Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another enjoyable novel from Deanna Sletten
Realistic descriptions and well-developed characters make Sara's Promise come to life for the reader. In the first few pages, Deanna superbly captures the angst of the teen years with Sara's daughter and then allows the reader to 'meet' each character as the story unfolds. Without giving away too much of the storyline, I'm particularly impressed with the way Deanna...
Published 23 months ago by Crystal Marie

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quick and Easy
Nothing new. Predictable. Book was lent to me. You can skim and not miss anything. Author does have talent. Definitely. Anyone who can put words to paper and make a story and publish has talent. Its not an easy process I would think. I can't do it. That's why I read. I don't know if this author has any other novels out. I will certainly look. Maybe with a fresh story...
Published 9 months ago by P. Alexander


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another enjoyable novel from Deanna Sletten, December 22, 2012
This review is from: Sara's Promise (Kindle Edition)
Realistic descriptions and well-developed characters make Sara's Promise come to life for the reader. In the first few pages, Deanna superbly captures the angst of the teen years with Sara's daughter and then allows the reader to 'meet' each character as the story unfolds. Without giving away too much of the storyline, I'm particularly impressed with the way Deanna handled the experience of death from the character's perspective -

"The warm glow that illuminated the colors smiled at her. She found herself happily rising up to them, ready to embrace their beauty and become one with the colors..."

Read Sara's promise - I'm sure you'll enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Lovely Love Story, December 20, 2012
This review is from: Sara's Promise (Kindle Edition)
If you've read Deanna Sletten's work, then you know what a deft touch she has with her characters. Sara's Promise follows that same tradition. The characters are real. They will make you cry, cheer, and cringe, but they won't let you down. In the long run, Deanna's story is one of forgiveness and hope. It is also about the cycle of life, and this is touchingly illustrated by the way the beautiful cover ties in with the ending of the book. All in all, a lovely, lovely love story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SOULMATES FOREVER, December 13, 2012
By 
This review is from: Sara's Promise (Kindle Edition)
Two women die at the same time. One comes back and the other doesn't.

"Sara's Promise" tells the story of Sara Grafton's family life, a life that her family struggles to carry on after her sudden death. Captured in a beautiful Oregon seaside setting, "Sara's Promise" is about love and regret. Sara never regretted her choice to become a full-time wife and mother rather than pursuing a potentially successful career as an artist. Sara's husband, William, lived comfortably in his perfect world with Sara and their two children. He never realized all the things his wife did for him and the children, until she was gone. Their teenage daughter, Sandy, didn't regret her rebellious and hateful acts against her mother, until her mother passed away.

Five years later, free-lance photographer, Annie Paxton, steps into lives of the still grieving Grafton family. She comes to them by choice and through divine intervention. Her presence brings both healing and confusion to the Grafton family and within her own heart. Has she found her soulmate? How will she know? Find out in this compelling love story about life, death, and what Sara's promise meant to Annie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking and beautiful!, January 2, 2013
This review is from: Sara's Promise (Kindle Edition)
Sara's Promise grabbed my attention from the get go and hasn't let go, even after turning the last page. The characters were solid and true to themselves and the story was very compelling.

I couldn't imagine dying and leaving my family behind but, if the time came, I could only wish to be given the opportunity Sara had to care for her family from beyond the grave. The story line is relatively untouched and the characters so refreshingly real - even if elements of the plot are imaginary - that I'd recommend this book for female readers everywhere. Very enjoyable and I'll definite read titles by this author in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sara's Promise, January 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sara's Promise (Kindle Edition)
Do you believe in soul mates? Do you believe in everlasting love, even after your loved one has passed away?

Two women pass away ... as they are suspended between life and death, they engage in a conversation which leads one of the women to urge the other to take her place among the living so she can love and take care of her family as if they were her own.

When Sara Grafton suddenly dies, her husband William and teenage children Sandy and Sam struggle to go on with their lives. Sara vowed to always look after her family, even through divine intervention from beyond the grave.

Five years later, the Grafton family is still struggling with grief over the loss of their wife and mother.

Annie Paxton doesn't believe in soul mates and isn't looking for love. But when she meets the man who has been haunting her dreams, William Grafton, she feels an attraction for him.

William isn't looking for a replacement for the soul mate that he has lost, but when he meets Annie, there is a familiarity about her that attracts him to her.

Can Annie and William's relationship blossom into love, or will William's love for his lost soul mate hold him back from having a second chance at love?

Will Sara's Promise to always take care of her family bring happiness and love back into their lives ... even through divine intervention?

Sara's Promise is a poignantly touching story about soul mates and everlasting love. It is also the uplifting story of love, loss, hope and forgiveness. Author Deanna Lynn Sletten weaves a captivating tale of love and forgiveness that will simply pull at your heartstrings. Told in the third person narrative, the reader is swept along with Sara, William, Sandy, Sam and Annie on a journey of healing and love given through the cycle of life. Through a beautiful crafting of words, Deanna captures the essence between life and death; the struggles of loving, losing and second chances; and the belief that everlasting love does exist even after death.

The author draws the reader into the lives of Annie Paxton and the Grafton family as they battle individual personal conflicts while trying to maintain their family structure. The emotional battles and life changes that occur in their lives are realistic, the reader can easily relate to them. You can't help but feel for Annie and the Grafton family as their journey of healing is fulfilled through Sara's heavenly promise. Throughout this story, the author effortlessly provides the reader with the uplifting message that love, hope and forgiveness transcends death. Sara's Promise will make you a believer that soul mates and everlasting love really do exist!

With a realistic cast of characters who come alive and jump off the pages; a richly detailed and descriptive setting along the Oregon seaside; and a simply inspirational storyline that will have the reader experiencing the full gamut of emotions, Sara's Promise is a tenderhearted story of love that will touch your heart and soul, and will resonate with you long after the last page has been read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great story, December 20, 2012
This review is from: Sara's Promise (Kindle Edition)
Each book that Ms. Sletten writes is always better than the last one. This story is aboutt love that goes on even after death. Our loved ones always look out for us even after they've passed on.

This is a love story that goes beyond what we think love should be.

If you are thinking of getting a book for someone as a Christmas gift, I highly recommend this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Written and easy to read, December 28, 2012
This review is from: Sara's Promise (Kindle Edition)
I got to know Deanna Lynn Sletten through BookBlogs and posting about this new book's release in early December 2012. It was a honor to meet her and work with her making this book a success. A Contemporary Woman's fiction Romance that will keep you busy. Fast paced, well written to the very end. Leaving you with no questions but just the thrill of reading a good book.

She asked me afterwards to review the book and I was pleased that I agreed to do this.
A delightful Romance with all the twists and turns of a new budding relationship. You are drawn into the lives of William, Annie, Sandy, Sam and Sara's. Sara, the first wife who vowed to always look after them even when she was gone, sending Annie in her place to look after her family. To love them and care for them as her own.

Deanna really captured the essence of these two people as they struggle to get past the hold and love that Sara had in his life to be accepted as a person herself. To not continue with the same mistakes he made in his first marriage but accept her for who she is.
Driven by dreams Annie found her way to the small Seaside town where this family lived and through many "coincidences" they met and become part of each other's life. Through the turmoil William and Annie found love, the grown children accepting her as a part of their lives. I really liked both Sandy and Sam's characters each playing their part to bring these two people together. Determined to see their father happy.
I good read that I can recommend. The love were sweet, their growth as a couple mature and well sketch to become part of the characters life's during the read of the book.
Well done Deanna.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4 inspirational stars! A different and unique story, June 15, 2013
By 
This review is from: Sara's Promise (Kindle Edition)
4 inspirational stars!

Sara's Promise is a book which makes you think, but it still manages to maintain a light atmosphere making it a unique read.

From the author's website:

---------------------------
Do you believe in soul mates?

William Grafton had the perfect life with his lovely wife, Sara, and two wonderful children. But one day his perfect forever was shattered when Sara died suddenly, leaving him alone to raise his children and wonder how he would ever get through life without his soul mate. Five years later, he finds himself looking into a familiar pair of blue-green eyes that remind him of Sara. The woman is the exact opposite of his late wife, yet he finds he is drawn to her. But after a few strange occurrences, he begins to wonder-are these just coincidences or has his Sara come back to him as she once promised in the form of this new woman?

Does love last forever - even in death?

Annie Paxton doesn't believe in soul mates or fate. She had watched her father die of a broken heart after her mother passed away and has since cast away any fairy tale ideas of love. Then she meets the man who has been haunting her dreams and she begins to see love in a whole new light. But her dream man is still tied to his deceased wife, and Annie doesn't know if he will ever be able to break away from his past. As strange occurrences unfold, Annie wonders if William could ever truly love her for herself and not for the traits that remind him of Sara.

Were William and Annie brought together by fate, coincidence or by Sara keeping her promise?
----------------------------

Sara's Promise starts on a rather sad note when William's wife passes away. At first I thought the beginning to be quite depressing but later realized how important it was for the story. William Grafton has many regrets and experiencing Sara's last days and her last wish was very moving and much more hopeful than sad.

When Annie comes into William's life, a few years have passed but he hasn't moved on at all. Rather, he is still a little bit in denial. His son has flourished under his father's care and devotion but Will's daughter still struggles with herself and her place in the world.

I appreciated how Annie never tried to replace Sara but cared about Will and his family in her own way. While the background is an inspirational one with Sara guiding this love story, it fades a bit during the main storyline and only resurfaces again towards the end. I loved this part because it emphasized that Annie is her own person and completely different from Will's first wife. Annie is a career woman while Sara enjoyed being a stay-at-home mom and wife. William struggles with accepting Annie's ambition and drive and that is one of the main obstacles the couple has to overcome.

Annie is very cautious when it comes to Will's children but she has a special bond with his daughter. I enjoyed reading about Sammy's journey as well and Annie has a special part in Sammy forgiving herself for her mother's death. The Grafton family has a lot to work through and that can be tough on a new relationship. At the same time, Will and Annie feel comfortable with each other but hesitate to take the next step. Everything feels too good, too natural and easy.

I would have liked William to be a bit stronger but considering his past, his actions were understandable. Still, I thought Annie dominated most of the time and I wanted William to step up once in a while.

Sara's Promise was a big surprise for me. I went out on a limb when I decided to give this book a try because the whole soul-mate-in-death theory is not something I usually go for. I'm glad I went out of my comfort zone because I really enjoyed Sara's Promise and loved how Deanna Lynn Sletten dealt with this inspirational aspect of the story without once bringing up religion in any way. Definitely recommended and not going to be my last book by this author!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful story!!!, February 11, 2014
By 
Lolamyn (WAshington,USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sara's Promise (Kindle Edition)
I was amazed, and touched emotionally by the storyline and the characters. I had a hard time putting it down till I finished the book. Definitely recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a different twist for a love story, April 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sara's Promise (Kindle Edition)
This is a good story, I completely enjoyed it. Not the typical, predictable story line. It was an interesting read, well written and one I actually kept on my Kindle. I usually delete the books after I read them, but this one is a keeper! A fun read that will keep you guessing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sara's Promise
Sara's Promise by Deanna Lynn Sletten
$3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.