Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Treatment Planner
As a social worker for the Jewish Board of Family and Children's Services in New York, I work with children and adolescents who have social and emotional problems that interfere with their ability to adjust to their family situations, friendship groups and the many demands and challenges they face at school. I find the School Counseling and School Social Work Treatment...
Published on April 11, 2004 by Amy

versus
12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some of this stuff just seems so obvious
I am a school social worker. I don't use this book very often at all. Maybe that is b/c I don't really "write school treatment plans" for my job. Does anyone? I don't know---it just doesn't seem like most public schools, at least--have specific treatment plans.

The book is quite repetitious and some of the recommendations are just ..well, obvious to me. I...
Published on October 31, 2005 by foundmyhappyplace


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Treatment Planner, April 11, 2004
By 
Amy (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The School Counseling and School Social Work Treatment Planner (PracticePlanners) (Paperback)
As a social worker for the Jewish Board of Family and Children's Services in New York, I work with children and adolescents who have social and emotional problems that interfere with their ability to adjust to their family situations, friendship groups and the many demands and challenges they face at school. I find the School Counseling and School Social Work Treatment Planner very helpful in identifying the presenting problem and then determining treatment goals, short-term objectives and specific interventions that will assist the client in making necessary behavioral changes to overcome his or her problematic symptoms.
I use many of the suggestions offered in the School Counseling and School Social Work Treatment Planner to formulate my initial diagnosis and treatment strategy and then often add my own interventions as the treatment progresses. This allows me to stay focused upon the specific goals of treatment while responding to the individual needs of the client and his/her unique situation and needs. I love the creativity that this process promotes and believe that it facilitates the client to overcome personal challenges and to perform more successfully within the family, school and community. Every clinician working with school-aged children needs this book in their office.
Amy Schneider, C.S.W., M. S.W
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best treatment planner for school counselors., July 22, 2007
This review is from: The School Counseling and School Social Work Treatment Planner (PracticePlanners) (Paperback)
As a school counselor/therapist, I find that this planner bridges the divide between school counseling and psychotherapy. It is much more useful in a school setting than the Adolescent Treatment Planner as it is organized by presenting problem rather than DSM diagnosis (e.g. attention-seeking behavior, self-esteem building, sexual responsibility). However,DSM diagnostic suggestions are also included for each presenting problem. Treatment goals and interventions are clearly outlined and practical. Yes, some interventions are obvious, but there are dozens of additional interventions as well. In a school setting where time is limited, this book helps me quickly outline my treatment plan and stay focused so that I am working in a more efficient manner. This book has saved me a lot of time and helped me conceptualize school-based therapy in a more practical way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is an excellent treatment planner and reference that should be on the shelf of anyone dealing with a student population ..., October 26, 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
In current times the individual counselor or social worker no longer has the autonomy they once had. They must strictly adhere to intervention guidelines set out for them in order to meet the "demands of HMOs, managed care companies, third-party payors, and state and federal agencies." If it seems like a tall order and daunting, it is. However, if we all have guidelines laid out for us in a book, we can not only have some wiggle room to independently formulate treatment plans while conforming to all the rules and regulations we must now follow. We've all had experience with goals and objectives whether on the job or in our personal lives, but step-by-step treatment planners such as this one make life infinitely easier.

Yes, you may say to yourself that you don't need a treatment planner, and perhaps you don't. You may be an experienced practitioner who knows the ins and outs of the system, but if you are new to school counseling or social work this book may be essential. Additionally, this would be a perfect text for graduate students to explore and incorporate into their curriculum. One of the first sentences in the introduction indicated to me the purpose of the book, reiterated the demand issues from outside parties that force "clinicians to quickly produce effective, high-quality treatment plans." If you have no outside forces pressuring you and don't need regimented treatment plans for your agency or IEP in the school setting you may wish to pass.

Although this text may seem somewhat simplistic in its layout, I only see that as a bonus. Who needs to pore over a complicated dense tome? In essence there are six progressive steps we need to look at:

1. Problem Selection

2. Problem Definition

3. Goal Development

4. Objective Construction

5. Intervention Creation

6. Diagnosis Determination

In the back of the book, in addition to the references in the front, is a very thorough Appendix (amazingly thorough) for further assistance.

Appendix A:

This section has bibliotherapy suggestions that reference academic motivation/study and organizational skills, anger management/aggression, anxiety reduction, assessment for mental health services, attachment and bonding deficits,attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), attention-seeking behavior, blended family, bullying perpetrator, career planning, conflict management, depression, disruptive classroom behaviors, diversity and tolerance training, divorce, grief and loss, learning difficulties, oppositional defiant disorder (ODD), parenting skills/discipline, physical and sexual abuse, physical disabilities and challenges, poverty and economic factors, responsible behavior training, school refusal/phobia, school violence perpetrator, self-esteem building, sexual responsibility, sibling rivalry, social maladjustment (conduct disorder, social skills/peer relationships,substance use and
abuse, suicidal ideation/attempt, and teen pregnancy.

Appendix B:

This section contains professional references for evidence-based chapters. Topics include general references, attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), bullying perpetrator, career planning, conflict management, depression, disruptive classroom behaviors, oppositional defiant disorder (ODD), parenting skills/discipline, school violence perpetrator, self-esteem building, social skills/peer relationships, social maladjustment (conduct disorder), substance use and abuse.

Appendix C

This appendix contains references to websites and hotlines available for academic motivation/study and organizational skills, anger management/aggression, attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), bullying perpetrator, career planning, conflict management, depression, disruptive classroom behaviors, parenting skills/discipline, school violence perpetrator, self-esteem building, social maladjustment (Conduct Disorder), substance use and abuse.

Appendix D:

This section is an index of DSM-IV-TR codes associated with presenting problems.

The text itself is simplistic, yet critical for those who do not have long-term or widespread experience in their given fields. For example, under therapeutic interventions for grief and loss one suggestion is to "Assign parents to read `How to Talk So Kids Will Listen and Listen So Kids Will Talk' by Faber and Mazlish to develop additional positive communication skills with the student."

Where I see the main strength of this book is the extensive referencing that will give the counselor, teacher, and/or school social worker the tools to effectively work with young people. Of course there are the evidence-based practice interventions that will also assist professionals in getting that all too critical funding that seems to be in short supply. Yes, this is a planner, but also an exceptional reference tool that should be on every professional's shelf who deals with formal treatment plans for our student population.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interventions useful, relevant and easy to apply, January 4, 2008
This review is from: The School Counseling and School Social Work Treatment Planner (PracticePlanners) (Paperback)
I found The School Counseling and Social Work Treatment Planner follows the same formula as all of the other therapeutic treatment planners co-authored by Art Jongsma which have been exceptionally well received by the therapeutic community as a whole. The treatment planners are extensively edited by the co-authors and then rigorously twice again by the well respected publisher, John Wiley & Sons, Inc. Hobocken, NJ.
The customer review by Sally Powers October 5, 2007 indicates that there are editing errors and that the therapeutic interventions are repeated and not sequential. All Therapeutic interventions are in sequential order, however, the suggested interventions that coordinate with the short-term objectives are at times repeated because they apply to more than one objective. This allows the school counselor or social worker to create a treatment plan or informal counseling framework that addresses the specific needs of the student. The process for using this treatment planner is explained in detail in the Treatment Plan Utility which begins on page 3 and in the section How To Use This Planner on page 7. When the Treatment Planner is then used according to these guidelines, many helpful treatment guidelines are offerred to the School Counselor or School Social Worker dealing with common and unique problems presented by today's student population. I suggest a thorough reading of the introduction before formulating a school social work or counseling plan. The definitions, long-term goals, short term objectives and therapeutic interventions can then easily and sytematically be applied to assist sutdents or various ages and treatment issues.

Merrie Palmer, MSW
Northview High School
Grand Rapids, MI
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for school social workers!, November 28, 2012
By 
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I use this workbook with kids in my practice because number one referral source for kids in therapy is the school! Therefore, I use this often to help out with interventions to stop or reduce problematic behaviors at school (angry out bursts, truancy, not following rules, etc). More importantly, because school social workers are often busy with IEPs, case management, etc., kids are usually getting minimal therapy there. Some of the interventions I have found broad enough to work with adolescents as well as my adults in my practice. I found it to be useful and thorough and often reference this book when I feel "stuck" with a client.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rooted in practicality and practice, October 24, 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
THE SCHOOL COUNSELING AND SCHOOL SOCIAL WORK TREATMENT PLANNER is a well constructed work which purports to be a "timesaving resource," a claim with which I concur.

The "Sample Treatment Plan" in the book's Introduction (pp. 11-16) outlines the organization for each of the 33 treatment scenarios for specifically identified "behaviorally based presenting problems" covered by the book. Arranged alphabetically, the book begins with "Academic Motivation" and ends with "Teen Pregnancy." In between one finds coverage for problems such as "Depression," "Oppositional Defiant Disorder," "Poverty," and "Sibling Rivalry." For each situation, the book gives the same five breakdowns: Behavioral Definitions; Long-Term Goals; Short-Term Goals; Therapeutic Interventions (linked to the specific Short-Term Goals); and Diagnostic Suggestions (using DSM-IV-TR codes for further reference).

The bibliographic suggestions in the appendices are extensive and thorough (20 pages of references in Appendix A, Bibliotherapy Suggestions; 16 pages of references in Appendix B, Professional References for Evidence-Based Chapters).

Normally, I would fault a book for not having an index, but the overall quality of this work is excellent enough that I still give it 5 stars. This is a must buy for any practitioner (or their office), as well as for academic libraries at institutions with education and/or social work programs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent planner-you will use this, September 7, 2012
By 
L. Jonsson (Charleston, SC United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I must confess that I jumped at the chance to review this book! I have The Chemical Dependence TReatment Planner as well as the Chempical Dependence TReatment Homework planner. In my job as an alcohol and drug counselor, I find that I use the above extensively. So I could not wait to try another treatment planner by the same Practice planner series.

This is another excellent planner, ideal for someone in guidance counseling, or in mental health school based counseling. This planner is very easy to read and use, and will help you make a great treatment plan. The chapters include a header on the problem, behavioral definitions of the problem, long term goals and short term objectives and therapeutic interventions to be used. The problems covered in this book include anything you could possibly face in the private or public school system: anxiety reduction, blended family, bullying behavior, divorce, grief and loss, sexual responsibilty, etc. This workbook is designed to make the inevitable paperwork associated with a counseling position easier for a novice or experienced clinician. At the end of each section, it also offers diagnositic suggestions that these long term goals and short term objectives can be used with.

This is excellent, and the long term goals/short term objectives are not copyrighted-always a relief for someone in the counseling profession. If you buy this planner, you will use it! Guaranteed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some of this stuff just seems so obvious, October 31, 2005
This review is from: The School Counseling and School Social Work Treatment Planner (PracticePlanners) (Paperback)
I am a school social worker. I don't use this book very often at all. Maybe that is b/c I don't really "write school treatment plans" for my job. Does anyone? I don't know---it just doesn't seem like most public schools, at least--have specific treatment plans.

The book is quite repetitious and some of the recommendations are just ..well, obvious to me. I prefer the homework planner for the School SW and Counseler. It is more worth the purchase than this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Well-Designed and Time-Saving Resource, September 1, 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This is an excellent, well-designed, useful and -- most importantly -- time-saving book. I've used other planners authored (or edited by?) Jongsma and have found them quite helpful.

There's quite a bit packed into a medium-sized book; there are hundreds and hundreds of treatment goals and interventions organized in a logical manner. This book allows me to maintain a strong professional level of record-keeping, while not getting too buried in the paperwork. And this is a resource, not something proscriptive, which allows me to keep goals of treatment in view while implementing my own interventions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best tool for school social workers!, September 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great tool if you are working with students at school settings as school counselor, school social worker, behavior specialist, and even teachers!! Especially because these interventions are evidenced based practice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The School Counseling and School Social Work Treatment Planner (PracticePlanners)
Used & New from: $5.75
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.