Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Mary Carpenter Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Luxury Beauty Mother's Day Gifts Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer seeso seeso seeso  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing Learn more

  • Sand
  • Customer Reviews

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 20, 2003
I came to this movie with low expectations after reading the reviews on this site. Sand is not a great movie, but it's not terrible, as in say, The Sum of All Fears was a terrible movie. I think Sand achieves on the level it was meant to achieve. I suppose it's "real" enough to be boring.
The plot is fairly thin. A young man who looks like an alumnus of Beverly Hills 90210 or Dawson's Creek leaves home after his mother's funeral. From what we learn early on about his dad and half-brothers, it's perfectly understandable wanting to be as far away from them as possible.
He arrives at a small town on the Californian coast where he gets a job and befriends some surfer boys who seem to have nothing better to do than get stoned on the beach. Unfortunately, his family follows him and his idiot brothers attempt to rape his new girlfriend, starting a feud with the surfer boys that spirals out of control.
This movie is definitely a post-Tarantino effort, aspiring to the same mix of "deep" and silly conversations that ordinary people have, as with Kari Wuhrer's conversation with the male lead about "coming home." Sand also boasts an odd assortment of character players a la Tarantino, in the form of Harry Dean Stanton, Emilio Estevez, Jon Lovitz and Julie Delpy. Denis Leary does his usual Irish gansta bit.
The best things about this movie were the ever hot Kari Wuhrer (even though she's a bit old to be playing a fresh out of college grad) and Kayce Martin as the male lead's mother, seen only in flashback. Kayce reminds me of Jayne Heitmeyer from Earth: Final Conflict.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon April 8, 2002
First of all, this film should have been much better than it was. Kari Wuhrer is certainly great eye candy as are Michael Vartan and Norman Reedus, but in this case, their looks do not make up for an unwatchable film.
The story is a decent one, but it warrants a 30 minute treatment not a full length feature treatment. There is so much extraneous non-action that you will want to use your DVD player's fast forward button. The dialogue is not of a high caliber and the delivery is pained. Denis Leary plays a character exactly like.....Denis Leary. He rants and raves as if the director asked him to ad lib for an extended period of time just to use up some film. Poor Michael Vartan. He seems to have realized halfway through that this was a bad career move and just stopped putting forth any effort. Norman Reedus supplies a two-level performance unworthy of his past efforts.
I wanted to like this film. I really did. I love a good thriller. Sadly, this isn't one. It is neither thrilling, nor good.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2014
This was a really good movie with a lot of recognizable faces in it. Jon Lovitz was hilarious and Norman Reedus was scrumptious. I'd definitely watch it again and recommend it to anyone looking for a good drama with an interesting storyline. It's sad, funny, riveting, and all around entertaining - all the things one might want in a movie.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2014
This is a great movie about friendship and family and starting a new life. It's not a "mainstream" kind of movie, which is part of what I like about it so much. You'll probably never catch this on cable, but it's definitely worth watching.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2002
Tyler hates his family - Tyler leaves family to start new life - Tyler settles down - Tyler's family track him down - Some of them are killed for attacking Tyler's girlfriend - Family (remaining) go back home. This film has some major holes, I'm led to believe these are where the interesting parts were edited out. I don't understand why such a strong cast was drawn to this. It's a un-watchable film. Oh yeah, Kari Wuhrer keeps her clothes on. (I know thats what you're thinking!)
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2002
If you buy this movie you'll know what I mean.
If your a Kari Wuhrer fan stick to Poison. There's not enough of her to justify this movie.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2003
What a waste of time! Michael Vartan must have been broke when he took this part because it was just such a bad story. And kind of annoying how he kept asking his father and brothers to leave his house and they kept saying "no, we can't do that right now"- ugh! Just kick them out! Call the cops! Then Emilio Estevez, in the movie for about 2 minutes, no idea why. Denis Leary is the only one giving this dead movie mouth to mouth to breathe some kind of life into it, something! Overall awful.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2004
I'm sorry. I love Alias and thought "heh! the guy from Alias is in this movie. Maybe it's worth watching." Well, I was most definitely wrong. Why?
-It doesn't make any sense. Why are is the family there? Why are some of the family more stupid and irritating than others (besides the main one)? How the hell did those two guys die?
-The acting in the movie was overall very bad. Maybe a D. The only people saving the movie (hahaha) was Dennis Leary and Michael Vartan. Leary actually had some character and Vartan had character during the first half of the film and in the second half of the film he seemed liked he was making a cameo every ten minutes. He totally diappears in the movie.
-What are with the cameos? Jon Lovitz and Julie Delpy? Yeah, they were useless. Where they intended to be comic relief? Well, they weren't funny. And, he's the best cameo yet. Emilio Estevez who was front dvd case and starring status. He appears for so little of the movie that we dont even know what he is supposed to be. A beach bum? No idea.
-The characters were quite an embarassment. Seriously, the only character with a brain were Wurher (the character, not her acting), Vartan, and Leary.
-There seems to be missing scenes scattered about. How did their couples relationship occur? How did the baddies die? What are they doing in town? Why is this movie so dumb?
-I paid 10 bucks to watch this. Blockbuster owes me 20. double for bothering to watch the movie.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2002
First of all, why does this movie list for over $20?? This movie had to be a major letdown for all involved, an unremarkable addition to anyone's resume. The actors obviously attended the Keanu Reeve's School of Acting--I kept waiting for the "dude" to come out of the surf at any moment. I think the director became confused with the story, and it's obvious the production ran out of money before completion. I'm sure there were several yards of footage left on the proverbial "cutting- room-floor", because there seemed to be a lack of continuity throughout the film.
The only redeeming quality (and hence the only reason I rated it 2 stars instead of 1) was Denis Leary. While I don't care for him much as an actor or person, he did a fine job in what was otherwise a horrible film. Michael Vartan, the main character (also from Never Been Kissed and ABC's "Alias") was simply OK, but nothing he or Leary could do could resurrect this movie.
I put this on the level of "Eye of the Beholder"--star power with star suckage. Here's a mental note to myself next time--stay away from "dramas" that costar Jon Lovitz & Emilio Estevez. Blockbuster, I want my $3.99 back.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2002
Revenge drama filmed in what appears to be California's Big Sur. Beautiful photography is completely destroyed by the DVD's dreadful pan and scan job (the film's format is obviously 2:35 to 1 Panavision), the kind of thing I thought had gone out the window along with the VHS format. As for the film, the effectiveness of the drama (a study of the violence-prone macho attitudes in our society?) is diminished by the characters' lack of depth, a deadly slow first 45 minutes and a disappointing, not quite believable ending. A good enough time killer, but that's about it.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$7.99
$9.95

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.