Industrial-Sized Deals TextBTS15 Shop Women's Handbags Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums $5 Off Fire TV Stick Off to College Essentials Shop Popular Services pivdl pivdl pivdl  Amazon Echo Starting at $99 Kindle Voyage Nintendo Digital Games Shop Back to School with Amazon Back to School with Amazon Outdoor Recreation STEM Toys & Games

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

528 of 544 people found the following review helpful
on November 11, 2013
We all know that the new Galaxy note 3 is the talk of the town but some people whom want the phone but don't want to get roped into a contract will purchase an unlocked version of the phone. But before you buy the unlocked version their is some information you need to know about the different models of the phone(s). The Galaxy Note 3 was released in many country's on every continent. Although anyone can buy the phone from any country; each model was made to work on different frequencies. In this review I am going to go over each model of the Galaxy Note 3 and the services recommended for use with them.

But First everyone may be asking about the Region lock attached to the phones. Yes before the phones are unlocked their are region locks attached to the different models forcing them to only accept SIM cards from their designated country's. But after unlocked the Region locks are removed. Does this mean that all models will work everywhere, no, but I will be going over if the phone will work in your region after the locks are removed in the model descriptions below.

Second the different levels of service. Depending on your area and the service towers available their you will get different letters to indicate service level and the speed you're getting. Below are the most common levels and their average speeds in order for your reference during the Model review.

1. E = EDGE/GSM: When getting this sign you are getting the weakest signal for your phone but are still getting non-roaming signal for general calls and text. I advise if this is your areas mane signal strength you have a Wi-Fi signal avalible for the data internet conection.

2. G = 2G/GSM: When the G is showing you are getting remedial signal but still pretty strong. Calls and Text's will be flawless and you will be able to do general internet surfing but you will not be loading any HD videos or have perfect connection to online only game's. With this I still recommend a Wi-Fi signal in your house if you plan on using the internet in these areas.

3. H = 3G-/HSPA: This signal is classified as 3G but runs a little slower depending on how close you are to the main tower. If you're getting a good amount of bars with signal will do flawless calls, text's, and you'll be able to comfortable able to surf the internet and load videos at a max of 480P (360P recommend for best result).

4. 3G = 3G+/GSM/HSPA: This is the full 3G speed and will be also flawless with calls, text's, and be able to stream video like netflix(Recommended 460P), play online games, and surf the internet fast and easy.

5. H+ = 4G-/GSM/HSPA+: This is the signal that most first generation 4G phones use. Perfect for all light movie watchers, and small business people. Flawless calls, text's, and the internet is speedy. H+ although fast has been known to be faulty in a lot of area's and was quickly replaced. If you've got this signal it's still 4G but it's kind of like the EGDE version of 4G.

6. 4G = 4G/GSM/HSPA+: This is the 4G signal that most 2010-2012 4G phones use such as the Galaxy S series (Sept for the S4) Although this is a very fast and reliable it is not LTE but for the average person whom just watched movies and plays online games on their phone this signal is more than enough to give you a crisp fast feel and load HD movies (720P Recommended but not limited to.)

7. 4G LTE = 4G+/GSM/LTE: This is the current signal that everyone is going after. It is lighting fast and is the most reliable for non-stop videos, gaming, and downloading.

Now for the common phone models:
1. SM-N9000 3G = International/Made for Travelers: This is the international model. This one has a dual quad core processor running at 1.9 GHz Cortex/1.3 GHz A7. The reason for the processor being change is because this phone is meant to work everywhere their is a GSM signal and kicks threw the different processors to maximize signal strength. The N9000 CAN NOT to 4G speeds of any kind. This is due to most country not having 4G signal and that a lot of county's run on different cell frequencies. By removing the 4G radios this phone can pick up way more cell frequencies then the other models. This phone is not made for people looking for Data speed this is made for travelers whom want a reliable way to have cell service no matter where they are. Don't despair about the data or processing speed this phone still has Wi-Fi connection available and can breeze though 3D games; you shouldn't even notice a speed difference when doing tasks.

2. SM-N9005 4G LTE = European Model/International: This model contains the regular 2.3 GHz Snapdragon Processor. This phone unless unlocked is Region locked to only European SIM cards, after unlocked their is no region lock. Although this phone is an LTE phone it can only get LTE frequencies while in Europe. When you take this phone out of Europe it will get international signals but will not get LTE, when this phone is in the USA is will get H+ (Reference above) signal maximum.

3. SM-N9002 3G = China Model/Select Counties: This model is not LTE or 4G compatible. This was the First generation of the Note 3 released and is considered the Beta. With all the same hardware as the LTE version this phone will still preform flawless tasks.

4. SM-N900W8 4G LTE = China Model/Select Counties: This model will only get LTE in select counties and I advise you check with your service provider to see what signal you will be getting. This model is completely subjective as to what frequencies of LTE you will be about to get. Example: Imagine you are in Europe and you are in a city and get LTE. Then you move to another city and you lose LTE this is because the first city runs on an LTE frequency the the phone can get but the second city although may offer LTE to most cell phone; does not offer LTE on a frequency this phone can't run on.

5. SM-N900A 4G LTE = USA AT&T/Worldwide: This phone is International but you need to consult AT&T to see if you city or county can get LTE service or not. This phone once unlocked will work on Straight Talk, Solavei, T-Mobile, and any other GSM based network. Note: When using T-Moble, Solavei, or other services that piggy-back on the T-Mobile towers you can get LTE service but depending on your area you may not get 3G. If you live in a 3G area consult your carrier to see is the frequencies for 3G match up with this phone. (This review for the AT&T model can change at anytime due to AT&T's bootloader)

6. SM-N900T 4G LTE = USA T-Mobile: This phone when unlocked can get all USA frequencies. Example: You will have no problems using a AT&T SIM card with this phone and even get 4G LTE threw any service whom provides is. The N900T model is the most versatile model out of them all and if you plan on getting one I recommend going to a T-Mobile store and purchasing this model outright. Unlocking this phone is easily done threw calling T-Mobile and even using YouTube for an unlocking video.

So out of all the models the N900T is the most versatile, but unlike the N900A (The second most versatile) the N900T is harder to find online already unlocked so you will most likely need to buy if from the store and unlock it yourself.

I hope this review has helped with you decision about what unlocked version to buy.

If you have an questions or addition to the review please leave a comment.

Video review of phone Specs and features coming soon.
2323 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
272 of 284 people found the following review helpful
on November 11, 2013
We all know that the new Galaxy note 3 is the talk of the town but some people whom want the phone but don't want to get roped into a contract will purchase an unlocked version of the phone. But before you buy the unlocked version their is some information you need to know about the different models of the phone(s). The Galaxy Note 3 was released in many country's on every continent. Although anyone can buy the phone from any country; each model was made to work on different frequencies. In this review I am going to go over each model of the Galaxy Note 3 and the services recommended for use with them.

But First everyone may be asking about the Region lock attached to the phones. Yes before the phones are unlocked their are region locks attached to the different models forcing them to only accept SIM cards from their designated country's. But after unlocked the Region locks are removed. Does this mean that all models will work everywhere, no, but I will be going over if the phone will work in your region after the locks are removed in the model descriptions below.

Second the different levels of service. Depending on your area and the service towers available their you will get different letters to indicate service level and the speed you're getting. Below are the most common levels and their average speeds in order for your reference during the Model review.

1. E = EDGE/GSM: When getting this sign you are getting the weakest signal for your phone but are still getting non-roaming signal for general calls and text. I advise if this is your areas mane signal strength you have a Wi-Fi signal avalible for the data internet conection.

2. G = 2G/GSM: When the G is showing you are getting remedial signal but still pretty strong. Calls and Text's will be flawless and you will be able to do general internet surfing but you will not be loading any HD videos or have perfect connection to online only game's. With this I still recommend a Wi-Fi signal in your house if you plan on using the internet in these areas.

3. H = 3G-/HSPA: This signal is classified as 3G but runs a little slower depending on how close you are to the main tower. If you're getting a good amount of bars with signal will do flawless calls, text's, and you'll be able to comfortable able to surf the internet and load videos at a max of 480P (360P recommend for best result).

4. 3G = 3G+/GSM/HSPA: This is the full 3G speed and will be also flawless with calls, text's, and be able to stream video like netflix(Recommended 460P), play online games, and surf the internet fast and easy.

5. H+ = 4G-/GSM/HSPA+: This is the signal that most first generation 4G phones use. Perfect for all light movie watchers, and small business people. Flawless calls, text's, and the internet is speedy. H+ although fast has been known to be faulty in a lot of area's and was quickly replaced. If you've got this signal it's still 4G but it's kind of like the EGDE version of 4G.

6. 4G = 4G/GSM/HSPA+: This is the 4G signal that most 2010-2012 4G phones use such as the Galaxy S series (Sept for the S4) Although this is a very fast and reliable it is not LTE but for the average person whom just watched movies and plays online games on their phone this signal is more than enough to give you a crisp fast feel and load HD movies (720P Recommended but not limited to.)

7. 4G LTE = 4G+/GSM/LTE: This is the current signal that everyone is going after. It is lighting fast and is the most reliable for non-stop videos, gaming, and downloading.

Now for the common phone models:
1. SM-N9000 3G = International/Made for Travelers: This is the international model. This one has a dual quad core processor running at 1.9 GHz Cortex/1.3 GHz A7. The reason for the processor being change is because this phone is meant to work everywhere their is a GSM signal and kicks threw the different processors to maximize signal strength. The N9000 CAN NOT to 4G speeds of any kind. This is due to most country not having 4G signal and that a lot of county's run on different cell frequencies. By removing the 4G radios this phone can pick up way more cell frequencies then the other models. This phone is not made for people looking for Data speed this is made for travelers whom want a reliable way to have cell service no matter where they are. Don't despair about the data or processing speed this phone still has Wi-Fi connection available and can breeze though 3D games; you shouldn't even notice a speed difference when doing tasks.

2. SM-N9005 4G LTE = European Model/International: This model contains the regular 2.3 GHz Snapdragon Processor. This phone unless unlocked is Region locked to only European SIM cards, after unlocked their is no region lock. Although this phone is an LTE phone it can only get LTE frequencies while in Europe. When you take this phone out of Europe it will get international signals but will not get LTE, when this phone is in the USA is will get H+ (Reference above) signal maximum.

3. SM-N9002 3G = China Model/Select Counties: This model is not LTE or 4G compatible. This was the First generation of the Note 3 released and is considered the Beta. With all the same hardware as the LTE version this phone will still preform flawless tasks.

4. SM-N900W8 4G LTE = China Model/Select Counties: This model will only get LTE in select counties and I advise you check with your service provider to see what signal you will be getting. This model is completely subjective as to what frequencies of LTE you will be about to get. Example: Imagine you are in Europe and you are in a city and get LTE. Then you move to another city and you lose LTE this is because the first city runs on an LTE frequency the the phone can get but the second city although may offer LTE to most cell phone; does not offer LTE on a frequency this phone can't run on.

5. SM-N900A 4G LTE = USA AT&T/Worldwide: This phone is International but you need to consult AT&T to see if you city or county can get LTE service or not. This phone once unlocked will work on Straight Talk, Solavei, T-Mobile, and any other GSM based network. Note: When using T-Moble, Solavei, or other services that piggy-back on the T-Mobile towers you can get LTE service but depending on your area you may not get 3G. If you live in a 3G area consult your carrier to see is the frequencies for 3G match up with this phone. (This review for the AT&T model can change at anytime due to AT&T's bootloader)

6. SM-N900T 4G LTE = USA T-Mobile: This phone when unlocked can get all USA frequencies. Example: You will have no problems using a AT&T SIM card with this phone and even get 4G LTE threw any service whom provides is. The N900T model is the most versatile model out of them all and if you plan on getting one I recommend going to a T-Mobile store and purchasing this model outright. Unlocking this phone is easily done threw calling T-Mobile and even using YouTube for an unlocking video.

So out of all the models the N900T is the most versatile, but unlike the N900A (The second most versatile) the N900T is harder to find online already unlocked so you will most likely need to buy if from the store and unlock it yourself.

I hope this review has helped with you decision about what unlocked version to buy.

If you have an questions or addition to the review please leave a comment.

Video review of phone Specs and features coming soon.
3434 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
225 of 240 people found the following review helpful
on October 29, 2013
NOTE: Samsung gets 0 stars, the phone gets 5 stars, even 6.

The Note 3 is awesome, but customers should be upset over the SIMM lock on it, and NOT get this N9000 model. The N9005 or a carrier model is the only way to go.

This international version is not for US users or even US users who travel. If you are not a traveler forget the comments about it being region locked.

I still say 99.9% of all people who get the Note 3 could not care less if the international version is region locked. However, this model, if you expect to use it in other countries has resulted in a thousand problems, literally. The phone is neutral but when it is activated the SIMM locks in the region and you cannot use it elsewhere. Do not think "unlocked" means you have magical usage. There is NO universal phone (except for spies), although some phones use other country SIMM cards -- but not this one! I get a US carrier phone, travel internationally, and keep my phone in airplane mode and use WIFI or get a phone card.

Get the scoop. Do a search for XDA-Developers dot com, and go to the site. This is where the big boys and girls hang, for programming, not dumb questions.
Type in Galaxy Note 3 in the field for the phone you desire.
In the Forums, go to galaxy note 3 general.
Search down the page to the thread "SIMM restrictions on unlocked European Note 3." This thread has over 1300 posts. Yes this is a big problem.
Read the first half dozen pages and the last 10 pages, but also check especially posts 1041 through 1045, and pages 117 and 18.

This N9000 phone is the international or European version. It was released 2-3 weeks prior to the US versions, it is NOT LTE it is 3G; it has a different CPU -the Samsung Exynos 5 processor, not the Qualcom Snapdragon 800. US residents should not get it. We need to get a phone activated for our respective carriers, which changes the last digit of the number. Search Amazon for the Note 3 for your carrier. Notice the different last digit.

Amazon may be confusing people by not listing the phone for what it really is and they need to change that in the title of the phone. The black version does say 'International" in the title and so should the white one.

Now, down to business.

First, I am not affiliated with Samsung in any way, nor do I work for a cell phone store. I am a writer though.
Secondly, I hate long reviews where the poster just reports the specs you already have. Rather, these comments show why the Galaxy Note 3 is more technologically advanced, and more phone for your money, compared to the many good phones on the market today, and the not so good phones, like the cave phone (that's what I call it) that does nothing.

1. The beautiful 5.7" Super Amoled HD display has a "Wow!" factor. Everything is crisp and clear with a resolution of 1920 x 1080P, 386 PPI. Despite a few good contenders, no phone on the market can match the combination of vibrant color, and deep blacks. Check it out for yourself. For those who prefer drab, you can even adjust color intensity and contrast.
Is this practical? You bet. You get more viewable data for all social networking apps; you can see more email and contacts without scrolling; browsing is quick and pages more visible; YouTubes and video are fantastic; games are more playable; you can see larger areas on GPS maps; you get a better view of radar in weather; (live) wallpapers look great; you can use it as a reader; you can multitask with it; and with the right productivity apps you can even get some work done on it. I will never go back to a small screen phone.

2. The CPU in the US versions is the quad core Qualcomm Snapdragon 800 @ 2.3, which is the fastest processor on the planet as of this time. It will perform well for years to come. A few other phones have it. The international version uses the Samsung Exynos 5 processor. It also has another quad core processors making it octa core, but it is still not quite as fast as the Snapdragon.

3. The Adreno 330 GPU is the best on the market, a few other phones have it. It is 50% faster than the Adreno 320 in the Galaxy S4 which is a screamer.

4. It's the only phone to come with 3 GB of DDR 3 RAM. It also comes standard with 32 gigs of storage and you can add more with an SD card. Note: No extra charges for these!

5. It has a great 13 megapixel camera with useful software, a BSI Sensor, Smart Digital Stabilization and high CRI LED. Very few phones have this. It is also the only phone to do 4K video right now - sharp!

6. No other phone has USB 3.0. 2 advantages: the phone charges very quickly on the 2 amp charger and nice thick cable. File transfer times are faster. With USB 3.0, a 2 gig file takes 27 seconds from the Note 3 to my (high end) PC. With USB 2.0 the same file takes 57 seconds.

7. How many phones have an S Pen? Except for email and quick notes, I seldom used the S Pen on my original Galaxy Note, but the Note 3 comes with some useful software making it more functional, and the handwriting recognition is scary accurate.

8. How many phones have a huge 3200 mA battery? It easily lasts all day with moderate to heavy use despite the large screen. Hardware and software improvements make the 100 mA bump over the Note 2 even more significant. You can also open the back and change out the battery - unlike some phones.

9. It does infrared remote control. It also has TV-out (via MHL A/V link), Accelerometer, gyro, proximity, compass, barometer, temperature, humidity, and gesture sensor. I'm serious people, you get more for your money.

10. Hello multitasking! The fast CPU & GPU, extra memory, and high-resolution 5.7 inch screen make multitasking feasible and fun on a cell phone. You can even scroll through multiple applications in each split screen. This is even better if you hook up a keyboard and mouse via Bluetooth or USB, and connect through HDMI to your TV or computer monitor. The Note 3 can actually serve as a small computer. How many phones can do that? You can also mirror the phone screen with your smart TV for internet, games, viewing pics, whatever.

11. This the best cell phone for gaming on the market , period. The above features and OpenGL 3.0 which is part of Android 4.3 make it happen. Don't believe me? Read the reviews, watch the you tubes, and compared it for yourself.

12. It doesn't just have GPS, it also uses A GPS (improved), and Glonass Satellites. DL a GPS satellite app, and you'll see it will access between 5 and 25 satellites at once depending on time of day and location.

13. Got Knox? No, you don't. This phone provides business enterprise, and government level security for boot, VPN, etc., and comes in handy for privacy on public Wi-Fi. You don't have to use it, but it is there.

14. The air command and air gesture features make the phone futuristic. How many phones do that?

15. Is the screen too large for one handed operation? Yes, but so what? The tradeoff is worth it. Besides, Samsung now includes software to shrink it for one-handed so you get the best of both worlds.

There are 2 things that Samsung needs to improve in my opinion. I don't know how many thousands of people need to tell them that putting the volume rockers directly opposite the power button is inconvenient for users. The Note 2 placement was better but still wrong. (I do like the new speaker placement though. Its perfect for horizontal viewing because your hand channels the sound to the user).
This phone should also be waterproof right out-of-the-box. Not a scaled-down version, just waterproof the thing. Other manufacturers are doing it for their flagship phones. That means Samsung can do it too. Truth be known, we users never want to see another flagship phone that is not waterproof. It's doable, so please do it. Smoke it with that nano-whatever waterproofing stuff. You went to CES. (Oh, and S voice is still sorry, use Google voice)

All that said, I'm very, very, happy with the Note 3. IMHO the Note 3 is so powerful and functional, it is the first device I would classify as a hand held computer. As a professor, I researched it for days and used the original Galaxy Note for over a year now. There are other good phones, but the Note 3 does it in one package, and in almost all cases does it better, for the same flag-ship- phone price. I feel sorry for the fanboys and people believing advertising hype who don't research the market. They pay top dollar but don't get their money's worth. Amazon is a great place to get your money's worth and to find out user information. Thanks Amazon.

Oh yeah, almost forgot to mention, it's a really good phone too.
1414 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
179 of 193 people found the following review helpful
on October 15, 2013
NOTE: I lowered my rating from 5 stars. Samsung gets 0 stars, the phone gets 5 stars.

The Note 3 is an awesome phone, but customers should be upset over the SIMM lock on it, and NOT get this N9000 model. This international version is not for US users or even US users who travel.
If you are not a traveler forget the comments about it being region/SIMM locked, but you should buy the phone for your carrier.

I still say 99.999% of all people who get the Note 3 could not care less if the international version is region locked. However, this model, if you expect to use it in other countries has resulted in a thousand problems, literally. The phone is neutral but when it is activated the SIMM locks in the region and you cannot use it elsewhere. Do not think "unlocked" means you have magical usage. There is NO universal phone (except for spies), although some phones use other country SIMM cards -- but not this one! I get a US carrier phone, travel internationally, and keep my phone in airplane mode and use WIFI or get a phone card.

Do a search for XDA-Developers dot com, and go to the site. (I do not want the link to get deleted) this is where the big boys and girls hang.
Type in Galaxy Note 3 in the field for the phone you desire.
In the Forums, go to galaxy note 3 general.
Search down the page to the thread "SIMM restrictions on unlocked European Note 3." This thread has over 1300 posts. Yes this is a big problem.
Read the first half dozen pages and the last 10 pages, but also check especially posts 1041 through 1044, and pages 117 and 18.

This phone is the international or European version, notice the N9000 number. It was released 2-3 weeks prior to the US versions, it is NOT LTE it is 3G; it has a different CPU -the Samsung Exynos 5 processor, not the Qualcom Snapdragon 800. US residents should not get it. We need to get a phone activated for our respective carriers, which changes the last digit of the number. Search Amazon for the Note 3 with your carrier. Notice the different last digit.

Amazon may be confusing people by not listing the phone for what it really is and they need to change that in the title of the phone. Their black version does say 'International" in the title and so should this one.

Now, down to business.

First, I am not affiliated with Samsung in any way, nor do I work for a cell phone store. I am a writer though.
Secondly, I hate long reviews where the poster just reports the specs you already have. Rather, these comments show why the Galaxy Note 3 is more technologically advanced, and more phone for your money, compared to the many good phones on the market today, and the not so good phones, like the cave phone (that's what I call it) that does nothing.

1. The beautiful 5.7" Super Amoled HD display has a "Wow!" factor. Everything is crisp and clear with a resolution of 1920 x 1080P, 386 PPI. Despite a few good contenders, no phone on the market can match the combination of vibrant color, and deep blacks. Check it out for yourself. For those who prefer drab, you can even adjust color intensity and contrast.
Is this practical? You bet. You get more viewable data for all social networking apps; you can see more email and contacts without scrolling; browsing is quick and pages more visible; YouTubes and video are fantastic; games are more playable; you can see larger areas on GPS maps; you get a better view of radar in weather; (live) wallpapers look great; you can use it as a reader; you can multitask with it; and with the right productivity apps you can even get some work done on it. I will never go back to a small screen phone.

2. The CPU in the N9000 is the Exynos 5 Octa 5420 which actually uses two quad core CPUs -- Quad-core 1.9 GHz Cortex-A15 & quad-core 1.3 GHz Cortex-A7.
The CPU on the other versions based on the N9005 and N9002 and their carrier varients(which change the last digit of the model number to A, V, T, etc., per carrier) sold in the USA and elsewhere, is the quad core Qualcomm snapdragon 800 @ 2.3, which is the fastest processor on the planet as of this time, and is slightly faster than the Exynos 5. A few other phones have it.

Either version performs with remarkable speed, and will do so for years to come.

3. The N9000 uses the Mali-T628 MP6 GPU, and it is impressively fast. The N9005 and N9002 units and their carrier varients use the Adreno 330 GPU which is slightly better than the Mali-T628 and is the best on the market as of this date. It is 50% faster than the Adreno 320 in the Galaxy S4 which is a screamer. A few other phones use these processors.

4. It's the only phone to come with 3 GB of DDR 3 RAM. It also comes standard with 32 gigs of storage and you can add more with an SD card. Note: No extra charges for these!

5. It has a great 13 megapixel camera with useful software, a BSI Sensor, Smart Digital Stabilization and high CRI LED. Very few phones have this. It is also the only phone to do 4K video right now - sharp!

6. No other phone has USB 3.0. 2 advantages: the phone charges very quickly on the 2 amp charger and nice thick cable. File transfer times are faster. With USB 3.0, a 2 gig file takes 27 seconds from the Note 3 to my (high end) PC. With USB 2.0 the same file takes 57 seconds.

7. How many phones have an S Pen? Except for email and quick notes, I seldom used the S Pen on my original Galaxy Note, but the Note 3 comes with some useful software making it more functional, and the handwriting recognition is scary accurate.

8. How many phones have a huge 3200 mA battery? It easily lasts all day with moderate to heavy use despite the large screen. Hardware and software improvements make the 100 mA bump over the Note 2 even more significant. You can also open the back and change out the battery - unlike some phones.

9. It does infrared remote control. It also has TV-out (via MHL A/V link), Accelerometer, gyro, proximity, compass, barometer, temperature, humidity, and gesture sensor. I'm serious people, you get more for your money.

10. Hello multitasking! The fast CPU & GPU, extra memory, and high-resolution 5.7 inch screen make multitasking feasible and fun on a cell phone. You can even scroll through multiple applications in each split screen. This is even better if you hook up a keyboard and mouse via Bluetooth or USB, and connect through HDMI to your TV or computer monitor. The Note 3 can actually serve as a small computer. How many phones can do that? You can also mirror the phone screen with your smart TV for internet, games, viewing pics, whatever.

11. This the best cell phone for gaming on the market , period. The above features and OpenGL 3.0 which is part of Android 4.3 make it happen. Don't believe me? Read the reviews, watch the you tubes, and compared it for yourself.

12. It doesn't just have GPS, it also uses A GPS (improved), and Glonass Satellites. DL a GPS satellite app, and you'll see it will access between 5 and 25 satellites at once depending on time of day and location.

13. Got Knox? No, you don't. This phone provides business enterprise, and government level security for boot, VPN, etc., and comes in handy for privacy on public Wi-Fi. You don't have to use it, but it is there.

14. The air command and air gesture features make the phone futuristic. How many phones do that?

15. Is the screen too large for one handed operation? Yes, but so what? The tradeoff is worth it. Besides, Samsung now includes software to shrink it for one-handed so you get the best of both worlds.

There are 3 things that Samsung needs to improve in my opinion. I don't know how many thousands of people need to tell them that putting the volume rockers directly opposite the power button is inconvenient for users. The Note 2 placement was better but still wrong. (I do like the new speaker placement though. Its perfect for horizontal viewing because your hand channels the sound to the user).
This phone should also be waterproof right out-of-the-box. Not a scaled-down version, just waterproof the thing. Other manufacturers are doing it for their flagship phones. That means Samsung can do it too. Truth be known, we users never want to see another flagship phone that is not waterproof. It's doable, so please do it. Smoke it with that nano-whatever waterproofing stuff. You went to CES. (Oh, and S voice is still sorry, use Google voice)
The speaker is plenty loud and similar to other smart phones, but it is not at all impressive like the rest of the phone. IN fact, the sound is tinny. Head phones sound fantastic though, so Samsung needs a better speaker in this phone.

All that said, I'm very, very, happy with the Note 3. IMHO the Note 3 is so powerful and functional, it is the first device I would classify as a hand held computer. As a professor, I researched it for days and used the original Galaxy Note for over a year now. There are other good phones, but the Note 3 does it in one package, and in almost all cases does it better, for the same flag-ship- phone price. I feel sorry for the fanboys and people believing advertising hype who don't research the market. They pay top dollar but don't get their money's worth. Amazon is a great place to get your money's worth and to find out user information. Thanks Amazon.

Oh yeah, almost forgot to mention, it's a really good phone too.
2727 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
183 of 199 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon September 29, 2013
Note 3 is an awesome device. Check my video review for review of phone, some apps and GPS capability at the end. The resolution and real estate you have is mindblowing for a phone. It is a very powerful device in your hands! I had Note 2 for a long time and our family is a big fan of phablets. Note 2 are still really good. If you have them and they work keep using them. Phones don't get obsoleted. The previous gen phones still make phone calls and take great pictures as they did on day 1. Both Galaxy Note 2 and 3 have Micro-SIM. I have played around with a Note 3 and using on a regular basis and it is gorgeous phone in itself. The following paragraph applies to buying unlocked phones..

DISPLAY: Super AMOLED capacitive touchscreen.
Note 3 has 151.2 x 79.2 x 8.3 mm (5.95 x 3.12 x 0.33 in) and weight 168 g (5.93 oz).
Note 2 has Dimensions 151.1 x 80.5 x 9.4 mm (5.95 x 3.17 x 0.37 in) and Weight: 183 g (6.46 oz).
Note that it has become slightly less taller and 15 gm lighter! This is great as weight is a very important factor in handholding and for long uses. Both the phones have excellent S Pen stylus.

Note 3 has 1920 x 1080 pixels, 5.7 inches (~386 ppi pixel density).
Note 2 is 1280x720 pixels, 5.5 inches (~267 ppi pixel density). Note the superb increase in resolution. This is great as Note 3 has full HD finally. For comparison, Galaxy S4 has 5" HD Super AMOLED 1920 x 1080 display (441 ppi).

MEMORY Both Note 3 and Note 2 has Card slot : microSD, up to 64 GB. Internal: 16/32/64 GB storage, Note 3 has 3 GB RAM whereas Note 2 has 2 GB RAM.

WLAN: Wi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/n, dual-band, DLNA (Both Note 2 and Note 3)
Bluetooth: v4.0 with A2DP, LE, EDR (Both Note 2 and Note 3)
NFC: Yes (both Note 2 and 3)
USB: microUSB v3.0 (MHL 2), USB Host (Note 3, finally USB 3 on phones!)
microUSB v2.0 (MHL), USB Host (Note 2)

CAMERA:
Note3: 13 MP, 4128 x 3096 pixels,autofocus, LED flash, Video 2160p@30fps, 1080p@60fps (Note 3, Note the substantially improved camera resolution)
Note 2: Front: 8 MP, 3264x2448 pixels, video: 1080p@30fps, check quality; Back: 1.9 MP
I feel for low light the camera did not perform well and this is an improvement I would like Samsung to make in low light sensors.

Chipset:
Note 3: Quad-core 2.3 GHz Krait 400 (LTE model)/ Quad-core 1.9 GHz Cortex-A15 & quad-core 1.3 GHz Cortex-A7 (3G model) Note 3 has Qualcomm Snapdragon 800 and if you see they have several technologies for different models.
Note 2: Exynos 4412 Quad CPU: Quad-core 1.6 GHz Cortex-A9 GPU: Mali-400MP

Sensors: Accelerometer, gyro, proximity, compass, barometer
GPS: with A-GPS support and GLONASS
BATTERY: Li-Ion 3100 mAh battery (note 2) 3200 mAh (note 3)

SAR (radiation level is often not considered in many reviews and it is an important level of comparison).
SAR:
Note 3 US Model: 0.55 W/kg (head) 1.49 W/kg (body)
Note 3: EU Model: 0.21 W/kg (head)
Note 2 US Model: 0.23 W/kg (head) 0.95 W/kg (body)
Note that SAR ratings have increased for Note III version.

Galaxy Note III is an awesome phone for its use cases. It is a delight for note taking purposes. I have used Galaxy S3, S4, Note II, Galaxy Tab 2/3 and I really love the Galaxy series. I can see the high end smartphones really getting saturated. For users with Note II or S4, I will not recommend upgrading unless you always want the latest and the greatest. You still have a great phone and it is not outdated just because Note III has come out. Your camera takes just great pictures as it did last month. Just like Detroit/Japan rolls out new cars every year, phone manufacturers have found excellent way to make yearly upgrades. If you have a different phone or a low end phone or you are from that iSomething world, welcome to Galaxy series!

Battery life is good. The video playback was crisp. Vendors like Samsung have added a whole lot of extra programs. I am not that annoyed with the Samsungware as I really like S-Health and some other apps. Mainly note taking apps are awesone. People of course can root and put Cyanogenmod at some point later.

I used to put a 64 GB microSDXC card SanDisk 64GB Mobile Ultra MicroSDXC Class 6 Memory Card with SD Adapter - Retail Packaging for video/song/ebooks. I have since upgraded to 128 GB MicroSD and it works great! No stuttering, and very smooth playback of videos captured in varying light conditions (HD Playback; HD Recording). Compatible video types are AVI/DIVX, WMV/ASF, FLV, MKV, MP4/3GP, WEBM. HDR and Panaromic photos were incredibly sharp. Compatible audio types are: AAC, AMR, MP3, OGG, WMA/ASF, 3GA/M4A, FLAC, WAV. Google Music, PlayerPro Music player are producing excellent music.

Note III infrared sensor is the same technology as TV remote control, so with WatchON you can change the TV channel from your phone. Games were very buttery. I tried several car racing games and performance was phenomenal.

GPS was spot on and I tried multiple GPS apps. It was bright outdoors (had to crank the brightness all the way up). Smooth and Stunning display! NFC works awesome. I use a Qi charger with a Qi wireless receiver and they work great as well.

Some Extra Accessories:
NFC has lot of use cases. I got the WhizTags NFC tags - NTAG203 Chip - 10 Pack + Keychain + Free Bonus Tag - Android Writable & Programmable - Adhesive Sticker Back - Samsung Galaxy S4 S3 Note 2 - HTC One First One X Droid DNA - Sony Xperia - Nexus - Smart Tags - Best Money-Back Guarantee! which is awesome. I use in conjunction with NFC Task Launcher App. Samsung also has TecTiles App. When I go to office I tap a NFC Tag to get the settings I desire - eg vibrate, wifi on etc. At CAR different instructions and so on.

I tried following apps and they just worked awesome.

Amazon Mobile
Android Status
Aldiko Premium and Kindle Reading Apps
Androidify
Angry Birds (Space/Seasons)
Asphalt 7
Amazon App Store
Box
Car Maintenance Reminder Pro
Chrome
CNET TV
NAVIGON (from Garmin - offline maps)
Google Navigation/Earth/Maps
Google Currents (nice way to read News)
Draw Something
Google Drive
Ebay
Linkedin
Google Music
Tapatalk (awesome forum browsing app)
OverDrive Media Console: Library eBooks & Audiobooks (public library consumption of media)
Microsoft One Note (legacy docs, skydrive of 25 GB is good)
Subsonic Music Streamer
Terminal Emulator (still need to use vi, yes this is it)
TweetCaster Pro for Android (excellent twitter client)
Twit.Tv
Google Voice
Temple Run series of games
Plenty of Widgets
APPENDIX: If you are comparing multiple phones, here is the quick highlevel breakdown of top phones as of mid 2014.
In my opinion, following are key specs to consider when you buying a phone. Most of others are standard or does not matter at all. First size, weight and resolution are part of look and feel. RAM/CPU part of performance. External storage is part of expandability. Camera is obvious! SAR (Specific Absorption Rating) is an often ignored, but I feel essential to making a buying choice. Manufacturers don't advertise or mention SAR prominently.

phone parameters: {size, weight, resolution, ppi, RAM, ext Storage, camera, CPU, USA SAR rating}

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 N9000: 5.95 x 3.12 x 0.33 in, 168 gm, 1080 x 1920 pixels, 5.7 in, 386 ppi, 3 GB RAM, micro SD upto 64 GB, 13 MP/2MP, Exynos 5 Octa 5420, Quad-core 1.9 GHz Cortex-A15 & quad-core 1.3 GHz Cortex-A7, SAR: 0.24 W/kg (head), 0.72 W/kg (body)

Google Nexus 5: 5.43 x 2.72 x 0.34 in, 130 gm, 1080 x 1920 pixels, 4.95 in, 445 ppi, 2 GB RAM, no ext Storage, 8 MP/1.3 MP, Qualcomm MSM8974 Snapdragon 800, Quad-core 2.3 GHz Krait 400, 0.92 W/kg (head), 1.23 W/kg (body)

Samsung Galaxy S5: 5.59 x 2.85 x 0.32 in, 145 gm, 1080 x 1920 pixels, 5.1 in, 432 ppi, 2 GB RAM, microSD upto 128 GB!, Qualcomm Snapdragon 801, MSM8974-AC Processor: Quad core, 2500 MHz, Krait 400, 0.63 W/kg (head), 0.82 W/kg (body)

Samsung Galaxy S4 (Intl version): 5.38 x 2.75 x 0.31 in, 130 gm, 1080 x 1920 pixels, 5.0 in, 441 ppi, 2 GB RAM, microSD, up to 64 GB, 13 MP/2MP, Exynos 5 Octa 5410 CPU, Quad-core 1.6 GHz Cortex-A15 & quad-core 1.2 GHz Cortex-A7, 0.85 W/kg (head), 1.55 W/kg (body)

HTC One M8: 5.76 x 2.78 x 0.37 in, 160 gm, 1080 x 1920 pixels, 5 in, 441 ppi, 2 GB RAM, microSD upto 128 GB!, 4 MP (rear), 5 MP(front for selfies), Qualcomm Snapdragon 801, Quad core, 2300 MHz, Krait 400, 0.94 W/kg (head), 0.83 W/kg (body)

LG G2: 5.45 x 2.79 x 0.35 in, 143 gm, 1080 x 1920 pixels, 5.2 in, 424 ppi, 2 GB RAM, no ext Storage, 13 MP/2.1 MP, Qualcomm MSM8974 Snapdragon 800, Quad-core 2.26 GHz Krait 400, 0.50 W/kg (head), 0.69 W/kg (body)

Apple iPhone 5S: 4.87 x 2.31 x 0.30 in, 112gm, 640 x 1136 pixels, 4.0 in, 326 ppi, 1 GB RAM, no ext storage, 8 MP/1.2 MP, Apple A7, Dual-core 1.3 GHz Cyclone (ARM v8-based), 1.12 W/kg (head), 1.18 W/kg (body)

Nokia Lumia 1520: 6.41 x 3.36 x 0.34 in, 209gm, 1080 x 1920 pixels, 6.0 in, 367 ppi, 2 GB RAM, microSD up to 64 GB, 20 MP/1.2MP, Qualcomm MSM8974 Snapdragon 800 CPU Quad-core 2.2 GHz Krait 400, SAR: 0.59 W/kg (head), 0.24 W/kg (body)

Motorola Moto G: 5.11 x 2.59 x 0.46 in, 143 gm, 720 x 1280 pixels, 4.5 in, 326 ppi, 1 GB RAM, no ext storage, 5 MP/1.3 MP, Qualcomm Snapdragon 400, Quad-core 1.2 GHz Cortex-A7, SAR: 1.17 W/kg (head), 1.06 W/kg (body)

Given the above key specs, my suggestion to my friends is to choose 2 or 3 KEY features you require (may be large screen size, maybe less weight, maybe more CPU power) and then start nailing down the phones. Definitely and definitely go to a phone or a big box store and feel the phone. Nothing replaces that. In the end end you are using it for days and years, so the tactile feel is very important.

Ask questions, the review cannot do justice to Galaxy Note III. I will be glad to answer any questions.
2828 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
138 of 153 people found the following review helpful
on October 3, 2013
Been wanting a Note phone since I last upgrade to a Samsung S2 two years ago. My friend and I picked up the Note 3 from TMobile here in America yesterday! It was very limited at certain stores. Now to the review.

This phone has the highest and if not, tied for the highest spec for a smartphone out. 3GB of RAM, the closest phone has 2GB. The processor is tied with the Snapdragon 800 being used in a few high end Androids. The camera is amazing. Very clear and a lot of different options to chose from camera or recording. The screen resolution is amazing for a big phone. When I whip this bad boy out, it automatically catch peoples attention. You don't have to squint or zoom in. Things are that clear and big.

Those are the pros. There are some cons, if you can call it that. My biggest complaint is - THERE ARE SOO MANY FEATURES & FUNCTIONS! I love this phone, don't get me wrong but I haven't had time to fully go through everything this phone has to offer. You can run 2 apps at the same time like Youtube and surf the internet. Name another phone or tablet that can do that? Take notes on a fly and have it sync with everything. This phone does it all but like I said, there's a lot to know about the phone which is a good and bad.

The Note 3 is here to stay. The specs are up there so you won't need a replacement for a few years if you so choose. The battery life is ridiculous long. I left the house this morning with it full at 7:30 AM, have listened to music on my train ride back and forth, surfed the web and text my friends on and off. It is now 2:00 PM and my battery is like at 93%. I don't see how anyone can manage to drain this battery in 1 day if it wasn't intentional cause even with moderate use, that battery is lasting all day.

I bought this device October 2, 2013 and if anyone has any question, please let me know and I'll gtt back to you as soon as possible
2323 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
on December 16, 2013
I got this phone and everything was great for 10 days. After 10 days it got to work weird. It froze to a black screen a couple of times and took a while to come back to life. Then, it came a software update. I updated it at night and went to bed when finished. the next morning the phone was completely dead! I tried hard reset but nothing I did could bring her back to life. I couldn't power on anymore. When I plugged it in, it didn't show any indication of charging. Then I shipped it back to SHOPEBEST. They waited 2 weeks to recover my phone from their warehouse. They never gave me a satisfactory explanation about my questions. Finally on the 3rd week they tried to flash it. But they said it didn't work. So I demanded a new phone or refunding. They said that I had messed up the software... It is unfair. I treated the phone like my baby. The phone was absolutely defective. But the seller rejected to exchange the phone or refunding. I don't know what they did with my phone but the seller doesn't reply me anymore and doesn't give my defective phone either. I feel cheated. I filed a claim. I hope amazon backs me up....
66 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
50 of 55 people found the following review helpful
on October 19, 2013
i just returned the phone. the model is N900 not N9000 as advertized and it has a sticker that says its locked for American sim cards only. this is a ripoff. seller is doing false advertising. i wouldnt buy from them. i tried buying unlcked blackberry phones from them before same thing happened. dont buy from this seller. Amazon should remove them.
55 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
53 of 61 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon September 29, 2013
Note 3 is an awesome device. Check my video review for review of phone, some apps and GPS capability at the end. The resolution and real estate you have is mindblowing for a phone. It is a very powerful device in your hands! I had Note 2 for a long time and our family is a big fan of phablets. Note 2 are still really good. If you have them and they work keep using them. Phones don't get obsoleted. The previous gen phones still make phone calls and take great pictures as they did on day 1. Both Galaxy Note 2 and 3 have Micro-SIM. I have played around with a Note 3 and using on a regular basis and it is gorgeous phone in itself. The following paragraph applies to buying unlocked phones..

DISPLAY: Super AMOLED capacitive touchscreen.
Note 3 has 151.2 x 79.2 x 8.3 mm (5.95 x 3.12 x 0.33 in) and weight 168 g (5.93 oz).
Note 2 has Dimensions 151.1 x 80.5 x 9.4 mm (5.95 x 3.17 x 0.37 in) and Weight: 183 g (6.46 oz).
Note that it has become slightly less taller and 15 gm lighter! This is great as weight is a very important factor in handholding and for long uses. Both the phones have excellent S Pen stylus.

Note 3 has 1920 x 1080 pixels, 5.7 inches (~386 ppi pixel density).
Note 2 is 1280x720 pixels, 5.5 inches (~267 ppi pixel density). Note the superb increase in resolution. This is great as Note 3 has full HD finally. For comparison, Galaxy S4 has 5" HD Super AMOLED 1920 x 1080 display (441 ppi).

MEMORY Both Note 3 and Note 2 has Card slot : microSD, up to 64 GB. Internal: 16/32/64 GB storage, Note 3 has 3 GB RAM whereas Note 2 has 2 GB RAM.

WLAN: Wi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/n, dual-band, DLNA (Both Note 2 and Note 3)
Bluetooth: v4.0 with A2DP, LE, EDR (Both Note 2 and Note 3)
NFC: Yes (both Note 2 and 3)
USB: microUSB v3.0 (MHL 2), USB Host (Note 3, finally USB 3 on phones!)
microUSB v2.0 (MHL), USB Host (Note 2)

CAMERA:
Note3: 13 MP, 4128 x 3096 pixels,autofocus, LED flash, Video 2160p@30fps, 1080p@60fps (Note 3, Note the substantially improved camera resolution)
Note 2: Front: 8 MP, 3264x2448 pixels, video: 1080p@30fps, check quality; Back: 1.9 MP
I feel for low light the camera did not perform well and this is an improvement I would like Samsung to make in low light sensors.

Chipset:
Note 3: Quad-core 2.3 GHz Krait 400 (LTE model)/ Quad-core 1.9 GHz Cortex-A15 & quad-core 1.3 GHz Cortex-A7 (3G model) Note 3 has Qualcomm Snapdragon 800 and if you see they have several technologies for different models.
Note 2: Exynos 4412 Quad CPU: Quad-core 1.6 GHz Cortex-A9 GPU: Mali-400MP

Sensors: Accelerometer, gyro, proximity, compass, barometer
GPS: with A-GPS support and GLONASS
BATTERY: Li-Ion 3100 mAh battery (note 2) 3200 mAh (note 3)

SAR (radiation level is often not considered in many reviews and it is an important level of comparison).
SAR:
Note 3 US Model: 0.55 W/kg (head) 1.49 W/kg (body)
Note 3: EU Model: 0.21 W/kg (head)
Note 2 US Model: 0.23 W/kg (head) 0.95 W/kg (body)
Note that SAR ratings have increased for Note III version.

Galaxy Note III is an awesome phone for its use cases. It is a delight for note taking purposes. I have used Galaxy S3, S4, Note II, Galaxy Tab 2/3 and I really love the Galaxy series. I can see the high end smartphones really getting saturated. For users with Note II or S4, I will not recommend upgrading unless you always want the latest and the greatest. You still have a great phone and it is not outdated just because Note III has come out. Your camera takes just great pictures as it did last month. Just like Detroit/Japan rolls out new cars every year, phone manufacturers have found excellent way to make yearly upgrades. If you have a different phone or a low end phone or you are from that iSomething world, welcome to Galaxy series!

Battery life is good. The video playback was crisp. Vendors like Samsung have added a whole lot of extra programs. I am not that annoyed with the Samsungware as I really like S-Health and some other apps. Mainly note taking apps are awesone. People of course can root and put Cyanogenmod at some point later.

I used to put a 64 GB microSDXC card SanDisk 64GB Mobile Ultra MicroSDXC Class 6 Memory Card with SD Adapter - Retail Packaging for video/song/ebooks. I have since upgraded to 128 GB MicroSD and it works great! No stuttering, and very smooth playback of videos captured in varying light conditions (HD Playback; HD Recording). Compatible video types are AVI/DIVX, WMV/ASF, FLV, MKV, MP4/3GP, WEBM. HDR and Panaromic photos were incredibly sharp. Compatible audio types are: AAC, AMR, MP3, OGG, WMA/ASF, 3GA/M4A, FLAC, WAV. Google Music, PlayerPro Music player are producing excellent music.

Note III infrared sensor is the same technology as TV remote control, so with WatchON you can change the TV channel from your phone. Games were very buttery. I tried several car racing games and performance was phenomenal.

GPS was spot on and I tried multiple GPS apps. It was bright outdoors (had to crank the brightness all the way up). Smooth and Stunning display! NFC works awesome. I use a Qi charger with a Qi wireless receiver and they work great as well.

Some Extra Accessories:
NFC has lot of use cases. I got the WhizTags NFC tags - NTAG203 Chip - 10 Pack + Keychain + Free Bonus Tag - Android Writable & Programmable - Adhesive Sticker Back - Samsung Galaxy S4 S3 Note 2 - HTC One First One X Droid DNA - Sony Xperia - Nexus - Smart Tags - Best Money-Back Guarantee! which is awesome. I use in conjunction with NFC Task Launcher App. Samsung also has TecTiles App. When I go to office I tap a NFC Tag to get the settings I desire - eg vibrate, wifi on etc. At CAR different instructions and so on.

I tried following apps and they just worked awesome.

Amazon Mobile
Android Status
Aldiko Premium and Kindle Reading Apps
Androidify
Angry Birds (Space/Seasons)
Asphalt 7
Amazon App Store
Box
Car Maintenance Reminder Pro
Chrome
CNET TV
NAVIGON (from Garmin - offline maps)
Google Navigation/Earth/Maps
Google Currents (nice way to read News)
Draw Something
Google Drive
Ebay
Linkedin
Google Music
Tapatalk (awesome forum browsing app)
OverDrive Media Console: Library eBooks & Audiobooks (public library consumption of media)
Microsoft One Note (legacy docs, skydrive of 25 GB is good)
Subsonic Music Streamer
Terminal Emulator (still need to use vi, yes this is it)
TweetCaster Pro for Android (excellent twitter client)
Twit.Tv
Google Voice
Temple Run series of games
Plenty of Widgets
APPENDIX: If you are comparing multiple phones, here is the quick highlevel breakdown of top phones as of mid 2014.
In my opinion, following are key specs to consider when you buying a phone. Most of others are standard or does not matter at all. First size, weight and resolution are part of look and feel. RAM/CPU part of performance. External storage is part of expandability. Camera is obvious! SAR (Specific Absorption Rating) is an often ignored, but I feel essential to making a buying choice. Manufacturers don't advertise or mention SAR prominently.

phone parameters: {size, weight, resolution, ppi, RAM, ext Storage, camera, CPU, USA SAR rating}

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 N9000: 5.95 x 3.12 x 0.33 in, 168 gm, 1080 x 1920 pixels, 5.7 in, 386 ppi, 3 GB RAM, micro SD upto 64 GB, 13 MP/2MP, Exynos 5 Octa 5420, Quad-core 1.9 GHz Cortex-A15 & quad-core 1.3 GHz Cortex-A7, SAR: 0.24 W/kg (head), 0.72 W/kg (body)

Google Nexus 5: 5.43 x 2.72 x 0.34 in, 130 gm, 1080 x 1920 pixels, 4.95 in, 445 ppi, 2 GB RAM, no ext Storage, 8 MP/1.3 MP, Qualcomm MSM8974 Snapdragon 800, Quad-core 2.3 GHz Krait 400, 0.92 W/kg (head), 1.23 W/kg (body)

Samsung Galaxy S5: 5.59 x 2.85 x 0.32 in, 145 gm, 1080 x 1920 pixels, 5.1 in, 432 ppi, 2 GB RAM, microSD upto 128 GB!, Qualcomm Snapdragon 801, MSM8974-AC Processor: Quad core, 2500 MHz, Krait 400, 0.63 W/kg (head), 0.82 W/kg (body)

Samsung Galaxy S4 (Intl version): 5.38 x 2.75 x 0.31 in, 130 gm, 1080 x 1920 pixels, 5.0 in, 441 ppi, 2 GB RAM, microSD, up to 64 GB, 13 MP/2MP, Exynos 5 Octa 5410 CPU, Quad-core 1.6 GHz Cortex-A15 & quad-core 1.2 GHz Cortex-A7, 0.85 W/kg (head), 1.55 W/kg (body)

HTC One M8: 5.76 x 2.78 x 0.37 in, 160 gm, 1080 x 1920 pixels, 5 in, 441 ppi, 2 GB RAM, microSD upto 128 GB!, 4 MP (rear), 5 MP(front for selfies), Qualcomm Snapdragon 801, Quad core, 2300 MHz, Krait 400, 0.94 W/kg (head), 0.83 W/kg (body)

LG G2: 5.45 x 2.79 x 0.35 in, 143 gm, 1080 x 1920 pixels, 5.2 in, 424 ppi, 2 GB RAM, no ext Storage, 13 MP/2.1 MP, Qualcomm MSM8974 Snapdragon 800, Quad-core 2.26 GHz Krait 400, 0.50 W/kg (head), 0.69 W/kg (body)

Apple iPhone 5S: 4.87 x 2.31 x 0.30 in, 112gm, 640 x 1136 pixels, 4.0 in, 326 ppi, 1 GB RAM, no ext storage, 8 MP/1.2 MP, Apple A7, Dual-core 1.3 GHz Cyclone (ARM v8-based), 1.12 W/kg (head), 1.18 W/kg (body)

Nokia Lumia 1520: 6.41 x 3.36 x 0.34 in, 209gm, 1080 x 1920 pixels, 6.0 in, 367 ppi, 2 GB RAM, microSD up to 64 GB, 20 MP/1.2MP, Qualcomm MSM8974 Snapdragon 800 CPU Quad-core 2.2 GHz Krait 400, SAR: 0.59 W/kg (head), 0.24 W/kg (body)

Motorola Moto G: 5.11 x 2.59 x 0.46 in, 143 gm, 720 x 1280 pixels, 4.5 in, 326 ppi, 1 GB RAM, no ext storage, 5 MP/1.3 MP, Qualcomm Snapdragon 400, Quad-core 1.2 GHz Cortex-A7, SAR: 1.17 W/kg (head), 1.06 W/kg (body)

Given the above key specs, my suggestion to my friends is to choose 2 or 3 KEY features you require (may be large screen size, maybe less weight, maybe more CPU power) and then start nailing down the phones. Definitely and definitely go to a phone or a big box store and feel the phone. Nothing replaces that. In the end end you are using it for days and years, so the tactile feel is very important.

Ask questions, the review cannot do justice to Galaxy Note III. I will be glad to answer any questions.
1111 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on November 2, 2013
Most of the initial pages on the phone are filled with great big Samsung apps that we don't really want and don't really need. The page to the left of the home screen starts off with a 3-line deep full screen-width app that counts your steps. I don't know why a step-counting app needs to take up almost a full page, but it does. There are all sorts of apps that are integrated in which duplicate or even triplicate each other's functions and it's impossible to get rid of the ones you don't want or aren't using. Samsung even has this duplicate app store because it can't be bothered to put its regular apps in the regular Android store, so you have to manage two app stores with the other apps you bought on whatever Android phone you had before this one. Evernote and that Flip program both keep updating and will keep notifying you that you need more updates, even if you try to shut them off. There's a messaging app that, if you get AT&T, will be tied into your phone number and, even if you use Google Voice, will duplicate all your text messages, so you'll get double dings whenever you get a text message.

If you press the home button too long or it thinks you double pressed it, you get this MyMagazine app popup and it's impossible to turn that off or stop it from happening (and again with the apps which duplicate or triplicate each others functions, there are several other social/news-aggregating apps on the phone that you can't get rid of).. The stylus is great, but you can't change the apps that open in Pen Window. So, even though Evernote and Samsung have announced a "deeper partnership", you have to take extra steps to open Evernote instead of the memo app in the pen window, which I tried to do for the first week before I gave up and tried to shut that app off. Its the same with most of the air command functions, there's just no way to really customize it and actually make it useful instead of going with the apps that Samsung *thinks* we all want.

About a month after I received the phone, it stopped working. My warranty company, SquareTrade, didn't want to repair it because they said it was supposed to be under warranty from Samsung. Samsung USA doesn't recognize the IMEI number. They transferred me to Samsung Canada who didn't recognize the IMEI. HeavyDuty Electronics is apparently not an authorized retailer. Because the phone is from Vietnam, I went to the Samsung Vietnam website at [...]number on the phone either. After a few months, I finally got SquareTrade to repair it. When I received it back, they'd reset everything and it worked, but only for about a month again. I don't know if it's the region locking that Samsung put into this supposedly unlocked phone or what, but the phone apparently just bricks itself after about a month of use.

Both times, I tried putting a new battery in and the phone wouldn't start. Both times the new battery was working in another Note 3 before I tried the battery swap and both times the new battery still worked in another Note 3 afterward, but wouldn't work in this one, so it's not a battery issue. Multiple chargers plugged in won't keep it charged, so it's not a charger issue. And last time SquareTrade just reset it and sent back the same phone/battery, so it seems to be an internal trigger that won't let it charge and keeps it quiescent.

I think the seller stole these phones, which is why no Samsung subsidiary seems to have a record of the IMEI, and why the phone apparently bricks itself after about a month of use.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 470 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.