Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Shop Women's Clothing Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Enter for the chance to win front row seats to Barbra Streisand Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 23, 2011
First off I would just like to say - Amazon is absolutely GREAT, Samsung is absolutely horrible. The styling, features, and overall picture quality on the LN40C560 are good. There are however two MAJOR problems with Samsung LCD HDTV's, that every consumer should be aware of. First is the issue that plagues all Samsung LCD's - capacitors that have a life span of less than two years and in many cases a life span that lasts just long enough for the factory warranty to run out. All you have to do is Google Samsung capacitor problems and you'll see for yourself. I purchased the Samsung LNT4065F in 2007 for $1,660 plus over $300 for an extended service plan. To make a long story short the capacitors went bad in less than two years. The technician that replaced the bad "caps" told me this is a very common problem with Samsung LCD's and its been going on for years. He said the "caps" cost mere penny's and that either Samsung is being cheap, or just plain greedy by not equipping their televisions with quality capacitors that will last the life of the TV. He agreed that it's very suspicious that in a lot of cases the "caps" go bad just after the factory warranty is up. Besides having to replace the bad "caps", the panel also went bad. They replaced the panel but with a lower quality one that completely degraded the picture quality. Samsung not only swaps higher quality panes with low quality ones when replacing bad panels. They also do this with their brand new models as well. When you buy a Samsung TV, it's logical enough to expect that it will have a PVA panel inside, because the manufacturer makes their own, as well as supplying them to other companies. In reality, though, that isn't always the case. If you Google it they refer to this practice as the "Samsung panel lottery" or "panel switching". I call it the old "bait and switch". Samsung will equip one specific model of TV with one of three different LCD panels from three different manufacturers. They claim specific specifications for a specific model TV but the three different panel types they use DO IN FACT HAVE DIFFERENT SPECIFICATIONS. Whichever panel you have, the circuitry and other components are the same. That means that the color reproduction, the evenness across the surface of the panel, the contrast ratio and the viewing angles can all vary considerably. The first way to find out which type of panel you have is easy. There is a label at the side of each TV. The version number should, in theory, tell you where the panel comes from:

Version "A" panels: AC01, AC02, AC03, AC04, AA01, AA02, AA03, AA04 and BA01 all come from AU Optronics
Version "S" panels: SQ01, SQ02, SQ03, SQ04, SS01, SS02, SS03, SS04 and SX03 are made by Samsung
Version "C" panels: CN01, CN02, BN01 and BN02 stand for CMO made by Chi Mei Optoelectronics (CMO).

But even then, different panels from the same series can also show variation. For instance, panels SQ01 and SQ02 are both PVA panels with an extended gamut (92% of the NTSC colour space) and 10 bit colour, while panels SS03 and SS04 have a standard gamut (72% of NTSC) and 8 bits. Out of the three different panel types S-PVA which is manufactured by Samsung, is clearly the best. S-PVA has blacks that are literally twice as deep as MVA, as well as better color accuracy and viewing angle. The only Samsung model lines that guarantee you'll get and S-PVA panel that I know of are;

C750
40" (40C750): PVA (SQ01 - Samsung, panel LTF400HQ01)
46" (46C750) : PVA (SQ01 - Samsung, panel LTF460HQ01, ref. 46A2UF0C)

C7000
55" (55C7000) : PVA (Samsung, LTF550HQ02)

C7700
40" (40C7700): PVA (SQ01 - Samsung, panel LTF400HQ02)
46" (46C7700): PVA (Samsung, panel LTF460HQ02, ref. 46A2UF7E)
55" (55C7700): PVA (SQ01 - Samsung)

C8000
40" (40C8000): PVA (Samsung, panel LTF400HQ03)
55" (55C8000) : PVA (SQ01 - Samsung)

C8700
46" (46C8700) : PVA (SQ01 - Samsung, panel LTF460HQ03, ref. 46A2UF8E)
55" (55C8700) : PVA (Samsung, LTF550HQ03)

C9000
46" (46C9000) : MVA (AUO, panel T460FCE1-F5)
55" (55C9000) : PVA (Samsung, LTQ550HQ01)

I think its horrible that Samsung is getting away with knowingly using faulty capacitors and their blatant false advertising. Hopefully this information will help you to make an informed decision when deciding what brand and model of HDTV to invest in.
33 comments| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2011
Hello folks, I thought I would go ahead and write a review since there seems to be none on the net about this specific model. This was the first time I ordered a tv through the net however I am not new to the flat panel world. I currently own the samsung LED 120Hz TV UN40B6000 as well as two other 42 inch panasonic plasma televisions and now this beautiful LN4C560 LCD.

I needed a spare tv for the guest room and was originally looking at no name brands and almost pulled the trigger on the samsung ln40c500 which is the stripped down holiday version of this model (1hdmi, no apps, no wifi,...) for [...]. At first nothing stood out to me about the Ln40c560 from the other 40 inch samsungs other than the price. Amazon had this at a special price on 1/4/2011 for [...] shipped including the [...] Samsung LinkStick for free. The special was only on for 2 hours in the middle of the day. The package shipped from UPS with the factory box (Samsung logos and model numbers). It was at my doorstep 2 days after I ordered it, the linkstick however just shipped out today which is not really a big deal for me. Tv was spotless and the box was well handled, the UPS guy didnt mind waiting while I took it out the box and inspected it throughly too.

The Tv itself is very beautiful in person, My Samsung LED also has the red touch of color and its perfect on this set too, just enough to know the red is there but not enough to distract from the home decor. I wouldnt call the set heavy, when you hold it it feels very solid. For example, on my LED the hdmi and UBS ports wiggle around a bit, not at all with this model (trust me i tried lol).

The picture is amazing. Being a Samsung owner I already knew what to expect, but the picture is a lot better than what my Samsung LED is throwing out. The menus on this model are revamped with better graphics and run a lot smoother than my LED Tv. This can partially be because my LED is a 2009 model and this is a 2010 however I thought being my LED cost almost double what the LN40C560 is going for right now, I thought the LED would still be a step up, apparently not. In my honest opinion, I don't see ANY difference at all with the 60hz and 120hz everyone is talking about and I watch a lot of football. There is zero blur or lag, just a very clean, clear, and detailed picture. I don't know how else to put it, as long as your source is HD, the picture on this set will look exactly like the picture you see on the displays at BestBuy. Standard channels look like they should and are not distorted or grainy.

My advice would be to look at Samsungs site for the specs and not on amazon for this set because it DOES have the internet apps, as well as the DLNA feature to wirelessly stream your videos and media from your pc to tv which is a very easy process if you use Serviio. The USB works very well too, plays videos and pics... Remote is also nice and better than the one from 2009. New one doesn't have that terrible wing at the bottom, and has grippier buttons.

The built in speakers are the nicer ones for an lcd tv. After using an LED with he stock speakers for over a year I finally upgraded to a small home theater, however the speakers on the Ln40c560 are a TON better than the ones samsungs gives in its LEDs and are actually bearable. I only have to raise the volume to 20 on this set versus 50 on my LED. You can always put a sound system later on however I find this LCD has a really good set of speakers for what it is.

Other than that this has been a great experience so far, I used to be a pansonic fanboy until samsung stepped their game up and started making the better televisions at very competitive prices. For anyone looking to buy this model I would say don't hesitate, its a great piece of equipment. If you have any questions, I would be more than glad top help answer them.

cheers,
moe.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2011
I looked hard for a cross between features and low cost. This TV fit the bill. The picture quality is very good for a sub $1000 set. The audio is better than my AKAI that had a great sound. There is plenty of content you can view with this set.

However setting up the internet apps was a confusing and tedious process. The Facebook app is still hit or miss in that the login fails more than not. The remote is fairly well laid out, but no QWERTY keyboard makes logging on to the various internet accounts painful. And it makes Facebook posting nearly impossible. The Enter button is also a bit to small, if it were a little larger selecting the various content would be much easier.

The TV supports DLNA which is a must if you want to view media on your networked PC's. Samsung didn't make it very easy to set up the DLNA access, but once working it is quick and efficient. It plays most common video formats you might download and fills the entire 40" screen when playing them back. You can view photos and listen to music stored on your networked PCs.

I consider myself more than adept at setting up such hardware and I found the Samsung instructions weak. If you are new to manipulating technology expect to pull all your hair out. And the trick to getting the apps to work is that you have to go to the Samsung website and provide a credit card number. You do not have to purchase anything, but it seemingly is the only way to liven up the internet features. This was not explained at all in the documentation.

In the end it does 98% of what I was looking for and was less than $600.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2011
Excellent TV. light weight. easily attachable to cabinet using tie straps (not included) on base. The TV's applications may require activation and additional fees, along with simultaneous use of a computer with a separate monitor - NOT the TV even if it is being used by the computer. To use items such as Netflix, before streaming the item MUST be in queue - it cannot be selected and viewed using only the TV and it's internet access until it is in the queue. Also, to add the TV, both the TV screen and computer screen must be concurrently visible and accessible - the code deactivates very quickly and I was unable to switch back and forth between using the computer and TV on the same screen to add the TV. I had to connect the computer to a different monitor and was unable to use the TV connection to activate Netflix. Other Apps may have similar problems.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2011
This Samsung product is absolutely everything it was advertised to be. We love the picture quality, internet access, Samsung apps, and all the other features this television is packed with. Last year we purchased Samsung phones, and have been incredibly happy with those and after much research on HD televisions, it was obvious that Samsung was top rated in this department as well. We have been very happy with this product and look forward to many years of entertainment and entertaining with it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2011
I couldn't be happier with this purchase. The picture quality is great (HD and SD), and I love having the 4 HDMI inputs as well as 2 USB ports to view various media types. I'm still trying to figure out what movie file types will work on the TV set, however. The Internet Apps are fantastic, especially Netflix and the Amazon Video on Demand app through the Yahoo! widget. Keep in mind that that this set does not have built-in WI-FI, so you will need to get the Link Stick if your router is not near the television.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2012
hello i love this tv not only did i use it for a tv i am now using it as my computer monitor! works great great picture quality and love all the features! can't go wrong with samsung or sony i think are the best tv's out there! very happy with purchase!
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2011
WE BOUGHT THIS TV FOR OUR NEW DEN AND IT IS A GREAT TV! WHICH IS WHAT WE HAVE CAME TO EXPECT FROM SAMSUNG TV'S! WE HAVE THE 46" TOC SAMSUNG TV IN LIVING ROOM AND THEY BOTH LOOK SO LIFE LIKE ON HD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2014
Picture quality was great, a little wear but so what it looked practically brand new. At the time i got this for a great deal vs what i can get now for this price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2011
After having this tv for just two years, the picture suddenly faded to white and started on fire tonight! After looking up info on this, I now find that there are some serious issues with the Samsung televisions. This was our first and LAST Samsung!
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.