Back to Business Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Chi-Raq Bose SoundTouch 130 Amazon Fire TV Stick Luxury Beauty Valentine's Day Cards Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Shop Now DOTD

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 17 reviews(3 star). Show all reviews
on July 23, 2007
This rerelease has to be the biggest DISAPPOINTMENT of the year!!! Where are the bonus cuts? How about some unreleased demos? How about the limited edition DJ only 12" promotional single versions of "Stayin' Alive" (6:55), "Night Fever" (4:50), "More Than A Woman" (4:43), "If I Can't Have You" (by Yvonne Elliman) (4:00) & "You Should Be Dancin'" (4:47)[RSO catalog # PRO 033]? How about both the live and studio versions of "Jive Taking", each released on various editions of the vinyl soundtrack (studio version on early copies, live on later)? How about the '83 medley (entited "Saturday Night Mix") only released before in Europe [B side of "The Woman in You" UK 12"]? How about the DJ only Ultimix remix of "Staying Alive" or the Hot Tracks remix of "Night Fever", neither ever released commercially? How about the Ben Leibrand remix of Taveres' "More Than A Woman"? How about the songs from the David Shire score that didn't make it on the original album? How about the label doing some research and uncovering these lost gems? How about Rhino blows it AGAIN!!! Sorry, Rhino but YOU HAVE REALLY LOST IT!
1414 comments44 of 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2009
This is the first and last "remastered" mp3 I will be downloading. The heart and soul of this album has been stripped away in an effort to "refine" the sound. As someone else posted here, this is the perfect production if you are driving in your car at 80 mph with the windows rolled down. Too shimmery and brilliant, even for dance music. Lesson learned. I will stick to "Album versions" from now on.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2001
Disco never really sucked, anymore than the blues or country suck. A genre doesn't suck; there are just good and bad examples of each type of music. Nowhere is that more evident than on the Saturday Night Fever soundtrack. Let's face it - this would not be one of the top-selling albums of all time were it not for a very hip advertising campaign (I can remember seeing the ads as a nine-year-old and thinking, "Man, I gotta sneak in somehow and see that!"). The Bee Gees songs are really all this collection needed, and it would have been four or five star material. The Brothers Gibb have aged surprisingly well - but almost everything else on here is expendable, with the exception of the transcendant "Disco Inferno" by the Trampps - burn that mother down! Almost worth the price right there. A good album to have in the collection, if only as a snapshot of the culture at a certain time and place.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 1998
On this soundtrack, the Bee Gees made disco palatable to a mass white audience with their massive hits. Their real novelty and talent is in their song writing and vocal harmonies much more than in the danceable grooves they employed but didn't pioneer. Nonetheless, there are still some fine pop songs of the time that work well with the film. For more compelling and adventurous disco-era fodder listen to the selections on the soundtrack from Kool and the Gang, The Trammps, or Ralph McDonald. Be forewarned that if you haven't heard this soundtrack in a while, it may not sound as good as you remember it when you were shaking your thing in a polyester suit under a big disco ball way back when.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2014
If you liked the movie, you will really like the CD. Otherwise, there are far too few Bee Gee performances and way too many other less talented performers.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2014
I did not realize it was the movie soundtrack and there are a lot of instrumental music. But at least some of the hits were cool. I will keep it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2014
This "CD" was on my Wish List - though a very low priority. But, at this great sale price ... could not pass it up. TYSM, AMAZON!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2014
Loved the Bee Gees part of it, but there are many cuts that, while in the movie, are not as exciting.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2014
Nostalgic and whimsy. Mom loves it. Fun to just cut loose with.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2000
I remember when I first got the soundtrack, I hear that the Bee Gees working real good on the hits of "Stayin' Alive", "Night Fever","You Should Be Dancing", and good ballad work on "How Deep Is You Love". Nice work! And also I like the song that Walter Murphy did with a Beethoven standard which was probably based on Beethoven's fifth symphony called "A Fifth of Beethoven" and the classic samba of Ralph MacDonald's "Calypso Breakdown" with more percussion and more band playing features the piano work and the horns' work. On David Shire's work on "Salsation", he did a good job preparing that song into a big band blast with the pressing trumpet solo and a big jazz work on the flute. Like the trumpet solo better than I like the flute solo. Excellent work he did on "Manhattan Skyline" and "Night On Disco Mountain". So does Kool & The Gang with a disco funky breakdown and the rocking big break from M.F.S.B in "K-Jee",K.C. and the Sunshine Band in "Boogie Shoes", the Tavares singing the Bee Gees' standard "More Than A Woman", Yvonne Elliman singing another standard from the Bee Gees called "If I Can't Have You" and the funky and soul hit from the Trammps in the smash cut "Disco Inferno". I always love this soundtrack very good beacuse it's a classic that many people enjoy to listen all the time. I say I called it a big smash!
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.