Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SCORPIONS WITH A LOTTA LUST!!!!!!
Let's start looking at the time this album was released...Hair Metal ruled the rock scene in the late 80's, with a lot of ridiculous hype bands raising the hit parades, and the "appice" of this "movement" was the Def Leppard's
album "Hysteria" (1987),where the band sold millions of copies of this underrated album...Scorpions' last hit was "Still Loving You"(one of...
Published on August 7, 2003 by miguelangelobc

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yes its a later album, but...
By 1988 alot of things had changed in the musical landscape. Newer but not neccesarily better production techniques were being used and everyone from Judas Priest to Yes were using more "modern" sounding things like drum machines or an "echoey" mix. Now the Scorpions are "guilty" in using some of these techniques on this album, and all songs...
Published on September 1, 2002 by Mattowarrior


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SCORPIONS WITH A LOTTA LUST!!!!!!, August 7, 2003
By 
"miguelangelobc" (Rio de Janeiro, RJ Brasil) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Savage Amusement (Audio CD)
Let's start looking at the time this album was released...Hair Metal ruled the rock scene in the late 80's, with a lot of ridiculous hype bands raising the hit parades, and the "appice" of this "movement" was the Def Leppard's
album "Hysteria" (1987),where the band sold millions of copies of this underrated album...Scorpions' last hit was "Still Loving You"(one of the best rock ballads ever), and I think that the pression was very strong to the band repeat the success on "Savage Amusement",so...That album has the shape of Hair Metal(take a look on the back cover - they're looking like Def Leppard or Bon Jovi - ARGHHH!!!),the production points this way all the time and this album, at first, has everything to be the worst Scorpions' album...but it is NOT!!! Incredibly, they recorded the best Hair Metal album I've ever hearded!!! It's serious...Def Leppard,Bon Jovi and Poison don't have Klaus Meine
on vocals neither Rudolf Schencker on compositions and Mathias Jabs kickin' ass on solo guitars!!! Try listen without prejudice to this album (don't look at the back cover and don't watch the video clips, please), and what you'll hear is the great melody and sensibility of this GREAT rock band...An exemple: the solo in the introduction of "Believe In Love"...the shape used on the recording was pure Hair Metal, but take a "look" deeper in the melody...it's beautiful!!!Listen carefully to Klaus' vocals in "Walking On The Edge" and "Believe In Love"...it's beatiful!!!Listen to the song "Rhythm of Love"...it's a rock masterpiece!!! "Don't Stop At The Top" is a strong rock song; "Passion Rules The Game" and "Every Minute Every Day" are slow rock songs like only Scorpions know how to do; "Love On The Run" is more fast and aggressive than the other songs,with an almost-punk beat; "We Let It Rock...You Let It Roll" and "Media Overkill" are genuine Hair Metal, but yet with the talent of the band making difference(listen to Mathias Jabs' solos!!!)...That's it, guys...In my opinion, "Savage Amusement" is an underestimated classic of rock, but undoubtly a CLASSIC!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great album, AMAZING remaster, February 6, 2008
By 
This review is from: Savage Amusement (Audio CD)
I know that the Scorpions' albums from this era aren't universally loved, and that longtime fans in particular were not pleased by the band's crossover into more radio friendly territory, but for those of us who discovered the Scorpions in the mid to late 80's, these are the albums that define the band's sound.

Case in point - 1988's Savage Amusement. Coming on the heels of the monster hit Love at First Sting, Savage Amusement finds the band continuing their arena rocking heavy metal sound. This is a first rate 80's metal album all the way. Hearing Rudolf Schenker's guitar work on this album reminds me of a skilled surgeon at work. He just gets in there and cuts with incredible precision. This first rate metal guitar work makes it much easier to overlook the band's love-obsessed lyrical content. And of course there are Klause Meine's unique and powerful vocals. I can't imagine ever hearing the term "German metal" and NOT immediately thinking of Meine's voice. Savage Amusement doesn't have a super anthem on par with Rock You Like a Hurricane here, but there are plenty of great rockers, including Don't Stop at the Top, Passion Rules the Game, and Media Overkill. The album also features two of the band's bigger hits in Rhythm of Love and the sappy ballad Believe in Love. I can see how these kinds of songs could put off some fans, but overall this is a very hard rocking album, ballads or not.

Love at First Sting is the better album, but Savage Amusement comes pretty close. It's a great example of the Scorpions sound in the 80's, and 20 years later remains one of my favorite albums from that era.

NOTE: The 2001 EMI reissue of Savage Amusement features absolutely AMAZING digitally remastered sound. It's a dramatic improvement in sound quality over the original, and in fact sounds like something released today. Even without bonus tracks, the improved sound quality makes replacing your older version totally worthwhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scorpions' last gem, September 26, 2006
By 
This review is from: Savage Amusement (Audio CD)
I can't understand people saying this album doesn't rock. It certainly rocks and it's one of Scorpions' best!!

In my opinion, all of Scorpions albums from In trance to Savage Amusement deserve 5 stars and no less. I agree witht the other reviewer that says that it's a shame that Don't stop at the top didn't become a classic. Yeah, I'd surely love to hear it in every Scorpions' concert! When this album was released I was still in high school, and great memories come to my mind everytime I listen to it. Some people may say the lyrics are silly, I have to disagree, they rock! Don't stop at the top has certainly contributed to the philosophy of my life!

This is also one of the most solid Scorpions albums, no weak points in here, most songs are worth 5 stars (I would give 6 stars to Walking in the edge).

It's a shame that the band no longer considers this one as of their most important records, and often play in concerts only "Rhythm of love" (an excellent song, by the way). I can't believe how can they play more songs from Crazy World (a much more uneven record). Scorpions surely did experience a very serious decay during the 90's, but in this new decade they have kept on digging the hole. They have not only offered two horrible live albums (Acoustica and the Berliner Philamorniker), but the "Unbreakable" comeback (what a horrible title!! It reminds me of Michael Jackson, I don't know why), which many say it rocks and I only say it bores (Eye to eye is better than that).

Savage amusement is a lost gem that every true Scorpions fan must own!!This is an essential!!!! Scorpions at the top (before they dropped!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect follower!, December 11, 2002
By 
This review is from: Savage Amusement (Audio CD)
Why people critise "Savage Amusement" for being lackluster, disappointing and anything, is still unknown for me. Play "Love at First Sting" first, then directly play "Savage Amusement". Scorpions sounded incredible on this record, the sound was better than on "Love at First Sting" and the songs are just as powerful, and although it didnt boost the same hits as its prequel, there are still so many wonderful songs here, that its hard to start with one. Superb gems on this record is "Rhythm of Love", "Passion Rules the Game", "Media Overkill", "Every minute Every Day" and the utterly Genius and powerful "Believe in Love", another Power Ballad.
Each of this song is almost as good as the songs on Love at First Sting, except for Believe in Love, which is better. After listening to Still Loving you for 10 years, discovering "Believe in Love" this summer was an incredible experience. This album suits me better than earlier Scorpions, as I prefer Power Ballads, and Mean and Clean Rock combined with wonderful melodies. This record got less raw powerful sound than Love at First Sting, but the production is cleaner, and the melodies sounds better. It may not match Love at First Sting, but that does not prevent this from being a perfect follow up to the perfect Rock album.
Strongly Recommended!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yes its a later album, but..., September 1, 2002
By 
Mattowarrior "Mattowarrior" (Madison, WI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Savage Amusement (Audio CD)
By 1988 alot of things had changed in the musical landscape. Newer but not neccesarily better production techniques were being used and everyone from Judas Priest to Yes were using more "modern" sounding things like drum machines or an "echoey" mix. Now the Scorpions are "guilty" in using some of these techniques on this album, and all songs seem tailored to be hits, BUT, this album is not without great songs that can match up to anything from "Blackout" or "Love at First Sting". "Rhythm of Love" and especially the very inspiring "Don't Stop at the Top" can be definitely called classic songs. Good for the hardcore fan and some of the last truly melodious material they worked with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scorpions Moving with the Times!!, August 5, 2001
By 
Lawrence Ryan (Kansas City, Missouri United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Savage Amusement (Audio CD)
I can care less for the many reviews that slam this Album. Too much comparing to the other Albums that preceded Savage Amusement! At the time Savage Amusement came out I was 18 years old, I was young and more or less loving the big 80's hair band movement. This became my favorite Tape to listen to at the time, if there were a fire in my house at the time, I would save this copy above all the rest of them.
Times do change......and so do the Scorpions! They in my opinion CAN Afford to be creative with their music! They CAN Afford to Blend with the times! Over 30 years of being the best in what they do......They Rock.....they write some of the best Ballads in the Business, they are the best on stage in front of an audience......Savage Amusement if you have to compare with the rest of their CD Library......is not the best received by critics or Audience, but I cannot imagine Not having this added to my collection simply because a few people don't think it is Scorpions best material......simply put......if your a Scorpions fan and remember the 80's gracefully, "Savage Amusement" is something you cannot pass up! Every song works well with each other.......Every song is one that can be heard over and over. I own almost every Scorpions Cd (with the exception of "Taken by Force" and Tokyo Tapes"....both of which I did at one point own on Cassette and wore both out).
I never write a review unless it is a Possitive one, This review is an overwelmingly Possitive outlook for Savage Amusement.....My Favorite songs from this album at the time it was released is "Don't Stop at the Top" and "Walking on the Edge" But like I said....every song is a good one! So take this review as others with a Grain of Salt and judge for yourself! Its all in how you percieve it and how it touches you personaly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scorps Rock!, June 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Savage Amusement (Audio CD)
My favorite Scorpions CD and I really like a lot of their CDs. This CD seems underrated compared to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as it may seem..., May 3, 2001
By 
C. P. M. Kassenaar (Dieren- Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Savage Amusement (Audio CD)
Well, at first this album was a bit of a disappointment for me too, being to poppy and flurry. But then, after hearing most of the songs live at their following world tour, the songs really catched me (or better: the way they were performed on stage).
Live the scorps still perform very good, and songs like Don't Stop At The Top, We let it rock...You let it roll, Every Minute, Every Day and (yes!) Media Overkill stand like concrete buildings. Awesome.
Since then I enjoy Savage Amusement every now and then in my cd-player. Too bad however that it needed a live concert to convince...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of Two Scorpions Albums That Can Still Rock It!, May 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Savage Amusement (MP3 Music)
Savage Amusement and Love at First Sting were at the pinnacle of the Scorpions career. At the height of the 80’s “Hair Metal” bands comes this band that had been around since the early 70’s and were still hammering out new and great sounding songs. They along with several other bands stood the test of time and were better for having done that. These two albums were and are my favorite albums from the Scorpions. They continued to put out new songs but I found that their newer stuff wasn’t the same. They were trying to get that sound back on some of their stuff, but seemed like they got into a rut of what I call the “Bic Lighter” songs…ballads. They have just finished touring for the last time (or so they say) and I wish them the best in their retirement. If anyone deserves it they do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Remaster...Please!, January 24, 2013
By 
T Houpt (Sioux City, IA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Savage Amusement (Audio CD)
One of the coolest Scorpions' albums ever! I was a junior in HS when this came out and was already deep into the Scorps. Skipped a varsity baseball game to see them w/VH, Metallica, Dokken and Kingdom Come at Arrowhead Stadium in KC. Coach was not happy. 1988, I'll never forget it. Savage Amusement Rocks!! They need to remaster it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Savage Amusement
Savage Amusement by Scorpions (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.