drive (x2, 850 EVO 250GB):

(4K file) 85.9MB/s write - 125MB/s read
(128K file) 495MB/s write - 540MB/s read
(1024K file) 468MB/s write - 884MB/s read
(8192K file) 462MB/s write - 1025MB/s read

------------------------------------------

RAID 10, 240GB drive (x4, 850 EVO 120GB):

(4K file) 98.1MB/s write - 132MB/s read
(128K file) 740MB/s write - 880MB/s read
(1024K file) 684MB/s write - 1402MB/s read
(8192K file) 660MB/s write - 1491MB/s read

RAID 10, 500GB drive (x4, 850 EVO 250GB):

(4K file) 79.8MB/s write - 122MB/s read
(128K file) 834MB/s write - 1041MB/s read
(1024K file) 812MB/s write - 1420MB/s read
(8192K file) 788MB/s write - 1603MB/s read

Tested on an Intel DP55KG motherboard with an Intel i7 860, 2.8GHz CPU using an IBM ServeRAID M1015 (also sold as Intel RS2WC080 or LSI MegaRAID 9240-8i) dual port, 6G SAS RAID controller attached to an Intel RES2SV240 6G SAS RAID expander the drives mounted in a Supermicro CSEM28SACB 12G mobile rack enclosure.

------------------------------------------

*ADDENDUM: 29 Dec 2014

As noted above, when the Samsung 850 EVO 120 or 850 EVO 240 drives are configured as a RAID 10 array attached to a 12G RAID controller with 2GB cache, such as the Areca ARC-1883iX-24, rather than the IBM ServeRAID M1015 6G RAID controller, the data transfer rates for small file (4K) sizes or everyday performance, becomes fantastic with measured values of 430MB/s write, 428MB/s read or greater.

RAID 10, 240GB drive (x4, 850 EVO 120GB):

(4K file) 460.0MB/s write - 483.9MB/s read
(128K file) 1743MB/s write - 1739MB/s read
(1024K file) 1763MB/s write - 1751MB/s read
(8192K file) 1772MB/s write - 1751MB/s read

RAID 10, 500GB drive (x4, 850 EVO 250GB):

(4K file) 430.2MB/s write - 428.2MB/s read
(128K file) 1747MB/s write - 1717MB/s read
(1024K file) 1776MB/s write - 1751MB/s read
(8192K file) 1768MB/s write - 1759MB/s read

End.
1010 comments|244 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2015
From a hardware perspective, I suppose this drive is fine. My issue is with the license terms of the software that comes with it.

This drive comes with two helpful programs: one to clone your existing hard drive, and another to report on and manage the health and other properties of the drive. Both of these are potentially very useful.

You can use the drive without the Samsung programs, although it took some manipulation on my Windows 10 machine to do so. However, a user following the installation guide might not realize this, since the instructions call for installing the software before plugging in the drive.

The software license agreement gives Samsung permission to collect and transmit "technical data" about hardware and software (including applications) "connected to your device." For most people, this will include pretty much their entire system. This data can be used "to provide product support, ... and other related services." To cap it all off, "This data may be shared with other Samsung affiliates worldwide and our service providers for these purposes."

These terms "technical data" and "other related services" are so vague they can encompass anything. This agreement gives Samsung the right to collect pretty much anything on your system, use it any way they want, and give it to anyone they choose. There is no real need for Samsung to be collecting any data off my machine at all, but there is no way to opt out of this short of not using their software.

I urge Samsung to revise their software license agreement. I would consider a check box allowing people to opt-in to this data collection preferable, and an opt-out check box acceptable.
1515 comments|214 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The manufacturer commented on the review below
on August 14, 2015
Night and day performance gain on my laptop. Quite happy overall. The only reason I am giving it 4 stars instead of 5 is because the Samsung Magician software that comes with it, does not recognize Windows 10 as an OS to allow RAPID mode. The drive otherwise works fine on Windows 10, but I have to wait for Samsung to release a version of Magician that fully supports Windows 10.
11 comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The manufacturer commented on this review (What's this?)
Don:

Thank you for purchasing the Samsung 850 EVO SSD.

Samsung has just released Magician, Version 4.8, which features the below improvements over Version 4.7:
1. New model support: Samsung 950 PRO SSD
2. New OS support: Windows 10

Magician is required for RAPID Mode.

Data Migration, Version 3.0 was released mid-October with the below improvements:
1. Windows 10 support
2. Option to exclude selected files from cloning
3. Cloning compatibility improvements

Both updates can be found at:
http://www.samsung.com/global/business/semiconductor/minisite/SSD/global/html/support/downloads.html

If you have any questions, concerns, or need assistance, please contact Samsung Customer Support toll-free at 1-800-SAMSUNG and a representative will gladly help you.

To reach SSD Product Support, enter the following in this order after each of the phone prompts: 1, 4, 6, 1

Support hours are from 9AM to 9PM EST, Monday through Friday.

You can also email Samsung Customer Support at: samsungmemorysupport@sea.samsung.com
on December 22, 2014
I have edited my review since becoming aware that the 840 Pro doesn't support hardware encryption my company requires (TCG Opal) either - which basically means there's no benefit to choosing the Pro line over the EVO, except for the reliability grade that the Pro line gets. Samsung has put the Pro line at something like ~60 years reliability, EVO gets around 20. In all honesty, who really has a drive 20 years, much less 60 years.

My main reason for getting this drive is that Samsung finally supports hardware encryption out of the box with the 850 EVO. As I had the 840 EVO, this encryption support was sorely missed, as the work I do can involve confidential documents and processes.

The drive does have better specs than the 840 EVO, but the price point for the 840 line has dropped considerably in recent months, so if you're looking for a better price per GB, the 840 EVO is definitely your ticket (I recently picked up the 1 TB 840 EVO for around $350, a bargain for that size SSD). However, if you need hardware encryption, this drive is your best bet. EDIT: The 840 EVO does support hardware encryption, but you'll have to download a firmware update to get it. My results with this updating have been... less than exemplary - I've already RMA'd two SSDs because of some kind of corruption with the firmware. You may have better mileage than I do.

The only difference between the 850 EVO and Pro line, at least from what I can tell, besides price, is that the Pro offers a 10 year warranty, while this only gets 5. As most hard drives get replaced after ~4 years, I don't need the longevity of the 10 year warranty, though kudos on Samsung's part for offering it.
1212 comments|134 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 1000+ answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.