Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the 7870's
Firstly I have to say that this is a phenomenal card. After doing much research I concluded that the hd 7870 was the best card to get right now for price/performance ratio. For around $230-$240 this card with the 12.11 drivers just released is as fast as a stock 7950 (800mhz), and is about even with a gtx 660ti ($300).

The reason the sapphire card is the best...
Published 19 months ago by hickc

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great performance from yet another AMD card
Let me start out by saying that I have purchased this item from Amazon, but I am going to exchange it for another one because this card is so good. I am getting a lot of BSODs and have been posting on forums to try to figure out what is going on. I went so far as to reformat my computer and I am still getting the blue screens.

This card is fast and quiet...
Published on April 20, 2012 by Ashleigh


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the 7870's, December 9, 2012
This review is from: Sapphire Radeon HD 7870 GHZ OC 2 GB GDDR5 Graphics Card (11199-03-20G) (Personal Computers)
Firstly I have to say that this is a phenomenal card. After doing much research I concluded that the hd 7870 was the best card to get right now for price/performance ratio. For around $230-$240 this card with the 12.11 drivers just released is as fast as a stock 7950 (800mhz), and is about even with a gtx 660ti ($300).

The reason the sapphire card is the best of the 7870s is because of its incredible cooling. Most card manufacturers advertise great cooling, such as xfx ghost technology, asus dcu2, msi twin frozr 3 and 4 and also power color pcs+, but if you look at some online reviews, their promises don't deliver. All of the cards I just mentioned have their gaming load in the mid to high 70's C, which is only average, and actually worse than the reference 7870. The only 2 cards in my opinion which cool well for the 7870 are the sapphire and the gigabyte windforce 3 versions. They both keep their cards in the mid to high 50's C for gaming, which is incredible and a very helpful thing for extending the life of the card. The reason why I prefer sapphire to gigabyte is because the sapphire card is much quieter, since it has 2 fans compared to gigabyte's 3, and is shorter, making it easier to fit into most cases. The gigabyte card is still good, but the sapphire one takes the cake.

Throw into the mix sapphire's very nice bundled accessories, they really do give you the most accessories, and their warranty membership options, they are just the best all around. I'm not a sapphire fanboy, and I think that each company hits the nail on the head at times, but sapphire is definitely the most consistent, and for the 7870, they have the best model hands down.

This is also the card to get because it overclocks great. The average oc is about 1200 core and 1400 mem, and at these speeds it performs around about a stock 7970 ($380). A very nice increase.

This card was on sale here on amazon for $200 a few weeks ago, which is an amazing steal. I got mine for $230 which is still great value, since it performs around the level of a $300 card. The price is still a bit high right now, I'd wait until it comes down to at least $250, but it is nonetheless a great card. The 7870 runs all my games perfectly, and also makes the internet and computer in general feel more responsive.

So get this card, because you won't be disappointed.
btw, I have had no negative issues with amd drivers, even their beta drivers. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 7970's Little Brother's Time to Shine!!, March 27, 2012
This review is from: Sapphire Radeon HD 7870 GHZ OC 2 GB GDDR5 Graphics Card (11199-03-20G) (Personal Computers)
Pros:
+ Can handle every game thrown at it and still be able to run at a decent FPS, even at stock.
+ Able to have a stable overclock to 1250/1450.
+ Nice and quiet.
+ Comes with lots of extra cables and adapters.

Cons:
- Updated version of Sapphire TrixX isn't out yet so sometimes the OC for it glitches out.

Temps are around 26C at idle and around 48C at full load.
Do I have any buyers remorse with the Keplar cards coming out?? Hell nah!! I'm perfectly happy with the performance of this card!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great performance from yet another AMD card, April 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sapphire Radeon HD 7870 GHZ OC 2 GB GDDR5 Graphics Card (11199-03-20G) (Personal Computers)
Let me start out by saying that I have purchased this item from Amazon, but I am going to exchange it for another one because this card is so good. I am getting a lot of BSODs and have been posting on forums to try to figure out what is going on. I went so far as to reformat my computer and I am still getting the blue screens.

This card is fast and quiet. Let me emphasize how quiet it is...you never hear it over your normal PC fans. Maybe I have not played it long enough or OCed it enough to really make the temps high, but still it's pretty amazing that it's so quiet. My 5870 sounded like a jet taking off and my 6870 was a little better, but this thing outstanding as far as noise goes. As far as performance goes, it handles pretty much anything you throw at it. I haven't spent time overclocking to card to see how far I can take it because of my BSODs, but I heard from everyone that it can OC up too 100mHz over what the factory overclock is without any cooling. I can tell you that any stuttering I've experienced during games has not been due to the card, and I have proven it's always CPU issues or poor game programming. I am running this in only 1680x1050 and have gotten 60fps or greater in every game I tried out, even Crysis on ultra with 8x AA. The only game that couldn't handle this card was Metro 2033 on ultra which I kept getting 20-40fps while playing for my short time. However, pretty much any card has trouble with that game, so I am not going to count that against this card.

Now, let me complain about AMD and their drivers. Do not get this card yet if you have Windows XP only because there are no XP drivers that support the 7k series yet! I found that a little ridiculous since I couldn't test to see if I experienced the same issues in XP or not. As far as the Windows 7 drivers go, I have had some weird issues with my PC since I installed the card as far as windows on my PC getting corrupted and having random display driver crashes. I still cannot tell if they are related to the fact that I have gotten a dud or not, but I saw people on other forums complaining about various driver issues as well.

I'd still say that if you are in the market for a $300-400 card, this one is it.

**** UPDATE 5/11/2012 ****
Either I am a very unlucky person and I happened to get TWO bad cards, or there is something very wrong with this card/AMD's drivers/my system. I spoke with AMD, Sapphire, and my motherboard company and all of them told me that my system should run the card flawlessly. Sapphire said they have no other ideas and to return the card. AMD said they have tons of test systems running all sorts of hardware and OSes, and they claim that they have seen no issues with TDR (display driver did not respond error), blue screens, or game freezing. I was experiencing these worse with my second card, but I also updated to the latest 12.4 drivers. I tried everything to fix this: updating my bios, all 3 drivers using all sorts of driver cleaning programs, fresh install of windows 7, updating my bios, updating my VBIOS, every setting possible, etc. and every combination of these. I still have constant blue screens, freezing, issues with the clock speeds staying at their energy saving rate during gameplay, etc. Two other weird issues were that anytime I had flash running in firefox, my AMD overdrive setting would revert to default, and with 12.4, I would get terrible game performance until I alt-tabbed the game.

I don't know what to do so I am exchanging the card for a different model. This problem seems to be localized to a certain subset of users, but it definitely was there and my thread was rather popular on the forums with people all chiming in about having the same issues. The card is good, when it works, but it is something I cannot deal with. I have spent 80 hours trying to debug this problem and lost all sorts of work because of random blue screens. I would say avoid this card if you have Windows 7 64-bit and a Gigabyte GA-X58-UD3R motherboard. I never got to test with XP because the drivers weren't available at the time.

****** Special thanks to Amazon for allowing me to get replacement cards. You guys rock, and Amazon Prime has been a godsend. *******
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works great, January 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sapphire Radeon HD 7870 GHZ OC 2 GB GDDR5 Graphics Card (11199-03-20G) (Personal Computers)
Didn't have a single problem with it. Very powerful, got it cheap. If you want serious gaming without spending tons of money, this is a very good option. Came with some accessories which is nice but I think it should be good to include an HDMI cable. If you're wondering if buying this or a GTX 660, I think they will give the same performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic card., January 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sapphire Radeon HD 7870 GHZ OC 2 GB GDDR5 Graphics Card (11199-03-20G) (Personal Computers)
Used this card in an AMD 8350 build. Originally read about it on Tomshardware, and I have to say it's worth every penny of their recommendation. I run all my games at full resolution with full AA and Antrioscopic filtering, and I experience no lag or stutters. Amazing card, would recommend this card to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 7870 OC definitely bang for the buck., March 29, 2012
This review is from: Sapphire Radeon HD 7870 GHZ OC 2 GB GDDR5 Graphics Card (11199-03-20G) (Personal Computers)
7870 OC is definitely a spiffy card, I replaced my 460GTX and what an improvement!

I dont overclock, but i gotta say SKYRIM was beautiful - ran perfect running FULL HD textures

My case isn't the best so the card at the hottest hit around 50C and it idled 27-29C, definitely an improvement!

One point i was playing SC2 - Empire and Mercenaries a mass unit spawn map, and this card held up on the highest graphics with thousands of units on screen while other unfortunate people lagged or dropped out, i was doing just fine =).

i also recommend getting a minimum 650 watt PSU, I had to swap a generic one out of my computer for a corsair but all for the sake of progress =)

definitely thumbs up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Crashes, black screen, fans spin at max, June 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sapphire Radeon HD 7870 GHZ OC 2 GB GDDR5 Graphics Card (11199-03-20G) (Personal Computers)
I purchased this card for a new PC I built from scratch. Specs on my gaming rig are thus:

ASUS P8Z77 Pro board
Core i7 2600k
Sapphire Radeon 7870 OC 2GB
16 GB RAM Corsair Vengeance black
Samsung 830 128GB SSD (system + only major apps)
Seagate Barracuda 2 TB 7200 RPM HDD
Cooler Master TPC-812 heat sync
Cooler Master HAF-X Blue Edition (newegg exclusive) + all fans for all fan slots
Cooler Master silent pro gold 1000W power supply
Sony DVD burner
Win 7 64-bit
Only running a single monitor, 24" ACER on the DVI port

Processor temperature doesn't get too high nor does the video card temperature. In fact, my box stays very cool. Processor idle temps are 29-31 Celsius. When playing Skyrim on ultra, the processor can get to 57 Celsius. I have 2 fans blowing directly on my GPU as well - one from the side and one blowing toward the back of the computer.

When playing games for long periods of time, 3+ hours, at least once in this time period my screen will go black (video signal is lost), the fans will spin at max, and the only way to stop this is a hard shut down by holding down the power button. There have been a lot of documented cases online. Just search for "Sapphire 7870 crash" or "Sapphire 7870 black screen" and you will see pages of precisely this issue.

Apart from these crashes, this is a good mid-range card. It runs at low temperatures and delivers good frame rates. However, the constant crashing has left a bad taste in my mouth. Since it's been over the 30 days with Amazon, I'll see if my credit card company will refund my purchase. I really wanted to like this card based off of the reviews I read at Tom's Hardware and other sources. But the regular crashing makes keeping this card untenable. I've also read that people who have RMA'd this card still experience the same issue with their replacement.

I'll probably end up going for the EVGA GeForce GTX 680 with the dual fans. This has been my first experience with Radeon on the PC and with Sapphire Technology cards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Random system lockups in certain games, May 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sapphire Radeon HD 7870 GHZ OC 2 GB GDDR5 Graphics Card (11199-03-20G) (Personal Computers)
I had nothing but problems with this card. It started with BSOD's while web browsing. It appears to have been an AMD driver issue which was fixed by using 3rd party uninstallers (AMD's uninstaller doesn't work well) and reinstalling CCC. Then I started experience random system freezes while gaming that required a reboot. For me, this happened only in Skyrim and Shogun 2. Apparently Tera and other games also have problems. The whole HD 7xxx line appear to have issues with Shogun 2 which Creative Assembly are trying to fix (check their support forums).

In the midst of all of the system freezes, I started getting RAID corruption and reinstalled Windows 7. The freezing problem persisted even after a fresh install. Sapphire recommended a 3rd RMA. AMD told me that they were aware of the problems with the HD 7xxx line and Shogun 2 and Skyrim. They said that because the drivers are new the card was bound to have compatibility problems, and that I should be patient and wait for the next driver release.

These problems may occur only with certain builds. Or it might be the case that they produced a lot of defective cards. Whatever the case, I am back to my old card which is working flawlessly and I will be buying a different brand next time.

I will say this, if you can get the card to work. It was great. Witcher 2, BF3, and Crysis 2 looked amazing with this card (there were some flickering issues). However, because of the problems I had, I can't recommend it to anyone.

The 2 stars are because of how well it ran some of my games, but the problems I was having were just unacceptable.

Note: I am rating the product, but I give Amazon 5 stars for their amazing customer support. I requested an RMA at 7pm and received my new card the next day without any hassle. I will be buying all of my computer components from Amazon from now on and will be recommending that all of my friends do the same. They are second to none.

The card was one of the worst experiences I've had with a product. Amazon customer support was one of the best customer support experiences I've had.

As of 5/11/12, I would also like to add that with the advent of Nvidias GTX 670, you can expect the prices of this ($360) and all ATI cards to drop pretty soon as the GTX 670 undercuts ATI's cards in a performance per price scale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome card for the money, February 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sapphire Radeon HD 7870 GHZ OC 2 GB GDDR5 Graphics Card (11199-03-20G) (Personal Computers)
I haven't upgraded my video card for a number of generations and this is definitely worth the money without question. The card is fast and quiet with superior documentation and packaging. It was my first product owned by Sapphire and I will most surely purchase one of their products in the future. My only gripe is with the newest set of AMD drivers causing some graphical glitches that the stock drivers that came on the installation disk didn't have. I a sure that future diver releases will rectify the problem and since it really isn't related to the product itself...forget I put them here.

Overall EXCELLENT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good card, February 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sapphire Radeon HD 7870 GHZ OC 2 GB GDDR5 Graphics Card (11199-03-20G) (Personal Computers)
Good value, mining lte with few errors. Heating garage with a small rig and its pretty quiet. Would buy more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sapphire Radeon HD 7870 GHZ OC 2 GB GDDR5 Graphics Card (11199-03-20G)
Used & New from: $409.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.