Customer Reviews


1,142 Reviews
5 star:
 (846)
4 star:
 (119)
3 star:
 (65)
2 star:
 (38)
1 star:
 (74)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


204 of 235 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally!
The reason to buy this DVD is simple: one of the most influential films of the 20th century has finally been released in a newly restored, pristine transfer. As an owner of the original DVD release, I can testify that the difference is like night and day.
With every viewing, I come to appreciate Brian DePalma's Scarface more and more. Although not perfect, there is...
Published on November 2, 2003 by Wing J. Flanagan

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars (BLU RAY REVIEW) Cult classic done right
This updated remake of the 1932 gangster film of the same name ups the violence quotient in filmmaking. Tony Montana (Al Pacino) is one of the tens of thousands of Cuban criminals that Castro sent to America in the early 1980's. Thanks to U. S. policy, Cuban nationals were allowed to stay once they came ashore. Montana and his best friend Manny (excellent Steven...
Published 3 months ago by M. Oleson


‹ Previous | 183 84 85115 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Movie Ever, December 20, 2003
By 
LC (Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
This is the best movie Al Pacino has ever been in, if not the best movie I have ever seen! Everyone has to see this movie. The acting is amazing from the first scene when Tony (Pacino) is being questioned. Scarface is a constant thrill ride as we watch Tony go from a funloving immigrant from Cuba rapidly turn into a complete disaster. Michelle Pfeiffer plays Pacino's love interest and she is absolutely gorgeous in the movie. Scarface was one of her first movies. If you are a Pacino fan you HAVE to see this powerful movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Little dated for 2014, August 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Saw this ago, my grandson wanted too see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Say 'ello to mah leetle DVD!, October 4, 2003
In the fall of 2003, the doors at the mall were opened, and several set sail for the entertainment store. They came in search of CD's and DVD's. One of them found it in the 20th Anniversary Edition DVD of the 1983 classic Scarface... action, violence, and a story beyond his wildest dreams. He was Mr. Buckley. The store clerk will remember him by another name... THE GUY WHO BOUGHT SCARFACE.
At last, Scarface has found a home on DVD. So many are wondering, how does the anniversary edition hold up? Pretty damned well, I say. First of all, the picture looks great. On the old VHS copy, the picture looks kind of grainy (then again, we've had it in my house for as long as I can remember), but on the DVD, of course, it looks great. Second, the sound gives the action new life. Just listen to those shots going off! That 5.1 audio really lets you hear the blood splatter! Also, the extra features are great. Interviews, deleted scenes, hell, even contrasting the theatrical version with the TV version. You get a lot of goodies here.
Now, on to the movie itself. It's a masterpiece. Pure and simple. If you haven't seen this movie yet, shame on you. Go out NOW and BUY IT. Don't bother renting; BUY IT! Al Pacino pretty much gained his legend status by portraying Cuban refugee/drug kingpin Tony Montana, but Steve Bauer, Michelle Pfeiffer, and everybody else give awesome performances as well.
Make no mistake: this is NOT, I repeat, NOT a movie for the squeamish. If you are, stick to the Wiggles. But if you're not, and you want a fantastic movie that disturbs you, excites you, interests you, grabs a hold of your attention and does NOT let go for the entire 170 minutes, click the "Buy Now" button, and enjoy Scarface. I know you will.
So say goodnight to the review guy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, October 13, 2014
This review is from: Scarface (1983) (DVD)
Epic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, October 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scarface (1983) (DVD)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, September 29, 2014
This review is from: Scarface (Limited Edition) (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
nice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, October 7, 2014
This review is from: Scarface (1983) (DVD)
Arrived on time and sevens it's purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What remastering?, October 3, 2003
By 
Victor Mondino (Vienna, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The digital video transfer and 5.1 DTS surround sound they said would be included in this DVD was a complete lie. The sound is just as horrible as it was in the original DVD, as you hear "pops" for gun shots and explosions. And the video is just as grainy and dark. It's truly a shame that such a great movie can be tainted with such a horrible DVD. If you have the original DVD, I wouldn't waste your money or get your hopes up on this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "What does he have that I don't?", January 25, 2008
This review is from: Scarface (Platinum Edition) (DVD)
Scarface DVD

Al Pacino is great in the leading role of Scarface. I don't think he looks very Cuban, but what the hey? I, also, think he probably peeved off some Cubans by stereotyping the Cuban Mafia. But he already did that with the Sicilian Mafia, so what's a few more?

Brian De Palma's blood soaked gangster epic is on DVD, once again. I'll say this right off the bat, if you own the previously released Special Edition of Scarface, there's no reason to run out and buy this Platinum Edition, which has an assortment of previously released extras to go along with a counter for how many times the "F" word is used and how many bullets are fired. Besides that, there's nothing here that hasn't been seen before, but if you don't already own Scarface on DVD, well then, this is worth picking up. As for the film itself, it's a bloody crime epic featuring one of Al Pacino's best, and most infamous, performances as Cuban hood turned drug kingpin Tony Montana; but chances are, you already know all that. The DVD's picture quality looks cleaner, and the remastered and remixed sound is crisper as well, but whether or not you want to lay out your money for better sound is up to you.

Recommended for Al Pacino fans and fans of mob violence.

Gunner January, 2008
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Charisma of Scarface, March 18, 2009
It is no wonder that after 25 years, "Scarface" is still ranked among the best of all gangster movies. Why? Apart from great acting and cinematography, "Scarface" spoke to the philosophy and "rugged individualism" of many Americans. The drug culture during the 1970's and 1980's was huge and the underclass in society ate up the likes of Tony Montana. Just as a similar demographic devoured and emulated the character "Priest" in the movie "Superfly." Movies in this genre' will always be popular, because of its maverick, anti-establishment and "Die or Get Rich Trying" themes.

In contemporary times, the drug culture doesn't have the cachet it once had. The sports and entertainment industry have trumped the need for "wanna be" gangsters to risk life and limb to hustle street pharmaceuticals. Now, they hustle "beats" and "rhymes."

"Scarface" survives, despite its by-gone drug culture, because its business tenets apply to any industry. At best, it's a business movie about competition, monopolies, branding and the will to win; All great concepts for business and life. Who would think such a movie could touch so many human aspirations while leaving so much carnage?

Edward Brown
Core Edge Image & Charisma Institute
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 183 84 85115 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Scarface (Limited Edition) (Blu-ray + Digital Copy)
$29.98 $17.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.