Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great printer so far and great value
I bought this in favor of a similar printer from Brother because the Brother was a little older and was only available in black and I wanted a lighter color. The downside was that this printer had no reviews. Well that's about to change!
The printer has a fairly compact footprint and is pretty much a cube. it fits on top of an Ikea rolling drawer unit with ample...
Published 12 months ago by Tech Geek

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This unit has one big flaw.
All is fine with this printer, except one thing.
The multi purpose tray MUST be programmed for only one kind of item, such as envelopes. When you do that and try to print, say an 8 1/2 x 11 or 8 1/2 x 14 page in the multipurpose tray, the software throws an error message saying that there is a mismatch.
You can overcome the error by pushing the OK button on the...
Published 11 months ago by MEC


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great printer so far and great value, September 5, 2013
By 
Tech Geek (Bellevue, WA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Samsung ProXpress SL-M3820DW Wireless Monochrome Printer (Office Product)
I bought this in favor of a similar printer from Brother because the Brother was a little older and was only available in black and I wanted a lighter color. The downside was that this printer had no reviews. Well that's about to change!
The printer has a fairly compact footprint and is pretty much a cube. it fits on top of an Ikea rolling drawer unit with ample space to spare. There are no protrusions unless you open the bypass feeder.
So far, I've used the printer wirelessly and through a wired connection. I've only used the main paper tray and have so far not experienced any jams. Duplexing works well and print quality is what you would expect from a laser. It isn't particularly noisy and has eco settings to turn itself off when no in use. There is an eco toner mode as well, which can be engaged through a panel button or through the web-based administration interface. I was not able to find a way to turn the eco print mode on and off from within the print driver. I'm using a Mac running Mac OS X 10.8.4 and didn't bother to install the printer drivers - I just let Mac OS do its thing. I've also printed from iOS devices using AirPrint without problems.
Criticisms? Well apart from not being able to turn eco mode on and off from the printer driver, the LCD display on the printer is hard to see since it is not raised and is not illuminated, and my lights flicker when the printer powers up or prints (but that's pretty normal for a laser in the home.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ease of installation is unsurpassed!, February 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Samsung ProXpress SL-M3820DW Wireless Monochrome Printer (Office Product)
I use this printer with a Windows 8.1 machine and a Windows Vista laptop. Here's what I did to install it on Win 8.1:

1. Turn Printer on
2. Search WiFi home network through on-board menu
3. Type in network key (similar to mobile phone keyboard, easy enough)
4. Printer showed up immediately in the Win 8.1 machine, was ready to go right away.

The printer NEVER got connected with USB or Ethernet, and I NEVER had to insert a driver CD. Awesome.
The older Win Vista computer saw the printer on the network, but downloaded a driver from Microsoft through standard OS dialogs. Never inserted a CD either.
It is configurable wirelessly through a built in web server, go to "Properties/Web Services", you'll find a local address on your home network.

This thing is a steal for a pro level 80.000 pages/month duty cycle, a full factory cartridge and fast printing, large memory, good drivers and easy installation. Power draw on start up is noticeable, but no problem in my house.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recomend, November 9, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Samsung ProXpress SL-M3820DW Wireless Monochrome Printer (Office Product)
Great printer. Prints quickly with excellent quality. The wireless function is really convenient. It is easy to set up. Appears to be well constructed. I am considering purchasing another one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent SOHO (and larger) printer., November 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Samsung ProXpress SL-M3820DW Wireless Monochrome Printer (Office Product)
Replaced an aging HP2100TN that started to have paper transport issues with this. It's a bit noisier, but so much faster. Paper handling is great and the duplexing is so far flawless. Printing from Linux is a no-brainer and the same can be said of printing from my Android devices via Google Cloud Print. Not using the wireless as I have a wired LAN but it appears to have all of the features one may need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This unit has one big flaw., September 25, 2013
This review is from: Samsung ProXpress SL-M3820DW Wireless Monochrome Printer (Office Product)
All is fine with this printer, except one thing.
The multi purpose tray MUST be programmed for only one kind of item, such as envelopes. When you do that and try to print, say an 8 1/2 x 11 or 8 1/2 x 14 page in the multipurpose tray, the software throws an error message saying that there is a mismatch.
You can overcome the error by pushing the OK button on the machine. (Yes I know that doesn't seem like much, but it has a very prominent error message which was immediately annoying and happens every time.) Otherwise, you must go into the software and reset the tray to what you are printing every time you change an input item.
The instructions say their software MUST be set to match your setup selection in your word processor; word processors of course adjust from envelopes to letter, etc. based upon what you have specified in your document.
For business, I use the lower tray for copy paper (drafts) and then print envelopes and final documents (better paper) in the multi purpose tray. HP let me do this and even allowed an 8 1/2 x 14 page without an error message.
So the bottom line is that the printer driver will not self-adjust to match your word processor and will throw errors if it doesn't match.
Makes this printer really annoying, if not useless for me. Didn't buy it here, and I returned it to the store.
Otherwise, the quality seemed fine, the print was quite good (actually impressive), speed was fine, certainly not 40 pages a minute, but fast, and it didn't seem to wrinkle envelopes. Was slow to print the first page out compared to HP, and dimmed the lights every time it cycled, but that wasn't a big deal. The "award winning" printer driver was. I don't know what they were thinking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommend., July 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Samsung ProXpress SL-M3820DW Wireless Monochrome Printer (Office Product)
Good Qualiy for black and white printer. Easy to setup.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great and fast printer with a small footprint, February 19, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Samsung ProXpress SL-M3820DW Wireless Monochrome Printer (Office Product)
I've had this printer for a month and it is performing very well. It wasn't easy to find a laser printer of these dimensions and AirPrint compatible. And the price was reasonable too! So far, very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast Laser, September 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Samsung ProXpress SL-M3820DW Wireless Monochrome Printer (Office Product)
This looks like it will be a good workhorse mono printer. Easy to set up wirelessly and prints very fast. Noise level is about whyat you would expect from these types of printers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


The manufacturer commented on the review belowSee comments
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY, June 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Samsung ProXpress SL-M3820DW Wireless Monochrome Printer (Office Product)
I wish someone had told me about this printer....it got it based on the fairly positive reviews, and boy was that a mistake. Printer works fine for a print here and there but for large volume, it is NOT reliable. Two sided printing? Forget about it. This printer jams about every 3 copies. Save your money and stick with much more reliable brands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

 
stem
The manufacturer commented on this review(What's this?)
Posted on Jun 12, 2014 5:42:36 PM PDT
Heather Buddie:

Thank you for purchasing the Samsung ProXpress M3820DW.

I am sorry to hear that you are having difficulties with paper jamming.

To better assist you with solving your issue, please contact Samsung Customer Support toll-free at 1-800-SAMSUNG and a representative will gladly assist you.
 
 

Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.