Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I couldn't put it down
Wow! What a ride!
This book does a fabulous job of bringing alive the experience of being in the desert of Sudan. As you read, you feel the sun beating down on you, burning your skin and parching your throat. You feel the grit of the sand as it works its way into your shoes. Yet you can't stop as you know the fate of the work weighs on the shoulders of the...
Published on September 24, 2009 by Lauren A. Friedman

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A "coming of age" story
Satan's Chamber is a very special look into the "coming of age" of Tory Pierce. This book does NOT include all the violence/advocacy for women as the Larsson trilogy offers, but instead gives a very subtle, exciting, and provocative study into a young woman's search for her father and symbolic meaning into the world's mysteries. This book can be read by a PG audience...
Published on February 7, 2011 by Gretchen O'Halloran


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I couldn't put it down, September 24, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Satan's Chamber (Paperback)
Wow! What a ride!
This book does a fabulous job of bringing alive the experience of being in the desert of Sudan. As you read, you feel the sun beating down on you, burning your skin and parching your throat. You feel the grit of the sand as it works its way into your shoes. Yet you can't stop as you know the fate of the work weighs on the shoulders of the characters. It is a great, fast-paced story told in a way that transports you into thier shoes. If you like spy novels or conspiracy theories, you will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Can't Put It Down Thriller, November 3, 2009
This review is from: Satan's Chamber (Paperback)
When a young CIA agent on her second assignment arrives in Sudan, she finds bad guys in the wrong places, good guys in unexpected places, and a priestess whose lineage goes back thousands of years. Molly Best Tinsley and Karetta Hubbard have woven a tale of excitement and danger that's chilling in its authenticity. I'm waiting for the sequel.
Addie Greene,
Author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I lost sleep over this book, January 23, 2010
This review is from: Satan's Chamber (Paperback)
Satan's Chamber started being my bedtime reading. Then I was taking it to the Y to work out with. You know you have a good book when you both stay up too late to finish it AND slow down so it doesn't end. I learned so much about Sudanese politics as well as how the CIA operates. And the great part? The three leading characters were female ... and tough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engaging, Finely-Crafted and Literate - Well Worth the Read, October 27, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Satan's Chamber (Hardcover)
This is a memorable book. From the powerful female leads (who don't gain their strength from silly caricatures of the male characters, but on their own merits) to the fast pace of plot and vivid settings, this book engages and propels the reader through an eerily realistic journey. At first, the present tense voice surprised me, but that surprise quickly faded as the authors clearly use the tool to "shorten the lens," pulling me deeper into the story. I was also very impressed with the almost Hemingway-esque dialogue that moved the story with nary a "she said" to distract or slow the pace. Finally, this English professor clearly shines with well crafted sentences (I dare you to find a split infinitive or dangling participle - you won't!) that actually invite you to pause occasionally and consider the bigger issues behind the story itself. As entertaining as this book is, you will very likely find yourself not only racing to the conclusion but also pondering the implications of this story in our own rapidly shrinking world.

On another note, the production quality of the hardback is excellent! I wasn't familiar with this publisher, but was quite impressed with the weight of the paper and the cover underneath the dust jacket. Since this one is well worth a re-read, that was a pleasant surprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tory: Get a clue!, February 25, 2011
This review is from: Satan's Chamber (Paperback)
This book is a great read and a page turner. From scene to sequel it kept moving, never slowed down. The descriptions of Sudan and Khartoum were so real I'm sure at least one of the authors have been there. I think they nailed the essence of inter-agency Washington back-stabbing and the scenes in and about the CIA felt so accurate that I suspect at least one of them has worked there. Of course if you ask them they're liable to deny everything.

My favorite character was Maud, I'd like to see her with more to do in the sequels. which brings us to Tory. For the first part of the book she drove me nuts. I kept asking myself "When is this girl going to get a clue?" In fact she reminded me of my daughter who is about the same age. Smart, educated but untried and a little unsure. Tory is no comic book superhero ala Jason Bourne. She is written so real that she makes mistakes, just like real life, but she learns. I think this is an exciting, solid story with enough legs to carry several sequels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent & Engaging, December 6, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Satan's Chamber (Paperback)
From the first sentence, Satan's Chamber draws you into a paradoxical world of international corruption and grass-roots revolution. It is a world populated with three dimensional characters who each face an internal struggle with the decision to look out for number one or to risk trusting others and joining forces to acheive their goals. But knowing whom to trust can be tricky business - just ask Tory Pierce, the fiercely independent CIA operative who is definitely in over her head. You will come away from reading Satan's Chamber with greater geographical and historical knowledge of Sudan, insight to the scary world of geopolitical corruption, hope that good will prevail, and the urge to get your hands on the next Tory Pierce mystery...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Page Turner!, February 10, 2010
By 
Avid Reader (Annapolis, MD,USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Satan's Chamber (Paperback)
Want to jump into a thriller that immediately piques your curiosity and continues to intrigue you throughout? This is your book. The original and riveting scenes pull you in, whether it be to the offices of the CIA or the exotic and tumultuous world of Sudan, which is revealed in a way that both fascinates and educates. And just when you think you know what's about to happen, it's something else - a twist at every turn! These authors need not take a back seat to any male writer in the genre -technical accuracy, full-steam-ahead action, strong characters, and fine writing make it a satisfying read in every way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have to finish it tonight!, February 4, 2011
By 
mary maher (Ashland, OR United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Satan's Chamber (Paperback)
This book begins with a scene that is so sharp it defies photography. Once that operative is down, you simply can't wait until you know all the puzzle's bits and pieces under this desert Sudanese sun. There is masterful writing here, swift and savvy, an absorbing story of danger and seduction. But what I relish are the wonderfully drawn women characters and the power they are given because they are smart and witty---just like the novel. Proves that cunning and machinations, guts and talent, are also part of the survival of the fittest female.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Treat Yourself to Satan's Chamber, February 20, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Satan's Chamber (Paperback)
***** Five Stars for Satan's Chamber!!!!
Hold on to your seat, you will LOVE the ride! Satan's Chamber is a "must read" for all you spy thriller addicts. The heroin Tory Pierce, captured me from the start....a young woman earning her stripes at the CIA with uber smarts, a sense of unbridled adventure, and a good heart. Hubbard and Tinsley take you on a magical journey to the Sudan where the best and worst of human nature come to life in characters that really make you care what happens. Go get Satan's Chamber....you'll be glad you did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like a Box of Chocolates!, September 27, 2010
This review is from: Satan's Chamber (Paperback)
Thank you, Karetta & Molly, for a high-speed, well researched, politically correct story of intrigue that has all the elements in bullet-fast chapters full of engaging and well developed characters. Fantastic visualization, whether if be facial expressions, the dark of night, hot and dusty Sudanese desert, vibrant colors, pungent smells, and powerful chemistry at play. Have already envisioned actors to play the key parts in the screen version. Long live Tory Pierce and Bart Wilkins. Sure hope they hook up sometime!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Satan's Chamber
Satan's Chamber by Molly Best Tinsley (Paperback - August 1, 2009)
$19.95 $16.21
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.