Customer Reviews


506 Reviews
5 star:
 (282)
4 star:
 (118)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (51)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


191 of 197 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Samsung SE-208AB/TSBS External DVD-Writer
I use this Samsung DVD Writer for everything! It's great for ripping CDs, backing up DVDs, and burning DVDs and CDs. It's a nice improvement over it's predecessor: Samsung USB 2.0 External Optical Drive SE-S084D/TSBS Super WriteMaster, Slim External DVD Writer (Gloss Black). It's main improvements are a sleeker design, an improved disc seeking speed (how fast the drive...
Published on March 6, 2012 by Venator

versus
41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Samsung SE 208AB External DVD Writer
first of all, it's bigger than it looks in the photo but my biggest complaint is the cable that comes with it. I wanted to use this with my little Zenbook, which has one usb port on each side. Well, the cable that comes with this DVD, which requires the use of TWO usb ports, is a single Y cable and the Y is not long enough to go to both sides of my little 11" Zenbook, so...
Published on April 21, 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 251 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

191 of 197 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Samsung SE-208AB/TSBS External DVD-Writer, March 6, 2012
By 
Venator (State of Washington) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I use this Samsung DVD Writer for everything! It's great for ripping CDs, backing up DVDs, and burning DVDs and CDs. It's a nice improvement over it's predecessor: Samsung USB 2.0 External Optical Drive SE-S084D/TSBS Super WriteMaster, Slim External DVD Writer (Gloss Black). It's main improvements are a sleeker design, an improved disc seeking speed (how fast the drive detects a disc after it is inserted), and the disc tray is easier to open and close. No special software is required to use it; it works fine as a plug-and-play device. It works on Apple computers as well as the Microsoft OS. The difference in read/write speed seems somewhat negligent, however, it costs about $10-15 less than the previous model. When I have need for another external DVD drive, I will more than likely buy another one of these. Thanks for reading!

March 9th, 2013 Edit:
It has been just over a year since I originally wrote this product review. I now recommend this drive instead: Samsung SE-506BB/TSBD 6X USB2.0 External Slim Blu-ray Writer Drive (Black). Samsung's Blu-ray drive may be pricier, but it gives you the ability to play Blu-ray Discs, as well as CDs and DVDs. It works similarly; plug-n-play without any special software.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


80 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect With Acer AspireRevo AR 3700-xxxx/Windows7, March 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I ordered the Samsung DVD drive at the same time as my Acer AspireRevo w/o optical drive, so I could load/install software. So far it has worked to perfection. Installation was Plug N Play with Windows 7. It will burn to DVD-R with only the USB data cable, no need to use two USB ports.
It plays DVD movies, loads software on a computer w/o an optical drive and burns CD's and DVD's.

HIGHLY Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


174 of 187 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent replacement for my crap internal, March 8, 2012
By 
First, The Problem: My Mac Mini '07 came with a crap internal DVD burner. It was LOUD; it ate disks; it scratched the disks it didn't eat; and worst of all, it would pretend disks had burned properly when they hadn't! I experienced a success rate breakdown of: 40% working properly, 25% skipping, 10% too scratched to use, 24% unusable due to burning problems, 1% required forcible ejection (pliers and/or screwdriver) resulting in little bits of silvered plastic rather than a DVD. I gave up after that, and decided against all logic to replace it with another sold by Apple. Do NOT attempt this! They don't sell them in stores anymore. Anyway, the instructions for violating a Mac Mini involve a putty knife (NOT a joke), and digital sacrifice. After bandaging my hand, returning my neighbour's putty knife, and a quick trip to the doctor for an anti-tetanus booster, I decided upon a lateral solution.

Now, The Solution: External! Oh Joy! O Rapture! More desk space wasted... oh, wait... it fits atop my computer! Only one cord! Two dongly bits, though (move mouse). Done! It works perfectly. No more noise, no more scratches, and no more tools!

The Pros:
Barely larger than a CD case
No power cord
Underrun Protection (no more inexplicable coasters)
Multi-format compatibility (lots of formats... mom can buy her OWN disks now)
Quiet (if a bit buzzy)
No setup required
Firmware easy to update, even on a Mac

The Cons:
Two USB ports required
The included software is Windows only (Shame, Shame)
Ridiculous packaging (3 times more than necessary; it would be $10 cheaper if they reduced the packaging)

The Verdict: This was not the first External DVD burner I tried, (don't get me started on LG) but is is the best. It has burned over 450 disks of various types with only 5-6 coasters in the lot, and most of those were my fault. Flawless little performer. Cheap, but not cheaply made. Firmware updates (4 so far) are simple and reveal an uncommon attention to the user. Definite best buy.

UPDATE 1 May 2012:
Well, it had to happen eventually. After nearly 1000 burns the little fella fell victim to a power outage whilst burning. It hasn't been the same since. As this is a known way to kill a DVD burner, it bears none of the blame. I was under a time constraint, and couldn't wait even for next day delivery, so I went to my local computer store to buy a new one. They were out of stock. Highly irritated, I had to purchase an I/O Magic DVD burner that cost more. Though my emergency purchase has worked out well, if and when it breaks, I will return to Samsung. Still 5-star, still a best buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some details, April 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm using a low-end HP mini laptop (netbook) as a desktop computer by cabling a big monitor, keyboard, and mouse to it. (There are some limitations, such as it only runs the partial version of Windows 7, but it works well for most things, even streaming video, etc.) Since the mini has no CD-DVD drive, my need for an external drive is obvious. I put off getting one, because I found it difficult to decide, but the reviews and info on this one made the choice seem rather clear. (Samsung's reputation for quality and value seems to be on the rise, maybe even as good as Sony.) One obvious advantage of this product is that it gets all it's power from the USB port, and doesn't require a separate 120VAC power source. When I received it and looked at the manual, I was disappointed to find that the cable that comes with it has TWO USB plugs, to be plugged into two USB ports in the computer, and I only have one USB port available (with my monitor, keyboard and mouse plugged in). HOWEVER, reading further, the use of two ports apparently is necessary only if the port you're using lacks sufficent power. (Maybe this would be a very old computer in which the USB port is "USB 1.0" instead of "2.0"?). The two plugs of the cable provided with this product are simply a split (Y) of the same cable - which plugs into only one port on the CD-DVD drive, and therefore adding a USB hub (splitter) to be able to plug both of the cable's plugs to the hub would not help at all, because the hub only splits, and doesn't add any power. It would still be using just one port of the computer, and spliting it into two in the hub, and then back to one cable going into the CD-DVD drive. I plugged only one of the plugs into my only USB port, and it works perfectly. I burn CD's with it simply and easily. Since it works fine on my low-power HP 110 Mini with only one plug connected, I would guess that it would work fine on just about any computer of recent vintage that way. Conclusion - I'm happy with this product, and have no problems with its performance with only one of its two USB plugs connected to my computer, and the use of both plugs may be only rarely required to make it work well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Samsung SE 208AB External DVD Writer, April 21, 2012
By 
Amazon Customer "kepela" (Chatsworth, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
first of all, it's bigger than it looks in the photo but my biggest complaint is the cable that comes with it. I wanted to use this with my little Zenbook, which has one usb port on each side. Well, the cable that comes with this DVD, which requires the use of TWO usb ports, is a single Y cable and the Y is not long enough to go to both sides of my little 11" Zenbook, so I can't use it. REally disappointed. I do have a Dell Alien that does have 2 usb ports on the same side and it works OK with that. But I wouldn't want to use it while on battery because it does require powering from the laptop battery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent External DVD-Writer!, May 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have tested this unit on Windows 7 Professional, Linux Ubuntu 10.04, and Mac OS X 10.7.3. Just plug and play on all three operating systems! This DVD-Writer does include a USB cable with one Mini-A plug on one end of cable for DVD-Writer and two Type A USB plugs on the other end of cable for computer to provide extra power to device if needed. I only had to use the one USB Type A (with dual cables to plug) to supply both signal and power from the laptop. If you have a laptop that doesn't supply enough power for device, then use the second Type A (single cable plug) on second USB port for additional power. If that option is not feasible, then you may need to connect the one Type-A plug (with dual cables to connector) to an external-powered USB hub. Please note: the USB Type-A plug with single cable is used ONLY to supply extra power IF needed, else it is left disconnected. This unit did come with a CD which include user manual and software. I did not use/test the software on CD.

I am very happy with this purchase and will recommend to friends and family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great little disc drive!, April 28, 2012
I had to get a new optical disc drive. My old 1st generation Mac mini bit ths dust and my new Mac mini doesn't come with one. I did some online comparasion shopping and found this one. It had a lot of favorable reviews on several different websites including here (thanks, "Farscape 1"!). I reserved it from MicroCenter.com and picked it up at one of their local Chicago area stores (that's cool being able to do that BTW).

Anyway, I got it home, took it out of the box, hooked it up and began to play around with it. Not sure about PCs, but for Macs it's PLUG & PLAY! AWESOME! Couldn't access the firmware update directly from Samsung's website, but a quick Google search took care of that.

PROS:
Price
Size (sits right on top of my Mac)
PLUG & PLAY (Did I mention that was awesome?)
Excellent picture quality

CONS (and these are the only things keeping me from giving it a five star review):
Tray doesn't eject all the way
Have to close the tray by hand

I would most definitely recommend this product to a friend or family member in case they need a replacement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Optical Drive, April 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I had this product for around a month. I use it to burn back ups and data DVD of my anime. I've burned 50 DVDs so far and they came out perfectly. It is very easy to use, once you plug in this DVD writer your computer will automatically install the drivers needed to run it. It is very slim and has a nice appeal. This is a great product for those that have laptops or netbooks that don't have a DVD/CD drive. Although the cable that comes with this has two USB ports that can be plugged in, I only needed to use one for it to work perfectly. I purchased this through Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So far, excellent accessory for my MacBook Air, April 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this instead of the Apple Super Air Drive because it was significantly cheaper. So far, it works great. I was concerned that it wouldn't work because I only was able to plug it into one USB port due to the design of the MacBook Air, but it works just fine with only one usb port.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars broke down two times, September 23, 2012
By 
I purchased this DVD drive early December 2011, and had to send it in for repair in June, now again in September. It's been a different failure each time. The first service order was easy to file, the second has been incredibly frustrating. I no longer trust this particular product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 251 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.