Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Samsung UN55B6000 55-Inch 1080p 120 Hz LED HDTV (2009 Model)
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 1, 2010
We've had this TV for about 3 months now and it has been perfect. I can't imagine having a better image quality at any price.

This TV doesn't have to be tilted or angled in any way to get awesome picture quality. You can use the less expensive flat wall mounts instead of having to buy the expensive tilting mounts. No matter where you are standing or sitting the picture is perfect. You can actually stand beside it and see the picture.

We have 1 wall that is solid windows and we never notice a glare even with the blinds open in full daylight.

To the people that say it may not last long enough...Get an extended warranty!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2009
I recently purchased this TV to replace a VIZIO plasma that lasted only 15 months long. First, it's very disappointing to learn that most, if not all, flat screens seem to be disposable in less than two years. The price tag on these sets is just too expensive for the life expectancy, this includes my last TV and the new Samsung. I'm not expecting it to last beyond the period mentioned, as I have already read a number of bad reviews on it. However, as flat screen TVs go and for the money, this one seems to look the best in the store. Everywhere I have looked, no other TV on the display wall compares to the clarity.

Unfortunately, I just hung mine last night and have already noted the problem many others are talking about with the backlight bleeding through the corners of the screen. What this looks like is 4 spotlights shining from the corners toward the middle with a luminous range of about 8 to 10 inches. This problem is more noticeable with darker images or when the top and bottom black bars are present. Regardless of lighting though, the problem is always present. The odd thing is the problem did't seem to manifest until about 8 hours of viewing time.

Another noticeable quirk is the illumination changes that occur when the picture changes. Often times it's very noticeable that the slightest change in the picture will cause the set to gradually make adjustments to the luminosity of the entire image. I'm not sure how to explain this better except to say that when something small in the picture should be brighter, the entire picture becomes brighter for a moment and then adjusts down accordingly. The process of brightening or dimming adjustments is a bit too slow or gradual.

Aside from size issues, I would much prefer to go back to the CRT televisions until all the little flaws and quirks related to flat screen technology is perfected. But, as flat screens go, this set does provide the best picture I have seen yet.

I, for one, found the menu system to be easy enough to navigate and the settings reasonably easy to understand and adjust. What I don't like is that it takes up a bit too much real estate on the screen.

As for the audio, I'm using a home theater system, so I haven't taken the opportunity to notice this feature for comments. I will say this, I find it a little annoying that when the TV is switched on or off, it presents an intro and outro theme tune similar to MS Windows. To me it's a little tacky, but a small quirk I can live with.

Another thing worth noting, if you are using a standard coaxial cable, be prepared for a fight to get that sucker attached to the TV. Because of the slim design, all the component connections are almost directly against the surface of the back side of the set. Furthermore, the connections available are very limited.

All in all, this set is reasonable for a flat screen TV with the best picture in it's class. The only thing that is most likely better is the Samsung 8000 series. But note that it too has it's flaws which I have gained information on in researching these TVs.

On the down side, I don't think that it's price tag is all that reasonable, nor do I think that the higher-end 8000 series at a whopping $4000+ is either. Simply, the cost of home entertainment has become just a bit too expensive for the level of quality and life expectancy, or lack thereof.
22 comments|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2010
Just adding some kinda-important notes about the UN55B6000 (actually the whole line of UNXXBXXXX LED backlit ultra thin Samsung TV's. A lot of folks will mention that the internal speakers are really crippled by the fact that the TV is so flat (the main speakers fire down and back from the left and right sides of the bottom of the TV). Most peoples' first reaction is to grab an inexpensive add-on surround speaker system like the Yamaha NS-SP1800BL and plug it into the audio output from the TV. The problem is that Samsung has designed their TV's to not allow the user to control the audio output volume from the remote. You can set the TV to disable the internal speakers, but the volume control does nothing. It's called a Fixed Output audio output. This may sound nit-picky, but not being able to use a good, simple fix for the poor internal speakers means that you start having to buy much more expensive solutions. On top of it all, the work around to this issue means you get to add another remote or more complex universal remote programming.

It turns out that people have been complaining about this to Samsung for a year or more (search for "Audio Outs are fixed" on CNET's Samsung blog). I wish I had seen that before I bought this TV.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2013
I bought this particular model in May 2009 when it was a new model. I was very impressed by the picture quality and, although pricey, less $ than a comparable Sony. Now the extended warranty expired last May and this past week I noticed very close, fine, black lines in the display (worse in upper right quadrant). It is very noticible and has ruined the experience. I looked up this problem on Google and apparently it is an all too common problem on Samsung models of this type. $1,000/yr for a television is way too much to spend. Oh well, on to the next set. Sony on the way as it is highest rated set for reliability. Farewell Samsung.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2015
I bought this TV back in March 2010, paid $1800 on sale at Best Buy. Paid the same for a Sony TV 5 yrs earlier. I have 6 operating television in my house. Sony, Toshiba, Sharp, Insignia and Sanyo. So far, the Toshiba and Sony are excellent with sound, I believe this Samsung sound quality is a bit poor. Without my 14 yr old Sony Surround System, this TV would have gotten on my nerve.

I still love this unit, its picture perfect. I thought it was just alright when I had cable. I switched to satellite a yr ogo, major difference in the picture. It was always perfect streaming through my PS3, now is way better through the PS4. With the right HDMI cables and steamer, you should not have a problem with this TV. I wish I could afford another one at the moment. I love it and believe it is by far the best choice I made.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2010
Had to recently return my 50" Samsung plasma TV (PN50B860). Although the quality of the plasma TV was breathtaking the excessive buzzing was a deal breaker. This TV is bigger (by 5"), lighter (by 10 lbs), cooler (plasma got burning hot), quieter (zero noise) and more energy efficient (40% more efficient than LCD which are already more efficient than plasmas). Again the quality of the LED is not as superb as the plasma but it is still fantastic (black levels are actually blacker in a lit room). VERY happy with my purchase, would recommend to anyone.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2010
Sharp picture great contrast, this is a fantastic TV.

Buying a large TV from Amazon is the only way to go. They delivered it right to my living room. Price was almost $200 cheaper than any local store, even when they were having a sale. Plus you don't have to figure out how to get the TV home.

The only annoyance was that it didn't come with any cables. So make sure you order some HDMI cables with your TV if you don't have some already. I went to Target to get one. Didn't want to wait. Twice the price of what you can get on Amazon.com.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2012
buying this from Amazon was a great experience. It was the first time we had ever committed that much cash to a major purchase. The TV arrived in great shape. It worked for a little over two years and the LCD system blew.. It was out of warranty but Samsung paid for the replacement parts anyway. We're happy with the purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2009
Simply put, this is the best Television I ,personally, have ever bought. Yes it does have a few sound issues. Mainly being that it isn't anywhere near loud enough with the speakers that it comes with, but if you use a surround sound system then its a moot point. It has a beautiful picture that is second to none.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2010
Believe it or not, I returned four, yes four tv's before finally deciding on this one. I am absolutely thrilled with it. After doing extensive research and learning that the Plasma market share has dropped to an all time low, that Vizio and Pioneer completely abandoned Plasma, and having an image burn into my Panasonic Plasma (this is Plasma's dirty little secret, if you don't believe me, google it!) screen two days after I bought it, trying a Sharp LED which was a piece of junk to be completely honest, and 2 different Samsung LCD's, I went for this. Yes, it was expensive, but definitely worth it! For starters, the blacks are so much better than a standard LCD and rival Plasmas, which was the only thing Plasma used to have bragging rights on (along with better viewing angles which Plasma still has a slight edge. Plasmas supposed bragging rights about 600 hz processing are mute - when you are up to 240hz motion blur is long gone by then) Secondly, the brightness is amazing, and the crispness is unsurpassed by Standard LCD or Plasma. I saw Transformers II on Blu Ray being demonstrated on this tv at HHGregg and all I can say is I was blown away. I saw it side by side next to a Samsung standard LCD and the difference was significant. If you are a videophile, this tv is a must. I do not have an unlimited budget, so I went with this model. The higher models had 240 hz processing, which according to research I've read, is not noticeable unless you get into gaming and I am not a gamer. If you want the latest and greatest, you will not be disappointed with this set. The CHASSIS ROCKS! So thin and sleak and the touch of color is very pleasing to the eye. I guess I can't say enough good things. Samsung has proven again why they have 52% of the market share. That is no coincidence!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.