Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it! Love it! Love it!
A clever story that ties Santa into the true Christmas story. My three year old daughter loves hearing this book over and over...and I love reading it to her!
Published on November 27, 2009 by Carolyn

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Confusing for kids and inaccurate introduction of Santa
I bought this book because of the high star rating. I liked the artwork and the rhythmic structure. And the biblical account of Christ's birth is solid. HOWEVER. I do not like the way Santa is incorporated into this book. He is presented as an angel who makes toys, who prays for a way to deliver them when his reindeer can't make it through the snow, and then the reindeer...
Published 7 months ago by Jessica Ferris


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it! Love it! Love it!, November 27, 2009
By 
Carolyn (Philadelphia, PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Santa's Birthday Gift (Paperback)
A clever story that ties Santa into the true Christmas story. My three year old daughter loves hearing this book over and over...and I love reading it to her!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful, inspirational book, November 19, 2009
This review is from: Santa's Birthday Gift (Paperback)
Santa's Birthday Gift
This is an adorable book that addresses the correlation of the birth of the Christ Child and the tradition of Santa Claus' visit on Christmas to all the children of the world. This book will thrill children and help explain why Santa comes on Christ's birthday every year. It will become a tradition every year along with the story of the Night Before Christmas and the Nativity. The illustrations are precious. This book may very well become your child's favorite book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great idea & well-written, too!, November 19, 2009
By 
Kim Shaffer (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Santa's Birthday Gift (Paperback)
This book is wonderful, tying together the modern themes of Christmas: the Nativity, Santa and the spirit of giving. It reads like a traditional holiday story, reminding the reader why we love classics such as 'Twas the Night Before Christmas. Lucky us that a family tradition made it onto the shelves of bookstores to be shared with children of all ages!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars She writes so well that the illustrations are just frosting on the cake., August 4, 2011
This review is from: Santa's Birthday Gift (Paperback)
I gotta tell you that I really love Sherrill's rhyme and way with words. This is the second book of hers that I have reviewed and I heartily recommend her as a children's book author.

Santa's Birthday Gift opens with the nativity scene on that very holy night so long ago. I really enjoyed this part of the book and Sherrill's way of creating with words a very visual mental image of that special event. She writes so well that the illustrations are just frosting on the cake.

Her weaving of the mythical Santa with the birth of Christ is highly imaginative and does provide an answer for children who ask, when hearing the story of Christmas, "But what about Santa Claus?". However, I was disappointed that Sherrill did not introduce St. Nicholas, a very real person on whom Santa is based that ties in even better with the Christ story and will not later be a potential cause for crisis of faith.

So that's a heads up for parents when considering this book. For those in favor of this tale intertwining Santa's role and the origins of his gift-giving with the birth of Christ, you will NOT be disappointed. - Biblio Reads Children's Book Review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To be shared!, November 29, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Santa's Birthday Gift (Paperback)
This is a heartwarming book to be enjoyed this holiday season. Beautiful story and illustrations to be shared with others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will enchant inquisitive children of all ages, January 24, 2011
This review is from: Santa's Birthday Gift (Paperback)
"Santa's Birthday Gift" is a charming children's Christmas book that explains origins of Santa's role in connection with the birth of the Christ child. "Santa's Birthday Gift" is beautifully written in a gentle versed narrative and illuminated with starlit illustrations of the Nativity including the jolly angel-elf in red known as Santa. Written in answer to a child's question about the traditional Nativity, "But where is Santa?", "Santa's Birthday Gift" is the perfect explanation of mysterious Christmas customs and traditions for young children. "Santa's Birthday Gift" will enchant inquisitive children of all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect tool for parents & teachers too!, November 24, 2010
This review is from: Santa's Birthday Gift (Paperback)
I bought this book for my daughter; but as I read it to her, I realized how perfect it was for children of all ages. I wished I'd had such a book to read to my son when he was small. It teaches the beautiful story of Christmas as we know it, but also entwines the joy and love of Santa. You may have one, without losing the other, hard to explain to a child. The bright colors kept my daughters attention and I think parents and pre-school teachers etc. could definately use this in their homes and class rooms, to teach all of the elements of Christmas. A good read.
A.M.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Charming Christmas Classic, October 24, 2010
This review is from: Santa's Birthday Gift (Paperback)
With Christmas becoming more commercialized all the time, it is hard to keep children focused on the real "Reason for the Season". It can also be difficult to explain to children why the birth of Jesus and gifts from Santa Claus are both part of Christmas. "Santa's Birthday Gift" does an excellent job of helping teach children about the first Christmas and how Santa fits into the picture. The stunning illustrations that accompany this captivating story set the mood and portray the characters in a realistic and appealing fashion. The lovely rhyming pattern of this book make it fun for children of all ages to read and listen to, while gathered around the fireplace waiting for the most joyous day of the year. This book will become a classic in families' Christmas libraries!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Santa's Birthday Gift, October 16, 2010
This review is from: Santa's Birthday Gift (Paperback)
Santa's Birthday Gift is a delightful Christmas story told in rhyme. It begins with the birth of the Savior, the visit of three kings and angels spreading the news to the shepherds. You can feel the love of Mary as she cradles her newborn baby in her arms.

She held Him and rocked Him and gave Him her love,
For she knew that her baby was sent from above;
And our Christ who would help all the world to believe,
Was asleep in a manger that first Christmas Eve. - Sherrill Cannon

The author then surprises us with a visit from Santa. I was impressed with how delicately she brings out the legend of Santa and incorporates it into the story. She helps young children realize that Santa wants to celebrate the birth of Christ by giving to others. In this small way, he is presenting his own personal gift to our Savior.

I know for a fact that children love to listen to rhyme. It seems to stimulate their senses. I would recommend this book to any child who wonders why Santa comes into the picture.

Written by Linda Weaver Clarke, author of the new mystery series "The Adventures of John and Julia Evans."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The True Meaning of Christmas Told with A Twist!, December 15, 2011
This review is from: Santa's Birthday Gift (Paperback)
I love the way Santa's Birthday Gift tie the stories of Jesus and Santa Claus together. In my family we know Christmas is about the birth of Jesus but the kids also anxiously await to see what Santa brought them. This adorable rhyming story shows Santa role in Jesus' birthday. It also teaches the lesson of giving. This story is bound to become a Christmas tradition with its simple, but beautiful retelling of the nativity scene. What a wonderful way to teach your kids the true meaning of Christmas!

*A free copy of this book was given to me for a honest review. No other compensation was provided for this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Santa's Birthday Gift
Santa's Birthday Gift by Sherrill S. Cannon (Paperback - November 3, 2009)
$11.50 $10.24
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.