Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Excellent In So Many Ways
If you want the bottom line right up front, it would be hard for me to believe a compact point-and-shoot camera could get any better than this Samsung MV900F, unless you spend way more money, and even then I'm not sure how it would get any better in any practical way. Maybe if you need an attachable speed-flash, or need even more than 5x optical zoom, and maybe, as I used...
Published 23 months ago by Sunglass Evaluator

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible camera
it cannot take pictures in broad daylight in smart mode; it chooses shutter speeds such as 1/2000 leading to very dark pictures. When I contacted Samsung chat support, I was told "xxxxxxx: No, it will take clear pictures but while taking pictures in brightness we have to adjust the settings manually." Let's see if there's a better resolution in store after the agent...
Published 19 months ago by Walter Wu


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Excellent In So Many Ways, January 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Samsung MV900 16.3 Megapixel Compact Camera - Black (Electronics)
If you want the bottom line right up front, it would be hard for me to believe a compact point-and-shoot camera could get any better than this Samsung MV900F, unless you spend way more money, and even then I'm not sure how it would get any better in any practical way. Maybe if you need an attachable speed-flash, or need even more than 5x optical zoom, and maybe, as I used to think, that I needed raw or uncompressed files ( the photos I got from this camera in super-fine quality mode (JPG) are so excellent and fully editable, that I now don't think I need raw or uncompressed files anymore).

Now for the more detailed: I've had many digital cameras, even more expensive ones from Nikon, Cannon, and Minolta, and a number of small Cannon 'Elfs'. This time, as usual, I first looked at all the Nikon and Canon models. but was having difficulty finding a highly-rated camera with a FAST lens and at least 3X optical zoom in a compact model without spending between $600 and $1000. Then I saw a review with the MV900F rated as 2nd best out of about 20 new point and shoot cameras. I was skeptical, but not only does this camera have the very fast 5X optical zoom lens, it also has what they call a Back-lit Sensor, which they say significantly helps in low-light, so it's no wonder reviews say it's really easy to take great looking photos, even in low light without flash. I have confirmed that every photo I've taken, without a tripod, with and without flash, without even trying all that hard, has been as perfect as I can see on a 1600 x 1200 computer screen. I just use the Auto Smart mode, the Super-Fine quality setting, and the 1920 x 1080 resolution, because seriousy why would anyone need more resolution than that? One complaint is that you have to first switch to Program Mode in order to see the setting for image Quality. I tried both Program Mode and Auto Smart mode for shooting, and both seem perfectly automatic in every way I noticed.

In my opinion, using the bright, high-resolution, 3.3" LCD Wide-Screen on this camera is not only effectively a single-lens (SLR), because what you see on the screen is through the same lens as the camera, but also you see in real time exactly how focused and light-balanced the photo you are going to take will be. I have not used it in direct sunlight with the sun behind me yet, but they say it is bright enough for that. I don't expect that to be a problem, but if it is I can go back to using my Minolta with a high-resolution peep-hole for those type of shots if necessary.

Rotating Screen! Not only for use looking at yourself, but when you rotate it out 45 degrees and flip the camera over above your head, like when you need to take pictures or video when standing behind a crowd, this camera automatically flips the image right-side-up for you.

So, lets see, with a super-fast 5x lens, perfect fast autofocus, minimal size and weight, 3.3 inch high-definition rotating wide-screen, and HD video just as starters, this camera already had me convinced at only $248, but then there's more...

Touch screen! This might be a negative in the sense that you don't get as many knobs and buttons to do things directly, but what they say in the reviews is true; after a little getting used to, you can get to what you need fast on the tough screen, so that's not a problem, and there just isn't any other way to get that large of a screen on that small of a camera (you need to get rid of all the extra knobs and buttons or make the camera bigger, and I think smaller is better).

Built-in WiFI! I haven't used that yet, but if you want it it's in there.

HDMI output! You do need to buy a cable with the smaller connector on the camera end.

Loads of built-in modes, options, editing abilities, etc, etc.

Like I wrote at the beginning, it would be hard for me to believe a compact point-and-shoot camera could get any better without spending way more money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just got it but...., November 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I just bought this camera on Nov. 23, 2012 from Samsung fulfilled by Beach Camera. I received it yesterday, plugged it in. Then woke up this morning to not being able to turn it on. I take out the battery and put it back in and then the red indicator light turns on again and I leave it for a bit. Then the red light indicator turns off which is supposed to mean that it is fully charged and I go to try to turn it on. Green light comes on and flashes and then nothing happens.

Contacted Samsung about this. They just referred me to a Service Request.... THIS CAMERA IS NEW OUT OF THE BOX. I've never had any trouble with Samsung before. I will continue to try to see what is wrong with this camera and not charging and update this review. But for now..... this camera is not charging right. Believe me I've checked the outlet, cord, and battery and all are in the correct position and working...

Also to note, this camera uses MICRO SD cards.... Not bad, makes it more compact... but I still have yet to test out the functionality because I STILL have yet to turn on the camera. :(

Update 11-30-12
Figured out that my sandisk class 10 micro SD card was to blame. (Why it wasn't turning on) Also that I needed to reformat it because it had incompatitible content on it after I used it on my phone. Will try that and see how it works... Have to test the rest of the functionality soon. Am going to give it a try over the weekend :) Just took some pics of my dogs and they turned out great tho!! :) Excited! Will update soon :)

Update 12-13-12
I LOVE this camera. I took it to the oldest cathedral in Chicago and snapped some awesome photos of the architecture. Tried out the panorama feature, video, and low light. I also tried the beauty palette.... Its like instant photoshop and so much fun to play with! It makes some faces look.... well photoshopped. I managed to get another sandisk micro SD 32gb class 10 and it works great! :) I used the flip out portion to get good self shots and shots at awkward angles. Also took some great professional looking shots of my dogs :P

The only thing with this camera is that it is has a slow shutter speed and the photos in dim lighting don't turn out so well... But as far as a sunny day outdoors or well light indoors, it takes great photos. Ultimately it is just what I wanted. Now i want to find out how to get that Hat feature....I would recommend to get this camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great camera, June 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was looking for a camera that had a flip screen (to record videos for YouTube) and something that was small. This fits the bill! The picture is clear and it uploads nicely. The screen does shut off when doing video (after a certain amount of time) and you have to touch it to see again (I'm assuming it's a feature to save on the battery) and I don't like that because I like to see what I'm videoing while I'm doing it. The battery also drains fast so I find that a bit annoying. Other than that...I really like the camera and it has many of the qualities I was looking for. I really like that it has the same plug as my Droid phone so I can use my phone charger to charge the camera too (nice for in the car)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not a fan of the touch screen, August 17, 2013
I bought this camera before a cruise to Alaska knowing it was thin and compact, therefore easy to carry around in my purse. I especially wanted a 180-flip out screen so it would be easy to take pictures of myself and friends. I received it today and was very pleased. The pictures are great and the shutter speed is satisfactory. My only complaint is that the touch screen is unresponsive sometimes, and lags a lot when using features such as fun pictures frames and camera filters. Also the interface is not user friendly when scrolling through pictures. You have to slide your finger awkwardly and takes a little while to really master. Overall, I do not regret buying the camera and want to applaud Samsung for contributing another great piece of technology!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best point and shoot so far, July 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I got this to complement my Canon 7D for moments when you don't feel like carrying around a big camera. Lots of settings and predefined photo-editing features right in the camera. the WiFi feature is difficult to set and extremely slow which makes it a feature you stay away from. Don't buy this one for the wifi function and you will be very happy with the results. Memory card is NOT included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SHOCKINGLY GREAT, July 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
When I took this camera out of the box I was shocked by its tiny size; smaller and lighter than my HTC Windows Phone X. I, frankly, was concerned that I had bought a piece of junk. After all, I bought it for less than I got for my three year old Canon G10 on Ebay.

I traded in the G10, which is the top of the line Canon point and shoot, because I was tired of having to download pictures to my computer and then send them by email or upload them to SkyDrive. Then, there was always the issue of backup. The camera also took terrible portraits no matter what I tried and had a firmware problem with purple hues and white balance outside. I like to take macro shots of my flowers and it was tricky to keep it from whiting out. So, I had been taking most of my pictures on the HTC phone which is actually pretty good, but being a phone without a zooming lens, it fisheyes with close up shots.

I wrote all that because this tiny MV900F solved all of those problems and more in my first 24 hours. We took a birthday self-portrait with the display facing us. It came out crisp enough to show all of my wrinkles. And then, I immediately emailed it to my daughter halfway around the world. My flower shots were perfect on the auto setting. As crisp and detailed an any I have ever taken. On the auto setting, the indicator changed from night shot to macro as I walked from my house to daylight. It selected the focal point but always seemed to get it right (flowers not leaves).

Pairing the camera with my wifi was simple as was the setup with SkyDrive and email. Indeed, I selected this one because it has a specific SkyDrive function. I sent one to myself by email. Looks great. I think that it even automatically reduces the file size for transfer but the resolution is still great on the receiving end. And, there are many features I have yet to explore.

The only downside I have seen is some slowness and jerkiness in the zoom response and slow transfer by wifi. Indeed, I ended up putting the camera next to the router to send 7 pictures to SkyDrive. But, hey, for the money?

And, of course, these are not professional level photos. But I just need to capture, share and remember my world accurately and in focus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it!, July 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
i bought this camera so i could take it to cancun with my friends. love how i can use the same charger for this camera and my phone. takes a bit of time to get the hang of the gesture shots. in the beginning i wasn't satisfied with the quality of the photos but then it was just because i had the settings to small resolution pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does it all, March 6, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Ok, so I have had several point and shoot cameras over time, and let me just say this one does it all. I like that I can email, Facebook,ex.... From the camera itself (using wifi) or just send the pics, video ex.... from the camera straight to my computer for storage (also using the wifi) So many possibilities! It has all kinds of fun special effect stuff too, to kinda play with. I love the large touch screen, and the self portraits capabilities. It's also super light weight, and not to much bulk. The self portrait hand gesture thing is neat to. Love the red color of the camera, and the pic quality is nice,Good job Samsung!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the it camera to have, January 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love this camera the pictures are clear and very easy to take self photos. ... luv the WiFi connection easy to transfer pictures. ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible camera, May 15, 2013
By 
Walter Wu (Redwood City, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Samsung MV900 16.3 Megapixel Compact Camera - Black (Electronics)
it cannot take pictures in broad daylight in smart mode; it chooses shutter speeds such as 1/2000 leading to very dark pictures. When I contacted Samsung chat support, I was told "xxxxxxx: No, it will take clear pictures but while taking pictures in brightness we have to adjust the settings manually." Let's see if there's a better resolution in store after the agent checks in with HQ.

Update: agent asked me to submit a service request. However, as of 5/25/2013, this camera model is not available for a service request on samsung's own service website. The saga continues!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Samsung MV900 16.3 Megapixel Compact Camera - Black
Used & New from: $246.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.