Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I could not put this book down
I picked up this book the other day on the recommendation of a friend, and I can't put it down. I like it because:

* its small (the number of pages 225, the print, the format, the thickness) , but its pithy. Every page has useful stuff.
* the real world experience (pain!) just oozes out of this book. So many times while reading I thought: "Oh yes...
Published on January 31, 2008 by Michael Mee

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A worthwhile read, a disappointing experience
First and foremost, chapter 10 should be an Appendix. This was a horrible ending to what seemed to be a promising discussion on horizontal scaling for any system/network engineer or astute systems engineer.

Clear and concise, then incoherent and grammatically challenged, this book requires constant read backs leaving the reader with a sense of a diminished...
Published on March 31, 2009 by Thomas B. Brenneke


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A worthwhile read, a disappointing experience, March 31, 2009
This review is from: Scalable Internet Architectures (Paperback)
First and foremost, chapter 10 should be an Appendix. This was a horrible ending to what seemed to be a promising discussion on horizontal scaling for any system/network engineer or astute systems engineer.

Clear and concise, then incoherent and grammatically challenged, this book requires constant read backs leaving the reader with a sense of a diminished level of reading comprehension.

Fortunately there are some very good real world discussions on horizontal scaling, distributed caching, and eliminating single points of failure in your design.

Unfortunately the book was a long documentary on the author's Spread utility/program/solution and the last chapter is dedicated to writing a module for Spread. Completely out of band with regards to actual high performance clustered environments where the author's solution is likely scarce in popularity.

I do appreciate his coverage of logging. Despite my rating, I don't regret the first nine chapters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I could not put this book down, January 31, 2008
By 
Michael Mee "mikemee" (San Diego, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scalable Internet Architectures (Paperback)
I picked up this book the other day on the recommendation of a friend, and I can't put it down. I like it because:

* its small (the number of pages 225, the print, the format, the thickness) , but its pithy. Every page has useful stuff.
* the real world experience (pain!) just oozes out of this book. So many times while reading I thought: "Oh yes ... hadn't thought of that."
* its not stridently opensource, nonetheless ends up most there anyway - but only after addressing commercial products and their role
* its business focused, not geek focused - while still being incredibly geeky

Most of all its just really well written and edited. I've caught a couple of minor typos, but nothing that interfered with reading or enjoying the book.

In a world of many great technical books, and insufficient time to read them, its hard to know which ones are worth the effort. This one definitely is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The previous reviews don't really do it justice, November 23, 2006
By 
MonumentalColorado (Western United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Scalable Internet Architectures (Paperback)
This is a fantastic book about scalable systems. If you want specifics, he presents opensource and cost effective solutions that can be implemented, but in my opinion that isn't the real value of the book.

The real value is the way he leads you through the thought processess that need to occur as you plan for releasing and using such a system. I really like some of the stuff that is emphasized and has caused me to realize that I had gaps in my knowledge. Gaps like better release planning, and actual cost of such a system, especially as it grows, or shrinks.

I've been extremely happy with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique and realistic perspective on Scalability and HA, September 16, 2007
This review is from: Scalable Internet Architectures (Paperback)
This is the type of technical book that comes alone all to infrequently. Instead of giving "cookbook" recipes that are inapplicable to the majority of real-world environment, this book discusses how to apply techniques (not recipes) to increase the flexibility (and hence scalability) of your infrastructure. This author obviously has in-depth knowledge of real-work production environments and the unnecessary risks that companies expose their infrastructures to. For example, from my own experience it is pitiful how rampant the concept of HA is confused with load balancing! I have seen CIOs of Fortune 500 companies tout their "risk-free" scalable environment implemented with load balancing. When I explain to them that HA has nothing to do with load balancing, and to insure a high availability infrastructure they need to revamp their architecture, they look at me suspiciously as if I'm trying to squeeze money out of them. When I ask to speak to the Director of Operations and pointedly ask how HA is implemented, and get a response alone the lines of "we have redundant load balancers fronting redundant servers" I know I'm dealing with yet another instance of a gross misunderstanding of HA. When I point out the multiple single points of failure, I'm treated as an adversary intent on discrediting the technical staff! This book reveals the fallacy of such an approach.

The author also discusses elements of a robust HA environment that others book only touch on if not completely ignore. For example, revision control and business continuity among other often overlooked processes. All in all an interesting read that will open your eyes to what is truly a misunderstood topic.

The books handling of scalability, including a discussion of "scaling-down" (or scaling back), is first rate as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for those involved in building or hosting web applications!, September 9, 2007
This review is from: Scalable Internet Architectures (Paperback)
This book does a great job of demystifying many of the misconceptions surrounding web applications, performance, scalability, hardware, software and proper architecture. Finding the right tool for the job is essential, and this book should be on every developer/engineer/managers book shelf!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Execllent for understanding the issues with scaling a web site, September 29, 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Scalable Internet Architectures (Paperback)
An excellent book on what the issues are with building web site that scale to large numbers of servers. Written more for a programmer than a systems administrator but not to heavy on the programming side to bog it down. It is really good about organizing the different aspects of scalability and explaining important concepts. For example the difference between caching static content and caching data used in generating a web page. An excellent read. not too long, not too much detail. It made me think about web sites and clustering in a new way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Towards automatic, self-managed operations, September 19, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scalable Internet Architectures (Paperback)
I bought this book on recommendations from others and I have to agree that it is fantastic. Don't let the 2006 publication date fool you into avoiding it for something more current. The advise given is based on real experience gained initially during the dot com era but it is as relevant today as then. The best part of the book is its advocacy and practical examples of the Spread group communications toolkit. Why solve a problem with a vendor's expensive high performance single point of failure solution when well knowledgeable use of internet infrastructure and peer to peer communication better solves it. Plus, you have a powerful tool to aid you moving further towards automatic, self-managed operations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too wordy, book for system/network administrator?, March 9, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was disappointed in this book. Even if it does seem that it covers all the right things, in right order, trying not to miss anything -- down the road it came up clearly that this book is too wordy, too much pouring the water, discussing and explaining same things all over again. It did seem for me that it's a book mostly for system or network administrator, but it pretty useless for software architect. So, for me, the title of the book was misleading. I cannot say that it is useless for everybody, but it certainly was useless for me, and absolutely not the book I was expecting to see. Nevertheless, for the sake of truth I would like to say again that it does contain some interesting material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Execlent for understanding the issues with scaling a web site, September 29, 2009
By 
This review is from: Scalable Internet Architectures (Paperback)
An excellent book on what the issues are with building web site that scale to large numbers of servers. Written more for a programmer than a systems administrator but not to heavy on the programming side to bog it down. It is really good about organizing the different aspects of scalability and explaining important concepts. For example the difference between caching static content and caching data used in generating a web page. An excellent read. not too long, not too much detail. It made me think about web sites and clustering in a new way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great primmer on scalability planning, February 23, 2010
This review is from: Scalable Internet Architectures (Paperback)
This book is great, especially as a starting point to learning about scalability planning. It takes a fairly academic approach to all relevant subjects and can quickly get anyone caught up to speed.

I do recommend "The Art of Capacity Planning: Scaling Web Resources" as a follow-up for continuing your education in this subject and taking these skills to a more proactive plan/deploy method.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Scalable Internet Architectures
Scalable Internet Architectures by Theo Schlossnagle (Paperback - July 31, 2006)
$49.99 $37.79
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.