Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tight.....
Its a tight cd, my only complaint is that they dropped 2Pac's verse on "Homies & Thugs". Whats up with that? Still, its another great release by Scarface, and other than that I dont got any complaints.
Published on October 27, 2002 by ac

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could Have Been Better
Scarface is still one of my all time favorites and will continue to be but as usual, when greatest hits CD's get released, they usually don't actually contain the performers best material but just the one's that made him popular on video shows, etc.

Though some of the songs like Goin Down, Money and the Power, Let Me Roll, and the Jason's Lyric Soundtrack...
Published on April 7, 2005 by Reggie L. Mattocks


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tight....., October 27, 2002
By 
ac (Houston, TX USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Scarface - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Its a tight cd, my only complaint is that they dropped 2Pac's verse on "Homies & Thugs". Whats up with that? Still, its another great release by Scarface, and other than that I dont got any complaints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to the South, August 18, 2005
This review is from: Scarface - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Scarface is undeniably the King of The South when it comes to rap, wheter he wants the title or not. I would urge rap fans to give Scarface a listen if they haven't yet. His voice is original and laid back and he spits great lyrics. For anybody looking to get into Scarface this is the CD to get. All great songs, nothin to skip on this one.

1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Props to Scarface, February 3, 2003
This review is from: Scarface - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Without a doubt Scarface is one of My All-time Favorite MC's. He truly brings His Own Flavor & vision on these tracks from over the years.I dig His Story-telling & Presentation.He takes on so many different aspects of Life&just lets it all flow. This is a Solid Collection of His Career thus far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scarface Da Don of Rap, April 16, 2008
This review is from: Scarface - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Scarface is the KING of RAP - also check out Smoke Sessions, Vol. 1- from his homie Devin the Dude another 5 Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars King of the South, July 25, 2005
By 
This review is from: Scarface - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
If you had to ask us what are Southern classics 7 of those classics will be on this Album.I am from Houston and I was not a Big Scarface fan but after I bought this album I am a Big Fan. If you appreciate Southern Rap you betta get this! If you are from the South you betta get this! If you appreciate True hip hop you betta get this! Even if you hate Southern Rap you should get this. It is a materpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scarface GREATEST HITS review!, August 2, 2003
By 
Crazy Jim (Massachusetts) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Scarface - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
To anyone who knows their hip-hop, Scarface is the king of the Dirty South. Just as important to the Southern rap scene as Tupac Shakur was to the West Coast, Face has had quite a career. From member of the Geto Boyz to breakout solo act, Scarface has pretty much done it all. Now, Rap-A-Lot finally releases a "greatest hits" retrospective.
If you consider yourself a rap know-it-all and you aren't familiar with Face's work then you are making a false claim and you need to pick up this record now. From collaborations with Tupac Shakur on "Smile" to long-forgotten gems like "Jesse James" to his latest banger, "Guess Who's Back" with Jay-Z & Beanie Siegel, this CD does an excellent job in collecting some of Mr. Scarface's most infectious offerings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of 'Face, December 18, 2002
This review is from: Scarface - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This cd spans the entire length of Scarface's career, beginning with his earliest works (Mr. Scarface) to his most recent offerings (Guess Who's Back). Brad Jordan is clearly at his best and most thought provoking when spitting from his soul in tracks such as "Hand of the Dead Body" and "Now I Feel Ya". Just when you begin to think he's gone political on you, he switches the pace with "Goin' Down" (an ode to be-hotches) and Homiez n' Thugs (featuring a wailing Master P on the hook). As a whole, this disc is a wonderful collection of 'Faces best tracks. The only gripe is that the bonus track is hardly up to par with the rest of the tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could Have Been Better, April 7, 2005
By 
This review is from: Scarface - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Scarface is still one of my all time favorites and will continue to be but as usual, when greatest hits CD's get released, they usually don't actually contain the performers best material but just the one's that made him popular on video shows, etc.

Though some of the songs like Goin Down, Money and the Power, Let Me Roll, and the Jason's Lyric Soundtrack version of Jesse James was definitely a pleasant surprise, he needed to release two volumes cuz countless number of songs were left off. Even more puzzling on Homies and Thugz, he left off the 2PAC freestyle that he had on the original album version with him and Master P. What's up with that?

Too many other classics were left off like It Ain't produced by Eric Sermon off the "Last of a Dying Breed" album as well as "Sorry For What" and the title track off the cd I just mentioned.

Several off the "Untouchable" album and many off "The World Is Yours" lp which is his best from start to finish.

Decent compilation but with technology the way it is, you'd be best served creating your own Scarface Greatest Hits CD's like I'm doing now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scarface - "Greatest Hits", January 28, 2006
This review is from: Scarface - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
For newer fans of Scarface, this Record gives u a pretty good sample of some of Scarfaces Best. It's got several essential Face tracks such as "Let Me Roll", "Southside", "Now I Feel Ya", "I seen a Man Die", & "Hand of the Dead Body". However there are a few tracks that I question as being his "Greatest"..Such as "Look Me in The Eyes" and "Homiez & Thugs". And there are several other tracks they just completly neglected to put on this record like "G's", "One", "Recognize", "Only Your Mother", "Mind Playin' Trick's '94", "you Don't hear me Doe"....and i could keep namin' em....This should have been a 2-Disc Set! Anyways, this is pretty good...Still a definite 5 Star Compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scarface- the King of the South Coast, January 10, 2004
This review is from: Scarface - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I have known Scarface way back in his Geto Boys days and the first time I heard his incredible voice, I began to like his music. Mr. Scarface is by far the best rapper to come out of the south coast and represents the dirty south to the fullest. His flow is just mad intense and incredible and his voice goes all out. There are not many south coast rappers but Scarface makes sure the south coast is put on the map, as well as the east coast and west coast. This CD features his many great classics from his earlier days to his most recent work. Scarface keeps it real in most songs and can get you hooked on his music easily. He may not be better than 2Pac, Biggie and Nas but he truly is a great writer and producer. And you can be damn sure that he is the best to come out of the south coast. Songs like 'Mr. Scarface', 'Smile', 'F*ck Faces', 'Homies & Thugs', 'Now I Feel Ya', 'I Seen a Man Die', 'Hand of the Dead Body', 'Jesse James' and 'Born Killer' explain to you why you just need to go out and buy this album. In fact, you don't even need to listen to the songs to get it- Scarface is such a great rapper that you don't even need to hear the songs. I advise every rap fan to get this album if they don't have it because if you don't, you're truly missing out on the real strength of the south coast. I don't know many south coast rappers but I am pretty damn impressed with the work Scarface has made, he puts it down to the fullest for the southside and makes sure it stays on the map. Also, I advise you to get all CDs by the Geto Boys, Scarface's group, which features Bushwick Bill (who is now kicked out) and Wille D. The Geto Boys are by far the best south coast rap group to ever come. OutKast is another good south coast group, get their albums too. Peace
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Scarface - Greatest Hits
Scarface - Greatest Hits by Scarface (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.