Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This oldie is still the Goodie
The product offered here (Sanyo eneloop Battery Charger - For 4 AA or 4 AAA) is the MQN05U. It was the charger included in the original Sanyo Eneloop Battery Charging Kit way back in 2007. Later on that year, Sanyo phased out the MQN05 and replaced it with the MQN06 in the US market. The two chargers are similar in size (see the photo I uploaded to 'Customer Images'...
Published on June 14, 2012 by NLee the Engineer

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Not what i wanted
Sent this product back as it was not the one I wanted. I got the La Cross that charges 4 batteries at a time. Much happier.
Published 20 months ago by Patricia Kearney


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This oldie is still the Goodie, June 14, 2012
This review is from: Sanyo eneloop Battery Charger - For 4 AA or 4 AAA (Camera)
The product offered here (Sanyo eneloop Battery Charger - For 4 AA or 4 AAA) is the MQN05U. It was the charger included in the original Sanyo Eneloop Battery Charging Kit way back in 2007. Later on that year, Sanyo phased out the MQN05 and replaced it with the MQN06 in the US market. The two chargers are similar in size (see the photo I uploaded to 'Customer Images' section for comparison), and they have the same charging current of 300mA. But there is one very important distinction:

- The MQN05 charger has four independent charging channels. It can monitor the status of each cell during charging, and it stops charging whenever a cell is full. This is the only way to ensure each cell is fully-charged but not over-charged. Routine over-charging is bad for battery lifespan.

- The MQN06 charger can only charge in pairs (either 2 or 4 cells) because it has only two independent charging channels. This is most inconvenient when you have appliances that require odd number of cells. If you try to charge one half-full cell with one empty cell as a pair, charging stops as soon as the first cell is full. But that means the second cell is still half-empty (or half-full - I can never tell which one is for optimism).

On the other hand, the MQN05 can only accept 100-120V AC input. That makes it unsuitable as a travel charger. The MQN06 can accept universal voltage of 100-240V AC.

As of this writing, both the Sanyo MQN05 and MQN06 are available as about the same price. So if you are looking for an inexpensive 4-cell charger, which one should you pick? The Answer: Sony Cycle Energy BCG34HLD Power Charger! Here are the reasons why:

1. The Sony BCG34HLD offers 4 independ charging channels AND it can accept universal AC input
2. The charging current is slightly higher at 360mA. That means it takes about 6 hours for this SONY charger to fully recharge a 2000mAh eneloop cell, compared to 7 hours for the Sanyo chargers.
3. The SONY charger is more compact and streamlined, so it works better as a travel charger.

By the way, it is perfectly safe to use this Sony charger to recharge Sanyo eneloop or any other brands of rechargeable NiMH AA/AAA cells. But of course, battery manufacturers always tell you to use their own brand of chargers - for obvious reasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good charger for the Money, November 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sanyo eneloop Battery Charger - For 4 AA or 4 AAA (Camera)
This is an older model of charger from Sanyo, that has a key advantage over the newer model. This charger is a 4 channel charger capable of charging individual cells. The MQN06 charger that replaced it only charges cells in pairs.

The charger does a good job of charging 1 - 4 cells, and should be used in the vertical position with the cover closed since it uses heat to make it a semi-intelligent charger and detect an over charge state.

This is the best option currently available for a 4 channel budget charger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good design, works as it should, January 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sanyo eneloop Battery Charger - For 4 AA or 4 AAA (Camera)
Although it was made clear that there is a newer model of this charger, I chose to buy the older model for two reasons: 1) I like that it has a slide-up cover to keep the batteries from falling out, and 2) this model is reported to be able to charge 1 - 4 batteries rather than having to charge them in pairs.

The charger is attractive (yes there are some chargers that are pretty ugly), and the fold-out AC plug on the back is convenient. The fit for AA batteries is secure (note that it is important that they be inserted + side first, then slide the bottom in).

I took a star away because the charging postion for AAA batteries is not as well designed. Opposite of what was stated above, AAA batteries are inserted negative side first. However the top plus terminal is not held in securely. The battery actually tilts outward at a slight angle and since it is not held firmly in place, could fall out if the unit was jarred. Having the sliding cover helps prevent that, but it seems that the charging position for AAA batteries was an afterthought.

Please read my review on the eneloop batteries themselves, which I have posted separately. The eneloop system is quite a bit more expensive than regular rechargeable batteries but they have some significant new technology features that make the price differential worth it. Because of their different design, do not try to charge them in ordinary chargers. The Sanyo charger is reasonably priced and is designed to work with the battery technology to get the maximum benefit from the new technology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Has worked very well for me, May 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sanyo eneloop Battery Charger - For 4 AA or 4 AAA (Camera)
I purchased this charger to recharge AA & AAA Eneloop batteries. It has worked just as I had hoped on both sizes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Works great for high quality rechargeable batteries --, March 9, 2013
By 
Paul L. Sailer (los angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sanyo eneloop Battery Charger - For 4 AA or 4 AAA (Camera)
This product does everything it is supposed to. It provides a slow charge and lets you know when your batteries are charged.
It can charge 4 different brand batteries at once, and AA and AAA at the same time since unlike many chargers it charges each battery separately.

Note however that not all Eneloop chargers charge batteries separately-- so make sure you are getting this model.

Though it will charge many brands,of high quality rechargables -- it will not charge cheap low quality rechargeable batteries-- the green light will blink showing a problem.

However for high quality rechargeable batteries,like eneloop it works great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Best of the Sanyo Chargers, February 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sanyo eneloop Battery Charger - For 4 AA or 4 AAA (Camera)
This one can charge one battery at a time whereas the other version of this charger requires that batteries be charged in pairs. The reason for 4 instead of 5 stars is that the indicator light goes on if even one of the batteries is properly inserted. More than once I thought I was charging all my batteries and some came out uncharged because they weren't making a proper connection. Sanyo really needs to come out with a version of this charger with a light for each battery position. With a separate light for each pair of batteries, at least with the other charger, there is no doubt about whether the batteries are charging. La Crosse is still the better choice though it is twice as expensive.

A real plus of the Sanyo and La Crosse chargers is that they are NOT rapid chargers (though the La Crosse can be set for rapid charging). The faster the batteries are charged, the fewer recharge cycles before the batteries are useless. There is a reason that other rechargeable battery brands only sell rapid chargers, to ruin the batteries quicker and sell more batteries. Sanyo charges at 300ma and the La Crosse default is 200ma, great for battery life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It does the job, February 3, 2013
By 
Michael Sloane (Allamuchy NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sanyo eneloop Battery Charger - For 4 AA or 4 AAA (Camera)
These days, a product that does exactly what it is supposed to do in no small feat. I needed to replace dying Ni-MH batteries in my camera, and the eneloop came highly recommended. This package of charger plus batteries does the job very nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not what i wanted, December 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sanyo eneloop Battery Charger - For 4 AA or 4 AAA (Camera)
Sent this product back as it was not the one I wanted. I got the La Cross that charges 4 batteries at a time. Much happier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Works great for us!, September 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sanyo eneloop Battery Charger - For 4 AA or 4 AAA (Camera)
We purchased this charger earlier this year. It is simple to use and charges both AA and AAA rechargeable batteries. We don't travel with a battery charger so the 100-120V AC input is fine. The reason we decided on this charger was for the single battery charge option and the cover over the batteries gives it a sleek look while charging so I don't have to look at batteries hanging on the wall of a room. :) It meets our needs perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't confuse "NEW" for The Latest Model, October 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sanyo eneloop Battery Charger - For 4 AA or 4 AAA (Camera)
It's a "NEW", old model charger. What they are saying is that it's not used or it's a mistake in the add. Don't confuse it for the latest and greatest model like I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.