Automotive Deals Summer Reading Shop Women's Clothing Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Segway miniPro STEM

Size: Inquiries - by email|Change
Price:$15.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 9, 2015
To be honest, there aren't a lot of options out there. I've been thru two of these. The first was good but I lost it. The second one was hard to turn and seemed to have problems with the winding system. Finally it just broke when it got tangled inside and i tried to pull on it to dislodge it. It's cheap and it works. That's a good enough endorsement, right? If you buy one of these and use it regularly, expect you'll buy another before too long.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2014
I purchased the Tecsun PL-660SLV to put away in a faraday cage in case of emergency and wanted an external antenna. Even though there is really no gain, this antenna allows portability and the ability to have something outside away from inside walls and interference. Not bad for the money. This would also be great for a portable antenna to take with you on the go!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2014
This actually made a big difference when clipped to the end of my TECSUN PL-380 portable shortwave. The wire is big enough to improve reception, but not ugly or bulky, and politely winds up and stows away when not in use.

The plastic reel has a strong clip for attaching to someplace high up (tree, gutter, other). The other end has a jack to plug into the part that clips onto the radio's built-in telescoping antenna, so you don't need to unclip it, just unplug.

Very convenient and works great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2014
I got this Antenna 2 days early and when I connected it to the Short Wave Radio listening to Morse Code, I disconnected the antenna and notice that the signal was a lot weaker. I am located in my basement and can now receive signals twice as good.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2012
The antenna does what its promised to to improve shortwave reception both in indoors and outdoors. It completely replaces the telescopic antenna and can pick up stations that you can rarely pick up with telescopic antenna. Even the most weakest stations can be heard and identified. I use this with Grundig G 6 Aviator and they together work very well. The antenna can be used with radio without no external antenna socket just by attaching the connector that comes with it and it works with these analog radios too. Surprisingly the antenna works really good in 11-10 meter bands. The CB band that was empty for me before now is full of conversations and 10 meter Ham band is received at its best. The strap makes easy to rewound it and makes it fully portable and I like portable things. It can be used everywhere. I recommend this antenna to all general shortwave listeners who want to improve their reception. Its not magic, its a simple wire, but correctly used and grounded can bring difference to your shortwave experience.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2012
This antenna comes with the ATS-909x radio. You do not need to order it, unless you lose the antenna included in the box. This improves the reception dramatically on SW. It doesn't improve standard commercial a.m. reception very much, except at night. The ATS-909X radio comes with this antenna AND the carrying case for the radio itself. The antenna itself is outstanding for its size! Very compact, rolls out and in very easily... just use the "shuttle" style knob to reel it back in! It DOES improve the received signal considerably compared to the "ship" antenna. It DOES plug directly into the ATS-909X antenna jack.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2010
This short wave antenna has increased my reception on my shortwave radio by more than 50% over just using the radios own antenna. It has increased my reception on all bands including AM, FM, TV, and shortwave bands. Installing the add on antenna is a breeze. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2015
Neat. The antennae works well as it is supposed to do. I've tried it on the portable radio am/fm as well. It does bring a better quality signal. To be able to just roll it up in its own spool is great, too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2012
Bought this to go with my Grundig shortwave Radio. It is effective in the FM and 40m broadcast bands. Only wish there was a storage compartment within the wind up case to hold the telescoping aerial adapter so it wouldn't get lost. At this price buy 2 and have a backup.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2015
using in the mountains and do pick up more radio stations. still have to move the radio around to get more and also a clear ski helps.
Would us this for backpacking. its small and lightweight. Some more stations are better than none.
Would purchase again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 30 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.