Customer Reviews


212 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (26)
1 star:
 (77)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scary Movie 5
I thought that this movie was pretty funny. it was not as good as the first two. but I still liked it. I thought that making fun of mama was a good idea. it was basically the only real good horror movie when they made this. but all in all this was a good movie
Published 12 months ago by David

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hopefully the last of a series that has long ago lost it's punch
There were very few parts in the movies where I had an actual laugh. The jokes have just become to childish and predictable. Getting kicked in the nuts and toilet humor doesn't get you very far and unfortunately that seems to be the go-to brand for this one.

Unless you are looking for something that falls into the so bad it's good category, just keep pretending...
Published 16 months ago by AvidConsumer


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hopefully the last of a series that has long ago lost it's punch, August 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
There were very few parts in the movies where I had an actual laugh. The jokes have just become to childish and predictable. Getting kicked in the nuts and toilet humor doesn't get you very far and unfortunately that seems to be the go-to brand for this one.

Unless you are looking for something that falls into the so bad it's good category, just keep pretending that they only made 2 of these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Second Worst Comedy Ever Made, July 18, 2014
By 
Kcott44 (Philadelphia, PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Scary Movie 5 (DVD)
When Scary Movie 5 came out, for some mysterious reason I was excited for it. I really enjoy Scary Movie and Scary Movie 2 but didn't care much for the third one and never even bothered to see the fourth so it makes no sense why I wanted to see it. Then, I found the reason, it is directed by Malcolm D. Lee who directed the absolutely hilarious action satire Undercover Brother. Maybe, without David Zucker the franchise can get back on track but I was dead wrong. This is the second worst comedy I have ever seen. This comes close to number one but I have a feeling that spot is going to be held forever by Disaster Movie.

Scary Movie 5 is filled with terribly unfunny gags, painful acting, and is just simply unbearable to sit through. It is filled with unfunny cameos as well, everything is unfunny in this movie. Modern spoof movies are just plain horrible and this one justifies that case even more. Luckily, it seems that not many people pay for these unbearable spoof movies anymore which is absolutely a blessing. There are no positives about Scary Movie 5 even if you are a diehard fan of Charlie Sheen, Lindsay Lohan, or Ashley Tisadle(Who Is?) avoid it at any possibility.

If you liked Disaster Movie, Epic Movie, Meet the Spartans, Date Movie, Dance Flick or any of those gems go ahead and check Scary Movie 5 you are probably going to have fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unwatchable, May 15, 2014
You will not laugh. That's about it.

I knew this movie was going to be rough, but this was just awful..... A poorly done spoof film, that went south starting with the 1st terrible scene. I'm not even sure I cracked a smile at this garbage. One can only hope there isn't a Scary Movie VI. So here we go with the evaluation.

SCRIPT:
I could probably guarantee my review has more words and less misspellings!

FX:
Get ready for a re-used ape costume, the "Ring" character (AGAIN), a moving wig and a sh*tty banana.

ACTING:
Cameos galore. Yes, lots and lots of cameos!!! The celebs are just lining up to let everyone know that their careers are over!

Yup, get ready to see your favorite celebs and Scary Movie regulars come together to act out the most poorly written scenes in comedic history. You'll be greeted with such jokes as "The Poopie Pie" and "The Chair Having Sex With The Microwave" and "Flinging Feces" and ........ well that's about it.......

SUMMARY:
THIS MOVIE SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars IS THERE A CELLAR?, August 23, 2013
This review is from: Scary Movie 5 (DVD)
One of the nice things about this series is that the current film doesn't build upon previous installments. However, it is a spoof of other films which means you must have either seen those films, or have enough knowledge of them to enjoy this film.

Number 5 builds primarily on the film "Mama" but also incorporates the Paranormal series, "Planet of the Apes," "Black Swan," Madea, "Evil Dead," Inception," and "The Help," plus a few I might have missed. The Zucker humor in this film is no different than previous films relying in part on crudeness and slapstick.

The best part of this film was the beginning as Charlie Sheen and Lindsey Lohan joke about their real life and have a sex scene out of a Benny Hill episode. Unfortunately they die after opening scene and do not appear again outside of some doctored up photos.

This is not a film you must rush out and buy. It can wait for a price drop...like a 5 pack for $5.00.

Parental Guide: F-bomb. Silly sex scene. Fake butt nudity. Fat woman in thong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Raunchy knee slapping dorm room comedy, September 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie played out like many of the most recent horror movies which made it predictable in parts. I guess you shouldn't be watching this movie for the "wow" factor, only if you want a few laughs. And I do mean a few. Some of the same jokes are repeated more than once in the movie it was just okay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scary Movie 5, December 22, 2013
This review is from: Scary Movie 5 (DVD)
I thought that this movie was pretty funny. it was not as good as the first two. but I still liked it. I thought that making fun of mama was a good idea. it was basically the only real good horror movie when they made this. but all in all this was a good movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars For a spoof that really sucks. Some parts like all the other scary movies ..., November 27, 2014
I laughed my butt off at certain parts but once again the Scary Movie franchise has gotten stale old and predictable.

For a spoof that really sucks.

Some parts like all the other scary movies took away from the comedy were horribly done and were not needed in the first place.

For example the evil dead thing was over the top I loved the remake of ED but it just did not work in a spoof at all.

I also missed Anna Faris presence in this entry Ashley was okay but Anna could have really brought it home.

For the most part it seemed like Ashley was simply phoning it in and overacting.

Simon Rex was hilarious in certain parts and horrible in others.

The supporting cast were so so at best including the stereotypical angry black girl who wants too get too the top no matter what.

I found the housekeeper up until near the end of the movie however hilarious she was one of the funniest ones in the entire movie.

The Black Swan spoof was a waste of time and space a horrible horrible spoof of that movie.

I found the beginning pretty hilarious with Lindsay Lohan and Charlie Sheen basically spoofing themselves.

Overall though for the most part this entry was simply a wasted effort and it shows that the creative waters for this franchise are running dry at this point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars You knew this was a Scary Movie movie right?, July 30, 2014
This review is from: Scary Movie 5 (DVD)
Im surprised by the negative reviews. Trust me,they are being party poopers on purpose
If you arent a fan of the series already,this one probably wont win you over - but for fans of the series,they should be right at home

The Zucker/Proft duo aim the next installment at Paranomal Activity,Rise Of The Plantet Of The Apes and Black Swan, sans Anna Faris but with a healthy cast of Scary Movie regulars and cameos. The absence of Fari's wide-eyed Cindy might be a drawback,but it also frees the movie from serving her storyline (a laughable fact of the series,known to retcon characters deaths from previous sequels). A certain wight is lifted and it feels fresh to have a new lead in the likable Ashley Tisdale. Its also nice to have Simon Rex back in a supporting role after a mere cameo in part 4.

Charlie Sheen,Terry Crews,Kat Williams,Snoop Dogg,Mac Miller,Molly Shannon,Jerry O'Connell,Lil Duval,Sarah Hyland,Darrell Hammond,Lindsey Lohan and others join the fun. Sure..some jokes fall flat,and theres a fair share of juvenile humor-but it is Scary Movie 5,not Hamlet...this should be expected.

Have you seen 1-4? Did you like them? Ok then..see SM5. It will remind you of that movie about the cabin in the woods. Whatever the name of that movie about the cabin in the woods was. ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An awful movie, save your money, May 9, 2013
This review is from: Scary Movie 5 (DVD)
I would just like to start by saying that this is the first and only movie I have ever walked out on at the theater.

The PG13 rating is perfect for Scary Movie 5 because the audience it targets is definitely younger teens. The humor isn't witty or clever in the least but the younger audience was dying with laughter (12-14 year olds). This makes me wonder if the original Scary Movies were equally as bad and I was too young to notice? But I'd like to think at least the first two films in this series were funny.

The opening scene with Charlie Sheen and Lindsay Lohan was terrible which was them in bed doing a spoof on the Paranormal Activity movies. And the following spoof of 'Mama' was equally bad and when I decided I had seen enough.

I would say this qualifies for the worst movie I've ever seen. I wouldn't recommend this film to anyone ever, not even my worst enemy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars BAD, FOR EVEN A SCARY MOVIE FAN!, September 3, 2014
Ok...WHAT!, How can even fans of scary movie like this installment? I For one have always been a Scary movie fan, 1-2 are Gold to this day 3 was good, 4 was off but still watchable, but 5 ...FIVE SUCKS, five drifts away so much that you cannot call it a sequel to any scary movie, WE NEED CINDY, you can't get rid of Cindy, she connected the franchise , and f.y.i the person that directed 3 and 4 DID NOT direct this one, that's why its so different, heres what happened, 1-2 was directed by the waynes brothers, 3-4 was directed by another man but he still made the franchise work, 5 is directed by someone completely different,t DO NOT TRUST the reviews that say oh if you liked the previous films you'll like this, THE HUMOR WAS HORRIBLE, it was to gross at some points, and uncomfortable at others, It is not a feel good laugh movie, it actually will sadden you if you were a fan of the other films like scary movie 1-4
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Scary Movie 5
Scary Movie 5 by Malcolm D. Lee (DVD - 2013)
$29.98 $10.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.