Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scenes From the Southside is still an 80's winner!
Well it's hard to compare this album with "The Way It Is" Hornsby's first great album, but I will try my best. The first release off of this album was "The Valley Road" and it was just a breath of fresh air when it came out in June of 1988. I had just graduated high school in Oklahoma and it was nice and hot and so was this song. Hornsby does his...
Published on September 18, 2002 by David

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bruce Hornsby is always good.
It's not as mellow and relaxing as "The Way It Is" but still good music for a lazy summer afternoon.
Published 19 months ago by Peter Schwarz


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scenes From The Southside, September 25, 2009
By 
Bjorn Viberg (European Union) - See all my reviews
Scenes From The Southside being Horsnby's 2nd solo album and 1988 release sounds like Chicago, and Elton John's recordings from that time and that is not a bad thing in itself. "Look Out Any Window" is a great track and sounds very similair to tracks such as "The Way It Is". "The Valley Road" was a massive hit and as of today his last top 10 hit in the US. The booklet contains all the lyrics and we also get a list of whom plays what on the album. Allmusic gave the album 4.5/5 which is a little too genrous. 4/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music to my ears and soul, May 4, 1998
By A Customer
Sophomore efforts from most artists make you think "What now?" Bruce followed up his masterpiece of an album "The Way It Is" with another great one. I knew so many people who thought Bruce would be a one hit wounder with his first, but this shows them. I wish Bruce's style of rock music would come back into fashion. Bruce always had a way of making you feel like you were apart of his music! Thanks Bruce for another great one!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hey, this is worth it!, April 21, 1999
By A Customer
I must say that when I bought this CD I was not sure exactly what to expect. And I must say now after owning it for over a year, it is still one of the CD's that I listen to over and over again. The pure sounds and overall feeling of joy that you get when you listen to this CD is unbelievable. Buy this CD, you will not regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I have always listened to Bruce Hornsby., January 1, 2004
By 
I can remember back as a kid when I used to hear Bruce Hornsby on the radio. I feel that this CD has a very big impact on his new release of Greatest Radio Hits because it has songs that have beautiful music. The CD here is worth getting if you like to hear nice, easy listening music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still good 24 years later, July 21, 2012
I've had this CD since it was first released in 1988, and it is still one I listen to regularly. This second studio album is even better than his first. Each song is good. This is one of the rare albums that I always listen to from beginning to end. Check it out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bruce Hornsby brings out melody magic and certainly has the touch, March 16, 2006
Bruce Hornsby has the touch on this classic Cd from the 80 ths. With his band The range, this certainly shows a whole lot of range when it comes to eargasmic pop/rock music.

It begins with Track 1 Look out any window, and it drives you into the Hornsby world. The pianoplaying is the key element on many of this tracks, so on the opener too. He treat the tangents with the right feel and joy, and the vocal and other instruments just fits in. Track 2 The Valley Road is more in the "synth land", and is a fine mix between different keyboards variations. This one too has that open soundpicture, with a very clear piano soundmix , and the vocal and the other instruments just fill it out in a way. Track 3 I will walk with you has much of the same elements input, but this one also have a more potent vocal with the right tearjerkin` voice to build up the right mood alltrough.

Track 4 The road not taken, has a very open soundlandscape, where Hornsby just drizzel out pianomagic in this very catchy and tuneful song. Track 5 The Show begins as a ballad. Soft but clear pianoplay with some synth strings along with it. Then suddenly it changes into more uptempo beat, and give`s you minor freezez down your backbone, so to speak. It opens up.He realy makes the show goes on, on this one. Track 6 The old playground is the first minor letdown, which is to compact . The vocal and the instruments figths for theire places. There is anyway a good piano solo there, all though. Track 7 Defenders of the flag, is a blues song, which doesn`t fit`s in a away. The harmonica is ok, but it has much of the same problems has the song before. Track 8 Jacobs Ladder sound`s like a copy of the original Huey Lewis hit, but Hornsby bring`s some new magic to it. Not at all bad. Track 9 Till the dreaming`s done, is an ok ballad. Anyway Bruce Hornsby brings out melody magic, and certainly has the touch with a big T.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb from Beginning to End, February 7, 2000
By 
"crooner2002" (San Diego, California, USA) - See all my reviews
I truly love this recording. Bruce did it again after his groundbreaking first CD. Another collection of superb songs! My favorites are "The Road Not Taken" and "Till The Dreaming's done" which are songs I can relate to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bruce Hornsby's Second Great Album In A Row, July 28, 2005
SCENES FROM THE SOUTHSIDE is Bruce Hornsby's second great album in a row. As on the first one, the songs are a mix of social commentary, personal observations about life, and love songs from an adult point of view. The opener, "Look Out Any Window", is about how the agricultural industry, which provided the goods to help young guys like myself look good for their favorite actresses, is being destroyed by rising land prices, corporate greed, suburbanization, and even the cruelties of nature, a theme which is also told from the viewpoint of a story of love between a hired hand and the boss's daughter in "The Valley Road", a love story in first-person in "The Road Not Taken", and a direct attack on the politicians who are destroying the farmers' careers and lives in "Defenders Of The Flag." "Jacob's Ladder" is an indictment of not only religious fundamentalists, but also of "spiritualist" cults such as Scientology. Hornsby's belief that the young Australian tourist jailed in Indonesia since 2005 for drug-smuggling was unjustly convicted, as well as his advocacy of increased funding for community policing, makes this CD an essential purchase for both your ears AND your conscience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hornsby's masterpiece!, February 28, 2005
Sure "The Way It Is" is a classic and his highest selling album to date but in my opinion, it is his sophomore effort perfectly entitled "Scenes From The Southside" that holds the crown as my favorite album that Bruce Hornsby has ever released, solo or with his band The Range. This CD is excellent! One of the things that makes this CD even superior to his debut is that it's more diverse and a greater maturity.

"Look Out Any Window" is one of the greatest openers with an ambient organ intro which finally culminates in a highly energetic track with amazing piano playing and excellent drums. I love the odd melodic morph in the middle of the track and how it suddenly morphs back to it's original sound while maintaining all of the spirit of the track. The "Look out!" lyrical lines towards the ending are powerful and stirring. Although the song itself musically is very cheerful and confident the track is a socially conscious track about an uncaring world that is seen when you look outside of your fantasy world. This is without a doubt a great track and is one of Hornsby's best songs ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hornsby's Best, January 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Every song on this album is great. Anyone who likes Bruce Hornsby should have this classic recording--truely his best creation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Scenes From The Southside
Scenes From The Southside by Bruce Hornsby And The Range
Buy MP3 Album$8.91
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.