Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scalps review
Scalps was a highly ambitious low budget horror flick that should be in everyones horror collection. The story is well written and proves as an interesting spin on the slasher flick. Instead of making the evil killer a crazed lunatic like in most of your horror films from this time frame(the early eighties) it uses a evil native native american spirit as its vehicle for...
Published on May 27, 2004 by jerrybradford21

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Its From Hell!!!!!"
The packaging of Fred Olen Ray's "Scalps" leads one to believe that it has been banned virtually everywhere and is usually only seen in highly censored versions. I doubt this is a true statement and comparisons with "The Texas Chain Saw Massacre" are unfounded. If you do not watch the film expecting it to be some sort of forbidden fruit of graphic gore...
Published on April 16, 2004 by Sir Jub-Jub


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scalps review, May 27, 2004
This review is from: Scalps (DVD)
Scalps was a highly ambitious low budget horror flick that should be in everyones horror collection. The story is well written and proves as an interesting spin on the slasher flick. Instead of making the evil killer a crazed lunatic like in most of your horror films from this time frame(the early eighties) it uses a evil native native american spirit as its vehicle for massacre. I think this makes it scarier than most of the traditional slasher films. The movie is filled with gorey and darkly frightning scenes. The only problem I had with the movie was the sometimes inappropriate lighting it used during some of the nightly killing scenes. It seems to be daytime sometimes in the middle of the night??? And also some of the acting is sub par but an the whole is pretty decent. I really like some of the slow motion chase scenes near the middle of the movie and also the hauting indian face that flashes in the fire and through out the film. Chilling!!!.......Jerry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Its From Hell!!!!!", April 16, 2004
By 
Sir Jub-Jub (Sir Jub-Jub's Lair, Alaska) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Scalps (DVD)
The packaging of Fred Olen Ray's "Scalps" leads one to believe that it has been banned virtually everywhere and is usually only seen in highly censored versions. I doubt this is a true statement and comparisons with "The Texas Chain Saw Massacre" are unfounded. If you do not watch the film expecting it to be some sort of forbidden fruit of graphic gore and unrelenting horror you will probably enjoy it. The setting is a familiar one to those who know horror; a group of young people end up stranded in a remote area and stumble upon an ages old curse that engulfs them all. The acting is terrible and the film does not ever betray its low budget roots. The one amazing thing about the film is an extremely brutal throat slashing sequence that might be one of the "best" ever. This scene alone makes the film worth watching as well as cameos by Forrest Ackerman, Carrol Borland and a general revisiting of early eighties horror. I especially enjoyed the virtual immediate "freak out" of one of the group who resorts to some priceless dialouge during a scene when they hear ghostly drumming. (Its from hell). The DVD transfer is barely acceptable and there is even a disclaimer stating that it was culled from many different sources to present the most complete version possible. What is odd is that I am not clear as to why this was needed as there is nothing in the film that would indicate the need for massive censorship. My thought is that the film was basically "lost" and it was pieced together from whatever footage they could find. Anyway, while I seem fairly negative about this movie, I did enjoy revisiting "Scalps" and would recommend it to slasher movie completists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Pretty Good, But Dated Horror Movie, September 7, 2004
By 
David Girod (Westminster, Maryland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scalps (DVD)
I remember seeing "Scalps" years ago, but it was one of those infamous, chopped up versions, so I was pretty excited to see a restored version released on DVD. No, this isn't nearly the bloodfest that "Evil Dead" is, but considering it's time of release, "Scalps" was a pretty hardcore horror film. And there really wasn't a complete copy on video. Despite what some other reviewers say, this is still basically an 80's slasher, and that is a good thing, and that is probably what you want considering your reading reviews on "Scalps". The gore effects are pretty good, and the acting and story are pretty good too. "Scalps" has it's tense or scary moments. Overall I would recommend you add this to your horror collection if you are a fan of 80's horror. The only reason I would deduct any points from "Scalps" is that the movie desperately needs to smooth out the rough edges. Scenes will jump-cut to the next scene jarringly, and with the restoration and adding censored scenes in, it's obvious where the master print was played with. Still, "Scalps" is a cool little movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A lesson to learn, May 26, 2004
This review is from: Scalps (DVD)
I vaguely remember seeing this film on Continental Video in the mid 80's and considered it OK. I puchased the original movie poster a couple of years ago and then went on a quest to find a VHS copy of it. No luck. Then I heard about Retromedia and Fred Olen Ray Along with "The EEL" decided to do the 20th Anniversary eddition. I bought it. Basically Fred Olen Ray had to go through hell trying to piece together a print to Scalps. Most of the footage shown is grainy from a blow up of a 16mm print to 35. The cut scenes that were added in are from a Vidoe transfer from the 80's U.S. VHS release and Canadia 3 quarter inch tapes. Watch the movie once through and please forgive the grain. The viewing may seem like the film is over 2 hours because it drags and drags on. The best scene is the throat slashing. In my opinion it is one of the best throat slashings I have ever seen on film. I had some time to kill and decided to view Scalps once again with the commentary track on by Lee and Fred. The commentary is great. I learned information about the making of a film. From script writing to finding financing. The commentary taught me a lesson on filmmaking. How to make a film with no budget and the tricks to shooting with what you got. Fred Olen Ray explains about shooting day for night, shoestring budgets, how 21st century cheated him out of $ and the secrets to some special effects that were used for the murder scenes. I recommend the viewer to watch the film once without commentary then watch it with the commentary. The movie is not great, the image is grainy and poor but the make-up and gore is pretty good. The commentary is the best. Fred's voice over is much louder than Lee's but Fred is much more fun to listen too. 3 stars for gore and commentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Atmosphere, January 4, 2009
By 
J man "Jared" (Lafayette, LA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Scalps (DVD)
Pretty slow moving but the special fx and weird atmosphere make up for it, like the random indian facees that apear on the screen. pretty sweet daeth scenes too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "HALPS" for your going to need it if you watch this!, October 9, 2008
By 
This review is from: Scalps (DVD)
Oooooof! Where do I start? If you are a lover of the film SCALPS then you will be happy to know that this DVD is shown in wide screen format
and uncut(unlike the VHS copy I use to own)and has audio commentary from the makers as well as a trailer. That being said this is a very BAD movie but!!! If you enjoy movies like Plan 9 and The Manitou(which was good) then I believe you will enjoy this movie. A stalker is possessed by a ancient Indian demon and "SCALPS" as well as stabs his victims. This has some of the worst acting I have ever seen in a film(and friends I have seen a lot) seriously the acting in this made the actors in CANNIBAL FEROX look like THE GODFATHER. Still it does however bad it is have its moments. The possessed killer does look FREAKISH in a Linda REAGAN Blair sort of way and has cameos from Kirk(SUPERMAN)Alyn-Carol(Mark of the Vampire)Borland and the biggest CLASSIC MONSTERS fan of them all J.(No not you J.from Amazon)J. Forrest Ackerman. If so bad why 3 stars? Because this is great in a M.S.T.3000 sort of way, I mean we have a fight scene where the guy kicks the face of another but in no way does his foot even come close to the head yet still we hear a big "WHAP" and their is lots of BLOOD!!! Had to laugh for their is a scene with a actor who is dead and has blood all over him but yet you can still see him breathing??????????? Anyway buy SCALPS! Yes its bad...But in a good way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars non-pc B-movie gore, March 29, 2004
This review is from: Scalps (DVD)
Briefly, college students digging where they shouldn't. End result, student possessed by spirit of Black Claw, an avenging Native American spirit exacting his revenge via the forgotten art of scalping. A creepy movie with a very familiar theme (...).
The film "stars" many of the director's standard cast - most of whom were key players/extras in later films (Tomb and Biohazard). Notable names include Forrest J Ackerman (B-movie bit playa) and... well just Ackerman.
This is the 20th Anniversary Deluxe Edition, featuring a new letterboxed transfer, audio commentary by Fred Olen Ray and writer Lee (T.L.) Lankford, the original trailer, and an exclusive still gallery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars SO-SO!, June 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scalps (DVD)
Movie was a typical 80s horror/slasher film. Very low budget picture quality. This was even worse when viewed on a second rate dvdr (fake) copy sold to me by (deep_discount_dvd). buyers beware this is not a real dvd copy they are selling dvdr,and passing them off as real. I wanted a real dvd to enjoy, but instead got this cheap imitation. The movie would have been more enjoyable with a better REAL format,but if you like fake blood,fake acting,and want to remember the 80s.this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Blast from the Slasher past!, April 15, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scalps (DVD)
I loved this movie when I first saw it on video-tape back in the 1980's. The DVD version looks great and it seems to have been produced using different sources, the quality is fine. But, I don't remember the background music which plays for 30 minutes straight from the video-tape. Maybe it was on the tape, but I can't remember... but it's kinda annoying. Still, not a bad release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars insert clever title here, March 20, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scalps (DVD)
This movie quite easily had the budget of the sweet kung fu short i shot in high school for my video and photo class.

the long and short of it: college kids are sent out to the middle of the desert (which doubles as a haunted, indian burial ground) to search for artifacts. a native spirit picks the terrible actors off one by one. there's a twist. sorta. kinda? eh.

the idea, while not entirely pc, is decent but it's execution is very hit or miss.

i will say that the scalping scene was cool. one of the coolest low budget gore scenes i've seen, actually.

the transfer ranges from ok to terrible. you're warned about this prior to the movie beginning. i won't fault this flick for that.

2.5 / 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Scalps
Scalps by Fred Olen Ray (DVD - 2012)
$17.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.