Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Stephen Marley Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 27, 2014
The Savoy guide has for a long time been seen as the end-all be-all of cocktail books. The plethora of classic recipes and witty quips the pepper the pages make this a favorite of cocktail aficionados everywhere. There are only two warnings I have about this book: 1. Many of the recipes refer to either out of production ingredients or ingredients whose recipes have changed. Therefore one should take caution when trying to make the cocktails using the exact recipes. 2. For one newly initiated into the cocktail world, this book gives no real introduction into the proper techniques and principles behind making cocktails.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2012
This is a classic for a reason, good recipes and well written. There are hundreds of bartending books out there, competing for space in your shelf or on the coffee table - for myself, this one and Colin Field's Ritz book are the go to books and they look quite nice as well. There is another review in here slamming the Savoy book on the font used or something like that, it isn't very clear. Writing in 2012, the one I received is bound well, nice paper, well laid out and overall is a step above most books these days. Is it comparable to productions from Easton press or the Folio Society? No, but so what. This is a book meant to be used and spilled on.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2000
I highly recommend the book along with the Boston Museum of Fine Art hand tooled martini shaker. (on web) Take yourself back to the thirties with a couple of cool ones. Great drinks and the illustrations will suit the serious vintage buff. Fun to look at even if you are not drinking.....even better when you are.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2014
The book itself is incredible. The paperback version, however, is an embarrassingly bad scan and reprint of the hardcover, with a 1-inch margin on all pages.

Get the hardcover!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2014
This is not an exact copy of the original, which I found disappointing. It has been recently edited. Moreover, the original cover-art was not reproduced. I will be giving this away to someone as it has no particular historical value and is organized in such a way that it is tough to find specific recipes.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2015
The book is really fun. When the recipe call for "a glass of _____" I'm thinking they mean a jigger of ____. I saw other reviews of people complaining about that. Anxious to try some of the vintage recipes!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2014
There are quite a few drinks in here that you've almost certainly never heard of as it seems to be a collection of drinks popular at a particular hotel/restaurant in the early 1900's. We've made several and some are better than others, but some call for ingredients that we've never even heard of and I'm pretty sure would have a difficult time finding if we really wanted to look. One strange thing I found was that there are almost no measurements given for the recipes; instead, they simply say things like "1/3 gin, 1/6 grenadine, 1/2 ginger liquor..." and the like. Basically they're just giving you proportional amounts so you can "size" your drink however you wish. It's not a problem, but I don't know that I've ever seen an entire book that gives drink recipes this way and it can take you a second or two on some of them to figure out actual amounts.
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2015
I haven't used this book much but one thing I do like about it is the way they present the drink recipes. Basically, they are all in fractions of the total so you might have (for example) 1/4 ingredient #1, 1/2 ingredient #2, and 1/4 ingredient #3 so it all adds up to 1.0. So if you want four ounces in your cocktail, you know you need to have 1 ounce of #1, etc. The recipes are classic recipes but since the book was written in 1930, there are no recipes for more modern drinks such as a Mojito. Also, the drinks are all organized alphabetically regardless of the main type of spirit (gin, vodka, etc.) Overall, its a good cocktail book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2014
This is a must-have book for anyone interested in pre-prohibition cocktails, and the publisher has done an excellent job of maintaining the look of the original. As a result, anyone who's a stickler for modern typography and layout may find fault with the book, but for the rest of us it is nothing less that a treasure trove!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2011
I bought this book to share with my adult children over Thanksgiving 2010. We tried a number of the cocktails that we had heard about from older family members or from old movies... and they were fabulous! So many different ingredients to explore with easy instructions to follow. This book is very complete from an era gone bye... great way to bring that era into the 21st Century.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse