Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Quality
The Samsung SSG-2200AR Active Shutter Glasses are an extremely well product. They function exactly as described, are very comfortable. I purchased the Samsung SSG-2100AB Battery 3D Glasses before these and those hurt the sides of my head after wearing them for very long. The 2200AR's don't have this problem. I also find these glasses are very stylish compared to the...
Published on July 3, 2010 by Jono

versus
124 of 128 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars They mostly work, but don't present a good value
The SSG-2200AR 3D glasses work. They have a solid field of view, have a sturdy feel, don't weigh enough to cause discomfort, and don't rely on potentially pricy batteries that have to be replaced each month.

That said, there are a couple of major flaws with these glasses that should be mentioned. The first, and most concerning, is the IR sensor. Active shutter...
Published on August 4, 2010 by sakanagai


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

124 of 128 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars They mostly work, but don't present a good value, August 4, 2010
This review is from: Samsung SSG-2200AR Re-chargeable Adult 3-D Glasses - Black (Compatible with 2010 3D TVs) (Electronics)
The SSG-2200AR 3D glasses work. They have a solid field of view, have a sturdy feel, don't weigh enough to cause discomfort, and don't rely on potentially pricy batteries that have to be replaced each month.

That said, there are a couple of major flaws with these glasses that should be mentioned. The first, and most concerning, is the IR sensor. Active shutter glasses use IR, just like a TV remote, to sync the glasses so that the lenses block frames intended for the other eye. The sensors on these glasses are far too sensitive. During bright flashes, including some chapter transitions in movies, the sensor gets confused and shuts the glasses down for a second or so. It's not long and doesn't happen constantly, but it does get annoying especially during intense action sequences. This is easily fixed with a tiny strip of opaque tape, but remains a questionable design decision that will hopefully be rectified in future generations.

The other issue is more a misconception. The ~$50 premium to get the rechargeable batteries can appear to be a pretty good deal, but it's not. The CR2025's required by the SSG-2100AB (the same ones included with the 3D Starter Kit) are expensive in stores like Best Buy, but are widely available online for under $1 each; Amazon sells 24 (12x2) Enegizer cells in that range. The replaceable battery lasts for about 50 hours (versus 30 for the Li-ion in these) which is about a month depending on viewing habits. For a single pair of glasses, it would take 4 years to make up the extra cost, assuming that the energy cost of recharging is negligible. Another factor to consider is down time. If a battery dies in the 2100AB, you can pause the movie and have a new one going in a minute. Should the rechargeable battery drain, there is a two hour charge time before they can be used again. Add that to the more frequent stoppages from the lower capacity, more movie nights can be halted more severely. At the very least, having a battery-powered pair on standby is recommended. With prices where they are, that's a lot of money for a backup.

I'm knocking a star for each of the two issues I've had with them. From a value proposition, these really aren't that great a deal. From a technical aspect, even with a quick and cheap fix available, it is troubling that such a fault wasn't caught before retail. If you can deal with an ugly piece of tape on the front, don't mind the possibility of having to take a 2-hour break once or twice a month, and don't mind paying extra, give these a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Quality, July 3, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Samsung SSG-2200AR Re-chargeable Adult 3-D Glasses - Black (Compatible with 2010 3D TVs) (Electronics)
The Samsung SSG-2200AR Active Shutter Glasses are an extremely well product. They function exactly as described, are very comfortable. I purchased the Samsung SSG-2100AB Battery 3D Glasses before these and those hurt the sides of my head after wearing them for very long. The 2200AR's don't have this problem. I also find these glasses are very stylish compared to the 2100AB's and these also have a full frame around the lenses, where the 2100s don't fully encircle the bottom of the lenses. I also feel the lenses are bigger giving you a better sense perception of the 3D effect due to increased field of view. I wear glasses full time normally, and when putting these 3D glasses over my regular glasses they fit fine. I have a pretty large frame for my normal glasses, so that is no small feat. I use the glasses with a Samsung UN46C8000 and they work wonderfully. Once you enable 3D on the TV you just push the small power button and they sync and begin working in less than one second. They stay fully powered on until you hold down the power button for a few seconds, the TV goes out of 3D mode, or you turn off the TV.

The packages includes the glasses themselves, a micro-USB to USB 2.0 charging cable for your computer (or it can be plugged into the TV via USB slot on the back), a very soft cloth like carrying case for protection, and a microfiber cleaning cloth.

The battery takes about 2 hours to charge fully and with one charge it will last for about 30 hours.

I feel these glasses are an extremely good buy, with the increased comfort, styling, and ability to never have to buy those special small batteries like you have to do with the SSG-2200ABs.. it's worth the little bit of extra money to upgrade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect so far!, July 4, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Samsung SSG-2200AR Re-chargeable Adult 3-D Glasses - Black (Compatible with 2010 3D TVs) (Electronics)
So far these glasses do what they are supposed to without any problems. I went with the rechargeable glasses to avoid crosstalk, weak/dead battery issues and for the convenience. My only concern is that rechargeable electronics I've owned in the past haven't been the most reliable. For the price on two of these, it's a bit risky so I bought the squaretrade 3 year insurance just to be safe. I'll be sure to post back here if there is any problem in the next three years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars better ones on the way?, November 22, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Samsung SSG-2200AR Re-chargeable Adult 3-D Glasses - Black (Compatible with 2010 3D TVs) (Electronics)
The only problem with them is that they tend to darken the movie experience because of the active shuttering effect, so you may want to crank up the brightness and maybe the color a bit. There are still some issues with ghosting that they may be able to address with even faster response glasses. Not sure about this yet, but its rumored that Samsung is coming out with even newer ones sometime very soon:

[...]

The lenses are not scratch resistant though so be careful with them. For the price they should throw in a box of jujubees or something. Rechargeable batteries last a good, long while. If you have Samsung 3d TV these are the best option right now until something better comes along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very comfortable - Puts you in the scene., September 30, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Samsung SSG-2200AR Re-chargeable Adult 3-D Glasses - Black (Compatible with 2010 3D TVs) (Electronics)
One of the reasons I purchased a Samsung PN58C8000 3D TV is because their offering of comfortable 3D glasses (Samsung SSG-2200AR Rechargeable Adult 3D Glasses, Black). Hands down they are the best fitting and most comfortable out of what Samsung, Panasonic & Sony have to offer. As for the experience - Simply AWESOME! Highly recommended and this rechargeable version is hassle free and always ready to go. You will not find a better 3D or 2D TV experience than the Samsung PN58C8000! These glasses are pricy but are well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Glasses, September 22, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Samsung SSG-2200AR Re-chargeable Adult 3-D Glasses - Black (Compatible with 2010 3D TVs) (Electronics)
These glasses are great alot more comfortable than the ones that come with the kit. Samsung should give you a pair of these with the TV. That's another story altogether. The glasses work very well and the charge seems to last as advertised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars most comfortable 3D glasses, September 25, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Samsung SSG-2200AR Re-chargeable Adult 3-D Glasses - Black (Compatible with 2010 3D TVs) (Electronics)
These glasses are far more comfortable than the standard 3D glasses that come free with the Samsung 3D TV. They even change back to regular when turned away from the TV, however you have to watch that you don't keep turning too often. Sunlight will also make them change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, July 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Samsung SSG-2200AR Re-chargeable Adult 3-D Glasses - Black (Compatible with 2010 3D TVs) (Electronics)
these are my first pair of 3d glases so im not sure if they are top of the line but. from what i see, they get the job done. received them pretty fast and cant seem to take them off. thanks for the great service and the glasses...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great 3-D Glasses!, June 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Samsung SSG-2200AR Re-chargeable Adult 3-D Glasses - Black (Compatible with 2010 3D TVs) (Electronics)
I bought a pair of these glasses for my wife and I and we love them. They take the television experience to a new level. Also, it allows for 3-D gaming on our Playstation 3. If you wish to unlock the full potential of your 3-D tv as we have then the glasses are a must have accessory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works like a charm, June 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Samsung SSG-2200AR Re-chargeable Adult 3-D Glasses - Black (Compatible with 2010 3D TVs) (Electronics)
Besides these glasses making you look like cataract surgery victim, I think they are sweet!!!
Them being rechargeable is a plus. Just don't look in the mirror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.