Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tells the"truth", with joy intact
This is a must-read for Christian children at Christmas. A child hears kids on the street say Santa isn't real, and goes inside to ask his father. The dad tells him that St. Nicholas was a real person who, because he loved Jesus, gave gifts to the poor. The boy is inspired by the story and decides to share with others, like St. Nick did. The book ends with a cheerful...
Published on October 19, 2000

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This is an abbreviated story!!
I was excited to find the Santa Are You for Real book to get for my son after having grown up reading it. Much to my disappointment, this board book has abbreviated the part of the story that I found most interesting and most significant: the story and history of St. Nicholas. Without delving into this history, the book seems like it's missed the point. I'm not sure...
Published on January 30, 2010 by Kaitlin E.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tells the"truth", with joy intact, October 19, 2000
By A Customer
This is a must-read for Christian children at Christmas. A child hears kids on the street say Santa isn't real, and goes inside to ask his father. The dad tells him that St. Nicholas was a real person who, because he loved Jesus, gave gifts to the poor. The boy is inspired by the story and decides to share with others, like St. Nick did. The book ends with a cheerful picture of Santa: "As the family sat around and talked half the night, Todd thought he saw, in the snow and moonlight...a bright-eyed Saint Nicholas with his sack looking in, and wide across his face, a jolly old grin." Children will know that the real Santa is now in heaven, but people still rememeber him today because of his generous spirit. The book tells the "truth" about Santa, while also allowing for a child's imagination and sense of joy to remain intact over who Santa was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a healthy way for children to understand Santa, December 29, 1998
By A Customer
We have a copy from 1977. This book teaches children at their level that Nicholas was a man, a kind man, a religious man. It tells the Christian message and the REAL story of St. Nick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant for helping children understand Christmas & Santa, January 7, 1999
By A Customer
I am ordering this book for my grandchildren who will be starting school next year. Once in school they begin to learn the hard facts about Santa. This book should help them understand more about the Christian belief in the Greatest Gift of all and yet hold on to a bit of the magic of "Santa" a tradition we hold so dear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This is an abbreviated story!!, January 30, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Santa, Are You For Real? (Board book)
I was excited to find the Santa Are You for Real book to get for my son after having grown up reading it. Much to my disappointment, this board book has abbreviated the part of the story that I found most interesting and most significant: the story and history of St. Nicholas. Without delving into this history, the book seems like it's missed the point. I'm not sure why the whole story could not be incorporated into this board book and I highly recommend that readers get their children the original story. It's much more worthwhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Is he real?, November 26, 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Is Santa real? Well, yes and no.

Myra does a really nice job of explaining where the Santa legend came from, and how St. Nicholas loved God and people. Myra's story point kids to St. Nicholas' Lord, and shows them they do not need to sacrifice the magic and imagination in order to worship Him.

Nicely illustrated too.

I buy two or three of these every year for 4-6 year olds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good story, February 22, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great book about the real santa. I grew up not believing in Santa but my husband did. I did not want my children believing in only santa but Jesus also and this book satisfied me as far as beliving in santa and the true meaning of Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cute Santa Claus book for little ones, December 19, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Santa, Are You For Real? (Board book)
This is a very simple book that explains that Santa Claus was a real man- a Christan named Nicholas who loved God and loved to give to help others in need. It doesn't go into a lot of detail or historical facts, and wouldn't bring your child to tears over changing your child's idea of Santa. It just adds a little something better and confirms his reality in their minds. I would recommend it for toddlers and preschoolers, but would suggest something more detailed for older children. Google The St. Nicholas Center for more book suggestions, related projects, free coloring sheets, and a wealth of information to share with your children! Pretty fascinating stuff.

I'd also highly recommend this animated video for children of any age. Nicholas: The Boy Who Became Santa It has become a holiday favorite in our house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Help children know the truth about St. Nicholas, December 22, 1999
By 
We read this book every year with our two children. It helps them understand the truth about St. Nicholas and helps them reconcile the commercial Santa with the truth of Christmas. It puts Santa and gifts in their place underneath the birth Jesus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but doesn't go far enough for me., December 5, 2004
I really liked this book and how it explained the truth about the real St. Nick, but I still came away feeling like it was a half truth. I guess I wanted more of Jesus in the story. I do still read it to my kids every year, though. The other day in the grocery store my 3 year old was acting up and someone said, "Santa is watching you" to help calm him down. My 5 year old looked at her as if she were crazy and said, "Santa is in heaven with Jesus" - so I think she gets it. I'm pretty sure that is a direct quote from the book. Overall, I would recommend it, although I don't read some of the text and add my own on some pages - like the last page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I was disappointed ., February 29, 2000
We bought this book ( Santa ) because we have the Easter Bunny Book (which we love). The Santa book does a great job explaining the story of the real St. Nick. After telling the story and explaining that Christmas is about giving, they show a picture of a Santa Claus winking. I found this to be very confusing The reason I wanted the book was to take the focus away from Santa and on to Jesus. I felt this book really contradicted itself at the end. I will continue to read this book to my children , but will not include the last page and wording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Santa,  Are You For Real?
Santa, Are You For Real? by Harold Lawrence Myra (Board book - October 4, 2005)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.