Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased
This was my first time purchase of a digital camcorder, I am a real research junkie, I read hundreds of reviews and scoured many vendors and options, etc. My final decision was the samsung scd-27, I wanted acceptable quality for the affordable range of this camcorder. I would have opted for the sony, but can't really justify the higher price, and was hoping for similar...
Published on December 15, 2003

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars MPEG4, USB, Memory Stick Scam
I purchased this camera for ~$400 and primarily because I thought that it has USB port, memory stick and MPEG4 movie recording capability, but these capabilities are severely limited. You can only record 10-20 sec on the memory stick because it can take max 32 MB. If you use higher mem then it gives format error. The USB, MPEG4 interfaces are limited to recordings that...
Published on December 19, 2003


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased, December 15, 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Samsung SCD27 MiniDV Camcorder with 3.5" LCD (Electronics)
This was my first time purchase of a digital camcorder, I am a real research junkie, I read hundreds of reviews and scoured many vendors and options, etc. My final decision was the samsung scd-27, I wanted acceptable quality for the affordable range of this camcorder. I would have opted for the sony, but can't really justify the higher price, and was hoping for similar performance with this. I received it quickly in the mail from amazon, and it charged in like 30 minutes, and have been playing with it since, I love it, and I think it takes great movies, then we hook it up the the big screen (easily) and watch ourselves, it's great. Well worth the $. I am very very satisfied and pleased and relieved with it. The same camera was at Best Buy for $449, plus tax, etc. I got this for $349 total with the $30 off for putting it on my new amazon card, and free shipping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars MPEG4, USB, Memory Stick Scam, December 19, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Samsung SCD27 MiniDV Camcorder with 3.5" LCD (Electronics)
I purchased this camera for ~$400 and primarily because I thought that it has USB port, memory stick and MPEG4 movie recording capability, but these capabilities are severely limited. You can only record 10-20 sec on the memory stick because it can take max 32 MB. If you use higher mem then it gives format error. The USB, MPEG4 interfaces are limited to recordings that you store on the Memory stick, so not much of a use of these features. The IEEE 1394 port is also 4 pin and would not work with 6 pin, so you got to be careful there.
Other than that, for recording it has a pretty ok capabilities. I would say it's an ok camera. Maybe I am disappointed that I can't use it with my PC as I hoped to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great camcorder that's a little bigger than most, December 3, 2003
This review is from: Samsung SCD27 MiniDV Camcorder with 3.5" LCD (Electronics)
I love this camcorder. I bought it in June and have been very happy with it. The menus are easy to use and the picture is really good.
My only complaint would be the size of the camera. It's a little bulkier than the competition, although still acceptable.
Great camera from a great manufacturer. Never have had any problems with Samsung.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good for the money!, December 26, 2003
By 
Patricia Lynch (Manahawkin, nj United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Samsung SCD27 MiniDV Camcorder with 3.5" LCD (Electronics)
I got this camcorder for a Christmas present. I have to say its a very good camcorder. It has sharp video, built in light, and night vision. The audio is very crisp, and is good for storing memories. You can take snapshots and record them to video, with sound. You can put in a memory stick and take stills, then transfer them to your computer via firewire, or USB. The battery charges in about 2 hours which is very fast. The only downtime is that it would be cool to have a 20 X optical zoom, but 10 X is powerful enough. I would recomend this camcorder to anyone. You can't beat this amazon price! I hope to keep this for years to come!
Bill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Camera great features LOVE THE COLOR SCREEN, July 10, 2004
This review is from: Samsung SCD27 MiniDV Camcorder with 3.5" LCD (Electronics)
I bought this camera by all the reviews I read and it seemded like a great buy. I am very happy with it but the extra expense of firewire and capture hardware was $65. Thought I'd be able to upload via USB. Only still pictures upload with the USB> Movies go vai Firewire. It was easy to install and very easy to upload and then you are watching it on your computer and not a TV. Other than the additional purchase of the capture card which I guess all digital camcorders require it is a wonderful unit and fits well in your hand!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great all around budget DV cam, May 6, 2004
This review is from: Samsung SCD27 MiniDV Camcorder with 3.5" LCD (Electronics)
This camera is excellent on those who are on budget and film mostly outside. Why do I say mostly outside? Because the video quality under low indoor light conditions is very bad. There is lots of noise on shadowy indoor areas. And since most amateurs and home videos are shot without really having a single though on how the light will be, the results will not be good. You'll need tons of light indoor to eliminate the grainyness. Whats even worse is that even in medium indoor lighting conditions look grainy. This grainyness, or color noise, probably has to do with the camera having 1 CCD (Which most consumer cameras have) and the insensitivity of the CCD. So it usually uses electronic gain when shotting with low light, and getting a camera to use electronic gain depends on its CCD signal to noise ratio. This camera has a bit of problems with tapes. I once used Panasonic DVC tapes, and 40 minutes into recording it said tape end! This was unbelieveable. Then once I used Fuji film, and believe it or not it said tape end within 2 minutes of recording and I was surprised. I played it back and stopped where the footage stopped and it recorded normally again. This is probably not the tape's fault but the cameras. The only tape I did not have any problems with is TDK, so USE TDK for this camera. The sound quality is good, and high fidelity sound. Uses standard PCM/48khz/16 bit. The picture quality outside is great, although sometimes it exposes too much and manual exposure needs to be used but generally it does a good job at auto. The features the camcorder has are great especially A/V/S-video IN to capture from other source. Night vision is cool, although short distance. I wouldn't rely on still pix they are low resolution. The LCD is nice although the DPI is low. Another great thing is that it works with my Power MAC and there is stereo microphone input which makes audio sound even better. Nonetheless this camcorder is really good considering the features it has. Simply a little thought in indoor lighting will go a long way. You can buy a cheap 625 watt sun gun on ebay, although inversatile still a good start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice footage, poor PC compatibility & service, June 28, 2004
This review is from: Samsung SCD27 MiniDV Camcorder with 3.5" LCD (Electronics)
I received this camcorder as a gift, and although the footage I've shot has been good quality, I cannot download it on to my PC. I have a brand new PC and it appears the driver that came with the camcorder is not compatible with XP Media Center. I've attempted to contact Samsung to confirm these allegations but they will not return my calls or emails. So I've got hours of raw Mini DV footage that I can't edit on my computer. What's the point??? Needless to say, I'll be buying a new Mini DV camcorder soon, and it will not be Samsung. So far Panasonic has my vote.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Samsung SCD27 MiniDV Camcorder with 3.5" LCD
Used & New from: $170.13
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.