Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laymon's legacy...
It's been over a year since Richard Laymon's passing and I just remembered what a great writer he was-- 'is' actually, he'll live on through his books!! I decided to pay my long overdue respects in the form of a review.
Let there be no doubt about it 'Savage' is Laymon at his peak!!
I read somewhere that Laymon wrote this book after his editor suggested he tried...
Published on March 18, 2002 by G. Van Der Bent

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Average Savage
After reading the synopsis of this book, I got excited. I usually love tales of alternate history and this one had potential. I was disapointed to find that it's only an average read. The Ripper, evil as he is, is portrayed as no more than an English fop. The hero, Trevor, gives new meaning to the word fickle as he tromps from one adventure to another. The whole story...
Published on April 18, 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laymon's legacy..., March 18, 2002
By 
G. Van Der Bent "Gerb" (Katwijk, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It's been over a year since Richard Laymon's passing and I just remembered what a great writer he was-- 'is' actually, he'll live on through his books!! I decided to pay my long overdue respects in the form of a review.
Let there be no doubt about it 'Savage' is Laymon at his peak!!
I read somewhere that Laymon wrote this book after his editor suggested he tried something different from his usual slasher/ splatterpunk fare. It's breathtaking to read this book and come to the conclusion he's done just that, but also has incorperated almost all of the usual elements that have made him such a winner (in my opinion anyway).
'Savage' is about Jack the Ripper, but it's not like you expect a serialkiller-novel to be. It's a fictional retelling and it also adds so much to the Ripper legend. It's told from the first person point of view and just the mix of Victorian English with Mark Twain-like American slang is worth the price of purchase alone. I won't spoil the plot, I'll just say the book is epic in scope and it heads for one of the most satisfing finales I have ever read. The way the Ripper ends up in the Old West, it's a classic!!
This is for all you knuckleheads out there who still suck their Stephen King books and worshipp their worn off copies of 'Lord of the Rings'. This is so good, maybe they'll call THIS literature in about a 100 years time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic adventure horror, June 30, 2002
By 
Storms EniGma (Gold Coast, QLD Australia) - See all my reviews
Trevor Bentley appears at first to be a normal 15 year old boy, but there is a heroic side to him that becomes evident through out this book.
one rainy night he accidentally stumbles upon the infamous Jack the Ripper, and deciding that this may be the only chance any one gets to put a stop to his murderous rampage, he sets out to stop him, Unfortunately young Trev finds him self way out of his depth as he gets himself and a family held hostage by the Ripper on a boat set sail for The new world, America, Trevor manages to escape from the grasp of this legendary murderer, but not before they both find them selves in America.
This story is truly a great adventure, Starting in late 19th century London, to the new word America and then climaxes in the wild west, 3 very unique cultures that all existed at that time, add to this a story of love, friendship and self discovery and of coarse gruesome death in the way only Laymon can tell, and you have what is one of the greatest stories told
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars full of black-humor, but its also a loveandcrime-story, February 28, 1999
By A Customer
I think its a great story, full of adventures, with an courageous hero (Bentley)and an horrifying devil(Ripper) I read this book about 6 times or more and like the lovescenes with generals daugther and the young cowgirl most...very erotic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Laymon book!, July 15, 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Savage (Paperback)
I rank this really close to the top of my Laymon book list. I enjoy his writing-although a tad bit far fetched at times. I wasn't sure how I'd like this 1800's book with a western theme. Well, I can't say enough good things about it. Trevor/Willy was a great character, who got himself in all kinds of trouble. I have to say if your a Laymon fan, get your hands on this book it is well worth the hunting for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Average Savage, April 18, 2002
By A Customer
After reading the synopsis of this book, I got excited. I usually love tales of alternate history and this one had potential. I was disapointed to find that it's only an average read. The Ripper, evil as he is, is portrayed as no more than an English fop. The hero, Trevor, gives new meaning to the word fickle as he tromps from one adventure to another. The whole story seems disjointed. I found myself scanning a lot. Laymon seems obsessed with adolescence and the sexual obsessions thereof. I haven't read a book of his where some teenagers glands weren't percolating with lust. I would only recommend this book to die-hard Laymon or Jack the Ripper enthusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Laymon's best books, October 21, 2007
By 
This review is from: Savage (Mass Market Paperback)
Savage tells the story of Trevor Bentley, a young man forced to flee England after accidentally witnessing Jack the Ripper's final recorded killing. Mistakenly blamed for the crime, Trevor seeks escape from the authorities and the Ripper on a yacht moored in the Thames. Tragically, the Ripper tracks him to the boat, commandeers it, and forces the owner to sail for America. Trevor is drafted to help man the boat, and can only watch helplessly as the Ripper holds a female passenger captive.

After an arduous voyage, they reach the United States. Trevor escapes from the boat before the Ripper can kill him and manages to establish himself in America. Despite the fact that the Ripper is still at large, Trevor allows himself to believe that his nightmare is over.

The young man is mistaken, however. One day he reads of a multiple slaying in Tombstone, Arizona--three women, horribly mutilated, were found dead in their home. The local authorities attribute the massacre to Indians, but Trevor recognizes the Ripper's handiwork. Blaming himself for allowing the fiend to reach America, Trevor vows to seek the madman out and kill him. The rest of the novel describes Trevor's odyssey across America, leading to his final confrontation with his nemesis.

Savage will probably surprise a lot of Laymon's fans. On the surface, one might pick this novel up expecting an outright gore fest--after all, it's Laymon writing about Jack the Ripper. But the book defies expectations--instead, readers are treated to a happy combination of traditional western and a bildungsroman. Laymon delivers a well wrought tale of suspense, where the violence, although prevalent, is secondary to the main thrust of the story--that is, the unique rite of passage Trevor must undergo before he can be at peace with himself. Imagine Great Expectations, with blood and guts mixed in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars That poor dumb child..., September 9, 2008
By 
Ravenskya "Princess of Horror" (WESTERVILLE, OH, United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Savage (Mass Market Paperback)
Trevor just won't give up... first he's off to fetch his uncle who's a Constable, to take care of a minor domestic dispute... along the way he's attacked, then runs smack into Jack the Ripper... doing what any good 15 year old would do he confronts the mysterious Ripper to save the girl... and ends up in a cross global adventure that puts Tom Sawyer on crack to shame.

When reading this I knew what Laymon was doing right from the beginning... he was writing his version of Tom Sawyer. Unfortunately for Laymon, he is no Twain. The opening of this book shows a lot of promise, we have the tension of the Ripper, the claustrophobia of London at the time, his mother in peril and then we have a lengthy sea voyage that will have you biting you nails to the quick... But then we come to a screeching halt and spend a lot of time in domestic life, riding trains, learning to shoot, traveling with brigands, meeting a few girls and eventually getting back to the story of the Ripper though it take about 300 pages to get there.

This is one of Laymon's longer works, clocking in at just under 500 pages. The biggest annoyance with this book isn't the concept, the idea itself is pretty nifty... some unfortunate soul knows the identity of the Ripper and chases him to the new world... this book should have absolutley ROCKED... but it didn't. First of all there is far less gore in this book than most of his others... which is strange since it is about Jack the freakin Ripper. Also the sex is toned WAY down. What is ratcheted way up however is really bad dialogue and terrible attempts at writing colloquialisms. If I had to read the words Chap, or Passel one more time I was going to slap someone... then when we got to the west everyone said things like shucks, pardner, and russel. But not just once, they repeated the same few key words over and over again. Then by the time we got to the end, Laymon forgot who was British and who was Western when the girl from Texas suddenly busts out in British slang.

If he had just stuck to hunting the Ripper this could have been a wonderful book.. he was doing so well with that part... but the Tom Sawyer adventure failed miserably due to phony, one dimensional characters and uninspiring dialogue. If you have not read any Laymon before, this is not a good place to start, as it really doesn't gel with most of his literary cannon and may give you the wrong impression as to what he writes. Start instead with "In the Dark," "Traveling Vampire Show," or the Beast House series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good book, July 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Savage (Kindle Edition)
Murders are detailed and can be gruesome- twisted characters but very likable. I Highly suggest reading it, not for the weak stomach
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good, December 27, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Savage (Mass Market Paperback)
I've read 5 or 6 Richard Laymon books, and this is definitely my favorite. I wasn't able to put it down until I finished it. If you've enjoyed any of his other books, I highly recommend reading this one as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Savage (Mass Market Paperback)
Good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Savage
Savage by Richard Laymon (Mass Market Paperback - November 1, 2007)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.