Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Crown the Empire Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Water Sports

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$11.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 27, 2009
A clever story that ties Santa into the true Christmas story. My three year old daughter loves hearing this book over and over...and I love reading it to her!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2009
Santa's Birthday Gift
This is an adorable book that addresses the correlation of the birth of the Christ Child and the tradition of Santa Claus' visit on Christmas to all the children of the world. This book will thrill children and help explain why Santa comes on Christ's birthday every year. It will become a tradition every year along with the story of the Night Before Christmas and the Nativity. The illustrations are precious. This book may very well become your child's favorite book!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2009
This book is wonderful, tying together the modern themes of Christmas: the Nativity, Santa and the spirit of giving. It reads like a traditional holiday story, reminding the reader why we love classics such as 'Twas the Night Before Christmas. Lucky us that a family tradition made it onto the shelves of bookstores to be shared with children of all ages!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2011
I gotta tell you that I really love Sherrill's rhyme and way with words. This is the second book of hers that I have reviewed and I heartily recommend her as a children's book author.

Santa's Birthday Gift opens with the nativity scene on that very holy night so long ago. I really enjoyed this part of the book and Sherrill's way of creating with words a very visual mental image of that special event. She writes so well that the illustrations are just frosting on the cake.

Her weaving of the mythical Santa with the birth of Christ is highly imaginative and does provide an answer for children who ask, when hearing the story of Christmas, "But what about Santa Claus?". However, I was disappointed that Sherrill did not introduce St. Nicholas, a very real person on whom Santa is based that ties in even better with the Christ story and will not later be a potential cause for crisis of faith.

So that's a heads up for parents when considering this book. For those in favor of this tale intertwining Santa's role and the origins of his gift-giving with the birth of Christ, you will NOT be disappointed. - Biblio Reads Children's Book Review
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2010
Santa's Birthday Gift is a delightful Christmas story told in rhyme. It begins with the birth of the Savior, the visit of three kings and angels spreading the news to the shepherds. You can feel the love of Mary as she cradles her newborn baby in her arms.

She held Him and rocked Him and gave Him her love,
For she knew that her baby was sent from above;
And our Christ who would help all the world to believe,
Was asleep in a manger that first Christmas Eve. - Sherrill Cannon

The author then surprises us with a visit from Santa. I was impressed with how delicately she brings out the legend of Santa and incorporates it into the story. She helps young children realize that Santa wants to celebrate the birth of Christ by giving to others. In this small way, he is presenting his own personal gift to our Savior.

I know for a fact that children love to listen to rhyme. It seems to stimulate their senses. I would recommend this book to any child who wonders why Santa comes into the picture.

Written by Linda Weaver Clarke, author of the new mystery series "The Adventures of John and Julia Evans."
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2009
This is a heartwarming book to be enjoyed this holiday season. Beautiful story and illustrations to be shared with others.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2013
I loved this book. I gave it to a number of my friends for Christmas along with the Kneeling Santa with Jesus Ornament as well as keeping a copy for myself. At first I was a little disappointed because the book didn't seem like it was that big, but once I read it, the message was as powerful as the ornament. I definitely recommend this book because it gives the ornament more meaning.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2012
This is a wonderful book. depicting Santa as a toymaker angel, that made a promise to the baby Jesus and carries out this promise every Christmas. It's a wonderful way to tie in Santa clause to the real meaning of Christmas with our beloved savor Jesus Christ. I recommend this book for every family. It's so precious and the pictures inside are so nicely done. Well worth the money and Fun to add to your family Christmas stories.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2010
With Christmas becoming more commercialized all the time, it is hard to keep children focused on the real "Reason for the Season". It can also be difficult to explain to children why the birth of Jesus and gifts from Santa Claus are both part of Christmas. "Santa's Birthday Gift" does an excellent job of helping teach children about the first Christmas and how Santa fits into the picture. The stunning illustrations that accompany this captivating story set the mood and portray the characters in a realistic and appealing fashion. The lovely rhyming pattern of this book make it fun for children of all ages to read and listen to, while gathered around the fireplace waiting for the most joyous day of the year. This book will become a classic in families' Christmas libraries!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2016
I was disappointed that this wasn't the real story of Santa Claus and his beliefs, but a made up one really. The story says that Santa was an angel that brought Christ gifts on Christmas day. I think the true story of Santa being a religious man is much more powerful and relevant for children to learn, than this make believe one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse