Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good phone!
I completely disagree with other reviewer. Once you learn the basic functions of this phone, its as intuitive as any other gadget. And the term intuitive, at least to me, is based on what each person determines it is. Anyways, one of my favorite features of my phone is this has 3 home screens which you can place different widgets on, and scroll to them when you wish. On...
Published on June 28, 2010 by leebo

versus
11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the most NON-INTUITIVE gadget, ever! (but it works, sort of)
Perhaps I'm spoiled, coming from a Nokia phone with its incredible ease of use interface, but this Samsung has been a total nightmare to figure out...and this is me being a longtime gadget geek who usually doesn't even bother to read owners' manuals for anything---TVs, computers, audio equipment, DVD players, MP3 players, VCRs, digital cameras, etc.

This phone...
Published on June 10, 2010 by Eduardo Abdullah Nagasaki


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good phone!, June 28, 2010
This review is from: Samsung S5230 Tocco Lite Unlocked Phone with Quad-Band GSM, 3 MP Camera and MicroSD Slot - International Version with Warranty (Noble Black) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I completely disagree with other reviewer. Once you learn the basic functions of this phone, its as intuitive as any other gadget. And the term intuitive, at least to me, is based on what each person determines it is. Anyways, one of my favorite features of my phone is this has 3 home screens which you can place different widgets on, and scroll to them when you wish. On the main page I have time and date, my secondary I have alarm, music player, and phone mode, and third one I have my fm radio dialer, facebook, and birthday widget. The screen is gorgeous and the colors rival my ipod touch. The camera takes good pictures, and so-so video, but then again I rarely use it for that anyways. You can save either to the phone or the the micro SD card. Another great feature is that while typing text, when you turn it sideways, it automatically changes to a horizontal qwerty keyboard.

There are other great things about this phone, and all-in-all, a very good deal for the cost. Any web capable-video and photo camera-a wide variety of widgets-you'd be hard pressed to find a comparable deal for what this one sells for. A strong competitor if you ask me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this phone!!, August 2, 2010
By 
Deana Watson (Atascadero, California United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Samsung S5230 Tocco Lite Unlocked Phone with Quad-Band GSM, 3 MP Camera and MicroSD Slot - International Version with Warranty (Noble Black) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
This phone is great. I got to pick it out as a birthday present and I am so glad I chose the right one. I was looking for a touch screen phone with a full qwerty keyboard (the keyboard is touch screen too). I completely recommend this phone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Happy!!, July 7, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Samsung S5230 Tocco Lite Unlocked Phone with Quad-Band GSM, 3 MP Camera and MicroSD Slot - International Version with Warranty (Noble Black) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I think this phone is great! I got it as a gift for my boyfriend and he can't put it down. It has everything you need in a phone and more. Touchscreen works great and it has tons of useful applications. Battery lasts like 5 or 6 days. I can't explain how happy I am with this purchase. My mom already said she wanted the same phone for her birthday and I am giving thought to the idea of getting one for myself as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PERFECT!, November 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Samsung S5230 Tocco Lite Unlocked Phone with Quad-Band GSM, 3 MP Camera and MicroSD Slot - International Version with Warranty (Noble Black) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
This is a great phone. Camera, music, text and chat. Love it. Works in the USA & the overseas. What else could I ask for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Phone, August 6, 2010
This review is from: Samsung S5230 Tocco Lite Unlocked Phone with Quad-Band GSM, 3 MP Camera and MicroSD Slot - International Version with Warranty (Noble Black) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I have had it for about 2 weeks now,great phone for the price,everything i was expecting.The only disadvantage was that it shuts down now an then,but after i switched it off and cleaned the battery terminals as recommended by the manual,it dint do that again.So not a bad deal at all.Will definitely recommend it to someone else.

July 27th,2011.
This is an update. I've had this phone for more than a year now,does all its suppose to do,screen is quite responsive,not a single issue with it.Fantastic buy!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the most NON-INTUITIVE gadget, ever! (but it works, sort of), June 10, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Samsung S5230 Tocco Lite Unlocked Phone with Quad-Band GSM, 3 MP Camera and MicroSD Slot - International Version with Warranty (Noble Black) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Perhaps I'm spoiled, coming from a Nokia phone with its incredible ease of use interface, but this Samsung has been a total nightmare to figure out...and this is me being a longtime gadget geek who usually doesn't even bother to read owners' manuals for anything---TVs, computers, audio equipment, DVD players, MP3 players, VCRs, digital cameras, etc.

This phone gets two stars mainly for its looks---the case and the screen. It seems to have been designed mainly for the bimbo market, people who just want to have a pretty phone in their hands. The owner's manual is a thin and horribly useless joke, most of it is about how to use the web browsing, mp3 player, and camera. Simple basic phone functions, like how to access the keypad during a call (for navigating voice menus) are totally ignored.

In fact, when I first turned on the phone, it was in German---and there is nothing in the damn manual about how to change the language. I had to go to Google Translator and translate each and every icon and menu heading in order to figure it out! At least they could have been bright enough to have the default setting on English, which is after all THE international language!

Similarly, there are no instructions on how to turn off the annoying keypad tones. I just kind of stumbled across it.

I bought this phone mainly for its PDA functions, which are passable at best. I do like that it's much easier to do texting on this since you can get a full QWERTY touch keyboard when you turn it on its side. But overall the basic phone functions are severely neglected and ease of use is abysmal. I will give this phone another couple of days, if it doesn't finally "click" it'll be going back.

UPDATE, 10/1/2010:
Well, I have learned to live with this phone's many quirks and flaws. Which would have been a far easier/quicker process if the damn thing had come with a halfway decent owner's manual, sheesh. So I've changed my rating from 2 stars to 3.

Basically this is a good phone for sending text messages. It is most certainly NOT much of a Palm Pilot replacement, that's for sure. Reception and voice quality are both decent.

One thing that I noticed, and now have grown to tolerate, is how often the buttons and functions lag, especially on the touchscreen---about 2 to 3 times out of ten, you tap an onscreen icon and nothing happens the first or second or even third time, you just have to keep tapping it until the damn processor wakes the hell up and does what it's being told to do. Annoying as hell at first, but oh well, as Dostoyevsky famously wrote (he was in a gulag at the time, lol): "Man can get used to anything." That could well be the motto for this phone, heh.

UPDATE: 8/26/2011
Over a year later, it has held up well and now that I have resigned myself to this phone's limitations, I am finding that it does a passable job of being the PDA replacement that I orginally had in mind. How? Through the built in Calendar, mainly...I am able to make alarmed reminders for myself. That is the main reason I wanted it. Oh and the contacts list is reasonably detailed too, which isn't bad. But the main reason I am giving it a better review now is because I have decided against getting an iPhone, iPad, or even Android phone/pad for at least another year while waiting for that technology to mature and the prices to drop. In the meantime, this Samsung gets the most basic jobs done ok, I guess. Though if I had to do it all over again maybe I would've tried a Nokia, they usually have the most intuitive user interface out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful, August 12, 2012
This review is from: Samsung S5230 Tocco Lite Unlocked Phone with Quad-Band GSM, 3 MP Camera and MicroSD Slot - International Version with Warranty (Noble Black) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I guess I should have done a little research BUT to sell a phone in 2012 with
No Wifi
No regular headphone socket
No commonly used OS (some Samsung OS that you cannot get apps for)
Screen resolution from the 90's
No easy internet connection
PC interface that has trouble with Windows 7

is just not right no matter what you charge for it ...it is just a phone to talk and text with ...You WILL find it next to impossible to do anything else with it (and I am relatively techie)
I my opinion... it's a 'worong 'un' as we say Samsung Star GT-S5230 Unlocked Phone with Full Touchscreen Quad-Band GSM Bluetooth, 3.2 MP Camera, Voice Record, MP3 and MP4 Speaker Phone--U.S. Version with 1 Year Warranty (Black)in London
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars productfunction, January 15, 2012
By 
herbert schneider (Marco Island, FL, US) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Samsung S5230 Tocco Lite Unlocked Phone with Quad-Band GSM, 3 MP Camera and MicroSD Slot - International Version with Warranty (Noble Black) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
This product is a disappointment I was looking forward to the touchscreen function for quick operation when dialing up ,selecting a contactperson,screen would lock up.furthermore when useing the keypad and connection was made thsceen went dark although I selected 3 min screen on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great phone for affordable rate, June 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Samsung S5230 Tocco Lite Unlocked Phone with Quad-Band GSM, 3 MP Camera and MicroSD Slot - International Version with Warranty (Noble Black) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Well, phone works great and touch screen was responsive. I bought it unlocked and traveled with it to Nigeria and it worked with all GSM networks. Delivery was fast. The only drawback to it is that the camera did not produce very bright pictures. Probably needs a flash integrated to the phone. The phone easily gets scratches so you might want to buy a case for it. Overall it is a great phone for the price i got it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wrong Item Sent, July 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Samsung S5230 Tocco Lite Unlocked Phone with Quad-Band GSM, 3 MP Camera and MicroSD Slot - International Version with Warranty (Noble Black) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I ordered a Samsung S5230,, but received a Samsung GT S5230 instead. But the problem does not end there. I had the item shipped to a friend in Georgia who brought it with him to Grecia, Costa Rica, where I reside. I opened the box and first went t read the instructions. Rather than being multi-lingual as most instruction manuals are, it was totally in German. And then I check the charging cord, it is a European plug, not the standard 110 volt plug. Now, since I am in Costa Rica it would be difficult to return to Amazon. I just pray I can go to San Jose and find a universal adaptr.

This has been a learning (and expensive) experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.