Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Whoa....!
Seriously....I'm so taken by this DVD that I can't even describe it other than.. "Whoa!"

This is probably one of the most (if not THE MOST) incredible concert dvd's I've ever heard/seen. I'll slightly digress by making a sports analogy so please accept my advanced apology if you are not a sports fan.....

Another Michael, "Jordan" that is, was...
Published 19 months ago by Sharptiger Rocker

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Killer Guitar Showmanship
I Grew up with UFO and the Scorpions so I was eagerly awaiting the arrival of this set.The music is great and it's good seeing the members of the Scorpions jam with Michael onstage again. BUT; the vocals are nothing short of horrendous. I have seen some bad vocalist's before, but this guy takes the cake. Makes Neil Young a Opera singer. Was Barden,Moog,Bonnet,Mcalley not...
Published 18 months ago by baldylocks714


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Whoa....!, January 23, 2013
Seriously....I'm so taken by this DVD that I can't even describe it other than.. "Whoa!"

This is probably one of the most (if not THE MOST) incredible concert dvd's I've ever heard/seen. I'll slightly digress by making a sports analogy so please accept my advanced apology if you are not a sports fan.....

Another Michael, "Jordan" that is, was probably the greatest basketball player that ever lived. On a typical night for him he'd score between 25-30 points in a game. On those rare nights when he was really "ON," you'd see him drop 50 points or more!

Musicians,like sports heroes, can be much the same. Michael Schenker, one of the planet's greatest guitar players, sounds better than most people on any given night. He has a multitude of live recordings to enjoy and you'll hear him on any number of his live recordings "wow" you with his talent. On those very rare nights, he will go "otherworldly" on you, much like Michael Jordan could do when he was in the zone! There haven't been many of those live recorded moments of Michael Schenker's when he was captured on a truly "ON" night. "Strangers in the Night" by UFO may be one of them (though it was actually recorded over a couple of different nights in 1978) and maybe his performance on "One Night at Budokan." I truly think that on this DVD, all cylinders are firing and it may very well be the greatest "on" moment of Michael's ever recorded!

The sound quality is phenomenal and the producer/director does a decent job of actually showing Michael Schenker when he's soloing ( I hate it when they pan to other band members during a musician's solo on most concert dvd's). The only reason I give this 4 instead of 5 stars is because Doogie White trashes many of the lyrics. He sounds great and it really doesn't affect the songs, but really, "dude," learn the words! Most of these tunes are some of the greatest guitar tunes in rock music history; can't you get the words right?

It's nice to see Hermann Rarebell and Francis Buccholz on stage together again. I always thought they were an under-rated rhythm section when they played with Scorpions during the heyday of metal.

Another great thing about this recording is that Michael takes a fair amount of liberties with some of his traditional songs. He adds some more fills and/or rearranges a few of his classics and the changes really add to the songs. Wayne Findley is also fantastic on this DVD and tears up the solos in "Rock You Like A Hurrican."

If you like Michael Schenker or simply enjoy hard rock played with a great deal of emotion and technique, get this DVD. It's "Michael" scoring over 50 points!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His Best Video Thus Far!, February 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Schenker, Michael - Temple Of Rock: Live In Europe [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Outstanding! What else can I say? Actually, quite a bit. Like anyone else posting a review, I am a long-time fan, yadda yadda yadda... but Temple of Rock was a revelation in Michael Schenker's playing. Too many fans, myself included, have been caught in the 1980s trap that we use to measure Schenker's performance and song writing. I rather liked his association with Robin McAuley, and find his neoclassical style to have evolved over the years. Sure, his battles with substances and family drama have been noted all too well in his disappearances and bad performances in the early-mid 2000s. I have a lot of his videos, and the one from Tokyo in the late 1990s stands out for his energy. Then, in 2004, a video shot in Poland shows a hairy, bloated Michael who can barely rock in time for the first five or six songs. It is dismaying to see him in a slump like that, but this new video shows his triumphant return, and then some....

Schenker's return to form was gradual, however. I saw him in the summer of 2009 at the now demolished Angel's Road House in Yucaipa, CA, and while he put on a good show with Gary Barden at the vocal helm, he still lacked some extra energy. i don't know if it was the venue, but he hid behind his sunglasses. At times he revealed his friendliness toward the audience, encouraging people to strum the delay-engaged guitar for the lead in to "Lost Horizons." Move forward to the fall of 2010, and Michael is firing on all cylinders again, and I noted that appreciatively at the Key Club in LA. Gary Barden even commented he thought it was their best show yet while on the 30th anniversary tour. The set list was heavy toward the Barden-era albums, with the usual selection of UFO tracks. Amazing energy, and I got to not only strum his guitar, but high five him. He was so energetic and moving about the stage non-stop, only stopping to drink water when Carmen Appice did his drum solo. I left wowed, and felt he was better than ever, kind of like Rush these days.

2012 comes, and the long-awaited North American leg of the Temple of Rock tour finally came in the fall once again. I saw Schenker perform at the Key Club, definitely one of the better venues in my opinion, and man did he kick royal butt! My girlfriend had never been to a rock or metal show before, and halfway through the 1.5 hour set, she was using her phone to record him playing. Her favorite is "Rockbottom," and truthfully, the version he played that night is much the same as documented on this fantastically recorded DVD. I have the Blu-Ray version. Schenker is throwing in the kitchen sink these days in terms of guitar techniques. he trills, shrills, thrills, and bends all at once it seems. Another tendency I noticed is that his ubiquitous wah wah pedal was barely touched, unlike the past. Perhaps it is because Marshall has modeled his heads to have a slightly half-cocked wah tone? That is the current speculation. He used the trusty black and white Dean V, as well as the new Ying/Yang model, the multi-colored V (equiped with DiMarzio Super Distortions)and the Strangers in the Night motif V for the UFO tunes. The set list opend with "Lovedrive" followed by "Another Piece of Meat," "Save Yourself," "Assault Attack," "Before the Devil Knows You're Dead," "Into the Arena," "Rock My Nights Away,", then a heavy UFO set ending with the aforementioned "Rockbottom" and "Doctor Doctor." It is on that last track that my jaw hit the floor and I vocalized an astonished "wow"! Why? Schenker is using more tritone and octave fills, and it flows so naturally that old songs are refreshingly new again.

Now to the main attraction. I was eager to see the old Scorpions members, Herman the German and Francis in action. Wayne Findlay, is, as many know, Schenker's longest-standing continuous band member. The vocal duties are largely handled by the thick-accented Doogie White, except for one track (sung by Michael Voss) called "Hanging On" from the new Temple of Rock album (yes, album, it is available on LP and it sounds incredible in that format). "Into the Arena" opens the show after the William Shatner voice over sketch. In the dark we see the band tensely awaiting their moment to hit the stage. The playlist then takes off into the Lovedrive reunion. Not sequentially, mind you, but they played "Lovedrive," "Another piece of Meat," "Coast to Coast," a lovely instrumental, then, late in the encore section, surprise renditions of "Rock You Like A Hurricane" and "Blackout," plus, the wonderful "Holiday." Those are worth the cost of the video alone.

The classic Schenker tunes are spread out, and the vocals of Doogie White, as noted by another reviewer, seem to mash poorly with the harmony. The lyrics get slurred occasionally, whether from accent or uncertainty, it is hard to guess. His high range is not really there, but he does put in an energetic performance, and engaged the crowd well. He is a funny guy though, and I think adds an element of youth, along with the fantastic Wayne Findley. The latter really seared the leads of "Rock You Like A Hurricane." I was previously aware of his lead-playing talents from the aforementioned 2004 video where he convincingly shreds the lead for "Arachnophobia." As the rhythm guitarist and keyboard player, he is a fine replacement for UFO's Paul Raymond.

Highlights? Well, I watched the DVD twice, losing much sleep. The extra bonus section shows an outdoor show excerpts from London, and the video concludes with backstage pre-concert prep. You see the band moments before they hit the stage, thereby completing an end-first editing format. The soundcheck was also a nice glimpse of how Schenker prepares, and what irritates him with sound issues. Those in the know may spot at least two Dunlop Volume Pedals onstage. In Schenker's words, those are for him to manipulate to increase the volume in the monitors, and are not a part of his rig.

I think the mix of old and new was well balanced here, and as Schenker notes in the booklet, the past was marked by Discovery with the Scorpions and UFO, experimentation with MSG, and now, the walls of the proverbial Temple of Rock are erected. His role is duly noted. Even Marshall gave him the "11" award a year or so ago, symbolizing the hard-living lifestyle of rock and roll. He earned it, that's for sure. What really struke me, not only in this video, but seeing him twice in LA and again in Corona, CA, is Michael's delight in playing. He is especially gracious to the crowds in intimate settings, such as clubs, and still acknowledges the crowd in larger venues, as depicted in this Tilburg, Netherlands show. Speaking of Marshall, three of his four cabinets are upside down, part of his sense of humor. While a wall of Marshall stacks looks impressive, he only uses one miked stack for any performance these days. Schenker is a BIG believer in backup, and the second head and cabinets are just that. He also doubles up on his Boss Chorus and Digital Delay pedals. Only minor setting differences there in the duplicates, and the much-needed TU3 Tuner. His wah of choice is the awesome Dimebag Wah from Hell model by Dunlop (get it, it is the best one they make). His pick preference is the Dunlop .60 nylon, and he swears by 9s (a reference to string gauge for non-guitarists). It is said, but unverified, that he prefers Celestion "Greenbacks" in his 4x12 cabinets. I, for one, would love to know what tubes his tech puts in those heads because his tone is damn-near perfect, and the apparent differences in his various Vs also can be heard in the extremely well recorded video.

I think fans will enjoy Schenker's liberties with the old songs, after all, you cannot live in the past and play the same exact solos you did in 1982. I think his musical journey is continuing, not the unfortunately titled review here that used the phrase "swan song." Schenker is going to keep putting out music, he has expressed interest in recording a blues rock album, and perhaps we shall be treated to another UFO reunion? Speaking of UFO, Pete Way makes an appearance on "Doctor Doctor" in London, and man does he look rough. That pasty, bloated Ozzish, English thing. Kind of like the guys in Iron Maiden, they rocked hard, and evidently played harder. Nonetheless, is was good to see him.

Is this video perfect? Of course not, but it does advance forward in Michael Schenker's extensive discography his pure talent, and the redemption that follows recovery. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Michael Schenker=musical virtuoso, January 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have been a huge fan of Mr. Michael Schenker since the 70's. I have no hesitation in saying this video and audio recording is beyond what he did in his younger years. Through all that this man has been through, to record this is beyond inspirational. He has always been and will continue to be one of my al time favorite guitarists! Bless, you, MIchael--you are an amazing talent and distinguished studied musician--please keep up the wonderful music you have given us all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Schenker's Swan Song, January 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a tour de force for Michael Schenker. I have many past Schenker dvds and this one is by far the best. His solos are spot on, note for note, and the band is tight. I won't get into the vocals, they're good, but I prefer Gary Barden, although his voice is not what it used to be. Michael Schenker, together with ex-scorpions, and Wayne Findlay lay it down and deliver big time! I love the set list which includes plenty of MSG and almost half of the Lovedrive album, (Coast To Coast is great to hear live) and a nice slice of UFO. Michael's signature song "Rock Bottom" is perhaps the best version I've ever heard. His solos are flawless and the energy level is high. One unexpected gem on this dvd is to see Wayne Findlay solo on "Rock You Like A Hurricane." He really holds the band together. Other highlights include Holiday, Shoot Shoot, and Blackout. I would recommend this to any Schenker fan. We will never know if we get to see another one like this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GIMME some Schenker!, July 6, 2013
By 
Danny C. Mullins (Lawton, Oklahoma United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Schenker, Michael - Temple Of Rock: Live In Europe [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Gotta admit, major Schenker fan and saw this tour and this Blu-Ray represented everything I saw. This isn't the biggest deal on earth, but the Blu-Ray DOES represent what I saw and I was thrilled! It's intement, good shots of everyone and great sound. If you love Michael Schenker, I highly reccomend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HOLY CRAP, this is AWESOME!, June 6, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you are a Michael Schenker fan, then you don't need to read this, you just have to have it. If you are familiar or curious, GET THIS NOW. The Scorpions members are backing him up and this is the best MS has sounded in a while. Rock n roll at its finest.
This just kicks ass!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Stellar Concert From Michael Schenker, May 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Schenker, Michael - Temple Of Rock: Live In Europe [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I have been collecting Michael Schenker concerts for many years now and each of them is excellent in its own way, taking into account that different musicians and singers are featured. The constant among all of the concerts is Michael Schenker's tremendous guitar prowess and dedication to his craft. Temple of Rock is fantastic and I highly recommend the Blu-Ray version for that clear, crisp, audio and video that the DVD just can't quite provide. The band is excellent and this show is a perfect addition to any Michael Schenker fan's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars temple of rock live, May 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
i had bought the live in japan,and was disappointed with sound quality.
this one rocks hard and loud.well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great rock dvd, February 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Schenker, Michael - Temple Of Rock: Live In Europe [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
If you love good old rock MSG,Scorpions,UFO you will not be dissapointed.video seems to jump around a bit but overall a great concert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, Schenker Rocks!, February 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Schenker, Michael - Temple Of Rock: Live In Europe [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Sound quality good, video good! As a fellow guitar player, I was impressed with the show! A must for Michael Schenker fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Schenker, Michael - Temple Of Rock: Live In Europe [Blu-ray]
$29.98 $22.38
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.