Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
Saying Goodbye
 
See larger image
 

Saying Goodbye [Kindle Edition]

Diana Amadeo , Ann Boutte , Dianna Calareso , Alison Cameron , Eva Maria Chapman , Roberta Beach Jacobson , Denise Emanuel Clemen , Stephen Parrish , Julie Rember , Mike O'Mary
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (28 customer reviews)

Print List Price: $13.00
Kindle Price: $2.99
You Save: $10.01 (77%)

If you buy a new print edition of this book (or purchased one in the past), you can buy the Kindle edition for FREE. Print edition purchase must be sold by Amazon. Learn more.
‹  Return to Product Overview

Editorial Reviews

Review

Tender perspectives helping readers with their own goodbyes. If you have ever had to deal with loss, read this book. It will make you feel better. -- Christina Johns, Midwest Book Review

The stories are about love, really, not sadness. Despite all the sadness and grief that come with saying goodbye, there is love and joy and comedy on the Other Side. -- Gretchen Little, Squidoo.com

This book gets to the heart of what I teach in my class on death and dying - that life is filled with loss of all kinds and we can learn from each one and ultimately experience life more fully. The stories in this book do a wonderful job of showing that out of loss there are new beginnings. I recommend it for any teacher of death and dying classes. I also recommend it for anyone who is struggling with a loss - no matter what kind. -- Professor Jann Adams, Department of Psychology, College of Idaho

Life is full of goodbyes. Some are painful, but some are downright humorous. Saying Goodbye is an anthology of short (true) stories about people saying goodbye to a variety of people, places and things. The authors vary as much as their subjects, and this collection does a nice job of showcasing how different people have so many different experiences with saying farewell. -- Book Nook Club

This is a great book. There are many anthologies out there, lots with great short stories, but Saying Goodbye is about much more. It's about memories. There are heartfelt memories, humourous memories, some extremely personal memories. Some really made me smile. Others brought tears to my eyes. -- UK author Melanie Sherratt, High Heels and Book Deals

From the Author

A note from the editors: When we put out a call for submissions for stories about "saying goodbye," we didn't know what we would get. And frankly, we were worried that the book might end up being a real downer to read! But as the stories poured in from around the world, we began to realize that "saying goodbye" is something universal that we all experience on multiple levels. Many of the stories in this collection are sad, but many are also funny--and amazingly, there is often humor in even the sad stories. In the end, Saying Goodbye is an uplifting collection of essays that is cathartic and healing to read.

Here is an overview of the 31 essays in Saying Goodbye:
  1. In "Bridget," a young man says goodbye to the memory of a little girl who has haunted him since childhood.
  2. In "The Evolution of Your Goodbyes," the author lovingly recounts visits with her father as he drifts away via Alzheimer's disease.
  3. In "Daddy's Request," a daughter learns that her father can sense things, even if he can't see them.
  4. "Intersections" traces the comings and goings of a woman, her mother, and her daughter.
  5. "The Sea Monster" begins with a brother and sister building sand castles on the beach, and ends with a woman who won't go back to the sea.
  6. "Benediction: Mom's Last Scrabble Game" tells the story of an uncanny Scrabble victory by a woman in pink bedroom slippers.
  7. "Love Letters" is the heart-wrenching story of a widower's decision to honor his promise to his late wife about their love letters.
  8. "The Skid Row Float" recounts the humorous procession of sofas that the author's family inherits from a series of lovely old great aunts.
  9. "Dawn" is a wonderful tribute from one strong friend to another.
  10. "Holding Him Softly" is an intimate look at a young woman's decision to give up her son for adoption.
  11. In "Dreaming as the Summers Die," an adopted daughter clings to memories of her "real" mother.
  12. In "The Lilac Bush," the scent of lilacs from a sidewalk stand in New York City takes the author back to the lilac bush in the backyard of her childhood home--and to memories of her mother.
  13. In "We Are Gathered," a wedding reminds us of those who are no longer with us--and of the importance of celebrating life.
  14. In "Finding the Words," a four-year-old boy impresses his mother with his grasp of the situation at a funeral.
  15. In "The Santa Sack," a young man leaves home, and a mother tucks away the sack that held his Christmas presents each year.
  16. In "A Tree of Life," children climb and a falcon roosts in a tree that sprang from ashes.
  17. In "At Gilda's," a woman teaches yoga at a cancer center, and learns lessons about living with disease.
  18. In "Ghosthouse," a woman returns to the neighborhood where she grew up, only to find her old house has gone missing!
  19. In "Pickles," the deliberate, joyful labor of a dying woman comes to fruition when two sisters find their mother's pickles while cleaning out her refrigerator.
  20. In "Memorial Day," a woman teeters between her marriage and an affair before finding purpose and a reason for "wide-eyed, deliberate living."
  21. In "Goodbye Upstairs," a man decides to clean house--before it's too late.
  22. In "Dummy Dora," a little girl has trouble saying goodbye to her pacifier.
  23. In "Lotus, Falling," a mother's final days are akin to "a lotus blossom falling gently to the ground."
  24. "Turning in My Keys" is the last act as a teacher retires after 37 years in the classroom.
  25. In "Saying Goodbye to a Faithful Companion," a writer laments the departure of his favorite writing outfit--and old jogging suit that his wife decides is a little too old.
  26. In "Puppy Love," a woman's time with her new puppy passes too quickly.
  27. In "The Guest in My Mother's Home," a daughter adapts to her new role as a "guest" when she returns home.
  28. In "The Pink Thing," you'll be delighted when the author finds the lost "pink thing"--and when you find out what the "pink thing" is!
  29. In "A Bloody Good Party," you can't help but admire the moxie of a man who helps plan his own funeral!
  30. In "The Mumo Letters," a young woman keeps her late grandmother up-to-date on family developments via a series of letters.
  31. In "Au Revoir Jane," a young woman learns from an older woman about how to live in style.

From the Inside Flap

MORE GREAT BOOKS FROM DREAM OF THINGS

Dream of Things is an independent press focused on memoirs and anthologies of creative nonfiction that align with our mission to publish "distinctive voices, meaningful books." Most of our e-books are only $2.99 -- and all Dream of Things e-books are FREE via the Kindle Matchbook program with the purchase of the print edition!

Other books from Dream of Things include:

Everything I Never Wanted to Be by Dina Kucera (4.6 Stars on 188 Reviews): "How come people who have experienced such trauma write so well? So raw and funny that it almost makes me want to have horrible things happen to me so my writing will improve." Joel Stein, Time Magazine columnist

Leaving the Hall Light On by Madeline Sharples (4.3 Stars on 160 Reviews): A mother's story of living with her son's bipolar disorder and surviving his suicide. "A moving read of tragedy, trying to prevent it, and coping with life after." Midwest Book Review

Betty's Child by Don Dempsey (4.7 Stars on 135 Reviews): In the tradition of Frank McCourt and Angela's Ashes, the true story of one boy's ordeals with poverty, violence, religion, and physical and mental abuse as he attempts to come of age with only his street smarts and sense of humor to guide him. "Heartrending and humorous." Kirkus Reviews

Swimming with Maya by Eleanor Vincent (4.3 Stars on 93 Reviews): Demonstrates the remarkable process of healing after the traumatic death of a loved one. "Vincent's poignant decision to donate Maya's organs will resonate with even hard-boiled readers." Booklist

Daughters of Absence by Mindy Weisel (4.3 Stars on 41 Reviews): A collection of twelve essays written by daughters of Holocaust survivors. "A powerful, life-affirming read and a strongly recommended addition to Holocaust studies reading lists and reference collections." Midwest Book Review

Wise Men and Other Stories by Mike O'Mary (4.7 Stars on 25 Reviews): A collection of holiday-related essays that blends humor and poignancy in the tradition of Robert Fulghum, Bill Bryson, P.J. O'Rourke and other great American humorists.

Be There Now, ed. by Julie Rand and Mike O'Mary (4.8 Stars on 24 Reviews): Travel stories from around the world. "More of an experience than reportage; I was truly THERE instead of HERE." Marginalia

MFA in a Box: A Why to Write Book by John Rember (4.9 Stars on 17 Reviews): Winner of Hoffer, Nautilus and Midwest Book Awards. "The essential truths about excellent writing." The Hoffer Awards

About the Author

Saying Goodbye is an anthology of true stories by 31 authors from the United States, Canada, Ireland, United Kingdom, France, Italy, Germany, Australia, New Zealand, and elsewhere. The publisher was worried that no one would want to share such personal stories, or that the end result could end up being too depressing to read. But authors from around the world shared beautiful stories about saying goodbye to family members, relationships, jobs, pets, old homes, couches, jogging suits (yes, even jogging suits!), the past, and more. The result is a wonderful mix of stories that blend sorrow and humor.

Contributors:
"Bridget" Stephen Parrish
"The Evolution of Your Goodbyes" Ruth Schiffmann
"Daddy's Request" Molly Lemmons
"Intersections" Kate Dernocoeur
"The Sea Monster" Iwona Tokc-Wilde
"Benediction: Mom's Last Scrabble Game" Betty Jo Goddard
"Love Letters" Mary E. McIntyre
"The Skid Row Float" Annmarie B. Tait
"Dawn" Diana M. Amadeo
"Holding Him Softly" Denise Emanuel Clemen
"Dreaming as the Summers Die" Terri Elders
"The Lilac Bush" Kathe Kokolias
"We Are Gathered" Dianna Calareso
"Finding the Words" Maria Duffy
"The Santa Sack" Glynis Scrivens
"A Tree of Life" Amy Munnell
"At Gilda's" Jennifer Lang
"Ghosthouse" Roberta Beach Jacobson
"Pickles" Gail Kirkpatrick
"Memorial Day" Deanna Hershiser
"Goodbye Upstairs" Mary Ellington
"Dummy Dora" Eva M. Chapman
"Lotus, Falling" Katrin Horowitz
"Turning in My Keys" Ann Ingalls
"Saying Goodbye to a Faithful Companion" Robert B. Robeson
"Puppy Love" Susan Weich
"The Guest in My Mother's Home" Maryann McCullough
"The Pink Thing" Ann Reisfeld Boutté
"A Bloody Good Party" Alison Cameron
"The Mumo Letters" Dara Hodge-LaRue
"Au Revoir May" Jane Shortall
‹  Return to Product Overview